View Full Version : Industry jobs...

05-06-2006, 03:13 PM
Just curious as to what options I might have if I was to look at trying to get into the Fishing/Boating industry. I'm a computer guy by trade, so maybe there is an option for this somewhere???

What do you all think my options are? If not alot for that, what other options do I have?

Alternatively, is there a company that needs an it guy, pays well, is flexible on holidays, and will sponsor my fishing habits???

gogecko
05-06-2006, 03:47 PM
Hi Dan,
soon to be pro bream fisher?

Sorry, mate. Seriously tho, I ran into a guy a few months ago who wrote some software for navigation, and now has his own company. Just a few staff, but he has a pretty good house and is making bucks. He said I wouldnt know it coz its mainly for commercial shipping, rec boaties dont use it, but he is succesful.

Ive always thought the real oney is in bringing a new product to market, and getting bought out by the big boys. Theres quite a few guys on here with the ability to help finance and market. You just need to identify a demand that isnt being serviced yet. An ausfish co-op biz idea of some sort? The vision is the hardest thing, the rest is just details.

Another mate went from being deckie to running his own marlin charter biz. Spends some time in Cairns, a few months in Pt Stephens and a few mths on the goldy. What a life. Did quite well too, 2 world record marlins on his boat.

Another guy is a wholesaler bringing tackle in from overseas.

Maybe have a think, and be more specific about what part of the industry you want? You are hooked arent you? Id rather stick to what I know, and let that pay for my addiction.......

05-06-2006, 03:57 PM
HA HA HA!!! You just wait Andrew... You're gonna wish you'd taken me up on it one day!!! ;D

It's just a general question. More curious as to what sort of jobs there are more than looking for one right now (unless one presents itself that is worth it). Curiousity is a bit of a trait I have... Can't help but question everything!

major-defect
05-06-2006, 04:05 PM
I thought of getting a charter going here but then reality set in and I realised that I'm not that good a fisherman.Also if you've read of some of the mistakes I've made you'd understand.

MulletMan
05-06-2006, 04:43 PM
To be honest Mate, there is very little available these days.

Whilst you can do a great Coxswains Course up at Bundaberg Tafe, you then have to log many hours on vessels as Skipper in command. Being a deckie is OK but Maritime Safety Qld reduce the hours you actually log I believe as you are obviously not in command when yer filleting fish down the back.

Like most jobs in the marine/aviation industry, you have to do many years of crap work on crap boats in crap places and get crap hours and crap pay in the process.

It is one of those commitments you either do 110% or forget the whole thing.

If you want to spend the rest of your life as a Skipper on a tourist fishing boat then fair enough but a couple of years of that and you would use yourself as bait I reckon.

For starters I woulkd be looking at the various courses available and what careers tghere are in the industry.

Think about joininmg a VMR of AVCG volunteer marine rescue training. Good training, about fifty hours vessel time per year if you are lucky but a start nonetheless.

Tassy has a Maritime College where you can go and do it full time.

Ya just gotta watch those Tasweigens 'cos they all got the same surname! ;) ;) ;)

05-06-2006, 08:36 PM
Become a worm digger ;D

seatime
05-06-2006, 09:18 PM
along similar lines, u could buy a spanner crab quota and then employ a master fisherman and then deckie for him yourself. you'll get lots of boat time, you're keeping an eye on your investment and u can pay yourself a wage. best of luck :)

05-06-2006, 10:13 PM
have you all swallowed a """"lets be cynical tablet,,, for the month of may and june inclusive""" tablet or what,,,,

okay,,, lets revisit a few posts and threads that have been aired recently,,,,

*lets throws daggers at the newbies (cause they ask the wrong questions in the wrong forum)
*lets have a gripe over whos post got more responses than ours
*lets throw what ever mud we can,,, but dont follow up on any positive ideas that come from it
*and oh yeh,,,, the winner,,, dont be ethnic,,,
*and the list goes on,,,,,,,,,

the question dan asked is not a closed end question,,,,,,he's curious,,, he's after thoughts,,,, not what you all believe he HAS to do,,,,

PP ( and i say this with all sincerity),,, you amaze me,,,,,,,you throw in an ounce of positiveness,,,,, and a tonne of negavtivity,,,,,,,,and then throw a clincher on become a volunteer with VMR or AVCG,,,,after 50 hrs,,,,,,

dont read this wrong,,,, i believe in the old motto,,,, if you REALLY want a job,,,you'll find one

but when you sit back and look at some of the posts that have been thrown over the last few weeks.. it makes ya wonder,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

dan,,,,my response is simple,,,,, if you have computor knowledge and love fishing,,, the door is open,,,

my idea of the best job is the one that you wake up to each morning and enjoy doing ,,,,

the moment you HATE doing it,,,,is the time to change it,

sorry that i'm not a blue/gold/platinium/flouro colored member,,, as some may view,,, but at least i got a bit respect towards a fellow member,, that on a current issue,, that i am not 100% viewed on,, that admitted he has taken up the advice that another member posted and enquired on how to make a difference,,,,,,,,

my 2 bobs worth

HORTO
05-06-2006, 10:31 PM
yeah the AMC (Australian Maritime College) campus down here offers a few courses in the fishing/boating industry http://www.amc.edu.au/prospective/courses/.

have to worn you though its friggin freezing down here its 0.2 degrees in launceston at the moment.

MulletMan
05-06-2006, 10:40 PM
Yeh Choppa, not wrong but you have to tell it as it is sometimes!

I did a fishing trip down the coast a few weeks back and the poor Skipper was almost breaking his heart at the total lack of opportunities in the business. Did his Restricted Coxswains licence but has been stuck on the 10 metre Cat for three years and and the only job he has had was an offer as as a deckie on a Gulf Trawler.

We used to get a lot of the cops join VMR in an effort to get their sea time up and try for a Coxswains Licence for promotion, not one of them (about six I recall) even got close.

As I said, all or nothing! Take the decision to make it a career, do the tough yards and there is no doubt the guy will finish up in a good to great job in maybe twenty years or so. The industry is enormously competitive and would-be Skippers can't afford to muck about the fringes!

As I said, go to Bundy TAFE who run the best coxswains courses in Australia, talk to the instructors, the other students, hang about the industry and get a feel for what is happening, who is getting/got jobs, where, how and what Licence. Or bite the bullet and go to Tassy and do a serious maritime course at the college.

And proof of the lack of jobs is easy to find! Just go on the net and look for a Skippers Job! There is not even a category for them. Try a Google and nothing comes up except some great courses available, exactly what I am saying!

My neighbourds kid went to Cairns and did the prawn trawler bit, got his Coxswains licence, moved to the game fishing industry, spent a few years there and is now partners in a women's health centre. Nice guy and a real worker but he wouldn't make the commitment to many years of working his way up through the ranks.

But in retrospect, I think I goofed and misread Fishing_Dans post and automatically thought he wanted to be a Skipper on a liner or something. # ::) ::)

Having had a closer read, you are right and he may be happy writing software for Customs or DPI, Boating and Fisheries and just messing about in boats.

If so, I hangs me hed in shame! # #:-[ :-[ :-[
But your quote "if you have computor knowledge and love fishing,,, the door is open" is pretty intrigueing!

Like ah, you have researched this and know for sure? If that is all you need to get the required job, wow, that is great but I have a feeling it is not that simple. Point being that this type of advice is no help whatsoever. How does that point him in the right direction, give him the right advice and how does he even go about it other than "the door is open".

Think Fishing_Dan should tell us a bit more about his aspirations, age, and what he is really looking for.

And Choppa, I neither know nor care what you are on about with the garbage on the colour/status of the members here.

You seem to think you have to be one of them to be respected or listened to? Utter crap Mate!

There have been some excellent posts from guys of all experience levels here and I have never seen them sledged or humiliated ever - fact is they are always welcomed (even Goad_Boy re the jet skis)

I'm orf to Stanthorpe and a log fire for the rest of this week! :) :)

wayne_cook
05-06-2006, 11:13 PM
dan maybe a cd on boat lic rules,safety equip,radio etiq,etc would sell.

Just check out all the "how do u do "stuff in all the different posts.

Sure theres an oppurtunity there for your skills.

cheers bear

Louis
06-06-2006, 11:26 AM
The DPI take on a number of Boating and Fisheries Patrol Officers every year.

If you are willing to travel, perhaps this may be an avenue you may wish to consider?

Louis

PS: #I believe the Australian Customs Service are seeking people at the moment who board vessels at sea in order to search for contraband.

Also, remember that Queensland is just one of Australia's states. #

Perhaps contact the relevent authorities in other states as they also
appoint Fisheries Inspectors from time to time.

lattic
06-06-2006, 01:35 PM
bad day at work?

06-06-2006, 03:44 PM
WOW... Hasn't this been an interesting ride... :-?

OK - To put things straight here:-

My age: 27 for about another month
My current occupation: I install & train people on how to use my companies software
My previous occupations: I've been a computer tech/network admin since I was about 14

I realise I didn't word it very well, so I will try and explain it a little better now... Essentially I was trying to get an idea of some of the different types of jobs available in the boat building or fishing industry. This does include charters, deckies, etc, so those answers where fine.

PP - I had never actually thought about TAFE offering courses for that sort of thing, so thanks alot for the info.

I figure that most companies use computers now-a-days. As such, big companies should use lots of computers. Companies that use lots of computers need someone to look after the computers and fix them when they break. This was one of the things I was thinking of...

I do like the idea of developing something new and marketing it! Certainly something to think about. I am in the process of toying with ideas of developing a different option for GPS in boats... So will just have to see where that goes as well.

Choppa - Thanks for that mate! Appreciate it. I agree whole heartedly that if you want a job you will get it. I've never had too much trouble getting a job. As I stated earlier, am not quite ready to leave my current job. However, if the right opportunity came along, then I would look at it...

I've looked at a few websites, and most of the jobs are trade (Welders, carpenters, etc), so probably not likely to suit me as I don't have those trades...

06-06-2006, 03:48 PM
bad day at work?

Ha ha! Would've been my first thought too... ;D

It wasn't though no... Just curiosity got the better of me... Although now after everything above... :-X

gotya
06-06-2006, 04:10 PM
BIAS at Tingalpa want a sales person. they have been running adds for the last 2 weeks

shaman
06-06-2006, 06:00 PM
Hey Dan, design a device that somehow interlinks with keyboards that would give members a very "POSITIVE" electric shock whenever their posts become negative ;D ;D LOL.
Seriously mate I don't really have any ideas so I will just wish you luck and bugger off. Billy

DALEPRICE
06-06-2006, 06:22 PM
gday dan,
speak to a few people in the game mate and
thats the best option. try and have a bit of
a chat to a couple skippers or deckies. i still have family
who fish for a living out of gladstone and its not
all milk and cookies mate. just my 2 cents worth.
cheers dale

DALEPRICE
06-06-2006, 06:24 PM
forgot,
full marks for having a crack...... 8-)
cheers dale

ozkat
06-06-2006, 06:27 PM
Hey Dan, i dunno if your interested but i work for Riviera, im a laminator and do the fibreglass work on those bloody big white boats. Im 40 yo and untill 10 months ago i had no experiance in this type of work. I really like my job, im learning new skills everyday, pay is good, i suppose the best thing is job satifaction. you mentioned boat building, Riviera is always looking for people with good work ethics. As i said im 40 and ill proberly stay there till i retire. It would proberly be a good stepping stone to get into a more specialised boat building company if your interested. message me if you would like anymore info. Cheers Shayne

Daniel_Trenfield
06-06-2006, 07:21 PM
Dan,

Live the dream mate. We only get one life.

Not every one is suited to working for them selves. Theres plenty of good bosses looking for experienced & reliable people. It may mean a pay cut, but money's not everything.

If you can communicate well (as well as you can print), you can do anything.

Check for jobs with marine parts w/sale, retail businesses. Theres plenty in print. Are they living in the past? Maybe start your own show part time before you leave your current employer.

Ask lots of questions.

Tommorow is the next day of the rest of your life.

Dan.

06-06-2006, 09:07 PM
Hey Dan, i dunno if your interested but i work for Riviera, im a laminator and do the fibreglass work on those bloody big white boats. Im 40 yo and untill 10 months ago i had no experiance in this type of work. I really like my job, im learning new skills everyday, pay is good, i suppose the best thing is job satifaction. you mentioned boat building, Riviera is always looking for people with good work ethics. As i said im 40 and ill proberly stay there till i retire. It would proberly be a good stepping stone to get into a more specialised boat building company if your interested. message me if you would like anymore info. Cheers Shayne

Shayne - I may run into you one day as I do some work with Riviera occasionally. The software I look after is the one you guys use to scan and store all your documents & emails in ;) (ManagePoint). You may get a PM soon...

Gbanger
06-06-2006, 10:55 PM
It would proberly be a good stepping stone to get into a more specialised boat building company if your interested.

if there is such a thing...

how do you rate riviera payrates?

DICER
07-06-2006, 10:20 AM
perhaps check these jobs out....

http://www.jobs.qld.gov.au/search/JobDetail.asp?jobid=58960

http://www.jobs.qld.gov.au/search/JobDetail.asp?jobid=58691

07-06-2006, 11:10 AM
I saw those last night Dicer. Not sure I want to work with PWC's though ;D Keeping it in mind though...

sealife
07-06-2006, 09:35 PM
There is a major lack of tech's that actually know how to instal, diagnose or repair marine electronics in Qld. Most of the time you take in your broken sounder/gps and all you get is "we will need to send this to (name of manufacturer) headquarters in Japan/USA/Europe. This usually takes months, costs heaps in freight, and usually results in a 'unable to repair' response.

Maybe someone with your skills could get involved in this facet of the industry.

just a thought.

08-06-2006, 10:07 AM
Had never thought about that one sealife! Cheers!!! :D

Although I would think that would involve an electrical degree (Or similar qualification)? Definately worth a thought though!!!

Az
08-06-2006, 11:58 AM
It would proberly be a good stepping stone to get into a more specialised boat building company if your interested.

how do you rate riviera payrates?

I'm also interested in this, PM me if you would prefer

seatime
11-06-2006, 10:38 PM
Are you still interested in getting into the boating industry. There is a real growth industry for someone like you, not fishing/boating, but shipping. There is lots of money, big money in containerisation.
Write a program for a transport and distribution network or logistics management in the ports. There're heaps of international job opportunities OS in the ports areas especially Europe and SE Asia.
regards.

ancienttinnie
11-06-2006, 10:55 PM
Having had I don't know how many different jobs over the years and now working in the inustry, my suggestion is - don't die curious. There are many different types of jobs, from selling, manufacture, import/export, support and anything you think may be related. I was once told work is what you don't like doing, I haven't worked much in thirty years. The pay is not the greatest in some arreas of the industry but it may come back to lifestyle over money, if you find an interesting area try it out.