View Full Version : OK, who's got a bad back and how do ya cope

01-05-2006, 02:05 PM
just seems like a lot of members have bad backs, just wonder what others do to cope.
my injuries are
semi rupture discs X a couple lower back
broken tailbone
I have a glass boat and stand up mostly when travelling, cant sit for long in a seat as per normal but tend to lay, that takes (or seams to) the pressure off the tailbone.
ps
maybe we can work out a better way to do things from other members.

Hagar
01-05-2006, 02:40 PM
Blaze

I don't think they ever go away entirely but mine gives me no trouble now . Ever since biting the bullet and joining a gym a coupla years ago I have done back stretches and strengthening exercise in addition to the weights routine and it's done wonders . Doesn't work for everyone though .

As regards the boat I installed gas lift 'Softrider ' seat pedestals with a good padded seat . Highly recommended - softens the spine jolting when you hit a real pothole out there . The vertical adjust feature is great also for peering over the screen or getting below it to look through . You only need on the captains side of course - bugga the deckie . ;D ;D

gropeher
01-05-2006, 03:31 PM
Well you obviously all know my story by now,
But Bill Corten has just called round and informed me to go to Glass craft Marine at Fortitude Valley to get a spring loaded gas shock fitted to the seat, he said it would greatly improve any jarring.

I should also be getting my lazy ass off to the gym to do these back strengthning exercises.

Ryan..

fisho
01-05-2006, 03:35 PM
Grab a gym ball and get a physio to show you some exercises if you are serious about fixing the problem. Best of luck! :)

stubi
01-05-2006, 03:38 PM
Hi Blaze

Great topic, I have a buggered back from carpentry and a motorcycle accident, I am trying the get fit approach, it is starting to work, I think :-? As I live in Taipei I get to do a LOT of walking, I can feel my back strengthening. As Hagar suggested though, not everything works for everyone, good luck ;)

Stubi [smiley=bomb.gif]

Ps, sleeping still sucks, can't get comfortable for long then hard as hell to walk when I get up. Having a crook back sucks big time, it hurts like hell and unless others have or have had the same problem they can never understand. Sometimes I feel so useless and stupid when you can't walk and somene asks whats wrong? I just smile and say nothing, just a little stiff :-[

rando
01-05-2006, 03:41 PM
Mine is scoliosis ( curverture of the spine)
I get frequent episodes of nueralgia (pinched nerves) that present as a whole range of symptoms.
It is getting slowly worse as i get older. The last month or two it has been every day, the result of sitting at a desk all day, and I am really battling to get it to settle down.

The best result I get is if I keep up the back exercises. Weights, stretches , mobility exercises.
Physiotherapy helps too and the best bloke I have found is Mark Stokes at "Maximise" over on Kessels rd. Ive tried other physios as I am now on the northside but Mark gets me right( as right as can be expected with my particular complaint) and has done for many years now

When I start to see symptoms I try to get stuck straight into anti -inflamatories as once the nerves get irritated and inflamed ,it is a real battle to get them to settle.

For those of you with this kind of back complaint the strength exercises are the key. Keep it strong and you avoid many of the symptoms.

Ive been dealing with this now since I was 14 years old, Im 51 now, and I am just now beginning to understand how to manage it effectively.

Hope this is of some help
rando

stubi
01-05-2006, 03:41 PM
Oh yeah, I am still young (32). I had the accident almost 10 years ago.

gropeher
01-05-2006, 03:46 PM
Yep,
I know all about the pain of trying to roll over in bed, takes a couple of minutes just to move positions and hurts like hell,
Just as bad if I need to get up for a pee too!!

Looks like my walking routine needs to start again asap. I had been walking 6k a day but stopped about 12 months ago and got lazy.

Ryan..

rando
01-05-2006, 04:31 PM
Ryan
See a physio and get an exercise plan specifically for your back. Then get stuck into it, and keep it up,you should see a difference almost immmediately.
I get most of my problems when i get lazy and dont exercise my back
vertical rows, bent over rows, lat pulldowns, parralell back arches, that sort of thing , but make sure it is an exercise routine for YOU.
Good Luck
Also the easyrider seat sounds good :)

ancienttinnie
01-05-2006, 04:31 PM
Have several ruptured discs, arthritis and stenosis of the lower back, mostly work related, got a bigger boat with a softer ride, found out the hard way what most of my limtations are. Have a quality seat in the boat, fish within my limits and learnt to make the most of tides weather and conditions. If the back plays up while I'm fishing, I generally head for home (fortunately this is rare, usually plays up more at work ::))Use pain killers/anti imfamatories only as a last resort and just generally live with it. No point in complaining, no one listens and largely self inflicted due to choice of lifestyle. :)

shaman
01-05-2006, 05:25 PM
Whoa I thought my back was bad :o
I've got a few ruptured discs which have weakened my back to the extent that the Q.L. muscles that run down my spine to support it are so tense they are pulling my hips up which in turn cuase my quad (thigh) muscles to try to pull my hips back in place (domino effect!!) >:(
All the symptoms are painfull and cause me to get extremely edgy >:(
I just recently joined a gym and am weight training and together with stretching exercises I have felt the benefits straight away.
Anti-inflam medications are not good for your guts and with me they relax the Q.L. muscles to much and cause my legs to stop functioning totally. Now there's a sensation that spins you right out, legs go out from under you, no feeling from the waist down. Scary sh!t :o :o
Anyway there is a reason for it all to much skylarking as a younger bloke.
But did have a huge time [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

onerabbit
01-05-2006, 05:44 PM
Hey stubi,
have you ever tried a waterbed ?? Sleeping used to be a big problem with me until I discovered them, about 10yrs ago.
I have a pretty lousey back, lower disc problems, pretty bad sciatica.
In a bad attack, I cant walk with a walking stick, I have 2. Dont need them any other time.

Staying fit is definitely the way to go, I usually rely on regular trips to sea for muscle tone, twice a week when possible. However, I wear a moto-x kidney belt under my shorts & clip the gimbal belt really tight over it. This helps to lock spine & hips togeather & reduce a bit of shock. Normally cant walk very upright by the time I get home, but feel ok the next day.
Any info on the gas-lift seats would be appreciated, e.g $

Dodgy_Back
01-05-2006, 05:52 PM
Two x micro discectomy to L5S1 IN JAN AND MARCH OF 2004.
And now are looking at a disc repacement.
I suppose then I will become "Bionic Dodgy Back"

so now have stopped work because of too much pain and too many drugs.
Fish for stress relief
Constant trips to the doctor
Try to exercise.

that's the common theme, EXERCISE !!!!!!!!

Sitting at a desk is one of the worst things you can do, so if you have a desk job, quit tomorrow!!

try a back rehab course, they are great but you must keep to a plan ,that's the hard part.

s-pac
01-05-2006, 05:56 PM
Everybodies injuries are different and varied. I started going to a chiropractor a year ago and has helped me greatly. But as everyone points out, what works for someone does not necessarily work for others.
Best of luck with each and everyones treatments, making the day after a fishing trip more bearable.

Regards Andrew

01-05-2006, 06:00 PM
Yeah, I am prone to the odd day off due to the back playin up.

A chiro put me onto sleepin with a pillow under me knees to take the opressure off the lower back.. it's done wonders for me and another exercise which is a little embarassing but also does wonders for the lower back

Here goes ::)

lying on ya back with ya knees bent you have to use the muscles that you use when ya havin a big sh!t like sukin ya balls up into ya stomach BUT ya have to do this without using ya stomach muscles :o you contract these and hold for 2 secs working up to 30-40 a day :-[

TheSaint
01-05-2006, 07:01 PM
yeah i do.. i mostly exercise to keep the weight off with a low impact sport like cycling so it stops the pressure on your back from your fat beer belly which causes you alot of back problems..

onerabbit
01-05-2006, 07:55 PM
Spaniard_king,

Always thought pelvic floor excercises were for the missus???
Also very important for us blokes too.

With practice you can do them anywhere.

01-05-2006, 08:19 PM
lying on ya back with ya knees bent you have to use the muscles that you use when ya havin a big sh!t like sukin ya balls up into ya stomach BUT ya have to do this without using ya stomach muscles :o you contract these and hold for 2 secs working up to 30-40 a day :-[

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D,,,,,,,,,,,sorry garry,, but reading this certainly placed a smile on me dial,,,,,,,,,aren't you afraid that nature might think your,,,,,,,,(nah don't go there choppa) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

robersl
01-05-2006, 09:59 PM
Yep,
I know all about the pain of trying to roll over in bed, takes a couple of minutes just to move positions and hurts like hell,
Just as bad if I need to get up for a pee too!!

Looks like my walking routine needs to start again asap. I had been walking 6k a day but stopped about 12 months ago and got lazy.

Ryan..

HI RYAN
I KNOW THE FEELING YOU HAVE I HURT MY BACK IN 1999 DIGGING BLOOD WORMS FOR BAIT DONE MY L5 AND A FEW BULGE DISCS ECT BUT SIX WEEKS AGO HURT IN A DIFFERENT SPOT I COULD NOT MOVE OR ROLL OVER IN BED I TOOK 3 WEEKS OFF WORK TO GET OVER IT I TOOK SUNNY OUT TING FISHING WHILE IT WAS SORE AND HE ENDED HAVING TO PASS ME THE BAIT I COULD NOT MOVE WITHOUT SPASAMS AFTER 2 WEEKS MY BACK WAS FINE SO WENT ON MY 5 DAY BARRA TRIP TO DARWIN AND HAD NO PROBLEMS WAS BACK 2 DAYS AND MY SORE BACK WAS BACK WENT TO HOSPITAL AND THEY PUT ME ON DIAZAPHAM FEELS GREAT NOW BUT CAN ONLU USE THE TABLETS AT NIGHT AS THEY KNOCK ME OUT
SHANE

catchy_fishy
02-05-2006, 05:33 AM
lying on ya back with ya knees bent you have to use the muscles that you use when ya havin a big sh!t like sukin ya balls up into ya stomach BUT ya have to do this without using ya stomach muscles :o you contract these and hold for 2 secs working up to 30-40 a day :-[Garry

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D,,,,,,,,,,,sorry garry,, but reading this certainly placed a smile on me dial,,,,,,,,,aren't you afraid that nature might think your,,,,,,,,(nah don't go there choppa) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

ROTFL, ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;Dsorry Garry but you had me in stitches - even had to show your post to the missus -

Choppa, you too have a wicked sense of humour.

al_neibling
02-05-2006, 10:28 AM
All the advice of everyone else is great but I would also say what has worked well for meis Glucosamine 2000mg per day everyday works a treat and its's natural.........

Al

02-05-2006, 03:18 PM
I'm still in the grin and bear it phase Blaze...gotta start exercising and getting rid of the emergency ration pack and get some more mobility/flexability...I'm still in the thinking about it stage hoping it will wear off ;D ;D ;D

02-05-2006, 03:33 PM
Got the disc at L51 missing and some others severely worn. I think it came about by me carrying 65kilo packs most of my younger mountaneering days and participating in considerable long distance sponsored walking on tarmacbefore the advent of cushion soles (once did 800 miles in 21 days) .

I'm now a strong believer in humans being made for short bursts of speed (hunter gatherer thingy) and not flogging your body and ageing it prematurely, although in my case, it's too late ;D At 46, the deckie has only recently giving up cycling from Bracken Ridge to her work at Chermside, to my relief.

Tried an exercise regime in a gym and just aggravated it. It seems to go mainly when I twist too sharply like in chucking a cast net ::)

Doc says that spinal fusion is the only remedy but I don't like the idea of anyone poking around near the spinal column. He did say that the body's own remedy is that it will fuse naturally over time and that many back pain sufferers actually get relief in their later years.

After spending time in the tinny and not being able to move as you can in a bigger rig, I always get warnings and immediately take ibuprofen. Learning to live with it, just as I am with ageing in another certain part of the anatomy ;) ;D

Our character is shaped as much by our failures as it is by our successes.

rough_shag
02-05-2006, 04:05 PM
Hi everyone, I have had severe back probs for 20 years now and have just about tried it all from cortisone injections to surgery and generally speaking most of the techniques/procedures/medications are treating the symptoms and not the cause of the probs.
The cause of most back probs is the failure of the intervertebral discs-sometimes called flat tyre disc,ruptured disc,slipped disc or prolapsed disc.Once the disc doesn't function properly it allows the nerves exiting at the various levels of the spine to become irritated or even pinched-that's when the hell starts!.Unless the disc height is restored somehow then the problem will recure time and again forever(kinda like having a busted shock absorber on your car-unless you replace it, it will never work properly).
Some things which I have found to be helpful are,exercising(NOT running!!!) and no twisting at all or sit-ups which are specifically designed to stuff your back!,an inversion machine will give great relief(hanging upside down machine),a SOFT mattress(not a firm one!)as a soft one will hold you in place and reduce torsional forces on your back muscles etc.For severe pinches etc there is only one relief and that's bedrest and minimal painkillers.
I am currently having preliminary tests etc with a view to having my lumbar (L4-5) disc replaced with an artificial disc which have been extremely successful in the last 15 years.
Degenerative disc disease is the second most common disease in the world and anyone who has had severe probs will tell you what a life destroying thing it is , so anyone out there with a mildly bad back or even a good back do yourself a big favour and look after it at all costs because once it fails you are in a whole world of pain and disability boys trust me I know.
By the way sitting in a moving boat for someone with a back weakness is a real no no, standing is the go as it allows your legs to absorb the shock and act like springs taking the strain off the back.
Anyone in REAL trouble with their back who wants a top specialist in the field with a view to maybe having a surgical fix can check out Dr Matthew Scott-Young on the gold coast-I've seen plenty over the years and this guy actually wrote the book on back disease and how to fix it and he doesn't bullsh!t around either he'll give it to you straight.

gropeher
02-05-2006, 05:13 PM
Hi Rough shag,
you say sitting is a no no on the boat, I have always stood but as I said earlier, find I end up on my walking stick for the next 2 days, at an absolute struggle just to move, and thats with pain killers and muscle relaxants for the spasms etc.

I thought I may need an air spring seat to help absorb the impact, do you think this would work?

My condition, I was diagnosed at 21 and I am now 32 and I find it is getting worse.
Ankolysing Spodylitis slowly causes the veterbrae to fuse and inflmammation of the joints causing major back spasms, especially through my left or right buttock, when real bad I need to go to hospital for injections and will not let my mrs drive any more than 5km an hr or I just continual spasm and pain etc. The fusion causes you to walk all curved over like you see some old men walking round curved over looking at the ground.

There is no operation to fix this, only take anti inflammatories daily and pain killers when required.

There must be something I can do to the boat to improve (Cruise Craft 500 Explorer) surely to help me out, or as they say is it really just get off that ass of mine and exercise.
The specialist does say that, but I am interested if anyone has any good ideas to improve my situation on the boat.

Cheers Ryan..

onerabbit
02-05-2006, 06:06 PM
# #Some things which I have found to be helpful are,exercising(NOT running!!!) and no twisting at all or sit-ups which are specifically designed to stuff your back!,an inversion machine will give great relief(hanging upside down machine),a SOFT mattress(not a firm one!)as a soft one will hold you in place and reduce torsional forces on your back muscles etc.For severe pinches etc there is only one relief and that's bedrest and minimal painkillers.

Hey rough_shag, was just going to mention the inversion machine.
I have been going to chiropractors since I was in primary school, trying to correct mis-aligned hips, which is the base of my problem. Cant tell you how many I have been to now, but after being introduced to "having a hang", I've never been back to one except for a very few occasions. I have one, but only use it when I am in trouble, a bit like if its not broke, dont fix it.
For lower back pain, I have been advised to do BACKWARD stretching excersises only.
One more thing, I never found bed-rest to be much help, a bit like prolonging the agony, better to crawl around on hands & knees than not move at all.
It sounds like we all have different injuries with different symptoms, each with a unique way of dealing with it. Excersise & muscle tone seem to be the common thread among us.
Good health to all,

Graham_N_Roberts
02-05-2006, 07:58 PM
Back pain is one of the lonliest pains you can experience. :'(

You feel it, you say it hurts, and yet, those who have never experienced back pain call you a bludger! >:( :-[ Those same considerate experts are quick to have sympathy for someone with chest pain.

I have degeneration of L3 L 4, and crikey it's a bugger. I must say though that exercise IS the best way to assist in the rehabilitation. Strong muscles are the support network of the body, which also, strangely enough, includes the spine.

As for hanging upside down .... we're humans... not bats. Our body is not designed to hang.

Keep exercising guys.

ancienttinnie
02-05-2006, 09:15 PM
Hey Shaman, I know what you mean about the legs, it is really great to have no control over your legs, people don't seem to understand just what it does to you.

04-05-2006, 11:57 AM
I sleep on the floor. Its the best remody I have found. best exercise I have found is swimming.

shaman
04-05-2006, 12:25 PM
Hey Shaman, I know what you mean about the legs, it is really great to have no control over your legs, people don't seem to understand just what it does to you.
Yeah gives a new meaning to being "totally legless" hey.
I forgot to mention earlier that I have tried HOT STONE THERAPY where the massage therapist (my wife) applies hot stones to specific areas and IT DOES WORK. The relief is instant and gets even better over the next few days, it lasts for 1-2 weeks and isn't painfull like a lot of therapies. Not only is it therapeutic it's also very relaxing.

Nice to know there is other people who understand the pain involved. As mentioned earlier, not too many people out there who are simpathetic to our plight. Interesting that we all learn not to whinge and just grin and bear it. TOUGH BASTARDS US FISHO'S. GRRRRR!!!!!
Billy.
P.S. with this sort of response from this small ELITE group, makes you wonder what the % of the population actually suffer from severe back pain? #:o

EDO
04-05-2006, 06:24 PM
Hello Members,

Yes, been through all of that in my 70 years. Even had to sell the boat a couple of years' ago: Couldn't take the waves [ripples]" Even sitting down.

Give Health Balance, Chris NUNN at Wynnum, a ring. He is a Univ. of Qland. qualified Exercise Physiologist. A Physiotherapist referred me to him.. Very good value.

Tell him 'BRUCE" sent you.

EDO

paddo
05-05-2006, 08:40 AM
G'day Blaze -- Cripes, it feels like I'm talking to myself. My monica for years has been Blaze so it looks as though you have beaten me to it. Do you get fire engines arriving at your place with "We go to Blazes" on to front bumper too?
Apart from that it seems we have something else in common. I have suffered from back problems for many years [ spondylitis, spondylosis and a crush fracture of the spine] and I get most of my relief from exercises which involve arching the back for timed periods. It sure draws some remarks from other golfers when I do it on the course, but then I walk around while they ride in golf carts. If you go out in a boat, use a snug fitting seat with a back rest and elbows support and avoid crossing bars at river mouths. Oh yes, it only takes 1/25 of a second to swing a golf club, so I'm through the pain barrier fairly quickly.
Paddo.

Dodgy_Back
05-05-2006, 04:53 PM
Just finished a 2 week back rehab course at the Wesley Hosp, I'm feeling pretty good too.

I just have to pull my finger out and keep active ie. exercise and stretching.

They even suggesting that as being a keen boater a back brace of some sort would be useful ,but ONLY for short periods or my back will get used to it and become even weaker.

The hospital chemist gave me a talking to about my drug intake and told me that I didn't have a legal drug problem YET.
But as a bad back sufferer Ishould be careful as it could be quite easy to over medicate

rough_shag
06-05-2006, 11:25 AM
Just reading a few posts here and thought I would mention again the MAIN cause of MOST back probs-degenerative disc disorder-the failure of the spines' shock absorbers for various reasons.Some say that we aren't meant to walk upright and thats the problem-who knows?but hanging upside down does work just as long as you don't break your neck in the process!-slowly does it.It also reverses the effects of gravity on the bodies' organs and allows blood circulation into areas restricted by gravity etc etc and of course it straightens the spine too which doesn't really happen any other way.
Once a failed disc allows the exiting nerve root to be irritated it sets off a whole range of muscular responses in order to protect the area/nerve.You can exercise your rear end off but if that nerve gets irritated from twisting or jarring you are going down big time and only time and rest will allow the nerve to release and symptoms to ease.I think the best way to understand it is to imagine an elite athlete like a footy player-super fit,exercise is a way of life etc but if he pulls a hamstring(or whatever) he cannot keep playing regardless of how fit he is.It's the same with back injuries you can be super fit but if that nerve is irritated you cannot overcome it,you need to wait til it releases first.Exercise will help with loosening up muscles in spasm but will not help the CAUSE of the problem.
For me,having just completed a 4hr cruise in my 5.5mtr glass boat-ouch!, the only way to reduce the effects of a boat pounding(assuming you have a glass boat and not an alloy boat) is really to stand and use your legs to absorb the shock.I think a spring/gas loaded seat is still not gunna give the comfort/protection needed as when you are in a sitting position the back is fully exposed to the motion both up and down and forward and is therefore 'working' pretty hard.But anyway whatever works for you I guess.Someone mentioned a back brace(material fabric type?) and I think this would probably be very good-I'll give that idea a whirl soon.
Cheers! Jace.

Viking
06-05-2006, 12:03 PM
If you have a smaller runabout consider getting rid of it and having a centre concole or tiller steer - the further you are to the stern of the boat the smoother the ride and less jarring. Also as others have said get the best seat you can afford it will make a huge difference and you'll enjoy you're fishing so much more.

saphire
06-05-2006, 08:59 PM
Stand on the balls of your feet. Slightly bend your knees and make sure your knees and ankles are relaxed. This allows the shock of the boat going over bumpy waves to disipate its energy before it gets to your back. Its important to allow your body to go with the waves.
Also helps the ladies who get painful boobs while driving their boat.
Wishing you all safe and healty boating.
saphire.

ancienttinnie
06-05-2006, 09:22 PM
The ride in the boat is the biggest problem in most cases, I have found that if it gets rough and the boat has a rough ride then I pay for it big time, also off shore tends to make my back play up. too many different angles of motion and it doesn't cope at all well. I now have a large tiller steer tinny that seems to make a big difference and allowws me to fish in more open areas, another advantage is I can lay down on the floor and stretch out for a while If I have to.

lucylass
06-05-2006, 09:39 PM
we had a haines siggy for a work boat
hubby and i both suffered from back trouble and especially neck problems.

it was the best boat and considered at the time the fastest boat on flat seas in the area
but you would go to the chiro and it would be undone on the next call out

we ended up buying a centre console and its a lot softer ride, less pounding
god i hate rough water anyway but it helps with the jarring

rainbowrascal
11-05-2006, 03:14 PM
Hi Blaze
I have purchased a piece of high density rubber that I stand on when I am travelling which forms a cushion between the deck and your feet. This minimises the direct jarring and pounding from the boat going through swells and helps me a great deal, as I cannot sit and drive.
Paul.

NEWBY
11-05-2006, 10:01 PM
Well bugger me if we aint the bloody walking wounded eh? #;D Typical fisherman. Pain, pain and more pain but does it stop us fishing? No bloody way eh?
Blaze, I know from being fortunate enough to have you as a guest on my boat that you did NOT get your bad back from catching fish. ;D
Mine is totally stuffed too hence thats why I bought the 35 Berty (thats what I told the missus anyway #;))
I have been seeing a massage lady lately every 6 weeks and she is doing wonders. (keep ya mind above ya naval guys) She has leveled out my hips and is now starting on my shoulders and neck. I was all bent. After all that though, I took my wallet out of my pocket when I sit down and have had a lot less drama since. Sounds simple, but, it bloody well works.
P.S. The berty has hard beds too and I have never woken up with a bad back on it so I reckon I wasted a grand on the new matress at home. I am considering moving onto the boat. :D

Sea-Dog
11-05-2006, 11:30 PM
One thing that I have found to work to relieve pain is a "TENS" machine.
Trans#########
Electronic
Nerve
Stimulation

One of those little zapper machines with the electrodes that you stick on with conductive gel.

Not only does it block the pain messages from travelling down the nerves, it relaxes the muscles that are in spasm, that cause most of my particular pain.

I bought mine of ebay a couple of years back and use it when I have a persistent back/neck attack that doesn't settle with anti-inflammatories.

Another thing I have just bought is an inversion swing. I used to have one about 10 years ago. It was so effective at fixing my back that I didn't need it anymore, so I sold it. # Damn #:'(

I am easing myself into the inversion process by not going fully inverted to start with. I have read that even an incline of only 15 degrees is enough to do you good.

You do feel your face going quite red, the first time you use one in a while. So I have limited my angle of inversion by use of the limiting strap that came with the machine.

I didn't want to "Blow my mind."

There are contraindicators (when not to use) for using inversion machines. One of which is high blood pressure, glaucoma or history of strokes.

If you do get to try one - don't be a hero and go fully inverted the first time. Try 15 to 20 degrees to start and see how you feel.

I also picked up my inversion swing on ebay. Brand new in a box (need to understand Engrish assembly instructions) for less than $130 including freight.

Its not as good as my old one, but it will do the job until I can find another one the same as the old one I sold all those years ago.

I can't stand waterbeds, they wreck my back - as do soft mattresses. I use a super firm chiropractic mattress that I picked up from "Tender Auctions" for about $300. #It does the trick for me.

As others have said, each has thier own complaints and management techniques. These are what work for me.

Cheers, Rosco

11-05-2006, 11:44 PM
I am accually suprised at the amount of people that have crook backs, Like Newby said I cant blame mine on big fish, maybe some of you guys can. I personel dont take pain relief for mine ATM because thats the signal for me to either change the way I am doing something or stop altogether.
There is also a lot of varied solutions but like others have said, keeping toned up is the most common theme
Hope others that suffer back problems take something away from this thread to help their own surcumstances

12-05-2006, 06:19 AM
Reading all this makes me very pleased that when I was 15 year old apprentice, I was taught how to bend and lift things in a way that avoided back damage ("Kinetic Lifting"). Have always tried to teach my kids the same technique.

Being a big fella with powerful legs (often described as tree trunks ;D), I have often been asked to lift heavy things and have always done so according to the principles taught to me those 40 years ago - especially avoiding bending the back.

Obviously, a lot of people have also injured their backs through accidents. I sympathise with all of you folk.

I do feel though that kinetic lifting is one of those half hour lessons that they ought to give teenagers at school.