View Full Version : Peter Brock Killed

gunna
08-09-2006, 03:17 PM
Just heard a news flash - killled in the WA Targa. Two legends gone in one week. Terribly sad.

08-09-2006, 03:21 PM
Have heard it as yet but if it is true then that is very sad. Yes he was also a great legend. How did he die did you hear?

ROB80
08-09-2006, 03:22 PM
where did you hear this. can't find anything on google about it(and it is not april 1st ;D)

gunna
08-09-2006, 03:24 PM
No details other than crashed in the Targa.

ROB80
08-09-2006, 03:27 PM
crashed into tree during targa wa. it is on www.abc.com.au :'( :'( :'(

gunna
08-09-2006, 03:28 PM
where did you hear this. can't find anything on google about it(and it is not april 1st ;D)

Special news flash on Channel 7

mylestom
08-09-2006, 03:29 PM
Sad week, a legend in the car racing industry. :'(

ROB80
08-09-2006, 03:38 PM
don't these things come in threes. glad i'm not a famous aussie at the moment :o

08-09-2006, 03:40 PM
A sad day for all Australians, Peter was a real ambassador for the sport and a gentleman to boot. He will be sorely missed.

Cheers and Beers

08-09-2006, 03:41 PM
:-/

JEWIENEWIE
08-09-2006, 03:44 PM
You have got to be joking, that makes three people i really respected, steve irwin, peter brock and a very close friend died of cancer last night.
I am going to the pub :( :-? :'(
Jewie

gunna
08-09-2006, 03:49 PM
Dunno Finga - they are reporting it fairly widely now. Heard it on the radio and another tv station now.

Murks
08-09-2006, 03:49 PM
R.I.P. Brockie
you will be missed by all a true aussie legend

marlinqld
08-09-2006, 03:51 PM
bummer i was a big brock.holden fan............2 in a week, doesnt make sense.......but then life never did make sense

Seahorse
08-09-2006, 04:09 PM
think its time to live ones life to the fullest.

Lone_Wolf
08-09-2006, 04:09 PM
What is going on? These men are larger than life. What a week. Farewell Brocky. My deepest sympathy to your family.

LW

lattic
08-09-2006, 04:12 PM
They come in 3's, they always do.

RIP Brocky.

muz

fish2eat
08-09-2006, 04:15 PM
Lesson 1. live every day like its your last, one day it will be.

Lesson 2. refer to lesson 1.

Kiktz
08-09-2006, 04:16 PM
What a week................ :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

had a mate msn me that 9yrs ago in 1 week,

Lady Di
Mother Thersea
John Denver

This week we have lost an 2 Aussie Icons......... My heart sinks
wondering who is the 3rd

JEWIENEWIE
08-09-2006, 04:16 PM
here here seahorse, dont let a day go by wasted cause one day it will be your last.
Jewie

Figjamm
08-09-2006, 04:19 PM
It's a sad week indeed :'(

They come in 3's, they always do.

It depends what your interests are as to whether you consider this three ....
Colin Thiele died September 4, aged 85
Teacher, and Author of the 1963 children's book Storm Boy and many other children's books
Companion of the Order of Australia for his services to literature and education.

fishingjew
08-09-2006, 04:24 PM
Sadly missed god two in one week :'(

RIP Brocky

Russell

08-09-2006, 04:31 PM
Thats right ColacGirl, I knew who Colin Thiele was, I loved that story as a kid.. I used to call all the pelicans Mr Percival ::)

Poor old Brocky. For as long as I could remember as a young kid I wanted a V8 torana then a commodore.. Ended up with a V8 VL ex pursuit car and did it up to the 9s with all the stuff, went like a bat out of hell in those days (80s)
250 Km/Hr for a VL was mad. :-?

Thanks Brocky, you inspired me to lunacy, but man we had a ball in that car
Gods speed, and rest in peace.

Russ

Smailesy
08-09-2006, 04:48 PM
not good news :(

hodzy23
08-09-2006, 04:49 PM
Im only 13 but When i was little i met him evry weekend and ive got his autograph and all RIP A GREAT LEGEND :'( :'(

Got_the_Fever
08-09-2006, 04:51 PM
My heart goes out to brockies family. He was a childhood hero to me and I have damn few left. May 05 always be remembered for the wonderful ambassader he was and the hours of entertainment he provided to us all.

What a terribly sad day.

Kel

boat_1
08-09-2006, 04:52 PM
Well, what can you say. Another Australian legend gone. I have attached a photo of my car (24C) & Peters original gtr xu-1 (28C), this was the car he won his first Bathurst in. Mine is a exact replica of the car that Colin Bond rolled in 1972, stickers where supplied by Harry Firth, Peter, Colin & Ian Tate also helped in the building of this vehicle. I think i may take it for a drive tonight, bye Peter. :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i199/tworana/363748.jpg

Andrew.

08-09-2006, 04:55 PM
Two Assuie icons gone in one week ! :(

RIP "King of the Mountain"

marlinqld
08-09-2006, 05:05 PM
I hope they do what they do with AFL numbers sometimes.............................retire his number never to be used on another car

tunaman
08-09-2006, 05:08 PM
Mr brock. its sad to see you have gone. In side my house you will
live forever.
another good man has gone. Prays from Tunaman and family.

signed tunaman

ROB80
08-09-2006, 05:09 PM
gee, with all the hoo haa about steve and that bloody election I missed the passing of Colin Thiele, I loved that book "Storm boy". It was the only english assignment i ever got in on time (and got good marks to boot ;). )
may they all rest in peace

chicken
08-09-2006, 05:18 PM
Sad,very sad :'(

08-09-2006, 05:28 PM
R I P
brockie
anther legend

08-09-2006, 05:52 PM
Well I had to hear it for myself and I am deeply saddened by the news that another great aussie legend has met with ill fate. How co-incidental is it that both legends perished in the same week and both died doing what they love? Condolences to Peter's family. R.I.P Peter. :'( :'( :'(

gunna
08-09-2006, 05:55 PM
They just had the car on the news. It hardly seems damaged ?? His navigator is apparently badly injured also.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
08-09-2006, 06:13 PM
Bloody Ford !

the Croc hunter was a Toyota Man
Brockie was as Holden as they come...

seriously,
two blokes most aussies thought were fair dinkum - is the big guy upstairs putting on a BBQ or something and wants some decent guests ... :-/

a_big_red_1
08-09-2006, 06:14 PM
damn what a shame, Brocky was my idol as a young fella :'( :'( :'(

NEWBY
08-09-2006, 06:37 PM
Bloody hell..... :'( 2 GREAT aussie icons gone in a week. who's next? Rolph Harris? Paul Hogan? Christ, we are runnign out of the good ones real quick here. (ok. Rolph??? No biggy but a great embassador)
Stuff this, i am DEFINATELY going fishing tomorrow with a huge bottle of Jacks. Its been a prick of a week all round.

tiges
08-09-2006, 06:40 PM
Not far off till V8's at Bathurst, gonna be a special, heartfelt race this yr. My parents used to take us to the big race back in the day, we were massive holden fans back then. Used to always watch from up top where they come down from skyline into the esse's. Was a wild place back then, amazing they took us as kids. But another massive loss, bogans all over Australia will be devastated. And another doing what he loved. What's next? Boony get's hit by a bouncer in a charity cricket match, and carks it?

08-09-2006, 06:41 PM
damn, what do you say?????? how are you suposed to feel??????? my guts is churning. 3 good aussie blokes, in a week? my condolances, to all family's, friends, supporters. may they all, rest in peace

Grand_Marlin
08-09-2006, 07:46 PM
I really just don't know what to say...

That Sunday morning, once a year that us Holden Fans just lived for ... watching Brocky take on the Mountain - unforgettable.

And watching him throw the 05 Commodore over the top of the Mountain in the top ten shootout ... will always remain a vivid memory.

You were My, my Dad's and my Grandfather's racing hero.

You lived a good life ... a very fulfilling life ... you taught people many lessons - especially Allan Moffat ;D

As sad as your passing may be ... what a way to go ... flat out sideways with the adrenalin pumping through your veins.

A very tragic, but with respect, a very fitting exit.

RIP Brocky

Pete & Family

Great_White
08-09-2006, 08:08 PM
Very sad news, One of the best drivers around in his time. Will miss you Brocky #:'( :'( :'(

Not a good week we have now lost 2 #Australian Legends #:'( :'( :'(

Peter & Family #:(

rowdycowdy
08-09-2006, 08:28 PM
I saw brocky at melbourne airport last weekend.

very sad, I feel for the family :'( :'(

Bundy_Burp
08-09-2006, 09:07 PM
This is not a good week for Australia two legends in the same week I mean what are the odds of that happening .
RIP Peter Brock you were a great Australian

Bundy

schrammy79
08-09-2006, 09:35 PM
He was and always will be a motor racing great and will be missed for decads to come.

http://world4.monstersgame.co.uk/?ac=vid&vid=47025972

noluck
08-09-2006, 09:53 PM
:'( RIP mr.Brocky :'(

no_luck

fishin_till_late
08-09-2006, 09:58 PM
Only the good die young :'( :'( :'(

He also left us doing what he enjoyed doing best.

RIP Peter Brock....you will be remembered for years to come.

jono

griz066
08-09-2006, 10:16 PM
things happen in 3's ::)

Mogwai
08-09-2006, 10:19 PM
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/img/slideshow/brock/holdengear.jpg
Rest In Peace

Hornblower
08-09-2006, 10:30 PM
Two of life's gentlemen have left us this week. But rest assured they left the world in a better position in which they found it. I can only aspire to that same claim. Both will be sadly missed. Heartfelt sympathies and prayers go out to their families, friends and of course their fans.

Vale Steve and Peter. :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
08-09-2006, 10:32 PM
Thanks Peter for all of the memories, the Sunday's gathered around the TV, the fun, the thrills. You will never be forgotten.

Macca1
08-09-2006, 11:50 PM
They just had the car on the news. #It hardly seems damaged ?? #His navigator is apparently badly injured also.

Apparently it was a brnch that pierced the car and killed him, a tragic loss.

Macca

Macca1
08-09-2006, 11:50 PM
They just had the car on the news. #It hardly seems damaged ?? #His navigator is apparently badly injured also.

Apparently it was a branch that pierced the car and killed him, a tragic loss.

Macca

Pitsta
09-09-2006, 06:48 AM
POST YOUR PICS OF THE ALL TIME GREAT
WHO WAS BROCKY !!!!!! "RIP"

ONE OF YOUR FANS MARK :'(

Burley_Boy
09-09-2006, 08:12 AM
Sad news indeed, and whats this trend with piercings lately?
Lets not have this in threes, I've had enough.

I salute you, Peter, Steve.

cassarty7
09-09-2006, 09:42 AM
Yes Indeed fisher friends,
May Peter Brock rest in peace.
Never met the man BUT I still feel for him and his family as I feel for The Steve Irwin Family

Thanks for all the fine driving displays.
Two down
Who to go?

See you in another life Steve and Peter

Thanks for everything.

Cassarty

Macca1
09-09-2006, 10:52 AM
Brocky was a fellow fisher of note also.

http://www.gfaa.asn.au/html/1aus_01.htm?sp_id=27&state=all&category=Mens&line=10&type=Saltwater&section=Search+Records

See it being discussed here by Hal Harvey in WA.

http://www.westernangler.com.au/forum/m_112962/mpage_1/key_/tm.htm

Macca

rough_shag
09-09-2006, 03:01 PM
A few years ago I was driving along Dohles rocks rd nth of Brisbane-a notorious spot for speed traps-when all of a sudden this Volvo comes screaming up my rear end obviously frustrated at doing 60kmh and in a wild hurry,as we pulled up at the Anzac ave lights I looked over to see what this guys' problem was and who should be sitting there but Peter Brock himself!!, winding down the window he gestured for me to do the same, "oh hi I was just wondering whether you saw that green light?" says Brockie, as I had been a mad keen HDT fan as a teenager all I could say was "bloody hell Brockie what are you doing in a volvo?",he explained that he was racing one and asked if I'd like to come along to Lakeside raceway and watch him practice but I had to 'be somewhere' so I stomped on the throttle of my Holden v8 and "blew his doors off!!".
PB epitomized the Australia a lot of us grew up in and certainly inspired many of us to change the dodgy path we were taking at a young age and get interested in all things mechanical rather than the usual pitfalls such as the all too prevalent drugs etc.My personal highlight after years of religiously watching Brock racing was the 1979 Bathurst race where he was setting lap records in the A9X Torana whilst just about all of the opposition had retired with blown engines etc due to the very hot conditions.Brockie will be remembered by many as king of the mountain and Aussie motorsport during an amazing period spanning the late 1960's thru to the mid 1980's-thanks for the great memories Brockie!!. Jace.

Pilchard
09-09-2006, 04:59 PM
He put Toranas on the map...RIP Peter 'King of the Mountain' Brock.

gawby
09-09-2006, 07:02 PM
I thought there was a tread started saying, show your tribute to Peter BROCK.

Well 05 here is mine. #:'( :'( :'( :'(

Graeme :(

4x4frog
09-09-2006, 10:00 PM
I hope they do what they do with AFL numbers sometimes.............................retire his number never to be used on another car

I heard/read a quote today that 05 was his number and no-one can take it away now. I think, from motorsport connections I have it is like footy numbers//If you die in posession of a number, it's for keeps after that.
I really don't think anyone would want to race under '05' because they'd never feel they'd live up to his reputation.
RIP Peter.

BTW...I think we've lost 4 legends in the last couple of weeks so trying to make up 3 is a bad omen...no-one's mentioned Don Chip. (Colin Theile, Steve I and PB) Think we've all shed enough tears for a while :'( :'(