View Full Version : VMR Membership (Are you a member?Why? or Why not?)

thesimmos
21-06-2006, 06:30 PM
I am curious how many of us are members of our regularly used VMR. (you kow the $50 or so dollars they charge for a few tows each year)

If your not can you say why your not..

If you are a member can you tell me why you did join.

Simmo

thesimmos
21-06-2006, 06:35 PM
I am not a member.

I wanted to be an "active" member at a local VMR but was told I had to apply etc.. Sounds a little off putting for me since I am willing to volunteer. So why give my $$, it made me feel like it was more an exclusive club and I can give my $50 for a few free tows.

I dont find the fee worth it when a simple radio call will usually bring a friendly fellow boatie to your call if I need a tow.

I dont see any other benefit in membership if I did join, but I am willing to listen if these is any GOOD reason for joining.

Owen
21-06-2006, 06:36 PM
I am but have to admit, I had the boat quite a while before I joined. Should have joined straight away, but then I should have painted the lounge room before the missus gets back into town tonight.
What can I say? Live on the edge ;D

Owen

thesimmos
21-06-2006, 06:41 PM
So why did you join?

21-06-2006, 06:42 PM
Simmo,

I think you will find that the $50 you talk about for a tow from VMR has increased significantly.

I think you will find that they will ask you for $120 an hour :o for assistance, when you take into accout there will be a minimum of 2 crew(possibly 4) and there boat (usually powered by twin donks) $120 an hour is cheap but $50 or so for membership is an absolute bargain :)

Too bad if your 25klm offshore and ya phone aint got service :'( I guess youl be reachin for the epirb hey 8-)

longtail
21-06-2006, 06:49 PM
Garry , i reckon anyone that goes offshore without a VHF is asking for problems.

Murphys law says when you need your mobile it wont have service.

I wanted to be an active member of viccy point but they had no vacancies :-? so i became a associate member of jacobs well . why?? peace of mind . same reason we have insurance ;)

Jason

thesimmos
21-06-2006, 06:49 PM
Spaniard_king Ill jump on the radio and call for you.. :)

I didn't think I needed to pay for a tow from a voluntary rescue service? :) Not that i am saying people shouldnt pay but it sounds contradictory..

bigbrian47
21-06-2006, 06:58 PM
gary's on the mark :) :)
a mate of mines starter motor let him down midweek recently 15k outside south passage bar
vmr towed him back to raby bay
he was very happy to part with $250 for their service
you don't have many options stuck at sea ::) ::)
i joined only recently after boating for the last 30 years without needing a tow
these people give a lot of their leisure time to provide a fantastic service when needed so joining for $50 is no big deal
cheers brian
ps i joined after attending lloyds radio course at viccy point

Owen
21-06-2006, 06:59 PM
Simmo,
I joined because of several reasons.
It wouldn't sit right to expect someone to possibly risk life & limb to come get me if I wasn't a member
The cost for non-members of a rescue is quite high
My mobile almost NEVER works when I'm outside even a few k's
If I do need help, I'd rather it was someone who had at least some training on towing, rescue etc.
I've heard people on the VHF looking for a free tow & not getting much interest (funny that)

The VMR guys do a great job and carry appropriate insurance.
I think you'll find the reason you have to apply to volunteer is because you have to be trained before you are let loose.
We live in a litigeous world now.
People do sue life savers, VMR etc etc if the make the smallest error.
What happens if the guy towing you buries you into a wave and sinks you?
What happens if their boat is damaged while towing you?

Who pays?

$60.00 is cheap insurance if you ask me.
I hope I never have to use it.

Owen

21-06-2006, 07:05 PM

I didn't think I needed to pay for a tow from a voluntary rescue service? :) Not that i am saying people shouldnt pay but it sounds contradictory..

Simmo, you should read my post again.. I said $120 an hour was cheap 8-) you think I am going to come and get you for less than that ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

thesimmos
21-06-2006, 07:11 PM
;D

I have a an old Quintrex Fishabout 4.3m with a brand spankin' new tohatsu 4 stroke 30, so as you can tell i dont travel further north than Peel Island or further out than the pin... So there hopefully would be plenty of takers around when I ask for a "free" tow since I would do the same... (which is what I thought boating was about)

Can someone tell me what do you get for being a member other then a couple of tows if need be?

longtail
21-06-2006, 07:33 PM
what else do you expect???

Feral
21-06-2006, 07:40 PM
A nice sticker?
Maybe a few BBQ's or a social event or two?
A regular magazine?

Thats what comes with RACQ membership, for considerably less!.

thesimmos
21-06-2006, 08:03 PM
I think Owen answered the question the best. I might look to join my local VMR before next summer.

Someone mentioned social events which sounds good to me.. Do they all do this?

21-06-2006, 08:05 PM
nice cup of tea and a bikkie wouldn't go astray,,,,,,

(to munch on whilst your being towed back in i mean)

or a book,,

binoculars,,

longline,,,

crossword puzzle perhaps,,

laptop with internet access to report live to the site maybe,,

each to their own i ,,, but you'll need something to take your mind off things

21-06-2006, 08:10 PM
[quote author=thesimmos link=1150878622/0#10 date=1150881072] ;D

I have a an old Quintrex Fishabout 4.3m with a brand spankin' new tohatsu 4 stroke 30, so as you can tell i dont travel further north than Peel Island or further out than the pin... So there hopefully would be plenty of takers around when I ask for a "free" tow since I would do the same... (which is what I thought boating was about)

[quote]

No Simmo, boating's not about helping each other out, it's about making sure that you don't need to ask for that help....what you think is simply a bonus. Should the need arise though, you can only be helped out if someone is aware that you need help. Having a radio means nothing if there is no other recco within range, or, as I suspect, most reccos radios are switched off unless they need to use them. Play safe mate.

Sportfish_5
21-06-2006, 08:15 PM
Peel is not that far to row back anyway - save ya $50 mate ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Gbanger
21-06-2006, 08:17 PM
i got a free first year membership when i did my boating license.. ill be renewing it though...

the way i see it, you may not have racq for your car, but if your car breaks down you can get out and walk away..

when your outboard fails, what do you do? sure you can always radio them and pay the fees. but if there are no members and no financial support, that option may not be available

spinna
21-06-2006, 08:24 PM
simmo
#Hows this senario you brake down 5 mile out no one ells is within 4 mile from
you your at secret spot number 6. You get on the old talk box and ask #
can someone pls come give me a tow? . Do you know what constitutes salvage rights?. No well ill tell you if you ask someone to tow you in by law they have
salvage rights to your boat and everything in it. #If they ask you if you need a tow thats ok BUT if you ask them and they give you a tow you could lose the lot.

#Cheers spinna 8-)

Tairua
21-06-2006, 08:30 PM
Hi Simmo,
Good idea to join the local VMR membership. You sound like you are converted. Alleluyah. The guys at any VMR or Coast Guard can tell you all sorts of reasons why they get called out. Flat Battery from over use of elecronics such as 12v Eskies or staying out o/nite with the light on or just plain gone dead like tyour car battery does. Engine failure because of Oil injector quiting on the job, Engine recently serviced or not serviced, (you will be surprised how often they forget the gear box oil at a service) Run out of gas, Earmuffs left on after last trip, Bungs left out, Sandbanks found that were not there before, Broken prop etc etc. They are also there for search and rescue. re the guy who took his tinnie out Christmas eve and was found around 2 am Christmas day.
Thats why I am a boating member and log on each time I go out. If you are not back in time they will start to look for you and notify the water police who will alert other VMR units.
Cheers Bro
Tairua

21-06-2006, 08:36 PM

"voluntary rescue service"..it is the people that volunteer..running the boats...radios etc etc all costs lots and they get bugger all from the Govt..I have no qualms about paying my $50 per year...and I have used them for a tow...was on the mud...they were great..if ya need them they are there...just hope most people do not need them. It is now a society of user pays...u need them and call them...of course you should pay.
Picture the scenario..your new motor breaks down..you flag down another boatie who will kindly tow you..but he neglects to tell you that he has only had his license 1 week and is very inexperienced..you get swamped..then what? I wonder what the insurance company would say. I will keep paying my $50 each year with no worries at all about it.

thesimmos
21-06-2006, 08:38 PM
Its good to see I aint the only clown around here Choppa and Greg P. :)

Yeah Lloyd said it was about $50 to join... I s'pose for $1 a week it isnt too bad.. Just I like to get something more than a tow for my $$

I am not a member of RACQ or NRMA (on that note aparently RACV is cheaper... no promotion of product just saying)

But I know as a member of them you get holiday planning and free maps etc...

I just want more bang for my buck haha.. But I probably will join since I use the water alot...

Thats an interesting point Spinna can anyone confirm this?? or is this like the saying parlay that pirates invented? :)

trueblue
21-06-2006, 08:51 PM
I am not a member.

I dont find the fee worth it when a simple radio call will usually bring a friendly fellow boatie to your call if I need a tow.

I dont see any other benefit in membership if I did join, but I am willing to listen if these is any GOOD reason for joining.

I am a member of one of the groups. You don't have to join, but if you do join and do get into trouble, you will be offered assistance without the mandatory fee that will be invoiced to a non member.

If you get into trouble, but are not in a life threatening situation and there is a member in the same situation, the member will be given priority.

If you get caught in really sh!tty weather, a call to a freindly boatie will probably result in a response that they are heading for sheltered waters if not capable of assisting. The rescue group will come to your aid in those really crappy conditions, in a vessel capable of assisting you.

If you break down for just a battery problem, the rescue group who attends will do everything they can to get you going again - other boaties don't often have the sort of equipment needed on board. Also, the members get used to seeing a lot of weird causes for breakdowns and are often a lot of help to you.

If a boatie in the vicinity offers to tow you in, and tow your from sheltered waters into rough conditions trying to get you home, and a tow line breaks, or they damage their boat or yours, you could be in really serious sh!t.

Untrained people towing you can make life very uncomfortable and dangerous for the towed boat if they don't know what they are doing.

The rescue groups can call on other rescue groups who might be closer to assist you if in serious trouble, shortening response time.

Rescue groups are not funded by the government.
Rescue groups do not get their boats supplied by the government
Rescue groups do not get fuel supplied by the government
Volunteers must be trained to be competent to rescue you
Training is very expensive
All funds required must be raised within the group.

How much does your fuel cost for your boat?
A 40 foot rescue boat with twin high powered turbo charged diesel engines has HUGE fuel costs to come and assist /rescue you

Volunteers don't ask for aything in return for coming out in really crappy weather to assist you if you got caught with and emergency of breakdown - just a thank you is enough.

But someone has to cover the costs to keep the rescue service going...

Membership is one form of fundraising that helps kep the rescue organisation operational. Members pay an annual fee, most don't need help so their fees go towards general operations. Others do need assistance, and sometimes their fees cover the assistance provided, sometimes not.

As a member, you won't be invoiced for a tow. You will be asked for a donation, and how much is up to you. As a non member, you will be invoiced and you have to pay.

Now, just think for a moment. Rescue boat is at one end of their patrol area, and you are fishing on the other limit of the patrol area and break down - sometimes a simple tow can take 6 or more hours to complete - you don't want to have to pay full price for that...

And there are other reasons... Ain't it great to pick up the radio and KNOW that a volunteer is on the other end maintaining a radio watch just in case you run into trouble. How many radio sets does that take to monitor ALL frequencies for your area. It can be more than 10 radio sets in the radio room. Who pays for them, who maintains them. Our members help to kep these services functioning.

Like I said, you don't have to join. If you have a life threatening emergecy, a rescue group will always come to your assistance if the rescue can be performed without undue danger to the rescue crew.

Maybe you have really deep pockets and can afford to pay the total costs of a rescue / assistance operation if it happens.

You just have to decide if you want to be a supporter of the rescue group that will always be there to help you... just in case...

Cheers, and safe boating

thesimmos
21-06-2006, 09:18 PM
Ok ill pay my $50 I promise! :)

Decent sales pitch Trueblue.... Maybe around summer you should do a few short radio commercials to drum up support... :)

21-06-2006, 09:22 PM
Thesimmos,

This is what you get for your $50.00.

You get the knowing that you have contributed to keeping a very important service going that basically saves lives at sea. These guys will notice your missing long before anyone else does and start the ball rolling. You get the comfort of knowing that not that you "MIGHT" get another boatie to give you a tow, but someone "WILL" come to your aid.

But hey, they will come weather your a member or not. I suppose it all comes down to weather people do what they feel is right or not.....

21-06-2006, 09:34 PM
Just a general thought here.... But as far as I'm concerned, if they don't have to come and rescue me even though I pay the $50 that is fine by me. That $50 I pay may be the fuel money that got them out and saved someone elses life.

21-06-2006, 11:39 PM
I am a member of Jacob's Well VMR exactly for the reasons that Heath and Fishing Dan cite.

The only thing that bothers me is that I joined Jacob's Well because in my earlier days boating, I went to the 'Pin most often. However, now I spend most of my time going out of Manly into the open Bay. I now feel that I should be a subscriber to the Manly Coastguard. Yet I still feel some allegiance to Jacob's Well.

My Jacob's Well gold membership allows me service from the VMRs that service the Bay, eg Raby Bay, Victoria Point etc but they are not at my home port, the Manly (Brisbane) Coastguard are and I feel guilty about not supporting them with a financial membership.

I just wish that both organisations would get together as one organisation.

Feral
22-06-2006, 05:50 AM
I only fish the lakes, otherwise I'd be a member. Have not seen a VMR boat on the Baroon Dam yet!

Are they a tax deductable organisation?

Might not hurt to offer free membership for a tax deductable donation of more than $80?

(Would enevtually cost you a similar amount after tax deduction, and they get more loot?)

marlinqld
22-06-2006, 06:36 AM
I fully concur with trueblue.

I am an active crew member at VMR Raby Bay. We get 99% of sweet f*** all from the government. About 10$ of the fuel bills is all.

Everything else is raised from chook raffles, shopping centre collections etc.

The things we have to rescue people from would astound you.

No fuel, crook batteries, the list is endless. :o >:(

If towed or rescued you will be asked for a donation at $100.00 per hour. Small price to pay for your life, crews life and your boat.

For the sake of $60 membership, small price for not being charged.

You can join your local VMR, and also pay a slightly higher fee, which then covers you for all VMR'sin Queensland

VMR is NOT an exclusive boys club.

They are a bunch of guys, and women, giving up their time, thei boating time, to look after all you guys. Give them a break, think about them when you go out.

Some have even paid with their lives over the years rescuing dumbos who go out in big seas, little or no safety gear, low fuel.......... amazing what you see happen.

Your membership helps their funding, so I encourage you to join............. and dont leave it at that.

Anyone who wants a billion reasons to join, come and see me at VMR Raby Bay this Saturday 0600 - 1800. I will show you the real side of the VMR. And show you a billion reasons why your membership is a small but valuable investment. Bring the cheque book, we can sign you up on the spot. ;)

marlinqld
22-06-2006, 07:33 AM
I applied and had to wait.

VMR Raby Bay does 3 intakes a year.

I had to undertake a 9 hour induction on my first day. This then allowed me to be allocated to a crew.

I could go out on a boat, but couldnt do anything, I was just an observer.

You are trained in everything, from launch and retrieval of the boats, mooring, towing, absolutely everything.

You cannot do anything as a crew member until you have been trained and signed off in each task.

To get to boat skipper level entails obtaining a commercial license, and can take several years.

I have to do Senior first aid and radio license courses, all at my own expense, total 200 odd dollars. I cannot use the radios till I get my license.

We dont just do our days on roster, we also do alot of training during weekdays at night.

Why do we do it? Sometimes I sit and wonder, then I look out at the bay and the boats on the water. I love it, thats why I do it. I enjoy it, learning, the training, helping people, being with mates at the base.

Remember, LOG ON and OFF when going out. Lots of boats leave and never log on.

seatime
22-06-2006, 10:26 AM
thesimmos, in reply to the query on salvage rights, yes.

It is possible that you may have to pay a salvage reward if you requested a tow from another vessel. There are qualifying conditions of course, the salvage must be successful, 'no cure, no pay'.
An agreement would need to be entered into, a contract really, with names, dates, insurance details etc. The only contract format I am aware of in these cases is the LoF (Lloyds open Form) contract, these are carried by large commercial vessels and salvage tugs. In the absence of a standard contract, a blank can be drawn up using the same language as a LoF.
Then you go to court to recover your reward, which will be a percentage of the value of the salvaged item, typically 75% (no quotes).
None of this would be easy to achieve, there are lawyers and QCs that specialise in this stuff. Never heard of it happening in the rec sector, but it is possible. Obviously it might be worth the effort to go thru the motions if it was a $5m gin palace in distress.

gogecko
22-06-2006, 03:43 PM
Insurance is one of those things you either believe in or you dont. Sounds like youve already made your mind up, that you enjoy being a risk taker.

As for me, Im happy to be a member. I did also get approx 10% off my Suncorp insurance just for being a VMR member.

ronnieandbill
22-06-2006, 04:17 PM
maybe a keyboard on your laptop with a full stop key!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hey guys will just add my bit.
A mate of mine went out in his boat from beachmere--- first time battery was flat- called coastgaurd and they came over from scarborough with battery pack. Second time towed in to caboolture river. Now all this free of charge and like you guys said these people give up their time to help out.
Third time mate gave them $200-00 bucks. Well worth it at least to know that if you get into trouble there is someone to call.
Personally i would help out any one if they needed it and would expect the same in return.
manners and courtesy --- maybe something we have all forgotten these days.
Ronnie

thesimmos
22-06-2006, 08:59 PM
I agree Ronnie...

although comming across this $5 Mill palace sounds like an idea.

I have seen a few of these types of boats down at Southport looking like they are in all kinds of distress....

I wonder if this covers boat that just "happen" to drift off their moorings....

tick tick tick... (oh thats my mind ticking)

22-06-2006, 09:21 PM

Ronnie

now thats getting personal

i tried to fix it and can't

has nothing to do with the question in current topic

so stop it

you know someone pm'ed me and reckons my avatar is not real also

22-06-2006, 10:10 PM
Not A member (but wish there was one so I could be), would also be prepared to pay a member ship fee of $200. I reckon if its only $50, its to cheap.
Cost me to have all members of my family in RACT about $400 dollars and I am happy to pay that to know that if my wife or kids brake down in a car they are only a ph call from help.
So to be able to PH someone to come and get me in a boat would be a godsend.

ps choppa
get ya bloody avitar right and with ya fullstop button is not working please just write STOP at the end of a sentence LOL ;D ;D ;D :D :'(

22-06-2006, 10:26 PM
okay stopstopstopstopstopstopstopstop

but it takes a bit to get my point across stopstopstopstop

now thats silly choppa,,,off to the bench ya go!!!!!!!!!!!

lucylass
23-06-2006, 12:14 AM

Ronnie

now thats getting personal

i tried to fix it and can't

has nothing to do with the question in current topic

so stop it

you know someone pm'ed me and reckons my avatar is not real also

NNOOOOOOO :o :o

Feral
23-06-2006, 03:21 AM
Yuo blokes in the VMR, can you buy membership for someone else? Like as a chrissy or birthday present?

marlinqld
23-06-2006, 04:43 AM
Never been asked that one feral, but I don't see why not.

Sounds like a bloody good pressie to me.

trueblue
23-06-2006, 08:19 AM
Yuo blokes in the VMR, can you buy membership for someone else? Like as a chrissy or birthday present?

All you would have to do is drop down to the local VMR or coast guard base and get an application form for associate membership. Ask them how much it is and when renewal is due. Just put the money for membership into an envelope along with the application fee and then get them fo fill out the form after you give it to them. The membership is specific to the owner and vessel.

The membership records the boat details, fuel type, car and trailer details etc, etc to allow for all types of help that might be necessary. This is why the owner of the boat must fill the form out.

And then, once a member (or even if you are not) LOG ON as you depart, and LOG OFF as you get home.

Don't forget to log off especially if heading for a bit of nookie with a girlfriend on the side. We are a very efficient bunch, and when someone didn't log off we started looking for them, called home etc and spoke to the mrs who said "he's out fishing" We finally tracked him down on his mobile getting a bit on the side on the way home from the ramp. Ok, he's safe and we could log him off, but then the mrs found him too......

Owen
24-06-2006, 09:41 PM
Might be an idea if SubZero or someone confirms this, but when I joined they told us that the membership was for the person, not the boat.
i.e. If your wife takes the boat out & she's not a member, she's not covered.
And if you're on someone elses boat, then you are covered.
The boat details they take are for their log records.
Owen

thesimmos
24-06-2006, 11:01 PM
Hey there Marlinqld,

I would have been happy to come but for some reason I didnt see your response. You should have PM'd me..

Let me know if you still want me to come down and visit the ye ole Raby Bay

Simmo

AnthonyL
25-06-2006, 10:10 PM
Hi Marlin .. were you sitting next to me today at the first aid course... doing the dummy lol?

Anthony

lucylass
25-06-2006, 10:23 PM
i belong to VRA (volunteer rescue association)

seriously there there seems a whole lot of difference

and i am proud of those initials

marlinqld
26-06-2006, 04:55 AM
Not me AnthonyL.

I was in the radio room all day. Got my first aid, just have to do radio license. Looks like i might be at subzeros base for that coming up soon.

bonka
26-06-2006, 09:18 AM
Just insurance. Very cheap. Hope it's never needed but I could ask that if you hit a submerged object, got dumped by a wave or sank, how much would you be willing to pay to get out of the water?

Do we really think in this day and age someone would be willing to sacrifice their day's outing to tow us home for free with fuel costs where they are as well?...come on! Of course, I, like most I think, would be willing to help out any boat in trouble but would expect some compensation of costs at least, and that could work out more than a VMR membership.

Well worth it.

Brent

26-06-2006, 11:08 AM
Marlinqld is spot on the money.....it is all competency-based training these days and when you need assistance you know you will get top-notch, qualified help. I crewed at Air Sea Rescue Sandgate (now VMR Brisbane I believe) for sveeral years in the 90s and absolutely loved the training, camaraderie and even helping out others in need. I actually joined in the first place because I needed a hardstand space for my old Crusiecraft Scorpion 625,

VMR and Coast Guard are great organisations that truly are lifesavers IMO. I live at the Sunny Coast these days and will be joining Coastguard Mooloolaba as an associate member.

Paul ;)

subzero
26-06-2006, 05:32 PM
Look forward to meeting you marlinqld :)

marlinqld
26-06-2006, 06:18 PM
Im on roster that day subzero.

Will check with my Duty Officer see if i can get off to do the course,

Feral
26-06-2006, 06:50 PM

All you would have to do is drop down to the local VMR or coast guard base and get an application form for associate membership. Ask them how much it is and when renewal is due. Just put the money for membership into an envelope along with the application fee and then get them fo fill out the form after you give it to them. The membership is specific to the owner and vessel.

The membership records the boat details, fuel type, car and trailer details etc, etc to allow for all types of help that might be necessary. This is why the owner of the boat must fill the form out.

And then, once a member (or even if you are not) LOG ON as you depart, and LOG OFF as you get home.

Don't forget to log off especially if heading for a bit of nookie with a girlfriend on the side. We are a very efficient bunch, and when someone didn't log off we started looking for them, called home etc and spoke to the mrs who said "he's out fishing" We finally tracked him down on his mobile getting a bit on the side on the way home from the ramp. Ok, he's safe and we could log him off, but then the mrs found him too......

Ta for that - Its captain Catastrophe's birthday next month (Father) might sort it for him!

abundy
30-06-2006, 08:23 AM
I joined not only for the service also because Suncorp gave me $50 discount on my boat insurance for joining. Only have to show proof when making a claim. Check your insurance company for details. Sort of a win win situation i think.

Cheers abundy