View Full Version : How long have you had your Boating Licence?

MulletMan
04-06-2006, 03:42 PM
1961 when I had turned eighteen - Oh God!!! :'( :'(

45 years!!

Did it in the Brisbane River at Oxley on an 18 foot bondwood clinker ski boat with an old V8 truck motor in her!

That was in the days when you had to get a seperate licence for water skiing so you had to do two tests!!

And I still have the original faded old licence - kept in plastic all those years!

Anybody has a licence older than that and I kill 'em!!

04-06-2006, 03:48 PM
12 years

04-06-2006, 03:49 PM
20 years

seajay39
04-06-2006, 04:02 PM
7years

snakecatcher
04-06-2006, 04:09 PM
Only 5 years so I must be the boy!

longtail
04-06-2006, 04:12 PM
16yrs

NeilD
04-06-2006, 04:15 PM
28 years

Does anyone know how or when I have to change over to the new licence? I'm sure it will entail handing over a handfull of $ every few years.

fishn-ads
04-06-2006, 04:16 PM
17 years

fishn-ads
04-06-2006, 04:22 PM
Horse it's automatic now in queensland if the water police ever check they just get your details Name & Address and radio or check it on the Computer on the big boat.

Ads

baldyhead
04-06-2006, 04:29 PM
1968 = 38 yrs
I recently enquired about changing my old worn out 1968 paper licence for a new one and was told that there was no need as my licence had been automatically included on my current Qld drivers licence.
I later quoted my Qld drivers lic No to a Qld transport bloke and he verified that it was definitely there.
cheers baldy

04-06-2006, 04:30 PM
It should be 28 years but some where along the track the records got lost (used to be a lifetime thing, now renew every 3 years), on a licence check I was notifed that I was unlicenced. Just had to go and redo the test again. So somewhere amongst those 28 years there was a few where I had no licence.

TheSaint
04-06-2006, 05:27 PM
It will be 2 years in July.. :-?

skippa
04-06-2006, 05:54 PM
25 years.... omg has it been that long .... I feel old # #:-X # 8-)

No wait I just reread PP's feel better now .... ;D ;)

redspeckle
04-06-2006, 05:57 PM
Done it 20 years ago in IRB (Inshore Rescue Boat) being involed with the surf club
Mitch

04-06-2006, 06:01 PM
Anybody has a licence older than that and I kill 'em!!

looks like pistols at dawn,,,,,,,, just dont be asian ;)

we are gunna have to share a fish together PP,,,,, you're a man of so many different idea's,,,

how you come up with these post's proves it,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,looking forward to the next 1..........choppa

oh by the way,,, got mine when i was 18 as well,,,,,,,,,,28 yrs

04-06-2006, 06:04 PM
double posted,,,,,,,,

daz35
04-06-2006, 06:04 PM
19 years got it just after my car license

shane_wright
04-06-2006, 06:20 PM
Just did the calculations wow 24 years #:o :o :o :o shock horror........

Freeeedom
04-06-2006, 06:24 PM
Got mine in 1974 - that's 32 years. The day I went for my test it was raining, so we never made it out of the testing officer's lounge room. Just this week I went to exchange my tattered old paper license (which was in 4 pieces) only to be told that it had automatically been included on the computer files linked to your driver's license. A quick check revealed that it was there, although the lady at the transport office said that some went missing during the changeover.
Cheers #Freeeedom

seatime
04-06-2006, 06:52 PM
25 years, that's silver!

04-06-2006, 07:33 PM
Went down and got it the day i tuned 16. It will be 6 years this september.

BillB
04-06-2006, 07:49 PM
34 years.
BillB

snappa
04-06-2006, 08:00 PM
1980 in mackay for a cartoon of beer ... [26 years]

have had boats after i turned 16 ...

1966 - 1980 didnt see any need ... :P

dop
04-06-2006, 08:25 PM
Hi All
Came to Marybough QLD in 1985.Really simple test .Aged testing officer reckoned there were too many hoons that day in the Mary River ,asked for i think 30 bucks and wrote out a licence.Just asked how long i had the boat
That is 21 years
Licence paper in heaven about 16 years ago
Regards Peter

bdm56
04-06-2006, 09:26 PM
24 Years. Although I haven't had a boat some of that time. Just got back into boating as the kids are now old enough to enjoy it. :)

Gazza.Boyne
04-06-2006, 09:41 PM
I got mine in 1979 in the Brisbane river, wow thats 27 years, sure doesn't seem that long.

Gazza.Boyne
04-06-2006, 09:45 PM
I got mine in 1979 in the Brisbane river, wow thats 27 years, sure doesn't seem that long.

David_P
04-06-2006, 09:57 PM
Got mine at 16, now 38 so I guess that means I've had it 22yrs. Stacks more boating in it yet too :)

wayne_cook
04-06-2006, 09:57 PM
4days

04-06-2006, 10:28 PM
You need a licence???? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I was a late starter. 5 years.

Darryl
04-06-2006, 10:32 PM
Got mine in the mail box 20 year ago , cost me 15 bucks. ;)

mcsalty
05-06-2006, 04:59 AM
Hey PP, I remember hearing stories about that boat I think. Was it owned by a bloke called Noah??? ;D ;D ;D

18 years.

rossco
05-06-2006, 05:33 AM
late starter also,about 10 years

marlinqld
05-06-2006, 05:36 AM
25 years for me.

aussiefool
05-06-2006, 06:20 AM
got my current ont at Christmas just gone,but my first licence was back in 1981. I let it laps when I sold my boat and diddn't need till now

MulletMan
05-06-2006, 08:23 AM
Thanks McSalty, you really know how to hurt a guy to the quick!! :'( :'( :'( :'(

fish2eat
05-06-2006, 09:31 AM
Hell's Bells..... just worked it out at 34 years ago at age 19 using myold man's De Havilland Tempest with 33HP Evinrude - old fully rivetted job that had more rivets than flat spots......that brings back some memories

fez
05-06-2006, 09:42 AM
Only 1 year, but racking up the hrs fast.

Fez

Tinn
05-06-2006, 09:46 AM
Licence? What Licence? Should I have a Licence?

Licence for a boat? They just hand those out like lollies. You mean a piece of paper with your details on it not a "boat licence"

They dont't count for much you learn more by doing a course.

Only 10 years for me

05-06-2006, 09:56 AM
15 years

petelaska
05-06-2006, 03:11 PM
geez i've had mine since I was 18 as well. That makes it 28 years as well. I had better check i've still got one as I haven't seen that little piece of paper since I don't know when.
feeling like the old man of the sea now.
Peter :'(

talbots
05-06-2006, 05:24 PM
6 years

MulletMan
05-06-2006, 05:51 PM
Geez, yer all a bunch of younguns eh!

Where the 40+ year men out there?

borisdog
05-06-2006, 06:03 PM
Only ever needed one when I moved to QLD in 1996, so 10 years. WA didn't have boat licenses in those times. Got an Open Coxswains ticket last year.

fishlady
05-06-2006, 06:42 PM
Didnt own a boat in QLD so never had one and dont need one here (NT). Waiting to finish my coxwains when the two units I need come back to town. Scary out there with all the weekend warriors with their big expensive boats, no license and no clue.

NeilD
05-06-2006, 06:50 PM
got my current ont at Christmas just gone,but my first licence was back in 1981. I let it laps when I sold my boat and diddn't need till now

How did your licence lapse? I have done nothing since paying for it 28 years ago.

05-06-2006, 08:48 PM
Up home in Bowen, many moons ago, but not as many as P.P. ;D, no driving (car) or boat test needed, our local copper due to some family friendship, gave me both :-X.
Something like 38 christmasas ago :-?.

gundog
05-06-2006, 09:09 PM
24 bloody years.Iwent through the theory questions on the short trip to the power boat licence exam. Put the boat in, answered two questions and done two laps of a small dam. I don't thick things have improved by the amount of boneheads on the water. Gundog

The_Walrus
05-06-2006, 09:34 PM
Only 6 years for me when I got my boat.

No need before that as I was always in someones else's boat "under supervision" ;D

wayne_cook
05-06-2006, 09:42 PM
got my current ont at Christmas just gone,but #my first licence was back in 1981. I let it laps when I sold my boat and diddn't need till now

How did your licence lapse? I have done nothing since paying for it 28 years ago.

In nsw u pay each year :'( :'( :'( >:( >:( + fishing lic + rego + dearer fuel+less fish++++

onerabbit
05-06-2006, 10:21 PM
Ok, better come clean,

I grew up playing with small boats on the Central Coast, then spent 14 yrs in Glen Innes, only been playing out at sea for the last 6yrs, so would have had a licence about 7yrs.

05-06-2006, 10:37 PM
8 years for me.

Finally found enough money from giving up smoking to buy the first boat then.

Haven't looked back

wayne_cook
05-06-2006, 10:52 PM
hey muzz u didn't hang around toowoon bay at all

MyEscape
06-06-2006, 05:25 AM
Got mine when I was around 20, so that makes it around 24 years. Licence tester at the time said it was too rough to go out from Urangan at the time, so he just asked a few questions, not sure what my answers were, probably either convinced or confused him!

But having said that, I'm all for proper testing and ensuring I am aware of the rules and compliance with the law with safety gear etc.

Actually when I got my first boat in Mackay (not my first boat though) there was a licence and safety gear check one day at the ramp, it was quite surprising the number of boaties there that day that were asking me "what do you safety gear do you need etc"

If you don't know you shouldn't be in charge of the boat.

marlinqld
06-06-2006, 05:50 AM
i think the all day course run nowadays is a start in the right direction.
Places such as Archie's, all state etc , still experience only comes from going out, so how far do you take it when setting license criteria?

aussiefool
06-06-2006, 06:08 AM
got my current ont at Christmas just gone,but #my first licence was back in 1981. I let it laps when I sold my boat and diddn't need till now

As Brr Bear said in NSW you have to pay every year or you loose it

06-06-2006, 08:03 AM
15 years! :D

Bundy_Burp
06-06-2006, 08:30 AM
Had my licence now for 26 years . The licence is in bad shape but I think I,m lookin worse :P

onerabbit
06-06-2006, 09:27 AM
Hey brrbear,

I grew up with our back yard right on the water, east side of Point Frederick in Gosford, we used to be able to catch thumper bream off the back wall in those days.
Misspent youth on the beaches, but never really hung around Toowoon Bay much.

Smailesy
06-06-2006, 10:01 AM
12 years

Got_the_Fever
06-06-2006, 04:46 PM
16 years

I had mine laminated at work and keep it in my tackle box. It goes every where I do. I will never loose that piece of gold. ;D

Kel

maxwell9
07-06-2006, 12:53 PM
5 years

barracuda
08-06-2006, 06:11 AM
1 year

i'm a country boy only lived on the sunshine coast a couple of years

moondancer
09-06-2006, 09:50 AM
got it 16 years back when we first moved up here to God's country - was boating in melbourne before that for ano0ther 15 - didnt need a licence then in victoria

iank
09-06-2006, 10:19 AM
19 years :)

09-06-2006, 03:49 PM
11 years and counting :)

Dannyboy
09-06-2006, 07:50 PM
31 years ! Sh$t I'm getting old! But boy have I had some great times not only fishing but as a boat owner.

No joke some of the best times I and my family have had, #have been fishing or on a boat.

I may be new to bass fishing but boy I love my boat and some of the best people I have come across has been fishing. I met my wife on a beach fishing trip, I met all of my best mates on a fishing trips. Long live boats and fishing.

bungie
10-06-2006, 09:43 AM
Jindalee boat ramp
Three questions, one being "whats the time mate? " # #::)
Figure eight in the boat picking up a life jacket. #:o

But i agree with others here, its not enough.

10-06-2006, 10:07 AM
3yrs.........the deckie got hers a while before me. Been boating since I was 24 (34yrs) but no licence required in the UK. Only been boating 4 yrs in Oz as it took us 7 yrs to get on our feet and buy a boat

She got her Oz car licence before me too ::) I failed the written :o ::). The questions seemed that easy that I thought they were catch questions ::) ;D

Sometimes when I reflect back on all the wine I've drunk, I feel shame. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the vineyards and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn't drink this wine, they might be outof work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this wine and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
~ Jack Handy

straddie
10-06-2006, 01:02 PM
Good question had to go and find it just to be sure of the year :-[

I kind of was forced to get mine. I was out fishing in my tinnie with a few mates and some other mates in their boat when his motor self destructed. No problem I will tow you home, after a few minutes of mine struggling to get any speed towing him and deteriorating conditions I decided to leave him there and race back to manly harbour and grab my old mans putput boat. Did that hooked him up and towed both tinnies back behind the old girl. Then it hit the fan, my older brother pokes his head up on the jetty as I was berthing and said "what the hell are you doing, I came to check on the boat and it was gone so I reported it missing to the harbour master". gulp :o

Now I was pretty lucky growing up in a boating family where from about age 7 or 8 I got to drive (under strict supervision) for short periods some of the old Hayles cruisers, usually the Bellanna (Mirabell) to places like lone pine, bishop island and tangalooma. Then later when about 12, an evil 45kt capable half cabin 18footer, the old mans 26 ft (9 kt wot) putput boat as well as the tinnie with and and (from 14 - 15) without supervision, but for some reason a license never really seemed necessary.

SO over I wander to old Vic the harbour master to explain myself and be told I was a bad lad who was lucky he hadn't reported it stolen as yet. My penance being I had to turn up next morning and take the test which I did. So I was legal from 1980 ;D 26 years

freddo
10-06-2006, 02:03 PM
5 days... got it on the 05/06/06 goin fishin monday 8-)

gruntahunter
11-06-2006, 10:40 AM
29 years..........and no accidents or speeding fines....and didnt get caught for d/d, but that was back then ;)

seabug
11-06-2006, 05:09 PM
21 years

12-06-2006, 08:42 PM
I got my rec licence in 1981 and My Navy coxwains in 1988, drove Naval work boats in Sydney Harbour for 2 years and a 87ft recovery vessel for 2 years as well as another 6 years at sea on ships and ya know no one wants to recognise my Coxwains ::)

grave41
13-06-2006, 01:20 AM
28 years
Graham