View Full Version : whats this happy fella called??

alsere_42
09-07-2006, 11:23 PM
Hi can somebody tell me what this fish is please caught it at high island out of Cairns..

Deiter
10-07-2006, 04:02 AM
mate i dunno what it is ,but you are a brave fellow for handling something w/ a head like that!!!

Gorilla_in_Manila
10-07-2006, 04:42 AM
G'Day Alsere,

Have you got any other pics? Helps if you show the tail shape, dorsal fins and a couple of different pics if you want an ID of a uncommon fish.

Closest I could find is a type of grubfish - family parapercis. Went through every one on fishbase and cant find a green one.
This is the closest I could find:
http://www.fishbase.se/Summary/SpeciesSummary.php?id=7866

Maybe someone else can find something closer from this start.

Jeff

10-07-2006, 05:30 AM
Dunknow.

interesting little bugger but

steven

agnes_jack
10-07-2006, 06:28 AM
I rekon it's a member of the "Goby" family!!

Can't find the exact species, but there are over 1200 members of this family that inhabit our waters. Fishbase has a huge range of these blokes if you have the time to search thru them.

Regards, Tony ;)

fishlady
10-07-2006, 07:09 AM
Reckon you're spot on Jeff.
Tony I've never seen one of the goby family that big. Jawfish can get there in size but this bloke has a much more attractive face :-*
Cheers Jane

Gorilla_in_Manila
10-07-2006, 07:40 AM
Tony,
G'Day Mate, how's the chooks? :)

Goby family was my next guess. Didn't look like any goby shown on the aus museum site. Just had a quick look through the daunting list of bloody gobies on the fishbase site. :o :o
Just clicked on all the aussie ones, and half didn't have pics or a decent description. The only one I noticed with a fairly large max size was the sculptured goby at 15cm, but no picture.
Anyway, just about spent all the time I'm going to on it. Certainly not so interested that I'm going to click on every entry in the goby list on fishbase. :P

Jeff
PS if I ever catch one I'm going to call it for a "Gorilla Grubfish" ;D

Bundy_Burp
10-07-2006, 07:46 PM
That fish is a perfect example of why TV hosts should be banned from kissing fish :P

madmix
10-07-2006, 07:46 PM
billy big mouth impersonator

hussy
10-07-2006, 08:20 PM
dont know what it is , but dont let rex near it .
hubby

zulumike
10-07-2006, 09:01 PM
alsere_42
Looks a bit like my missus but you can keep her
Tightlines
Zulumike

10-07-2006, 09:54 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Az
10-07-2006, 10:08 PM