View Full Version : getting old

tunaman
21-07-2006, 07:59 PM
When your birthday comes up, Doz your age change by its self on
your profile. I am 40 tomorrow, and to all the people that are over 40,
is it true that, life goes down hill from here, and will things start to shrivel
up and fall off or does life begin at 40?

signed tunaman :-/

gunnabuild1
21-07-2006, 08:09 PM
Mate I turned 40 in December.Hangovers last longer and get more severe.
Enjoy your birthday mate.On the plus side you can sleep with women half your age and it's perfectly legal, unlikely, but legal!

Sea-Dog
21-07-2006, 08:10 PM
Commiserations Tuna for reaching 40.

40 is not the end of the road.......

but you can see it clearer from here.

- Sea-Dog (43 and aching) #::)

gunnabuild1
21-07-2006, 08:11 PM
Dont forget the older you get the better you were!

21-07-2006, 08:12 PM
Hi tunaman
all depends how ya look at life
hadnt made my foture by 40 after working for 10 years and 16+ hours a day trying kill my self.
so at about 40 I made the decision to back right off and what I got is what Ive got, less work the better, see myself as semi retired (bloody tired any way). Its not about money theses days its about enjoying oneself, been known to give away more than I earn on some days, thats easy as some days I earn nil.
so for me life began at 40 only because I released what was inportant in my life

way_out_bush
21-07-2006, 08:13 PM
Tunaman, had a mate once who's favourite saying was-
"dirty thirties"
"naughty Forties"
"Filthy Fities"

Enjoy!!

manchild
21-07-2006, 08:29 PM
Not a end of the word mate ,but you may start to feel that your little tuss wobbles when you brush your teeth :D ;D
George

tunaman
21-07-2006, 08:34 PM
All the above is so true. I dont know about the younger woman thing,
coz my wife is 34, so I allready have that,and i am lucky in that respect,
coz I have a head like a well smacked ar$e. but thanks guys.
I will have a drink for each of you.

signed tunaman ;)

Slider
21-07-2006, 08:53 PM
Have a great day Tunaman.
Something tells me you might be having a beer or two. ::)

Linds

shaman
21-07-2006, 09:09 PM
Tunaman, I'm 44 but still feel 20 something, only a lot wiser (I think).
One thing is for sure hangovers are worse, backaches are a daily thing etc. The years certainly rack up a bit quicker, I went to a mates 60th the other week :o :o :o..........................but lifes what you make it brother..
...........................and mine is getting better by the day............when you feel that you're not immortal anymore it makes you enjoy everyday a bit more.......god I sound like one of my Mrs friggin self-help books....Billy
HAPPY BIRTHDAY MATEY

Hornblower
21-07-2006, 09:38 PM
Hey Tunaman,

Have a great day to on your 40ieth. Don't listen to any of em mate, this is the first day for the rest of your life. That's a tired old cliche, so here goes a new one, "Cheer up - the worst is yet to come ;D ;D ;D" or "Live every day as if it were your last - for one day you're sure to be right ;) ;) ;)"

As for me, turned forty, been there, done that and had a ball, so live it up mate ;)

onerabbit
21-07-2006, 09:42 PM
Happy 40th bloke,

It really does start here, ONLY 43, but life couldn't be better.

Great_White
21-07-2006, 09:46 PM
tunaman, technically you are really only one day older tomorrow ;D

Avg male life exp these days is around 83 so look at it that your still not at the 1/2 way mark yet ;)

All the best & Happy Birthday for tomorrow. :D

Peter 8-)

spinna
21-07-2006, 09:55 PM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TUNAMAN #;D ;)im 46 ::) and life just gets better mate. I have my kids and the love of my life #and that would be the boss ::)and my best freind ;). And the fising just gets better. !!!!!!!!!!!!!! enjoy

#Cheers spinna ;) 8-) ::)

lock
21-07-2006, 10:20 PM
Happy birthday mate just think of the fishing gear you gonna receive. ;)

dan88
21-07-2006, 10:54 PM
mate happy birthday. Only thing is all this time your spending thinking about what happens when you turn 40 is time that could be spent drinking ;D. Have a beer for me too mate
daniel

tunaman
21-07-2006, 10:55 PM
Thanks guys! You have made a young/ old man feel a lot better.
But life is what you make it, and I havent given up the ghost yet.
40 years! I still cant beleve it. does,nt time go so fast.
THe next 40 years, hear I come. Drinks all round!
Thanks again.

signed tunaman :)

22-07-2006, 06:57 AM
Tunaman....todays the day ....so Happy Birthday

[smiley=bdaycake.gif]

Steven

manchild
22-07-2006, 07:00 AM
Happy birthday Tunaman :)
George
may your viagradealer never run out of stock ;D

mcsalty
22-07-2006, 07:35 AM
Happy birthday mate. I think I must be younger than you 'cause I can't

remember being 40. I do tend to think people 57+ are old though. ;D ;D ;D

Have a good one. Bruce

maztez
22-07-2006, 07:36 AM
Happy birthday TUNAMAN it only gets better ;D ;D 40 to 50 is ya prime time in life .This is where ya start to find yourself ...all your aches and pains :'(etc and you start to learn to do things smarter to avoid em .(Im pushing 59 and still trying to find a smarter way ::) )
cheers Terry

Got_the_Fever
22-07-2006, 08:08 AM
Happy Birthday mate. Im 41 and am married to a 31 yo. I bought my first boat a couple of months ago and am thinking about taking a few months of work to enjoy fishing. What could be better. You arent old yet mate, just starting to learn to live.

[smiley=bdaycake.gif]

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

22-07-2006, 09:21 AM
Happy birthday Tunaman. Today's the day that you start to look back more than you look forward ;D What you once took for granted you will now dearly wish to revisit ;) ;D

Seriously though, I'm coming up for 58, married to a deckie 12 yrs my junior and gained my 5th son 11yrs ago at 46. There was still life in the old dog then, and I'm sure it will be that way for you ;)

We may 'diminish" physically but we are learning all the time (hopefully), as our experiences grow. What once would've angered me and have me throwing punches, now passes me by as my "mellowness" brushes it off..........that's my excuse anyway ;D............If the truth be known, it's simply the realisation that we ain't as "handy" as we once were, and therefore try to avoid conflict. That said, I suppose that in itself is an attribute of growing older....the realisation that we ain't bulletproof anymore........might take an incident like being thrown out of the boat to wake you up to it though ;D

Have a good 'un mate

Edmo
22-07-2006, 10:03 AM
Happy birthday, by now you should have your pressies unwrapt and a drink in hand.
my life was great till 40 then i met the love of my life and now i know i`m livin life as it was meant to be.
i`m so happy and i think that we`re at an age that you can appreciate the good things much more.
sure the back aint what it was and the hangovers take less to get and more to getover but i would`t have it any other way.
live life and love life, all the best ED :)

SunnyCoastMark
22-07-2006, 10:28 AM
Happy Birthday Tunaman!

I'm 40 as well (+ GST) - so i'm really 44, but don't tell anyone!

Much grey on your head yet?

tunaman
22-07-2006, 11:11 AM
What fantastic day! it started with breakfast in bed, then lots of cuddles
and kisses from the hole family, then the presents. fishing gear, just what I wanted ;D. I got a dozen troling lures, a new knife, two new
tackle boxes, and hooks, sinkers etc. Plus clothes undies, socks,shoes.
geesss! I must turn 40 more often. Didnt get any viagra yet #;D ;D ;D ;D
and yes, the gray hair is coming on nicely. :D

22-07-2006, 11:37 AM
<snip>
Didnt get any viagra yet ;D ;D ;D ;D

If you do, swallow it quickly or you'll get a stiff neck. ;D

22-07-2006, 11:50 AM
All the best mate, sounds like a good one was had

I'm fast approaching the big 40 and plan to celebrate it with the family and a few friends on a house boat in the sandy straits, next May !

My brain still thinks 22 and it says fish, party and other things, but as they say, physically you take longer to recover, and then there's the aches and pains

Still its all good so good luck to you ! :D

mcsalty
22-07-2006, 01:06 PM

"Brain still thinks 22"

I had that problem,,,turned out to be me IQ. :-/

shaman
22-07-2006, 03:29 PM

"Brain still thinks 22"

;D ;D heh-heh-heh............................very good

shaman
22-07-2006, 03:31 PM
Happy Birthday Tunaman!

I'm 40 as well #(+ GST) - so i'm really 44, but don't tell anyone!

Much grey on your head yet?

Oh yeah, I am so using this from now on, at least for another 6 months
.....................Billy

tunaman
22-07-2006, 03:33 PM
Yes , age never kills the boy in us. just starting the drinks now,
I will have to change to pots, so I can have one for each of you.

signed tunaman ;)

BlitzBaga
23-07-2006, 04:59 PM
I will be 43 this week, I think I still have lead in my pencil

Murray

Camo
23-07-2006, 05:33 PM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TUNAMAN. Welcome to the 40's club. Just remember, the old saying, "you're only as old as the woman ya feel."

Camo

23-07-2006, 05:43 PM
I will be 43 this week, I think I still have lead in my pencil

Murray

It's finding something to write on that's the problem ;) ;D

tunaman
23-07-2006, 05:56 PM
Cool! Iam still 34 ;D but had a good look in the mirror this morning, and found I had more grey hair than I thought, and to my surprise
everthing still works ;D, if you know what I mean ;D.
yes, its a 40th I will remember. Thanks everyone.

24-07-2006, 09:16 AM

"Brain still thinks 22"

Holy Crap everyone, Peter Beattie is an Ausfish member under the guise of McSalty

Hi Pete, got any water mate ? :D

mcsalty
24-07-2006, 11:26 AM
Dirtysanchez,

Geeezzz I'm sorry mate, must have really p155ed you off for you to be sayin' that about a bloke. Lets'av a beer an' bury the hatchet.............in Peter Beater. [smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=behead.gif]

24-07-2006, 02:43 PM
I am with you on that one bloke !!
Nah, I'm not p!ssed off, just trying to have some fun and be witty, which gets harder as you get older.

No offence OK ? :D

mcsalty
25-07-2006, 06:38 AM
Dirtysanchez, Definately not offended, had a bldy good laugh at your comments but am serious about burying the hatchet into Baettie only I reckon the queue would be about a mile long. ;D ;D ;D

Tunaman. How did the birthday go mate? Didn't see a post p!ssup post but I'd bet you had a good one with the family. ( now's the time to start to stockpile Berocca for your fiftieth) :D :D :D

Cheers, Bruce

25-07-2006, 07:14 AM
Tunaman,

At 40, I felt like two 20 Year Olds. #Trouble is I could not find any 20 Year olds that would have me!! #:D :D

All this talk has really made me feel great, thanks guys!! #At 45 the only obvious signs are - my left knee does not like pounding through morton bay slop any more, and feels/looks swolen by the time I get home if it was rough - but its al old football injury.

While I am not losing any hair, grey hairs are turning up in all sorts of places I don't wish to discuss. #- Nothing a pair of tweezers can't fix ;D ;D

I've never noticed hair on my ears before - also something I use tweezers for, but doing it in the mirror is dangerous, I nearly polked my eye out! #Otherwise, all systems go!!

Hope you had a good birthday!!

tshort
25-07-2006, 07:39 AM
Congrats, at 40 you are officially middle aged and can blame everything on that fact, looks, dress sence or lack of, verandah over the swings, farting in public. It only gets better from here, next step grumpy old man, I cant wait.

kevy
25-07-2006, 08:55 AM
happy birthday tunaman, life's good, have a good one, been there , done that, cheers, kevy. ;) ;)

wetnwild11
25-07-2006, 02:01 PM
Hi tunaman, I am nearly 62 and still do all the things I did when I was 40, it just takes a little longer ;D ;D ;D ;D
Happy birthday!!!
Eric

25-07-2006, 02:19 PM
Hi tunaman, I am nearly 62 and still do all the things I did when I was 40, it just takes a little longer ;D ;D ;D ;D

Eric

Same here, but that's down to the missus ;) ;D

tunaman
25-07-2006, 11:17 PM
Scalem! your not wrong mate, up my nose looks like a shagpile carpet,and I
tried the tweezer thing, bugger that, its bloody painful, plus I couldnt
see a thing with all the water in my eyes. But growing old is not so bad,
you blokes seem to be doing ok. and thank you for welcoming me to
the 40,s club,and I will fill you all in on how my hair sprouting is going
when I turn 50, I should have eyebrowes like bob hawk by then ;D
and I may need a wipper snipper for the nose hair. ;D

wayne_cook
26-07-2006, 07:32 AM
just remember the older u get the older u think old is.

cheers bear

Forrester
26-07-2006, 09:09 PM
Hey Tunaman,
All the best.. remember...

First you forget names
Then you forget faces
Then you forget to pull up your zip
Then you forget to pull it down........
;D Roy ;D

tshort
27-07-2006, 04:38 AM
Your not old till youre having dry dreams and wet farts!!!!!
OOPs gotta go now.

Louis
27-07-2006, 11:35 AM
It's funny how as you get older the time seems to go faster.

For instance, the last ten years, have been the quickest 8 months of my life.

Louis

rick_k
29-07-2006, 12:51 AM
time to get Grumpy Old Men, and Grumpier Old Men out of the video shop.

Go the Green Hornet and Sophia Loren !!!!!!!!!!

sams_fish
29-07-2006, 03:51 PM
my old man is 86. he can still handle a full week surf fishing on straddie may/june each year ;D.he still has a boat and fishes heaps from that. he may be a litle slower, deafer, blinder, sorer back than 46 years ago when i was born, but he can still catch fish at the same rate as anyone else ;D.
tunaman ya got heaps ta go yet, happy 40 th [smiley=beer.gif]

sams_fish

snappa
29-07-2006, 07:20 PM
o to be 40 AGAIN..... :)

agnes_jill
30-07-2006, 07:40 AM
Life Begins at 40 mate.

I'm 46 and old enough to know better but still do it anyway!! :DJust have fun and enjoy your life. Bummer about the eyesight failing though. :'( Your arms just dont seem to be long enough.
Hope you had a good birthday
Cheers Sandi :)

scorpion_500
31-07-2006, 11:04 AM
Well, I sure do hope life begins at 40 - that's what I turned today! # I've been out of regular fishing for more than 15 years it seems, but bought a new boat just before last Xmas (post-grad graduation present to me), couple of Stormy vests for the missus & I at the last Melb. boat show (early birthday pressie), and what feels like a crapload of new rods, reels & other bits & bobs over the last month or few... so bring on the new life!!! #;D ;D ;D #Can't wait for the warmer weather now! #(I know, I know - I should be out there *now*, but u try getting the family enthused during a Melb. winter! #;))