View Full Version : Cooking Prawns

Benno
21-03-2006, 08:32 AM
G'day Guys,
Managed to net a few prawns yesterday, but now what to do with them?.. How do you cook these guys, boiling salty water obviously, but for how long??

Cheers Ben

MulletMan
21-03-2006, 09:21 AM
About 3 minutes max straight into the boiling water
Leave the shells/heads on and use course salt crystals in the water not the fine runny stuff.
Put heaps of salt in if you want that nice salty taste.
When they are cooked, dump them into a bowl of really cold water (with ice preferably) and let them cool down.
This makes them crispy crunch ..................................
Might be best if I were to pop over and show you how it is done - maybe with a slab of coldies!!
Yeh!

Freeeedom
21-03-2006, 12:37 PM
Agree with the above. Bring your salty water to the boil, then throw in the prawns. As the water comes back to the boil the prawns will float -they are cooked. Lift them out straight away (or they will get tougher and tougher the longer you boil them) and put them into ice-cold salty water. The longer you let them soak in this the more salt they will take up. This is a matter of taste - experiment to find what's best for you.
Enjoy - they should be the best prawns you will ever taste.
Cheers Freeeedom

Panda
21-03-2006, 12:45 PM
You could also try the Asian way. Drop them in hot oil. Cook them well for about 5 to 10 minutes till the shells come out crunchy. Just like making potato chips.You eat the shells and all except for the head. You can also batter the whole prawn in a mixture of egg/milk/flour and red currey paste (available in Asian shops), add a little sugar and salt to taste. The battered method takes a little longer,-- maybe 15 minutes.
My wife is Thai and has a fair bit of restaurant experience over there.

tshort
21-03-2006, 01:08 PM
Just as freedom says. Thats the way there done on wet trawlers, kept in an ice slurry of sea water.

Benno
21-03-2006, 01:59 PM
Excellent.. Thanks for that Lads..

Cheers benno

insideout
21-03-2006, 03:05 PM
Dont even worry about boiling them, just peel them and put them in a pan with some butter and garlic and cook quickly !!!! yummmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!

21-03-2006, 06:17 PM
Use sea water and when they float, rip em staight into a ice salt slurry

Peel and do what ya like

Try them with a tallie or two spectacular

nick1971
21-03-2006, 06:49 PM
As Hi yo states use the same water ya get them in mate. A mate of mine is a prawn trawler on the hawksberry and he cooks them on return to the jetti using the saltwater straight out of the hawksberry.
Bewdiful.

Nick.

21-03-2006, 08:55 PM
all you guys are so far behind the times its not funny,,,,,,,chop jr has the new method down pat on cooking prawns, and its so easy

step 1,,,,,,whilst pop's not looking,,,take said prawn/prawns and shove em in your pants pocket
step 2,,,,,, on arrival back home,,,,complain pants are dirty and smelly and need washing
step 3,,,,,,await spin cycle to finish and ""wholah"",,,

top with any sauce ya have,,whilst mum or nan finish re washing said clothes and pop and i excuse ourselves to do more "man work" in pops shed ;D ;D ;D ;D

this ,,,,has happened on more than 1 occasion