View Full Version : Last place in the snapper beauty contest!!!

Careel
05-08-2006, 06:37 PM
Just thought I'd post a pic of a very ugly snapper one of my customers caught on our charter off the Gold Coast on Sunday. If snapper have a circus down there this old bloke was definitely the clown. He was one of about 13 caught, 2 at 7.5 kg with the rest between 2-4kg among a mixed bag of other species.
I've thought long and hard but I think he is the ugliest we've caught, I'm sure there is worse out there, Maybe if you've got a photo you can post it for us all to see.

Careel
05-08-2006, 06:38 PM
Front view

NeilD
05-08-2006, 06:44 PM
Thats pretty impressive. looks more like a cartoon character

Commodore
05-08-2006, 07:04 PM
Twin nobs ;D ;D ;D
he is not the nicest looking snap
but still i bet he was fun to catch ;)
Chong

gone_phishin
05-08-2006, 07:06 PM
My Mother-In-Law Fish ;D ;D ;D

Damn....no fishing for me for a week :'(

05-08-2006, 07:08 PM
Wow. You sure weren't kidding there. ;D They say the beauty comes from within though and if you can't see past it's ugliness then pass him my way and I am sure I will find some inner beauty once I start cooking up the fillets. ::)

Lone_Wolf
05-08-2006, 07:14 PM
Great fish FTD

I think I have seen him on "Streets of San Francisco" on fox #;D

Burley_Boy
05-08-2006, 08:05 PM
Crackup mate
;D ;D ;D;D
That nose is very special.

gawby
05-08-2006, 08:07 PM
Thats one ugly snappa. :-?
Graeme ;)

Brejen
05-08-2006, 08:30 PM
damm thats ugly.... ;D ;D ;D.

05-08-2006, 09:27 PM
you win that is the uglyest snapper i've ever seen ;D ;D ;D ;D

griz066
05-08-2006, 09:36 PM
Thats a super megga fugly knobby 8-)

Great_White
05-08-2006, 09:39 PM
That's one ugly fish, I would hate to meet his Mama ;D ;D ;D

Kind of reminded me of Mr Magoo the cartoon!!!!!!

Peter ;)

HarryO
05-08-2006, 10:02 PM
Speechless.........

Couldn't have gotten lips like that from suckin squid.

Interesting to know how old it was.

Slient
06-08-2006, 06:57 AM
Prehaps faulty snapper... ;D
Look out head is almost half weight to body...

Silent

Got_the_Fever
06-08-2006, 07:15 AM
He is definately well equipped to bust food of the reef. I can imagine a lot of crabs are now a lot less stressed with him no longer pestering them..

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

iank
06-08-2006, 07:33 AM
Wonder if Rex would have kissed it? ;D ;D ;D
Cheers Ian

aussiefool
06-08-2006, 08:25 AM
If you look close enough it looks like Peter Sterling from the NRL footy show ;D ;D ;D ;D

maztez
06-08-2006, 08:34 AM
who said it looked like me ? >:( cant be two of us in this world
;D ;D ;D ;D
cheers Terry

Smailesy
06-08-2006, 09:08 AM
strange very strange

06-08-2006, 09:09 AM
That is one huge schnozz

Got_the_Fever
06-08-2006, 09:15 AM
That one should be named Klinger.

Kel

06-08-2006, 09:48 AM
Wouldn't like to get in the way of a sneeze from that bugger ;D

If you treat every situation like a life or death matter, be prepared to die a lot of times.

chicken
06-08-2006, 02:33 PM
i reckon his head weighs more than his body. no wait it would have to be another snappers mother in law wouldn't it with a head like that?

Adamy
06-08-2006, 06:37 PM
Hmmm all the good jokes are taken >:( .... bet you didnt kiss that ugly mug! Thanks for sharing ;)

06-08-2006, 06:40 PM
The ugliest i've seen thats for sure!!! :o :o

tunaman
06-08-2006, 06:52 PM
What the f--k happed to that fish! I thought I had a ugly head.

signed tunaman

Bundy_Burp
06-08-2006, 07:18 PM
I think someone took the hit me with your rhythm stick song a little too far.

Bundy 8-)

SURF_SNIPER
06-08-2006, 08:36 PM
underwater two big knobs like that may mean he is a tot stud....... maybe all the others are just plain janes ;D

capt
06-08-2006, 09:16 PM
Lone Wolf..... Great comparison ! I got quite a giggle out of that one .........Reg Jimmy

06-08-2006, 09:42 PM
His mummy probably thought he was beautiful.

Does anyone know why southern snapper don't, or at least very rarely, have those big bumps on their heads?

By south I mean southern NSW and further down.

major-defect
06-08-2006, 09:52 PM
You know how kids with big feet end up being tall well maybe he just had to grow into that face grow a lot a real lot.

stalker
07-08-2006, 08:40 PM
I HAD 2 LOOK TWICE I THOUGHT IT WAS MY MOTHER IN LAW..

R_K_HILL
07-08-2006, 10:51 PM
Looks like one of those guys out of the golden child (Eddie Murphy). I wouldn't eat him though (the bloke out of golden child, the one who mans the cage)!!

rickraider
08-08-2006, 07:52 PM
UGLY BUGGER ;D ;D ;D ;D

Gbanger
08-08-2006, 09:10 PM
ahahahah atleast fillets dont look ugly

it actually looks pissed off in that first picture..

08-08-2006, 09:34 PM
Looks like he chased too many parked wrecks.

I believe down south the snapper do not have the same knobs as they feed in different manners, on different foods.

Hoges
09-08-2006, 09:21 AM
Just thought I'd post a pic of a very ugly snapper one of my customers caught on our charter off the Gold Coast on Sunday. If snapper have a circus down there this old bloke was definitely the clown.

This fish was spotted being released from that last Yankee warship to visit Brisbane. The top hump/dome is a satellite communications antenna and the front proboscis is the sonar unit.
Be afraid, be very afraid. Big Brother is watching! ;)

Az
09-08-2006, 09:48 AM
His mummy probably thought he was beautiful.

Does anyone know why southern snapper don't, or at least very rarely, have those big bumps on their heads?

By south I mean southern NSW and further down.

it's a well known fact that those south of the border don't have as big knobs as us in qld #;D