View Full Version : To sell or not!!

gropeher
01-05-2006, 09:28 AM
I am hoping I will not have to sell my beloved Cruise Craft,
My problem is I am only 32 but have severe back problems with a condition called Ankolysing spondylitis, which is basically where the spine slowlly starts fusing together. This causes me major pain when I have bad bouts and very bad spasms, when this happens, I take pain killers and Valium to stop the spasms.

What I have found, is that over my last several offshore trips I really pay for it the next day or 2 afterwards and end up on pain killers and my walking stick etc just to get around. So instead on Saturday I had a bay fish in very favourable conditions and I thought all would be fine, however this has made no difference at all.
I have been wearing sneakers to help absorb the impact etc and am wondering if anyone has any good ideas. My seat is not a gas shock and while under way I stand because I feel I have more control absorbing any impacts through my knees etc, rather than the jarring through the back while seated.
If there is chop I go a bit faster to skip across the top, and if it gets too rough I slow right down and slow up and down the face etc.

I cant bear the thought of selling my beloved rig. I meet with the specialist again at the end of May and will see if he can shed any light.

My question is, does anyone else have any similar problems where they have found they have been able to absorb these impacts etc better and protect the back? I even wear a back brace and this made no difference either. I also take anti inflammatory tablets daily, 3 sorts.
I just want to fish and be able to take my family out when they a bit older and enjoy our pristine waters.
And I also want to continue to be able to head offshore where the more serious fish are.

Cheers Ryan..

rando
01-05-2006, 11:02 AM
Thats crook Ryan , I cant offer any helpful tips , only some empathy, I know what it means to have cronic back pain.
I hope there is someone who can help you.
kind regards
rando

agnes_jack
01-05-2006, 11:29 AM
Sorry to hear that Ryan
I know a bit about what it's like to put up with back pain, I had to give away plastering and carpentry because of back pain. Mines obviously nowhere near as bad as what you are putting up with, but you have my sympathy!!

I had some matting like the material that thongs are made from that was very comfy to stand on all day and may help to take some of the shock out for you,you can get it up to 15mm thick or more, may be worth a try!! Not sure where you would find the stuff, maybe Clark rubber or similar may be able to source it for you.

Regards, Tony

01-05-2006, 11:32 AM
What about those rubber mats they use to stand on when working on a lathe or the one spot all day, they are full of holes, dont know the name of it but if you can absorb more in your feet it should be better.

Darryl
01-05-2006, 12:34 PM
Gday Ryan, i have the same thing plus 3 prolapsed discs so i know exactly what you are talking about. I would be interested in any relief or tips as well because i get like you for a couple of days at least(especially after running out to the Banks).

One thing i am yet too try is a thick rubber mat like Blaze mentioned, i think it was Fishinmission (Jay) that did this to his center console and it helped.

Darryl.

01-05-2006, 12:41 PM
one of the main reasons why i bought the bbq boat was due to this,,, i'm okay but mrs choppa had a severe injury whilst working that left her in chronic pain,,, after 2 major operations,, she can't stand i one spot to long,, and if we plan a trip in the truck theres always a few breaks built in along the way,,,, she now pops about 4-5 pain killers a day,, and this accident happened 5-6 yrs ago,,

was going to sell the boat a while back due to my health issues,,, but nah,,, chop jr is now here and it won't be long before we venture out,,,,,,

01-05-2006, 01:11 PM
bundy rum? just a thought!, mate sorry about your condition, what about downgrading a getting a pretty trick estuary/dam boat. if ya get one big enough,, you still will be able to get out side on a good day.

Dodgy_Back
01-05-2006, 01:12 PM
Guess what !

I have a bad back too!

I've had 2 surgeries, so at least I can understand what you're going through.

I have a seat pedestal that I have screwed a nicer ( softer) style of seat.

It's called a "soft rider" it takes a lot of the impact out of it , I THINK IT'S GREAT.

But also I keep up basic exercises that were given to me by a back rehab clinic.

Actualy ,I'm back at the clinic for a bit of a follow up, Its called the Wesley back rehab at the Wesley hospital at Brisbane.

Well worth the 2 week course, ask your doctor for a referral you won't look back.
And even better Ihavn't had any pain killers for 3 WHOLE DAYS.

Best of luck Mick

If you need any more info on the back clinic give me a pm

seabug
01-05-2006, 01:24 PM
http://www.bolsters.com/hdphotos.htm

The site above shows some of the best seats available anywhere.

They could be dear or cheap,depends how much you like your fishing.

I think that they would be ideal for taking the stress off sore backs.

When you take into account how much the tow vehicle ,boat and trailer and running expenses and depreciation are ,and you cannot use the boat because of a crook back ,are they really expensive?

I have not got one ,but if I order a platey that is what I will sit on/in.

Seabug

TonyM
01-05-2006, 01:27 PM
Know how you feel Ryan, I have spondylitis also (in my neck) and know just how much it can affect fishing. Probably the best thing I ever did was get a polycraft boat - it has made it possible for me to go out fishing and whilst I still pay for it, I get over it a lot quicker as it's the smoothest ride I've ever had. I too am fighting avoiding painkillers, but some days you have no choice.

Geez that sounds allright dodgyblack! Might look into that.

Another change I am in the midst of making is setting up an impoundment boat so I can mix it up a bit and days on the lake are always very relaxing.

gropeher
01-05-2006, 03:10 PM
Yeah thanks guys,
I am going to look into a rubber mat and also price up a beetre seat with a gas shock, juyst something else a mate mentioned today, he said that the stabilisers/trim tabs should help also so I went for a drive to Wynnum Marine but they are closed today due to the public holiday so I will venture back tomorrow.
Do you think this could help?

There is no way I will let this beat me, I need to keep boating, it is just such an enjoyment, thanks for the kind words of encouragement, it just goes to show how many others are suffering and what each individuals remedies are, or like me they just put up with it for the next 2 days, In the last hour I have just been able to stop using the walking stick, thats since Saturdays trip, and probably 12 or so pain killers and 4 -5 valium.

Cheers Ryan..