View Full Version : A Red or Two or Three

20-09-2006, 08:39 PM
Not having a dig at anyone, just wondering your thoughts on the below.
Is the obsession of targeting one species and persistenly hitting the same area trip after trip after trip,
turning some fishos into a stereo type and their sense of exploration and willingness to explore and target other species left them :-/.
or Maybe its the visualisling of a gleaming 6-8kg red sitting next to them as they pose for the 100th photo,
or maybe they havent caught a fish of this size before and a one track mind sets in.
What if the proposed bay closures came into effect tomorrow, where would it leave them.

stevedemon
20-09-2006, 08:48 PM
Hi webby
if the bay closures came into effect (in which we hope do not) would break the stereo types habbits i always fishing the same areas but never the same spots different seasons of they year different type of fishing.
and i am always on the look for different fishing holes when i get out
although i do know some that always fish the same spots all year round

Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)

solwota
20-09-2006, 11:50 PM
hi Webby, if i look back over my 20+ years of angling there are plenty of "one track mind" fixations when i was eight it was whiting, in my teens it was tailor off the beach, later on it was jungle perch in crystal streams up north. Then it was a metre long barra (never quite got there) then it was a snub nosed dart on fly. At the moment i am looking for a big red on plastic. I might find one or i might get distracted by another target. So It's not that i don't have a willingness to explore. Its more that when a i open a new angling chapter in my life i often sink right in, especially while the learning curve is still steep. I still love to catch whiting and tailor off the beach And i miss the barra fishing and flats fishing i had when i lived up north. But it is a great joy to revisit past obsessions as it is to find new ones and also to explore current ones.If they close the bay i'll find a new obsession. I'm sure most anglers on this sight would agree that the best part of fishing is trying to put together the pieces to the puzzle and to delude ourselves that we have it "all worked out"
richard

Hornblower
21-09-2006, 02:30 AM
G'day Webby,

I generally fish for the same species, but in different spots. Guess that still make me a stereotype though. ::) ::) ::) ::) You make a good point, and give us something to think about.

Perhaps if fishing can't be our thing in the future, thanks to the greenies, we could take up greenie tossing - since dwarf tossing is no longer socially exceptable - can't see anybody objecting to the tossing of a few greenies about ;D ;D ;D ;D

Cheerrs ;) ;) ;) ;)

marlinqld
21-09-2006, 05:23 AM
:( I thought this thread was going to be about red wine ;)

NeilD
21-09-2006, 07:22 AM
I think people fish for different reasons. Some like the score board approach and are drawn to catching the biggest or the most of a species. This can be reflected through behavior such as the old style fishing comps (or even in the new age bream and bass pro style ones) or even looking for recognition on sites like this or among friends or peers. This type of motivation can lead to a strong concentration on a particular species and a focus on specific locations that have paid off in the past.

For others the biggest thrill is in the act of fishing and the quest for new locations, techniques and species all add to the experience.

When I was much younger I worked on occasion, commercially line fishing for reefies. We could catch over 800lb overnight. To me this had no relevance to the sport in which I participate now. To me it would be pretty boring to chug out to location X each week or so and use the same technique to fill the esky with your bag of 8kg Reds. To me this has little of the magic fishing can provide. My most memorable experiences have been finding a new location and applying my knowledge to come up with a game plan with a positive result. I love it when a plan comes together.

I am not a supporter of fishing closures unless there is some pretty solid scientific support for them helping the fishery as a whole but if restrictions came into place then I think most of us would just move on to some other location and adapt the skill we have developed to suit the new spot. of course if the restrictions are widespread then there will be a lot more pressure on alternative locations

Variety is the spice of life

Cruize
21-09-2006, 08:32 AM
Well I suppose that I am a little quilty of the above but I am of the school that you never leave fish to go to a spot where there are no fish.

In addition to this line of thought I also say if you want to go fishing and you know where fish are - Dur go there!

However, with the different options around these days I now tend to vary my approach. Meaning Last week I was fresh water fishing in local dams and this week I am salt water fishing in open water.

Where I am guilty is I go hard when I find where the fish are and will target the same spot for a couple of trips in a row, until the fish move on.

fishingbarry
21-09-2006, 08:40 AM
Yeah I thought it was about Red wine as well and when I read 1,2,3 I thought now we are getting into red wine hangover country :P I hope someone had the cure.
Barry

21-09-2006, 08:48 AM
to "specialise" in one species is the best way to get to know how to catch them, but you must change your specialty from time to time or you will soon become "stereo typed" but this is not really a bad thing, just one persons way of fishing/relaxing, I know a bloke and his nick name is Barry Snapper, no prize for guessing what he specialised in! but to look for only one species is a quick way to learn about tides, baits and so on, then move onto something else, that way when you go on Holidays or whatever, you will be able to give "something" your best shot!

snappa
21-09-2006, 10:28 AM
"stereo typed"..

thats me .. :P

love catching .."snappa"

in 80/90 mts ...................

stevedemon
21-09-2006, 11:20 AM
will guy's i've yet to catch that elusive Jack as yet catch most other species and this year i do intend on catching Jack one way or the other :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( ::) ::) ::) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ::) ::) ::) ::)

Hi hornblower mate will you are tossing some greenies around i'll have some with the $100.00 dollars on them

OoH oops you was talking about tree huggers ;D ;D >:( >:( ;D ;D Sorry?!?! and throw a few pollies in there with them including beatup Back-flip ::) ::) :-/ :-/ ::) ::) ;D ;D

(Perhaps if fishing can't be our thing in the future, thanks to the greenies, we could take up greenie tossing - since dwarf tossing is no longer socially exceptable - can't see anybody objecting to the tossing of a few greenies about )

as for the tree huggers i think we can all stand in line to throw a few around on a one way trip so they do not return ;D ;) ;D ;) ;D 8-) ::) :P :P

Steve 8-) 8-) ;D ;D

Great_White
21-09-2006, 02:05 PM
Hi Webby, "maybe they haven't caught a fish of this size before and a one track mind sets in" I think I fall into this group #;D ;D ;D.

If the proposed bay closures came into effect tomorrow, I guess we would all be forced to look for new legal grounds in the bay. Or would have to go back to what I know which is whiting & bream in the passage.

Peter #:)

21-09-2006, 02:51 PM
Man I would just love to not be having to work or run around after the family for a while JUST TO GO FISHING !! ::)

Anything would do me so long as I could put it on a plate that evening

Geez, you blokes have it made 8-)

21-09-2006, 03:09 PM
Actually Brian i need about twenty types of fishing banned immediately so i can be limited to just 2 or 3 styles !!!!! I have just purchased rods number 34,35,36 with 36 comming in around the $ 1200.00 mark( It was a bargin!! :-[) I have to stop spending money on fishing tackle!! :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( I need therapy [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

sempre
21-09-2006, 04:17 PM
I think most people , mostly offshore fishermen tend to go to the same spots , not to over fish the area , but when you get 1 good day in 6 weeks to go out , i know where i'm going , to where i know i can catch fish .

Sometimes there's just not enough good days to go exploring .

Personally i like going to new areas , and sometimes it pays off . But i still fish areas that i'v fished for years , so add me to the list .

Sam..

jim_farrell
21-09-2006, 04:56 PM
For me it depends on how often I am fishing at the time. If I am fishing regularly, I usually narrow it down to a couple of productive spots. If it becomes a couple of weeks or months between trips, I will usually try a new mark or one I haven't fished in a while.
I live on the gold coast so our offshore structure is a lot flatter than the bay or outside moreton and different areas of the same reef go on and off.

As far as the closures of the bay go, I can't see a species that would benefit from them.

21-09-2006, 05:02 PM
Great White..the passage is part fo the bay so if the closures do occur you may not be able to fish there either.

Personally..I enjoy my winter bream fishing in the passage..as for snapper, squire etc..never caught any and not losing any sleep over it.
I enjoy being on the water whether I am fishing or not.

Now Webby..break out the red.

T1
22-09-2006, 08:02 AM
Hi All

I'm with SOLWOTA! I have had fixations on certain species/spots until i feel i have it worked out then i'll go onto another. At the moment, it's Wello Pt. Next perhaps will be Mud? But i think it's part and parcel of fishing - for me anyway... Sometimes, i just want a feed of fresh fish so will go to known productive spots to acquire.

Take Care T

redspeckle
25-09-2006, 06:56 PM
Webby
I after to agree in what was sempre reply and when I do head out I always seem to catch one fish species and I always try tagert other species so I can get a mix bag hardly every happens
If they try bring closures in the bay i will making my own serect special spot [smiley=rolleyes.gif] to go fishing on

Mitch

25-09-2006, 07:27 PM
Webby

If they try bring closures in the bay i will making my own #serect special spot # [smiley=rolleyes.gif] to go fishing on

Mitch

Mitch

If you do make that spot, make sure it's in a spoil ground or on a bit of reef!!! It would be terrible to goto all that effort and have your new secret spot end up on the sorting tray of a trawler :o :o :o :o

squidgiepalmer
25-09-2006, 07:36 PM
I love flathead fishing and yes i fish for them most times but blackfish is also one of my targeted speices so i guess im in the stereo type fisho i love soft plastic fishing but since Wishy sent me the email the the chalange is on in Noverber the 25th im all out practicing breaming on SP so look out Webby round three in coming, are you going to be Wishys co pilot again and yes mate you have to use those soft thing again with 4lb braid gee lifes hard
cheers squidgie

CHRIS_aka_GWH
27-09-2006, 08:20 AM
:( I thought this thread was going to be about red wine #;)

i thought he was talking about the communists #:-?.

... #can't see anybody objecting to the tossing of a few greenies about ...

apart from the difficulty in getting the SMELL out !

You have a valid point about fishing structure hugging species brian. When was the last time you heard of a snapper being caught off Snapper Rocks on the Goldy or from Amity. In the 50's they used to provide, but being landbased their resident populations couldn't handle being hit daily.

These days the advent of GPS and seaworthy craft mean closer inshore structure are now recieving the pressure landbased structure went thru.

A wise farmer leaves a field fallow every couple of crops but how can a fisherman do that when another guy will hop into his spot in the months he isn't fishing it..

i don't know the answer.

What if the proposed bay closures came into effect tomorrow, where would it leave them.

may be some old bearded boaties stuck in their ways will be getting sand between their toes #:-X ;)

Duyz72
28-09-2006, 05:32 PM
I am sure everyone can say 'fishing ain't what it used to be'. #And I am sure it will continue until something radical occurs to reverse that trend.

Of course this is not any one particular groups responsibility, it will take concerted effort across all industries and social groups to reduce the impact and stress on our natural resources. #And it will take some pretty hard measures at some stage to do this (not very popular I am sure :()

As the saying goes, think global act local.
So spreading your personal impact upon any resource is a sensible thing to do #;D.
So why continually pound the same footprints in our waterways :-/?

Of course most anglers are likely to hit the same spot each and every time, and if you hear about someone doing well in an area you are likely to give it a go too. #No problems with that.
But, what you choose to kill and take with you is YOUR decision alone.

I believe catch and size limits of ALL species is the key to our resource future.

I personally like to try different areas at different times during different seasons. #Not for the greenie streak in me, but because it can get quite boring doing the same thing all the time.
Personally I am so sick and tired of catching bream, flatties, whiting, mud crabs etc.
Who could enjoy bread and butter all their life?

So for my 2cents (extra lol #:P). . .

If you are wanting to specialise your skills, then please be a catch and release fisherman. Thank goodness for the change in fishing to a culture of catch and release. #
The SP revolution can only help by reducing the impact on the bait resource too.

If you are targeting a particular species for the feed, then I hope your eyes are not bigger than your stomach #:o.

I do love fishing and I am currently introducing my Nephews and young daughter (2 years old) to the fantastic past time that it is.
It is certainly a shame I cannot easily give them that thrill I experienced at their age. #
And I am sure those of you who do remember the days when you could troll up some nice fish in the upper reaches of the Nerang River would think the same about my generation.

Sorry for getting a bit full on so I will now zip it :-X :-X :-X