View Full Version : whats a group of squid called ?

speedy
04-08-2006, 02:43 PM
hey everyone im just woundering what a group of squid is called??
i used to know but cant remember anymore im sure its something unusual
not that i need to know just a talkin point
e.g. group of crows? a murder
group of frogs? a knot
group of owls? a parliament

if anyone knows could they let me know
cheers jason

Murks
04-08-2006, 03:01 PM
Jason,
a group of squid is called a "school" :)
Guaranteed as from the Dalhousie University on the study of Squid and there habitat and tracking by tagging methods...so there ya have it.. ;)
PS
When ya come across a school catch em, eat em, don't release em ;D

Dezzer
04-08-2006, 03:45 PM
PLANKTON, if they're little suckers and can't swim against the current.
BAIT, if they're packed close together in a plastic bag.

seatime
04-08-2006, 03:58 PM
A squad of squid ?

AngiG
04-08-2006, 04:06 PM
He he he, a squad. Need to keep the sq theme.

A squall?
A squllion?
A squidy?

Angus

04-08-2006, 04:20 PM
Would the leave squid marks if in a group ?

Sorry, I'll go now :-[

Astro
04-08-2006, 04:44 PM
I thought that a school of squid was called lunch or calamari lol :D

DR
04-08-2006, 05:05 PM
http://www.cephbase.utmb.edu/TCP/faq/TCPfaq2b.cfm?ID=6

hungry6
04-08-2006, 05:33 PM
a good feed?

straddie
04-08-2006, 07:44 PM
I think a "squirt" of squid would be appropriate ;D

seatime
04-08-2006, 08:26 PM
There was a crook squid trying to swim across Moreton Bay when a sand crab came along,
" you don't look too good mate, do u want a hand" .
"thanks mate" said the squid, "I need to get to Amity, but I'm scared of the sharks"
"don't worry about the sharks, I'll look after u" said the crab, "I'll carry u on my back"
when they got to Amity the crab called out for his mate the shark,
"what r u doing" said the squid.
"here's that sick squid I owe u" #the crab said to the shark!

sorry, thought it was appropriate, I'd post in the jokes except I've had them deleted before, now u know why #:)

Hoges
04-08-2006, 08:38 PM
What is a group of sardines called?
>
>
>
>
>
A can/tin

Constipated People Don't Give A crap

serene_lady
04-08-2006, 08:46 PM
Squids. Bob

moondancer
04-08-2006, 09:05 PM
A group of squid can only be called dinner...specially if enticed with a bit of garlic attracter!!

05-08-2006, 09:27 AM
Would the leave squid marks if in a group ?

Sorry, I'll go now :-[

Only if they had diarrhea ;D

If you think it's expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur. (Red Adair, when asked what his fee was for extinguishing oil well fires after the Gulf war.)

mod5
05-08-2006, 09:35 AM
Off topic replies have been removed to This Thread

JIMBO99
07-10-2008, 05:12 PM
jimbo99
In new zealand the call 'em " A putch uf squuud "and then eat 'em.

marty+jojo
07-10-2008, 06:52 PM
A group of squid are known as the Melbourne Storm.
Why?
Because they are spineless...Lol.
Marty.

07-10-2008, 06:59 PM
I thought it was called an 'ink' of squid, a glint of goldfish, a murder of sharks?, and a float or raft of crocodiles.

But ink of squid is correct I think.

trueblue
07-10-2008, 07:24 PM
"have a look maaaate, there's farkin sh!tloads of em..."

sometimes, lots is just lots

BaitThrower
08-10-2008, 10:57 AM
its pretty obvious..

Squidgies!

:)

duncan mcwhirter
08-10-2008, 12:22 PM
isn't it salt and pepper?

Andrew_P
08-10-2008, 01:50 PM
a squadron

Eagle
08-10-2008, 02:00 PM
suckers school

gaintsquid
09-10-2008, 11:14 PM
The scientific name for a group of squid, is Squidlets.

darylive
10-10-2008, 11:03 AM
If it is a really really big group it could be a squillion squid

reidy
10-10-2008, 01:46 PM
A group of squid is a diddly.a diddly of squiddly;) :-/ ::) ;D
Yep im an idiot
Reidy

wilcara
10-10-2008, 02:01 PM
My apologies to all for being so predictably boring; but a slow day at work has enabled me to extensively research the answer to this question. The results of my labour (at consideral taxpayers expense too) are as follows.

A group of squid is called a "school." Yeah, same as fish.

Several squid are called "squids."

I know. Boom boom.

Outsider1
10-10-2008, 04:22 PM
My apologies to all for being so predictably boring; but a slow day at work has enabled me to extensively research the answer to this question. The results of my labour (at consideral taxpayers expense too) are as follows.

A group of squid is called a "school." Yeah, same as fish.

Several squid are called "squids."

I know. Boom boom.

Yeah,

I will agree with Wilcara, school is the collective noun. Shoal is also used sometimes as well, as it is for fishes.

10-10-2008, 05:48 PM
It is actually an "inkling of squid".
a few others:
A shrewdness of apes, an obstinacy of buffalo, a quiver of cobras, a murder of crows, a pietousness of doves, a busyness of ferrets, a charm of finches, a smack of jellyfish, an exultation of larks, an unkindness of ravens, a crash of rhinos, a murmuration of starlings, a lamentation of swans.

maztez
11-10-2008, 06:40 AM
I reckon ya all wrong it's called " a bloody good feed " LOL

cheers Terry

2manylures
11-10-2008, 09:33 AM
The "DIDLEY" family

Dug
12-10-2008, 08:35 PM
;D Always a Squadron;D

sandbankmagnet
12-10-2008, 08:42 PM
If it is a school then it would have to be spelt a squool.

ThePinkPanther
18-10-2008, 07:18 AM
Squidgees!

Mac1952
19-10-2008, 10:21 PM
A squillion?

upstart
19-10-2008, 10:57 PM
How about a bunch of yobbos. Ha ha.

2manylures
20-10-2008, 11:11 AM
DOOR MATS if over cooked

Grand_Marlin
26-10-2008, 07:20 AM
A Packet ??

ronnien
26-10-2008, 05:14 PM
at the moment in townsville they are called "rare":(

ron.

Dick Pasfield
27-10-2008, 09:46 PM
A quiver ;)

Donny Boy
13-11-2008, 08:51 PM
It is actually an "inkling of squid".
a few others:
A shrewdness of apes, an obstinacy of buffalo, a quiver of cobras, a murder of crows, a pietousness of doves, a busyness of ferrets, a charm of finches, a smack of jellyfish, an exultation of larks, an unkindness of ravens, a crash of rhinos, a murmuration of starlings, a lamentation of swans.

While we're on it......
Is the collective noun for a Mongoose............................

a) Mongeese ??
b) Mongooses ??
c) Mongi ??
d) Give us two of the bastards ??

RAT-KING
17-11-2008, 07:59 PM
Im pretty sure they are called a "pod" of squid jst like the whales!
Cheers Simon

dreemon
22-11-2008, 02:08 PM
if there In a toilet we call them squid marks

Mozza
22-11-2008, 03:13 PM
Ah Ha Ha Ha Ha hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!

For some reason I've been calling them squadrons especially since the way the little 'uns usually come in low, and in formation...

But squool - man, that's the best!

Mozza

wakakiwi
22-11-2008, 07:15 PM
pritty sure i seen the answer u seek under the lid of a xxxx gold stubbie once. Cant remember wat it was but its a hell of an excuse for a drink!!!!

trueblue
22-11-2008, 10:28 PM
you will have to drink a few more cases in a hurry now to find the answer again!

23-11-2008, 07:14 AM
pritty sure i seen the answer u seek under the lid of a xxxx gold stubbie once. Cant remember wat it was but its a hell of an excuse for a drink!!!!

Helluva nicname you have there Waka..