View Full Version : Where to buy ice

Dominator
15-05-2006, 02:13 PM
Hello all,

I am heading down to the tweed in a couple of weeks and i need to know where i can buy ice for our trip.

I will be leaving from eight mile plains so if anyone knows anywhere i can buy block and bag ice between there and somewhere near the tweed river (north) that would be great.

Dom

15-05-2006, 03:10 PM
G'day Dom,

My kids work part time at Coles and Woolies respectively and I usually pick up ice from there...its usually a bit green, but at a $1.50 less 10% per bag is cheaper than the servo stuff.

There may be other places that do it but that's where I usually get mine

Hope this helps

fishn-ads
15-05-2006, 03:22 PM
Miami Ice on the highway at Miami takes about 10 mins longer but cheaper and can buy big bags and blocks.

Ads

FishMarket
15-05-2006, 03:48 PM
Can you buy dry Ice anywhere .????

SCOTTYGC
15-05-2006, 04:04 PM
dry ice from any BOC shop

ring before you go in and ask

scotty

15-05-2006, 07:14 PM
i use the sandgate co-op. 4 bucks to fill a 72 lt esky. good ice to not that airrated crap. try and find a co-op down your way.

Dominator
16-05-2006, 10:06 AM

Looks like Miami Ice is the best option as it is only 1/2 hour away from the Tweed River where we will boarding our houseboat. Their prices seem pretty fair also. ;)

Here is the shops details to help anyone who may need some ice in the near future. :)

Miami Ice
(07) 55351656

Dom

16-05-2006, 06:09 PM
After buying ice for every fishing outing, I gave up buying ice when I bought an 88 litre esky at Christmas. #Nowadays I just freeze half a dozen ice-cream containers of water in the fridge at home. #I do it a couple of times each week. #Why would others not do the same?

The ice that is sold in most outlets is party ice and is hollow - which is great in drinks but otherwise takes up a lot of space.

Feral
16-05-2006, 07:15 PM
I use 3 litre milk bottles, stay frozen a long time, dont get anything in the esky wet, cheap and easy to make in the freezer. Throw away job at end of trip.

madman1
16-05-2006, 07:25 PM
Every day I religiously crack the ice out of the freezer and by the end of the week have half a deep freezer full of frozen solid cubes. #Leave them in the bag and they will last all weekend in the 105 Tropical esky. #

Beats spending $15 -$20 each trip.

Braddles
20-05-2006, 10:26 PM
I have an ice making fridge / freezer - endless supply of (rather large) bits of ice, or flick a switch and crushed ice for drinkies!

I keep telling myself it has paid for itself - which it probably has!

flotsom
21-05-2006, 11:19 PM
i ask the local ice cream shop for the empty containers, not a problem, plenty of ice ready for every weekend.

fishingbarry
22-05-2006, 06:41 AM
Lippa,
I live in the area (Sandgate) is there any story to the ice from the co-op,are you in the know with someone ;) or can I just go in and ask for ice no probs.Do i ring before hand.
Barry

flotsom
22-05-2006, 09:28 AM
you can just ask for ice no problems, most co-ops do the same, i have got ice from sandgate and morgans.

fishingbarry
23-05-2006, 08:44 AM
Flotsom
Thanks, I will down to the co-op Thursday for the 4 day trip to Double island. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Barry

23-05-2006, 04:49 PM
I agree with the general concencus, it would work out cheaper in the long run to buy an old freezer out of the weekend shopper and do your own with ice cream buckets or drink bottles / milk bottles.
I use fruit juice bottles, fit nicely in my ice box 8-)

23-05-2006, 10:45 PM
Bump

fishingbarry
25-05-2006, 07:38 PM
Went to Sandgate co-op today got 2 eskies of ice $4.40 could not be happier,nice bloke in the shed no probs at all,thanks to all for the advice. Now off to Double Island . ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Barry

major-defect
26-05-2006, 01:59 AM
I always use the frozen milk bottles too you always have cold drinking water for the next morning when you really need it if you know what I mean.The frozen bottles are especialy good in the food esky as thers no water in the bottom of the esky{i hate white steak}.I find with just ice bottles in the beer esky doesn't get the tinnies or stubbs to that perfect drinking temp,but party ice added with the bottles lasts lots longer and gets the drinks to the right temp.MMMM beer.