PDA

View Full Version : Catch & Release Survival rates 4gamefish

wiseguy67
26-03-2006, 09:46 AM
When i see pics of deckies and stoked fishos holding bills for a photo befor release i wonder how in the hell did they get them to calm down unless they are so close to death they have no energy left to spare.
Then there is the question of does the released fish survive?
I have done some reading:
http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/fish/organizations/ssg/sharknews/sn7/shark7news15.htm

"Quote from saltwater chat"

http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1143007058

As I am land based i have no experience in bill fishing other than when i worked on a longliner, and no intention to target bills as releasing bill from the rocks would be a bit too much of a challenge for me. #

But there are a few fishos on this website that have experience and my question to them is have you ever caught a tagged bill/game fish?
I am not against game fishing, don't take this post as an attempt to stir things up #

If I had a chance i would enjoy the challenge.

Gerard

choppa
26-03-2006, 05:39 PM
dont know too much about the survival rate of released fish after being caught,,,,,but i think its a safe bet that the fish that owned the remnants next to ya right foot didnt do to well,,,,,,,,,,,,

chop,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

jeffo
26-03-2006, 06:50 PM
if dealt with properly then yes i think they have a very good chance of survival... swimming them prior to release is always a big help...as is not gut hooking them and trying to avoid long battles.

i havent caught a tagged billfish but i have had one of my little blacks recaught....

by a longliner of fraser.

Wear_the_fox_hat
26-03-2006, 07:08 PM
Looking at the position that fish is being held in, I would say it it's having a long hard look over it's shoulder. :o

roz
26-03-2006, 10:04 PM
Hi Gerard,

I think it's hard to really be certain about survival rates of bill fish/game fish.