View Full Version : Townsville Breakwater dvelopment

Krazi-kev
19-09-2006, 11:42 AM
Hi fellow NQ landbased fisher persons

I am an avid landbased angler and frequent the breakwater rockwalls behind the c asino carpark at the entertainment centre. This property is about to be re-developed and was wondering if Breakwater fishing will become a thing of the past. Does anybody know whats happening there and if there will still be a decent spot to catch something worthwhile off the land??????

Not too sure when construction of the new harbour commencec but I am sure that it will also reduce the amount of decent landbased fishing spots in Townsville

BUGGER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

seatime
19-09-2006, 12:55 PM
Krazi-kev

I read recently about a cruise ship terminal going in somewhere around the breakwater area, there's not enough room in the existing harbour.
Haven't been up there for a couple of years, so not exactly sure where it will be built.

Steve.

luigi
19-09-2006, 08:57 PM
G'day Kev,

From what I have seen of their intentions/plans it seems to indicate a huge increase in rock walls which means additional structure which should hold & attract more fish.

So, from a rec fishing point of view, there could be substantial benefits provided public access is allowed. #Perhaps it would be advisable to start the ball rolling now for public access otherwise we will get "dudded" once more by the pollies & their green mates.

Barrymundi
20-09-2006, 04:57 AM
The casino wall is private property and at times they have actually hunted the fisherman from the area .The problem they have is with the pigs leaving rubbish behind.

With all the dredging and land fill going on fishing will change. The rich folk will not like you fishing from the rocks when they move in. If the new harbor goes ahead, the yabbie banks will be reclaimed along with a great prawning area. The mouth of the Ross River is an excellent place for fishing and support yabbies, prawns, crabs, whiting, barra, crocs, etc. The last proposal shows this all filled in.

Ring the boys on the 4K1G fishing show Saturday morning. They know a lot about what is going on.

Al

Krazi-kev
20-09-2006, 08:19 AM
Thanks for the info guys.................It sounds as though we will lose a great fishing spot..................I agree with AL.............the rich folks will not be happy with us sitting in their back yards trying to catch a feed. The pigs ( some fisherpersons) that also don't care about the environment have not made it any easier for us. Someone told me that the depth of the water would increase to at least 60 ft and this could bring on some interesting fish.................If only we can wet a line.

AL......Can you tell me what time the 4K1G fishing show is on Saturday morning ????????????

Happy fishing

Barrymundi
20-09-2006, 06:31 PM
Starts at 7 am and finishes around 10am 107.9FM

Al

Krazi-kev
21-09-2006, 08:02 AM
Thanks AL

noodlemantra
21-09-2006, 01:29 PM
its a shame, im with you there kev. have been bought up fishing those rocks and around them.

BUgger them all I say, we'll still fish there. As far as I can see, wetting a line is breaking no law and I will continue to do so and fish there......if im still in t'ville that is

Krazi-kev
21-09-2006, 01:47 PM
Good stuff noodles.................

Great views late arvo wetting a line and throwing down a beer..............catch a fish or 2 and living is all good ;D

I hope that lifestyles of the rich and famous do NOT overthrow the lifestyles of the average man and women. Let's hope they leave a spot for us..................

Litterbugs should stay away and that can easily be enforced by fisheries.

I have not seen development plans but if there is a public walkway along the rocks that means that we can still wet a line. Lets hope for the best

Happy fishing

Might even give it a go after work............JUST FOR FUN

Barrymundi
21-09-2006, 08:57 PM
We went for a walk along the rock wall tonight. great spot, a few fishing, blowing its butt off.

Al

BennyJ
22-09-2006, 12:18 AM
Boys i wouldn't be to concerned at this stage a lot has to happen till they get to a point of building it all. But in saying that speak up now so that rec fishers still can have a fish , if you let council's know and the blokes on the fishing show would be that they need facilities for the public to go and fish , provisions will be made . new developments these days need these public facilities incorporated in the master plan otherwise they don't get approved ,and what you see on the front page of a newspaper is not what these sort of developments end up looking like .

Krazi-kev
22-09-2006, 08:47 AM
Good stuff,

I also think that the earlier the better..........especially in prelim stages where approval is sought.

AL....................you would have noticed my wife and I fishing off the rock walls last night. Fished from 4:30 to 7:30 pm. Only undersized grunter.

Next time

Barrymundi
22-09-2006, 04:57 PM
right out on the point ?

The wife and I walked out around 5.30pm