View Full Version : other hobbies you have

TIM-DONSELAAR
22-02-2006, 01:17 PM
i was just wondering what other hobbies you fellow fisherman have,or have had ???

ive always been into fishing but i didnt go fishing that often as my other hobbies took up all my time,i was right into the modified car scene at one stage and built a showcar cordia turbo that i spent roughly $17 000 on only to sell it recently for $5500 (very bad investment) but the car did score me a trophy and was featured in HOT 4's and QLD STREET CAR magazine so i was happy with that,last year i got into the pocket bikes and was racing them every sunday it was heaps of fun but was very time consuming cos if i wasnt racing my bike then i was working on it so i gave that up aswell and now im just having fun relaxing with a rod in one hand and a bourbon in the other.

heres some pics of my showcar cordia and my very fast watercooled pocket bike

TIM-DONSELAAR
22-02-2006, 01:19 PM
another shot

TIM-DONSELAAR
22-02-2006, 01:21 PM
my bike

TIM-DONSELAAR
22-02-2006, 01:22 PM
racing

22-02-2006, 01:25 PM
All right i'll go:

Camping, 4wding,sailing. Have an interest in performance cars (have a B4 liberty), but always have something more important to spend money on.
Oh, and secretary of the left handed mouse users porn surfing club... ;D ;D ;D

flatstrap
22-02-2006, 01:45 PM
Hi guys,
I recently took up arc welding, then moved on to mig welding. Love learning new stuff. Just say I'm getting better at the welding scene. I can already make outboard support bars, trailer repairs, etc. By trade, I'm a graphic artist that actually draws by hand (freehand watercolours), yes, there's still a few around.

And I fish a bit.
Cheers...flatstrap

flatstrap
22-02-2006, 01:46 PM
Another kind of hero...
Flatstrap

22-02-2006, 02:35 PM
i was just wondering what other hobbies you fellow fisherman have

You mean, other than the three hour snooze that I have in the middle of the day or the grog? #;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Flatstrap - Great picture BTW. :) :) :) #I wish that I had talent like that. # :'(

freddyfish
22-02-2006, 03:08 PM

Making and eating Biltong!

Cheers Brad

Maria
22-02-2006, 03:15 PM
Recreational shooting. On the lookout for properties to shoot on too if anyone knows of anything. Also right into old Holden's (60's and 70's).

Jitlands
22-02-2006, 03:18 PM
Not sure if its a hobbie, a sport or a pastime but anything to do with the neighbours wife in my spa fills in the non fishing hours just nice

bigmack
22-02-2006, 04:41 PM
I have a penchant for being in another type of fibreglass or composite materials...............

I am a glider pilot and spend a bit of time flying across country out around Jondaryan and the surrounding downs.

Awesome pictures Flatstrap. Post some more stuff if you have it - I though the colours were awesome.

Lone_Wolf
22-02-2006, 04:49 PM
cleaning fishing gear!! ;)

MulletMan
22-02-2006, 04:49 PM
Part Time Assassin!

[smiley=behead.gif] # #[smiley=angel.gif] [smiley=bomb.gif] # # [smiley=hanged.gif] # # [smiley=rifle.gif] # # [smiley=brood.gif]

Pash67
22-02-2006, 04:51 PM
Mine is motor bikes. I currently ride moto-trials I have a 2001 Montesa and my 9yo son rides a 1979 TY80. I have also done up two Suzuki Katana's one an 1100cc the other a 1000cc.

Adrian

fish-n-dive
22-02-2006, 04:53 PM
SCUBA

flatstrap
22-02-2006, 05:28 PM
Heeey BigMack,
Glad you enjoyed the pretty pictures. Got loads more. Did work on George of the Jungle II. I have an authographed painting of Julie Benz (lead of the movie). Also did a mural on display at the HyperDome theatre complex.
I'll do this tomorrow as I'm supposed to be working.
Ciao....Flatstrap

Lone_Wolf
22-02-2006, 05:35 PM
Jitlands

I Love AusFish.com.au

Re: other hobbies you have
« Reply #10 on: Today at 15:17:39 » Not sure if its a hobbie, a sport or a pastime but anything to do with the neighbours wife in my spa fills in the non fishing hours just nice

Jitlands,

IMHO I would seriously look at getting another hobby pretty quickly, something like... say..a self defence course!! ;D

dfox
22-02-2006, 05:37 PM
When i cant get out on the water and wet a line i enjoy a bit of pig hunting (with dogs mainly). Its great just to get out in the country with a few mates camping and shooting :) :) ...foxy

philip_thomson
22-02-2006, 05:38 PM
i used to be really into model trains have a large set on the garage roof. started when i was 6 in 1992.

other hobbies well thats easy i love fishing Camping and Boating.

and investing my money. saving my money, and working out whens the best time to buy my first house.

warrior
22-02-2006, 05:40 PM
renovating a little workers cottage ,that will be my bloody last,this is number six and the fish are calling louder and louder every nail i put in.

szopen
22-02-2006, 05:48 PM
Diving, hunting, computer games, travelling

I wonder if spending a lot of time here counts as a hobby as it is not really fishing (sort of substitute maybe).

Scott15
22-02-2006, 05:59 PM
BMX, slowed down with it now. throw some pics up chemmy

The_Walrus
22-02-2006, 07:45 PM
Camping, canoeing, a bit of gardening and expensive port. ;D

Reefmaster
22-02-2006, 08:43 PM
Hmm apart from fishing i love HP. This was my LC Torana which had a 400 chev in it. Had all the gear including twin 4inch exhaust which was a tad loud. Street Reg but not really legal :D ::) Sold a little while ago after running down the track and blowing the engine just after 3/4 track and ran 10.3. Expensive blow up costing over 12 grand. Sold the car less motor and gearbox for $17,500. Wish i was still racing but i will just stay focused on my fishing. When I'm not fishing I'm at the Drags helping mates and Brothers spend there money ;D

Cheers Greg

Reefmaster
22-02-2006, 08:47 PM
Engine bay

Reefmaster
22-02-2006, 08:48 PM
Best part was doing 8200 rpm burnouts

Streetkid
22-02-2006, 09:14 PM
Over the last few years I've been slowing doing up a beer gut.

22-02-2006, 09:16 PM
Played indoor cricket seriously for about 20 years (if you call that a hobby), but I am an avid reader of non-fiction (hate tall stories lol), I love camping, and I am a budding photographer and aquarist.

Paul ;)

22-02-2006, 09:17 PM
My pet Barra "Wheel"....

25_ponies
22-02-2006, 09:18 PM
I'm into the home brew and have lately acquired a serious keg fetish..

Fin_Addict
22-02-2006, 09:23 PM
I'm like Maria...Mad keen shooter...Both recreational and pro.....Not much saltwater out here so had to do something lol ;D

22-02-2006, 09:25 PM
xxxx bundy xxxx bundy xxxx bundy, oooops think me's got a habbit, not a hobby!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

dorado
22-02-2006, 09:51 PM
Camping, boating, playing guitar, photography, globetrotting, making great curries, eating great seafood, combat flight simulators, computer games, raising kids lol

el_carpo
22-02-2006, 10:09 PM
Aquariums, dogs, cats and birds, canoeing, building canoes and paddles (only 2), hiking, making walking staves, camping, bird watching, mushroom collecting, knife making and collecting, gardening, soap making (they tell me I smell so bad, I had to come up with my own ;D), jam and jelly making (you have not truly lived until you've had wild strawberry jam ------good LORD do they taste good!!!!), and I play the guitar, trumpet, Irish hand drum and accordian...... but so badly that people flee or die trying to. ;D ;D ;D

.........and I visit the world's greatest fishing site. ;) ..........and sooooooo.....

Thanks to Derek, I am also starting to try some more at camp oven cooking.

Thanks to many of you but Dug and Zeeke in particular, I am trying to take more interesting photographs.

Thanks to the fly fishing section......tying flies and fly fishing though my flies look like I just covered a hook with glue and chucked it into a dust bin. ;D Ah well, skills take time to learn. ;D

E.C.

Some very cool cars you have, by the way fellas.

22-02-2006, 10:33 PM
I play Bass and acoustic guitar for my church band ( presbyterian) which fills in some time, rehearsing and all that, but just enjoy music BIG TIME and can't get enough of playing the instrument I love the most - BASS. I saw a bumper sticker that I want to have printed for my car. "You are like most musicians, following the BASS PLAYER

I am currently in seventh heaven having spent a small amount of money on a doof doof machine for the car - a sub woofer. Now I can hear all the notes in the lower register that I try to play when in the band. Awesome fun! The rest of my time is being a Dad to 10 and 13 YO girls.... Have no more time or money after fishing, Music and family.....

Boz
22-02-2006, 11:08 PM
As a mechanic anything with a motor can be fun. Obviously I love my cars and at the moment drive an EB XR8 Falcon and yes its been modified although looks pretty much stock (cops dont even look twice).
Also love my bikes, have a couple of road bikes at the moment which are just about to make way for a dirt bike just for a change. Other than that I enjoy the odd bourbon (or six) but no time for too much else.

Boz.

griz066
23-02-2006, 07:02 AM
Taking the kids skiing, we love it

griz066
23-02-2006, 07:05 AM
Pic 2

griz066
23-02-2006, 07:06 AM
Pic 3

Freeeedom
23-02-2006, 08:29 AM
Since I'm not allowed to have a motor bike any more I'll just have to stick to growing orchids
Cheers Freeeedom

23-02-2006, 09:01 AM
Apart from fishing and up until coming to Oz my "hobby" was working with kids, mainly through education authorities and Sea cadet Corps, administering the Duke of Edinburgh Scheme. I was mainly involved in the expedition side of the scheme and my deckie and I had most weekends out in the field. I was a Mountain Leadership Instructor and I also trained Royal marine Cadets 2 evenings a week and any other spare time was spent in Royal Marine Reserve activities.

My 10 yrs since coming to Oz has been spent mainly in "getting our house in order".......Starting a new life after a first broken marriage left me penniless with nothing but 3 teenage boys and a wonderful woman prepared to take 'em on and support me financially. Since arriving here, most of my time has been spent raising two more boys and a succession of foster kids, and researching autism. What bit of spare time I have, that coincides with the deckie's day off, is spent fishing or camping. I like to cook (don't have much choice) ;D take the odd photo, and collect music when I am not out shopping or doing housework.

I'm quite happy just doing the "housewife thingy" ;D as long as I get the odd day off fishing.

Oh, and I finally think I've "arrived" :D

If you can attend a church meeting without fear of harassment, arrest, torture, or death...you are more blessed than three billion people in the world.

DICER
23-02-2006, 09:13 AM
target archer
cyclist
playing with the kids

fish2eat
23-02-2006, 09:28 AM
nudist....sometimes combines well with fishing at certain beaches

aussiefool
23-02-2006, 10:58 AM
just fishin' if I'm not fishin' not into it

gogecko
23-02-2006, 11:05 AM
Some strange hobbies coming up on this thread....

I was into skydiving until I got married, and she who must be obeyed.....

Now I enjoy guitar and keyboards.
Golf (hcp 19)
Chess, played against several grandmasters.

flatstrap
23-02-2006, 11:27 AM
The general vibe that I get is that the members that have a range of interests are happy. The key to a fulfilled life is BALANCE. The alternative is: if you only do one thing, you're obsessed. More people hate you than like you.

I attach a sketch of Oz wildlife done recently. A few people enjoy looking at it, including me.

Hasta manana...flatstrap

flatstrap
23-02-2006, 11:29 AM
Try this attachment again... go Bilby!

flatstrap
23-02-2006, 11:33 AM
One more time....go Bilby!

megan
23-02-2006, 11:33 AM
Snow Skiing and more snow skiing, cooking, gardening, growing chilli plants I currently have 22 plants, surfing, swimming, camping. That about covers it.

flatstrap
23-02-2006, 11:37 AM
The Bilby wouldn't attach... I'll try the wolf!

bignick
23-02-2006, 11:42 AM
Apart from fishing, I've also done the hot cars thing and the bikes thing (the hot cars thing was a great investment indeed). Now, playing DAD to my little boy takes up a lot of my spare time, which is great. Although I haven't been too involved in the last year or so, I am also a competition Clay Target Shooter, which I've been doing since I was about 13 or so. I have been selected in Zone and State teams and won Club, Zone, State and National titles. I've also been lucky enough to knock off a couple of events in International competition. Once the babies (hopefully another one this year), the house and the boat get sorted out and life returns to some sort of normality, I hope to get back into it full swing.

NICK.

Canoedle
23-02-2006, 11:52 AM
I've been into running online squad based first person shooter games for about 4 years and still love it, it's good fun. Also love canoeing, camping and 4wding, snapping a few pics and working on my own car(waiting for the lift kit to go in soon)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Suby.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Wivenhoe06001.jpg
oh and this is the baby
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Lucy001.jpg

Alex9797
23-02-2006, 12:20 PM
Hobbies? Both of us work full time , two kids aged 2 and 5, mortgage. I wish.

Obsession: this bloody website.

Alex

23-02-2006, 12:26 PM
Rugby, horse racing, girls mud wrestling, girls jelly wrestling, wet T shirt competitions, SPEARFISHING, surfing (when I can get back south) and anything that gets the adrenalin pumping!

morty103
23-02-2006, 01:15 PM
Pig chasing. Watching the super 14.
Reading footrot flats books. Hunting in new zealand
thats about it ;D

chanquetas
23-02-2006, 07:23 PM
This is a great thread. Makes for very interesting reading.

I have always had a passion for music. Haved played guitar now for over 20 years, but love just chilling out at night to some good music.

Enjoy building things, which has led me to making my own loudspeakers (to achieve the above), and the endless task of renovating our Brisbane worker's cottage.

Love to cook, but then I love to eat, so thats a good pairing!

Also enjoy a ride on a fast motorcycle now and then. Almost died in a really bad crash about 10 years ago and sold my bike (what was left), and a mate owns a Ducati shop, so I borrow one now and then just to scare myself stupid.

Have been bitten by the computer bug for the last 20 years also, learning various languages and doing websites, but now only use it for a bit of forum browsing, and to see what the weather is doing so I can go (kayak) fishing.

Jake

Canoedle
23-02-2006, 09:33 PM
Ya had me worried for a sec there Jake, didnt think you were gonna mention the hobie! :P

Captian_Zero
23-02-2006, 09:39 PM
My other hobbies are cricket (similar to fishing - spending hours in the sun with very little to show for it), cooking and avoiding work.

As Billy Conolly said the other night never trust a man with only one book.

snappa
23-02-2006, 10:07 PM
did the "BONSAI" for years ... give that away too much looking after ..

now not sure

23-02-2006, 10:29 PM
Apart from fishing, I also love pig shooting, from the ute with the trusty 3030, also rabbit shooting, but they are a bit hard to find these days.

Then there is 4WD, can't go without that.

Love to water ski as well as snorkel/dive.

Adore the Test Cricket, change the channel at your own risk!!! and NRL.

Also love to cook. Plus going to the gym.

......and drink the occasional VB. Not a real big drinker.

and rod building, heaps of satisfaction comes with that.

thats what keeps me happy :) But fishing number one by a country mile.

cheers Roz

Fishinmishin
23-02-2006, 10:52 PM
I've gone through many stages in my 27 years.
-diper wetter (I will probably return to this in 60 more years)
-old mans punching bag (that's why I luv mammas :-*)
-die hard rugby player (thought I was great....I was only close to OK :-/)
-criminal & subtance abuser (still had morals...sort of ::))
-boxer (3 fights till pro....copping 3 knockouts in a row changed my mind ;D)
-restauranter (something that has luckily stuck :))
-mamma lover (show them the appriciation that families don't and they are jello :-X)
-fisherman (other then a few lucky catches....still got a bit to learn)
-husband & father (absolute awesome.....didn't know who I was till now ;))
Cheers, Jay

Zeeke
24-02-2006, 01:33 AM
Me? I have no hobbies..

But iam interested in photography, been getting into it for the last 7 months.. i still suck something bad... but one day hope to be as good as Dug... im also interested in Bowhunting/Archery, Bird watching ;D :o, Gardening (chainsaws) and fly tying... i also used to be into Aquariums, at one stage having 40 fish tanks in my old place and 6 Aviarys with assorted parrots and finches..

Heres a bit of my lens work

http://www.#######.com/dslrusers/DSC_1352.jpg

http://www.#######.com/dslrusers/DSC_1363.jpg

lock
24-02-2006, 08:59 AM
rugby, kyaking and this travelling thing isnt to bad either. ;)

Bream_Reaper01
24-02-2006, 02:02 PM
Hunting , baseball (playing,coaching,and watching it on foxtel),reading,would like to get into rod making.

bo_sawyer
24-02-2006, 02:33 PM
Basketball!!!

Roo
24-02-2006, 03:43 PM
just surfing and fishing nowdays.
Played cricket, soccer, squash untill about 10years ago but the knees are buggered :P so i Gave up running around so i could still go surfing.
the 3rd sunday of each month is spent at Evans head main beach with Half Tide Board Riders club. Seniors division is still competitive , ages from 28 - 47yrs. the current senior div champ is 43yr old.

LizardWizard
24-02-2006, 06:00 PM
fishing may be a "hobby" for you, but for me.. fishing is a lifestyle.

i fish therefore i am.

Canoedle
24-02-2006, 07:27 PM
Amen ;)

morty103
24-02-2006, 07:43 PM
forgot....
LOVE backyard cricket. Sit on the back lawn with a weekender of VB and hit six and outs all avo long. Nothing better

No high fives or clowning around when boonie makes a tonne! just a tweak of the box and back to business ;D ;D

morty

bettshouse
24-02-2006, 09:37 PM
No time now for hobbies.. we just took over a mechanical workshop :-/, but before this pig chasing and fishing!! ::)

24-02-2006, 10:42 PM
basicly been a shooter and fishman as long as I can remember
dont shoot any more though
bred pheasants
photography back in the days of developing my own film (love black and white)
keep an avairy of smaller birds now
anything remotely to do with boats
and most things that put me outdoors.

Steven78
24-02-2006, 10:57 PM
I love Snow Sking, Swiming, Rock Climbing and drinking beer.
And i still love my Job and did i forget fishing.

familyman
25-02-2006, 07:33 PM
Building furniture for my family and friends,fixing the boat(read modifying)and last but not least anything to do with mountain biking.
If I try hard enough maybe I will recapture my youth.cheers jon

robersl
25-02-2006, 07:36 PM
hey brad when did you learn to make biltong are you s/a

26-02-2006, 07:14 AM
Me, My family comes first, then my dog.
I also like to bring any old crap back to life.
Just a couple of little jobs I've done.
The first is my bike I restored and the trailer I built to tour Aussie

P.S. Beautiful pictures Zeeke, Where was that?

Cheers Scott :)

26-02-2006, 07:15 AM
and my Kingswood

26-02-2006, 07:17 AM
and a monaro I did for a mate.
It took 2 days to rebuild the rollers etc for the passengers window and the dash was put in 5 times just to get it right :'(.
He's lucky he's a good mate

26-02-2006, 07:19 AM
the landy my Dad, brother and I did to fish Evans Head. You should see the before pictures. It was used for target practise up Texas way. :'(

26-02-2006, 07:20 AM
The next bigger project for the same mate. This one is a SS monaro
This one was supposed to be in one piece and going. Teach him to buy something unseen. It took up the full 40ft body on his truck;D
Pity it's me to bung it together :'(
As well as a few other cars and boats and bikes
And I love to restore or rebuild/build furniture.

The cook thinks I love painting the house as well ;)
maybe next year :)

laz
26-02-2006, 09:06 AM
welding scrapmetal/junk to create sculpture also carving stone and bones

insideout
26-02-2006, 10:17 AM
When not at work, my hobbie is to sit on my veranda and watch the world go by.

freddyfish
26-02-2006, 12:24 PM
Shane,

Spent some time there in the 80's and learned to love the stuff (biltong) .It doesn't take long mind you. Couldn't get by without it. Couldn't find much decent stuff around so decided to make my own. Usually have plenty but the family sure know how to go thru it. I'll get you some if you like it. Swap you for some crabbing knowledge!!

Brad.

harry_h01
27-02-2006, 08:22 AM
I'll add to the list

After fishing, comes knotting and then stunt kite flying.

Other than that, cooking up a storm in the kitchen, and spending time with the family.

Harry

seatime
27-02-2006, 10:20 AM
Daydreaming, restoring old furniture pieces, making stuff from recycled aussie timber, hard and soft, got lots of it.
Trying to collect Australian Red Cedar pieces to restore.
An awful lot of standing looking at things figuring out what to do next.
regards. Steve

Truck
27-02-2006, 04:15 PM
I dabble in a bit of Rec Shooting and pig chasing when I get the chance...... I also play Cricket and Rugby or attempt to play I should say.......

shaun

woody74
27-02-2006, 09:35 PM
mai thai kickboxing and trying to play the drums ::)

DALEPRICE
27-02-2006, 09:42 PM
fixing things that are broke and
playing with timber...........
buying and selling things.

Canoedle
27-02-2006, 09:58 PM
I forgot to mention selling ladies undies on eBay
http://stores.ebay.com.au/Karl-Marx-Auctions
Of course we do discounts for Ausfish members ;)

onerabbit
28-02-2006, 12:02 AM
Glad to see other pig hunters here, didn't post before ,lived in the deep scrub 1hr out of Glenn Innes for 14 yrs.
Owned 18 long arms, mine, reloaded for most ( & a box full of short ones), bought, fixed up & sold for many yrs.
Lost count of the motor bikes.
Rode a Triumph, t 140E, for MANY yrs.

Live in town now, Ballina.

Single dad for 12yrs.

Not put cheek to seat or fired a single powder burning round in all that time , not once.

Now I go fishing !

Wonder why it's an obssession???

catchy_fishy
28-02-2006, 05:28 AM
I enjoy fishing - especially salt fly. I own a landy and a 5m fibreglass centre consol boat and often go camping.

My hobbies : buying the gear to support my interests - I just love the gadgets that are available and get lost in tackle shops, camping and outdoor stores, and I'm really bad in boat shops.

Horrie
28-02-2006, 09:00 PM
Another one of my hobbies is my 1981 Mini Moke (a.k.a. The Motorised Money Pit).

Horrie
28-02-2006, 09:03 PM
....and I also am teaching myself to play the blues harp (harmonica). Here is a pic of a recent jam session. ;)

al-straddie
01-03-2006, 04:51 AM
My hobby, sharetrading ::).......retire early, fish full time. The way I've been going I should be retired by 65 ;D

zedjack33
01-03-2006, 08:35 AM
Volleyball - hard-court and beach (once upon a time state rep SA & NT).
Coaching Volleyball.
Cricket.
Yelling at the TV during footy season
mmmmmmm...curries
Field archery
Golf……pain is the A$$ game….but it still keeps ya coming back!
Mounting Jack Jaws on acrylic (when I catch the buggers!)

[smiley=jester.gif] [smiley=jester.gif] [smiley=jester.gif]

Holy_Mackerel
01-03-2006, 08:40 AM
Mighty fascinating reading there everyone.
Apart from fishing, my hobbies are nature photography, cycling, cricket, hunting (keen but not much experience) and anything to do with wildlife (birdwatching etc).
Wifey and I expecting our first bub in 2 weeks. Yehaaa!
Nice pics Zeeke by the way. You're doing brilliant for 7 months.
Here's a couple of pics from the last couple of months...

Holy_Mackerel
01-03-2006, 08:41 AM
ducks

Holy_Mackerel
01-03-2006, 08:42 AM
dragon

Holy_Mackerel
01-03-2006, 08:42 AM
pademelon

Holy_Mackerel
01-03-2006, 08:43 AM
creek

theVan
01-03-2006, 04:29 PM
Love getting around in the Pajanero! ;)

Always keen to find a new fishin spot

theVan
01-03-2006, 04:31 PM
............or maybe a freswater spot in the mountains!

maztez
01-03-2006, 08:49 PM
I find pleasure in working with wood , all types mainly recycled bits ..old posts etc .from these I make chess tables ,clocks, office desk sets ,weather stations etc .my mate bill is a wood turner and between us we manage to stock a stall at our local markets..we manage to sell a few things which covers our costs but not labour . At the moment am working on a storage system for dvds to go into a limo ...a lot of jobs from word of mouth .To have a break from the sawdust etc I go rodeoing ,judging and am an execetive director for our association. When all this is quiet I go fishing with my 2 mates my son (Brett)Brejen and grandson Adam.However some time is spent obeying the leader of the opposition ;D ::) ;D ::)
cheers Terry

02-03-2006, 10:59 AM
Hey Roz, not sure why you cat't find any rabbits. However, the ones in my area were sick of being shot so they have adapted to fight back. Look out for killer bunnies coming to a town near you!

PeterT
02-03-2006, 12:10 PM
My main other love was Sambar deer hunting down south. I shoot for meat, not trophy. Up here I get to travel out to remote locations for work which involves training people for feral animal control and sustainable harvest of native species. I am in the process of shooting and eating as many species as I can.

Buffalo are pussies compared to Sambar and not as much meat on em, skinny arsed bastards. They invariably stop and turn to look at you and 'pop', a 308 between their looking gear. A young donkey or horse makes good steaks. Pig is same same pig down south only exponetially more of em. Bush turkey is top tucker. Have harpooned a turtle and reckon turtle is the best meat ever made.

Probably rate Barra with carp eating wise and even fighting, though they jump and carp don't. They even look like carp if you squint your eyes. Threadfin or even Black tipped reef shark are better eating.

Yet to shoot a Bentang but will get there. They also have sambar up here but not much interested in them as part of the buzz was being in the Vic Alps.

Not to be missed top end tastes - File snake, ship worm, magpie goose, bush turkey (but you need to be with traditional owners), turtle (like wise).

So basically I'm chewing my way through the species of northern Oz and getting paid for it.

pete

hot_spottie
12-06-2006, 02:27 PM
another shot
ha ha ha i mean umm the bike is kinda good but the car.....green......body kit...na!!!
max 8-)

rossramage
14-06-2006, 06:13 AM
I'm into ten pin bowling. I moved up to Townsville at Easter and have joined a bowling league up here. I also go for lots of drives checking out the numerous creeks up here. Ross.

griz066
14-06-2006, 08:15 AM
Golf & Beer or is that Beer & Golf {depends on how well I am playing at the time} ::)

Jim_Tait
14-06-2006, 11:58 AM
My obsessions, passions, professions and hobbies all get a bit mixed up!

I've been mad keen about freshwater fish since I was about fours years old - catching them, keeping them (aquariums) and studying them (for fun and scientifically) and still am! It was my love of freshwater fish that lead me into environmental science - my profession.

I'm also passionate about wetlands, wildlife and nature conservation, bush walking, kayaking and getting outdoors generally. Also love growing things including exotic tropical fruit trees and an organic veggie garden - and doing bush regeneration - nothing quite as pleasing as taking the chainsaw, machete and roundup spray to a creek bank full of privet, lantana and camphor laurel - and seeing the bush coming back x years later and knowing you were responsible for restoring a little bit of habitat

I'm also a hunter / shooter (Seems as though the fishing / hunting thing goes together quite often)- though don't do as much since I live in the relative surbubia (small block acerages) of northern NSW's Rainbow belt (also not PC with lots o fthe locals!). Love chasing pigs with a dog (bailer not grabber) in tropical Australia when I'm up there and spotlighting feral cats, foxes, bunnies. I used to tan hides and have tanned a swag of species in past years - cats were my favorite!!

Also love live music and dancing - something we have plenty of in northern NSW however these days being a full time provider and dad to a girl 4 and a boy 2 - puts a big dent in available spare time - though I'm training them up to be as adicted to the same hobbies as me so we can conspire to spend more time doing them - wel that the plan anyway! ;)

eggbeater
14-06-2006, 04:54 PM
Great thread people,very interesting. Done the tuff car thing
had a tough street car turned drag car.Spent 13 years in championship
drag racing- a hobby that got out of control. Sold all my toys and purchased a
big tinnie & these days enjoy fishing,camping,4wding & hanging out in the shed
making things out of steel & going to the drags.

14-06-2006, 05:05 PM
Great post, good to see the variety out there.

Me ? Umm, done the fast car thing, doing the fast motorbike now

Home brewing, Taekwon-Do, being a Dad, and occasionally fishing

Thanks, it's all good !

14-06-2006, 06:19 PM
Great thread people,very interesting. Done the tuff car thing
had a tough street car turned drag car.Spent 13 years in championship
drag racing- a hobby that got out of control. Sold all my toys and purchased a
big tinnie & these days enjoy fishing,camping,4wding & hanging out in the shed
making things out of steel & going to the drags.

I did the rally car racing..had a few street bikes..now pondering the fun of getting a drag bike...or building one myself.
Hobbies..none other than boating and fishing...no damn time with running the business.

manchild
14-06-2006, 06:28 PM
country music and a few drinks ;D
George

14-06-2006, 06:48 PM
Well, I guess you cant exactly call being a husband, father and grandfather a hobby, LOL, #least I hopefully wouldn't want to see it that way, anyway! ;D
Nor running a business with my (substantially) better half!
So that leaves.......
FISHING! :)
Using elderly fishing reels, that I enjoy trying bringing the best out of ;)
SURFING! Getting a bit long in the tooth tho' at 49! (poor excuse!)
Trying to play guitar!
Spearfishing. A totally different perspective, and awesome fun!
Cheers to all!
PS, LOVE your work, Finga, espesh as a S3 Landie owner, not to mention that gorgeous MONARO!

Pritch39
15-06-2006, 04:04 PM
Im into motor bikes too,

I have recently given up racing sidecars We won the Aussie titals back in 2004 but gets too expensive & hurts alot when you hit tyre walls. :'(
I aslo have an SR 500 single yamaha loud old and ugly but turns heads when passing on the rear wheel ;D

Pritch39
15-06-2006, 04:06 PM
& again, Im the fat one on the chair ;D

ozkat
15-06-2006, 07:58 PM
Wow seems to be a few of us into bikes, and i thought i was the only one. Sold this one recently and buying another to rebuild , actually pick it up this weekend, then back on the drag strip after a 15 year break.

ozkat
15-06-2006, 08:01 PM
2nd pic

Daniel_Trenfield
16-06-2006, 08:36 PM
Love your Kinga Finga.

My first car was the same. Now I've defected to a different brand wagon. BA XR6 Ute.

Otherwise, I'm a 9 marker on the links. Camping is cool, gardening suits when too windy to fish.

Surfing is fun in summer & I love fast windsurfers.

The missus tells me I'm on Ausfish daily too.....

Dan.

Daniel_Trenfield
16-06-2006, 08:38 PM
Surfing

16-06-2006, 09:05 PM
Seems that there is a lot of interest in doing up or racing cars and bikes. A lot of shooters as well. Had guns and bikes when I was younger, and love the V8's.

I noticed one of the earlier posts was a skydiver.

That is my background as well before I got into fishing. Ended up with a bit over 3000 jumps over 18 years before I had a bad landing and broke my back, leg and heel. Though a long way short of another Ausfisher. xlr8 is still a current jumper and multiple australian champion.

Also big baseball fan. Would love to go to Atlanta one day and go to a braves match.

kingcobe
17-06-2006, 08:08 PM
When I'm not fishing I am usually playing rugby union or at school.

Jay Jay

Dannyboy
17-06-2006, 11:55 PM
I'm into hunting with blackpowder and puting ships or fishing boats into bottles. When the fishing is no good

18-06-2006, 02:58 PM
When I'm not running the kids to tae kwon do, footy, or X country, and not ironing, washing, cooking, shopping or cleaning, I like to potter in the yard (sign of old age). ::) ;D

Moved into current house 18 months ago and this is the commencement of my rainforest project.

18-06-2006, 02:59 PM
The pond now

18-06-2006, 03:00 PM
The rainforest

18-06-2006, 03:03 PM
Started with 10 gold fish and they've bred consistently since. Gave up counting at 72 ;D

southernson
18-06-2006, 04:21 PM
When Im not trying to go for a fish, into to water skiin/wakeboarding, motorbikes(trailridin), n flying (in the process of getting pilots licence) n a bit of 4wding.
Some interesting pastimes in previous posts, as long as ya fun who cares!!

familyman
18-06-2006, 06:14 PM
JETSKIING
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Nah only joking ,cant afford one or the fuel.
Mountain biking on NSW central coast.Nearly as expensive as owning a boat ;)
cheers jon

Dannyboy
19-06-2006, 12:08 AM
Hay Kingtin love the pond but what are the red things in the water? Not carp or are you keeping your red bass?

Elysium
19-06-2006, 06:52 AM
my other hobby...well my wife would call it an obsession...but either way, it makes me #;D.

Never thought that fishing would be number 2 on my "thing to do this weekend" list...but sometimes more of a rush is required.

19-06-2006, 08:49 AM
Hay Kingtin love the pond but what are the red things in the water? Not carp or are you keeping your red bass?

Just hybrid goldfish mate. Everyday garden variety crossed with bristol blue shubunkin, black moor, fantail, and sarasa comet. Started with 2 of each and I reckon there's over a hundred in there now, despite the heron getting a feed late last year.