View Full Version : weird flatty

21-04-2006, 06:06 PM
g'day, just went down the pine for a quick flick of the placky's this arvo and caught this little bugger. any idea's on what he is?

Canoedle
21-04-2006, 06:16 PM
I'd say that's a tiger flathead m8, never caught one, and the books I have here suggest they don't exist this far north, nice catch, a new species to the list of SPs victims! #;)
Actually, I can't take the credit for the ID on this one, the missus looked it up in a flash and I reckon she's spot on.

21-04-2006, 07:01 PM
Did he tail walk when you caught him? He's lit up like a billfish! ;D

21-04-2006, 07:47 PM
i think ya fishn to close to narangba mate,,,,that nuclear site does strange things to animals ya know,,,,,,,,,, ;D ;D ;D

robersl
21-04-2006, 07:49 PM
i caught a simalar fish but smaller off margate this morning a flathead but not our normal type a bit thicker in the body grunted a bit like a pig and has little red spots on its stripes
threw it back
shane

BlitzBaga
21-04-2006, 07:57 PM
looks like it's been tie dyed

banshee
21-04-2006, 08:36 PM
Looks similar to a Rock/Fringe eyed Flathead?

Canoedle
21-04-2006, 09:01 PM
Aparently there are 30+ species of flathead

22-04-2006, 01:06 AM
your a crack up choppa, it was the pine, probably as bad a narrangba but, paper mills and quarry's and all. fisher dan, funnny ya said that the bastard did a bit, i called him for a little cod before i got him in the net! :o robers that bastard was very thick througgh the body, didn't lok like a flatty, till up close, had BIG spikes on the bastard too!! canoedle, placky's are going off!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

22-04-2006, 11:58 AM
got out grants, and yes banshee its a fringe eeyed flatty

Lone_Wolf
22-04-2006, 12:24 PM
were you game to eat it Lippa?

mattooty
22-04-2006, 12:27 PM
I was on a site a few days ago and it mentioned an alligator or crocodile flathead? it looks very simliar in the head?
Probably wrong but worth a look

22-04-2006, 01:10 PM
only went 25cm, but it was a chunky little buggar, would have got somme good fillets off it, didn't know size limits so over the side she went

MulletMan
22-04-2006, 01:22 PM
Yep, dis is him!

http://www.austmus.gov.au/fishes/fishfacts/fish/cnematoph.htm

land_based
22-04-2006, 02:29 PM
Nice one lippa, always keen to hear about new species in the pine.

Sean
22-04-2006, 09:57 PM
I think Tiger Flathead are a pinky colour aren't they? :)

Feral
23-04-2006, 02:18 PM
i think ya fishn to close to narangba mate,,,,that nuclear site does strange things to animals ya know,,,,,,,,,, ;D ;D ;D

I'd be more worried about the chemical factory that burnt down across the road from it, its been leaching nasties into the local creeks for months.

cuzzamundi
23-04-2006, 06:05 PM
crikey crikey crikey!!!!!! one hell of a flattie! never seen or heard of one til today. thanks for bringing it up mate - i'll know if i ever get one. i woulda been the same and asking serious questions about the 'health' of the fish, lol. strange looking fella.

cuzza