View Full Version : anyone seen this before?

longtail
10-05-2006, 07:36 PM
spotted this thing this morning just off the northern end of crusoe , down at the pin :o

doesn't look very safe :-? don't think it was there a few weeks ago

has anyone seen this before?

jason

hogesTS
10-05-2006, 07:39 PM
looks like someone skimped on buying the new house boat...? :D

10-05-2006, 08:15 PM
are they rod holders on the northern end????

gantry for the bigger fish,,,

out of the weather shed/rest room

easy boat access

and what looks like a sink/cleaning facility

"""""wheres the esky??????????"""""

longtail
10-05-2006, 08:25 PM
those rod holders were the whole way around choopa , all up there was about 20 rod holders :o

Darryl
10-05-2006, 08:34 PM
Probably floated down there from Russell Island mate. ;D

Thanks for the quick fish this arve too , sorry about outfishing ya too mate. ;D

Darryl.

longtail
10-05-2006, 09:18 PM
no worries darryl always more fun to go fishing with a mate than bymeself ;)

thanks for those slugs mate , can't wait to get some teeth marks on 'em

we could use this platform for a m&g ;) ;D

jason

10-05-2006, 09:30 PM
Yeah Jase,

saw it labour day weekend...no idea how long its been there...and You're right, I'dreckon in the wrong place without lights too...wonder how long its gonna be there?

10-05-2006, 09:36 PM
give me the bearings matey's,,,,, with 20 plus rod holders and all the other benefits as listed above,,,, choppa's removals will be on there way,,,,, i'll tie it up behind the bbq boat as an extension ;D ;D ;D

longtail
11-05-2006, 04:18 AM
choppa - gunna be interesting watching you tow that up to bribie :o ;)

catchy_fishy
11-05-2006, 05:25 AM
It'd make a good platform for Troy to float his trailer ;D ;D

Cruiser
11-05-2006, 07:27 AM
I'm guessing it's a public toilet. Need to take a crap while out on the water? Just tie up at the new facillity and go into the little room and do your thing ::)

Seriously though, with no lights, it won't be long before there's a nasty accident.

Chris.

maztez
11-05-2006, 08:20 AM
beats using a bucket guys ::) ::) this might take the innovation award for looking after fishos ;D
cheers Terry

Dodgy_Back
11-05-2006, 08:28 AM
I saw that thing weeks ago floating near Soveriegn Island, when I saw it , it was just on day break, all of a sudden it was there !

Hope it's moved before it does some damage.

11-05-2006, 08:46 AM
Maybe it's an Australian BASA farm! ;D

Having no lights, and having no "bulk" up high (ie There's nothing too it) will make it pretty much impossible to see at night. Someone is gonna get hurt...

Az
11-05-2006, 09:55 AM
so lets cover it in chickenwire and sink it
new artificial reef ;D

11-05-2006, 01:04 PM
Maybe a call to the water police might be in order :-/ Thats an accident waiting to happen.

Cheers and Beers

bo_sawyer
11-05-2006, 01:34 PM
i saw that 2 w/e's ago. there was a ski boat tied up to it as well. Maybe thats how there dragging it everywhere? Took me a while to figure out what i was looking at! And im still not sure what it is.

11-05-2006, 08:11 PM
Wasn't this "thing" mentioned in another topic about 2 weeks ago regarding people running with no lights? Anyway... whoose responsibility is this? Clearly the owners but if it's abandoned then does it go to the water police of QLD transport? There was also a sunken yacht in tingalpa creek a while ago. I'm talking 2 months now but it was a 40 odd foot ferro cement job. Maybe someone can go and put this pontoon/dunny/artwork on ebay for a bit of a laugh. Buyer to collect. haha

Gbanger
11-05-2006, 10:27 PM
is it legal to do this sort of thing? its not a bad idea, i could see myself sitting on it with a coldie and a rod or 20 out..

jim_bream
11-05-2006, 10:37 PM
He he he, all it needs is a bbq and we'd be set! I reckon a tarp over the top, a hammock and a few copies of 'beach n bush' in the dunny. Choppa- if you need a hand 'redecorating' the new acquisition- count me in. ::)

Sea-Dog
11-05-2006, 10:53 PM
We nearly hit the thing in the dark. The only light was a barely working fluro lantern.

This thing just loomed up in the darkness. Fortunately, we were only crawling along at a few knots.

When I saw it, there was a small webber type barbie sitting on it. Someone lit the barbie up at around midnight - to warn nearby boats I think.

It seems to built on a big raft of polystyrene foam. Might be a bit hard to make it into an artificial reef.

Not much freeboard either. Would probably act like a submarine if towed.

The_Walrus
12-05-2006, 12:43 AM
Why not report it to H&M and let them deal with it ;)

HBK
14-05-2006, 06:27 PM
that's where it is !!

fishingnottake
16-05-2006, 05:52 PM
it;s a shark fishing pontoon as used by "gold coast extreme shark fishing safaris" saw their brochure today and gave them a call on 0437185196

fishingnottake
16-05-2006, 05:56 PM
should mention he said it was broken into on friday night,

Dodgy_Back
17-05-2006, 03:05 PM
Should tell them to put up better lighting !!

fishingnottake
18-05-2006, 10:46 AM
i mentioned that to him, and he jsut avoided the topic went off on a tangent about it getting broken into etc, i think the only reason they've gotten away with it for so long is the lack of identifying marks on the pontoon, and the difficultly in towing it away. no the water police have someone to ping, so if you see it out there again, just report them, and give the cops his mobile number.. or call him up personally

bo_sawyer
18-05-2006, 12:46 PM
has anyone caught enough sharks there to suggest it would be worth while making a (what ever it is) there??

2iar
18-05-2006, 03:25 PM
It looks like a floating gallows to me. Hopefully for use on PWC'ers ;) ;D

Good luck,

moondancer
18-05-2006, 06:08 PM
It's a new version of a D.I.Y. business - 20c in the slot dunny for lost snorklers seeking sharks - when you find one of the Moreton Bay beaties, you wan to crap yourself - that way the owners do a poll without getting wet!!

hussy
20-05-2006, 07:06 PM
looks like a 4mtr hornet trophy i always refered to mine as a floating sh.. house hussy

bo_sawyer
22-05-2006, 09:47 AM
i saw it again on saturday... this time it was beached on the NE Tip of crusoe is.

longtail
22-05-2006, 04:25 PM
i saw it again on saturday... this time it was beached on the NE Tip of crusoe is.

it was still beached this morning.

at least it's not a navigation hazard there ::)

mod5
14-06-2006, 07:54 PM
Off topic replies have been removed

gawby
15-06-2006, 05:27 AM
IT IS THE HOUSEBOAT. :o :o :o
Boy o boy you are all slow. :-?
Not long ago everone was wanting to know the co-ords of the house boat well here it is. ;)
We posted where we were seeing it and everyone thought we were having you on. :-?
Goes to show wew erenot telling lies. ;D
Now you might believe us when we tell you it has moved from Morty bay. ;D ;D
Graeme ;)

gruntahunter
15-06-2006, 02:21 PM
I'v seen one of those things up at maroochy getting toed by a boat and there were about 7 people standing on it.