View Full Version : Have you spent the day exploring

11-06-2006, 01:47 PM
Spent sat exploring some new fishing spots, plan was to see if we could get 50km upstream to where the river met the next rd on the arther river or plan 2 was to go up the arthewr river until it came to the franklin river and see if we could meet the road about 5km up there.
We ended up only 25km up the arther, about 1/2 way. Very cold, temp was about 3 degrees for most of the day.
heres some pics
ps
sorry if its in the wrong area but here seemed to be the most relevent, not boating, not reports, not a test but an exploritive trip for future trips

11-06-2006, 01:48 PM
again

11-06-2006, 01:50 PM
again

11-06-2006, 01:52 PM
again

11-06-2006, 01:54 PM
last one

Lone_Wolf
11-06-2006, 02:03 PM
Nice scenery Blaze, what fish do you expect to catch here?

11-06-2006, 02:06 PM
trout and blackfish up that far, eustary perch down closer to the headland.

11-06-2006, 02:27 PM
just found this one, pic seems a bit busy but I like it

aussiefool
11-06-2006, 02:39 PM
top pic's mate. thank goodness they let the franklin run free

el_carpo
11-06-2006, 02:51 PM
:o What a way to spend a day! Great pics of a beautiful spot Blaze! By the looks of it, you're going to have some mighty nice fishing trips ahead of you.

EC

11-06-2006, 02:59 PM
Hi aussiefool
thats a different river to the one that was to be dammed, although the hydro had dam plans for most rivers in tassie, these included.

masterdusky
11-06-2006, 04:23 PM
great looking water... did u take the rods with ya mate.. ,aybe next time ;)

hardb8
11-06-2006, 04:42 PM
Hi Blaze,
# # # # # # I've done heaps,I hope you reap the rewards of your exploration,The harder the spot is to get to usually the better the fishing.The small kid is alive in us all,And the what's around the next bend syndrome is infectious ain't it.Ya gotta love the Wait A While bushes,Lantana,Mozzies and slippery rocks.It's all part of the adventure. :DNice pics mate,Looks like a top spot.

# # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # Regards hardb8 # # ;)

seabug
11-06-2006, 07:34 PM
Hi Blaze,
Love the pics
Especially reply7

Almost have me wishing I was there, but not at 3 degrees.

Seabug

onerabbit
11-06-2006, 07:41 PM
Top pics there Blaze, what a great place to be in,

We dont explore much in the rivers, but I love finding new ground at sea, nothing better than catching a thumper fish on a spot that you have found all by yourself.

11-06-2006, 07:49 PM
I do a lot of exploring at sea but something in my head kept telling me go inland, back to my youth(bloody heck that was a long time ago), so that was the purpose of this trip. Even though we fell a long way short of the intented target there is no doubt spots in this inaccesable river (by land) that may well have not had a human foot on it for hundreds of years. Looks very fishy in most areas and I think most of the snags would hold good black fish and trout. Disapointed I didnt have a sounder but put a few marks inthe gps for in the middle of a deep river and finding snags with the out board. Need a sounder next trip.