View Full Version : Older Men not Skin Smart

30-08-2006, 07:22 PM
I have #a couple of bits of sore sun damage to my face which my doctor is keeping an eye on and about which he has told me to cover up as much as possible. #So I now buy sunscreen in 1 litre containers with a #pump dispenser and use lots of zinc cream when fishing in day time etc. #( I get some funny looks at times because I do look a bit weird with a face heavily covered in blue zinc, red zinc, or white zinc according to what came out of the packet of various colored zincs that I carry in the boat. #;D)

However, I am a bit conscious of having a devil-may-care attitude at times to the risks of excessive sun damaged skin thinking that my worst years for carlessness in this regard were probably thirty years ago and that there is little to be gained by being vigilant now at my ripe old age of 55 (going on 18 #;D )

Not so according to a relevant article in yesterday's Courier Mail that I thought would be worth sharing as attached below.

Essentially this says that men over 60 years of age are experiencing more skin cancer than the girls of the same vintage. #Obviously, there would be a lot of history of outdoors work and sporting activity that would contribute to that but I also wonder if when men of sixty + years retire they suddenly spend a lot more time in the sun going fishing, playing golf etc. #

Being half way through a 13 month long service leave, I am very conscious that I am as keen as mustard to be out fishing as much as I can each week and I am sometimes remiss in the slip, slop, and slap department, albeit getting better because of doctor's warnings and info such as that contained in teh article.

Anyway, sharing this for anyone who is spending a lot more time in the sun than they used to...

Dignity
30-08-2006, 07:41 PM
Charleville, I have been lucky so far and only had a couple burnt off. I use one of those arafat hats, they can get a little hot at times but I hate the smell of most sun screens, they have a tendency to make me sea sick (and diesel, and petrol fumes). Used to use Banta Gel once but it seems to have disappeared off the market, Bana boat has a gel but it is in small tubes and expensive.

sam

Feral
30-08-2006, 07:57 PM
A Lot of the skin cancers we (older males) are suffering is as a result of the slip slop slap campaign in the 70's.

The government ran the line that if we used sunscreen judicously we would not get skin cancer.

But what happened was the sunscreen of the day stopped us getting burnt, but did not stop the UVB rays which are good "skin cancer makers" So we ended up out in the sun longer as a result of the campaign. if we had ignored it, we would have covered up or got outr of the sun when we got burnt!

I have used sunscreen all my life, I go twice a year to get the skin cancers burnt off.

30-08-2006, 08:41 PM
its just not you old buggers either,,,,

have a look at the various industries around,,,that has people out and about in the sun,,,whether your 30,,,40,,,50,,,or like TOL,,, (can't remember,,age)

lets face it,, we live in a state that has a high percentage of skin cancer/sun spot figures,,,

cover up,,,and be careful,,,,

nothing hits harder than your doctor saying you've got cancer,,,,,believe me

onerabbit
30-08-2006, 09:08 PM
Dont know if it's just me,
but I refuse to use sun-block, anything that soaks into the skin cant be good.
I use an arrafat hat, long sleeves, what ever is appropriate.

I can hear it coming, YES, I do have 2 skin cancers already, how they got on my old fellah is still a mystery, it's never seen the sun.
But thats it.

hussy
30-08-2006, 09:25 PM
i have the same problem i think its the sun shining out of our ars..s thats the problem. hubby

Heno
30-08-2006, 09:40 PM
It's not only older men. At 33 I have one on my leg and another on my right arm that the doc is watching and when he told me my first thoughts were WTF ... not me. I refuse to use sunscreen , too sticky and uncomfortable but always wear longsleeved shirt ,hat & sunnies now and throw a towel over the legs when I'm driving . I agree with onerabbit anything that soaks into the skin cannot be good for you.

bungie
30-08-2006, 10:15 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1113836990/0

Since the above posts, I have a 50mm one cut out of my back, and 18 burnt off about 6 weeks back

onerabbit
30-08-2006, 10:15 PM
Hubby,

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

wish it was that funny having them taken off.

31-08-2006, 04:16 AM
This is a great discussion. Thanks guys.

Bungie - that is a great thread that you have shared with us. Many thanks.

Most of my fishing these days is at night time but I still have an half hour or so facing into the sun as I motor from Manly to Mud Island before sunset and besides which, on those mornings on which I fish the northern bays at Mud, the warm sun on my (covered) back is glorious so this discussion is a very timely reminder for me.

I also wear an Arafat hat thing (Adaptacap) but I am always not sure about its effectiveness on the top of my baldy head when the cap is wet from sweat, which it does get in summer. They are great for the side and back of the head though.

I am conscious that the UV rating of fabrics is lessened when they are wet. The similarly constructed fishing gloves that I wear in summer are excellent though as my hands can get quite burnt and painful without them. This discussion is a reminder to wear them more in winter too, I guess.

31-08-2006, 04:44 AM
Cheap shot, Choppa!! Low blow!! All that stuff!! All I can say in my defence (which is the only one I have) is that I've got there.

Guess I've been just lucky so far, considering my youth spent in FNQ and SEQ lounging around on the beaches with little or no protection. Can recall lounging on the beach at Etty Bay near Innisfail in the mid 60's, we used to use a vicious brew called coconut oil, which probably had no SPF at all and had the effect of slow baking you.

Even now, I've still got to remember to cover up and use the old slip slop slap. Should try to remember to make it an automatic habit before I go out in the sun.

31-08-2006, 07:21 AM
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

what are doing up at that ongodly hour mate???????

you know its funny,,,,i'm home today cause its of to the RBWH (again), for the 6 monthly check up

31-08-2006, 08:09 AM
You know the old saying Chop;

"Early to bed, early to rise, makes an old legend healthy and wise". If only it were true! :(

Tell me Choppa, why are you going to the RB Women's H for a checkup? You're not a transvestite or anything like that are you? :-?

moondancer
31-08-2006, 08:40 AM
Haven't really got much to add to this thread, except....thanks for starting it - this is something that we should ALL have in our sights and awareness - so, the very fact of having this discussion should prod more of us into taking better care, getting checks regulary etc.

Well done
Lawry

Slient
31-08-2006, 08:57 AM
Charleville,

Thanks for bring up the topic which reminds me already had 2 BCC cuts.
Last cut was on my ear and fortunately it was tiny one and right in the time... :-[
Not long time ago I added my fishing rule: to wear an arrafat hat and long sleeve and pant, that's why I don't like be painted with sun block cream over except face... :P
Also suggest an annual skin check up to keep you more fishing in the long term... ;)

Happy fishing
Silent

fish2eat
31-08-2006, 09:00 AM
It can happen so easily, Sunday morning at daybreak down on the beach......kept fishing until about 12noon, but started to turn pink ;later that afternoon. You forget that the sun is getting so much stronger at this time of year even though it is not hot. Today......I'm peeling. won't get caught again this season, the sunscreen goes back into the backpack again.

onerabbit
31-08-2006, 05:18 PM
I found it interesting that the die-hard sun-block users are getting cancers removed in numbers, especially the older ones, where those of us that dont use the stuff, although we are getting them, perhaps have less.
Just an observation of what has been said on this thread, I could be way off.

Graham_N_Roberts
31-08-2006, 06:00 PM
:-/ When I was growing up in the 50's & 60's we were told to get out in the sun. Now we're falling to bits/rotting away etc. :-?

My 19 yr old daughter had a grade 4 melanoma removed from her arm, and now requires 6 monthly checks for 5 years. She used sun screen when she was in a swimming club training every day, and still had a knock on the door.

Cover up and enjoy the life you have.

RCG008
31-08-2006, 06:24 PM
Dangerous thoughts Onerabbit.

Everyone is affected differently by the use of sunblock etc. It depends on the person. Skin, parents , heritage etc....

I'm lucky only 26 and growing up in a surfclub all my good habbits have rubbed off into my fishing world. During summer I'd never leave home without sunblock. Seen too many of the old fella's at surf club leave us too early...

Mum works in a Doctors surgery that does skin checks, and like they say, Everyone should be checked yearly. There is way too many fish out there for me to catch before the silly sun stops me. ;D ;D

31-08-2006, 06:32 PM
You know the old saying Chop;

"Early to bed, early to rise, makes an old legend healthy and wise". #If only it were true! # :(

Tell me Choppa, why are you going to the RB Women's H for a checkup? #You're not a transvestite or anything like that are you? #:-?

oooooohhhhhh,,, did i touch a sensitive spot??? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

nah,,, your safe mate,, i haven't been arguing with mrs choppa over who's turn it is to wear the stilleto's,,,fish net stockings,,,lacey stuff,,,(stop it choppa,,,there's young'uns around!!!!!!)

but seriously,, i did have my 6 monthly check up today,,, maxillo facial,,,and oncology,,,

a tid bit of info for those who are interested

when i was advised of having the big c,,,,, it flattened me,,,, for about 1 hr,,, then i changed and decided that the outcome i was given was a challange more than a sentence,,, one that i was absolutley going to beat,,,

i did,,, 8 months in a hospital was the cost,,,,

and now i wear the after effects,,,

this though is transferred to this very topic,,, depending on what treatment you endure,, you still have a smaller battle ahead to maintain,,,mine is simple,,, the treatment left my jaw & upper/lower teeth in poor condition,,,so now i'm booked in to a 20,,,,, 30 minute session with the HYPERBARIC CHAMBER,,, to infuse my bloodstream with pure oxygen ,, before they operate and remove offending teeth,,,, this means 20 more trips to the hospital,,, for a treatment,,, for 20 days consectuativley,,,

then after the op,,,,10 more treatments follow

thats me,,,, but you may be surprised unless you visit the oncology/radiation departments of the hospital how many people are effected,,,not only with cancer itself,,, but sunspots,,skin cancers and the like

and believe me,,,,,,,,,age is no barrier,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, (thats the hard part to comprehend)

31-08-2006, 09:49 PM
Yep,
Had a spot burnt off my face yesterday.( 33 yo)
Had to walk round the boat show with a big bandaid on my cheek :)

definately more sunscreen & sun smarts from now on.

TIM-DONSELAAR
31-08-2006, 10:55 PM
my fiancee and i fish a fair bit and we both try to keep covered up,we wear long pants and both have columbia long sleeve shirts which are supposed to be pretty sunproof,we both wear hats and if the suns really cranking we put teatowels under our hats to keep the sun off our necks and ears and then all we need is a bit of suncream on our faces,i admit sometimes when the fishing is going good we forget to apply suncream and end up with a burnt face.

not sure if the teatowels are a good idea in some area's for instance if the ronald raegan visited the port of brisbane again and you were near it with the teatowels on your head....you would be in deep trouble ;D ;D ;D

cheers tim :)

fish_outta_water
01-09-2006, 06:50 AM
excellent thread guys
;D just tried to find a picture of an arrafat hat online (just so i knew what you guys were wearing)
all i can find is shots of yassa arafat ;D assuming you guys are wearing something like the trad ozzy bush hat (wide brim) just a thought but the amount of glare coming back off the water must be enough to burn you?
i try not to use much sun creams prefer to get an amount of sun to keep a base level of resistance then cover up / lotion up (am sure you burn easier if your skin isnt used to sun)
tightlines all

01-09-2006, 09:24 AM
just tried to find a picture of an arrafat hat online (just so i knew what you guys were wearing)
all i can find is shots of yassa arafat #;D assuming you guys are wearing something like the trad ozzy bush hat (wide brim) just a thought but the amount of glare coming back off the water must be enough to burn you?

fish_outta_water - the picture below is not a very good likeness of me #;D ;D but that is this is the sort of thing that we are talking about. #The brand name that I have is Adaptacap but when you Google that you get some protective syringe cover.

These caps usualy cost around $25 but they offer really good protection to face and neck. #I bought mine a long time ago at the tackle shop at Coorparoo/Camp Hill near Bennetts Road.

BTW, they are not bad to wear at night time also to help keep the mosquitoes away and also to shield your eyes from any extraneous lights on your boat.

TIM-DONSELAAR
01-09-2006, 11:06 AM
is this an arrafat hat,its a columbia brand called a Schooner Bank Cachalot

might have to invest in one of these hats instead of using teatowels ;D

cheers tim

01-09-2006, 11:20 AM
is this an arrafat hat,its a columbia brand called a Schooner Bank Cachalot

That looks like the rain hats that we used to call Sou'westers.

That would be some improvement on a cap. I guess but there is not much protection for the side of the face.

I once had an ex-nurse from the Repatriation Hospital working for me (as a salesperson) and she used to tell me about how the old diggers used to get bad skin cancers on one ear and side of their face from wearing the Aussie army's slouch hat. So I reckon that covering the ears and side of the face is pretty important.

Dignity
01-09-2006, 08:10 PM
this is an arafat hat

onerabbit
01-09-2006, 09:09 PM
Thats the one

Jackinthebox
01-09-2006, 11:18 PM
fish-outta-water,

the correct spelling for these hats is ARAPHAT, ADAPTACAP, etc( not ARAFAT). Google is very particular about spelling and that's why you kept finding old mate Yasser.

Mick.

Dignity
03-09-2006, 08:23 AM
guess the old saying a picture is worth a thousand words is true - finding google a little too oriented on earning money, it's search engine in the early days would have fouind the miss spellling

sam

03-09-2006, 08:59 AM
Bana boat has a gel but it is in small tubes and expensive.

sam

The price will seem insignificant if you are battling a nasty melanoma. Cannot put a price on our health I don't reckon. ;)

Lone_Wolf
03-09-2006, 09:50 AM
My tea totalling, non smoking father was a mad keen gardener. I can clearly recall his prized flower gardens, abundant vegetable gardens and lush green lawns. I can also remember his back and arms regularly sunburned after a hot day where he went shirtless in the garden.

At the age of 53, he found a small spot on his neck that would not heal. He visited the GP and it was removed on suspicion. The subsequent tests revealed it was a malignment melanoma with secondaries already spread throughout his lymphatic system. He passed away 5 months later.

The message was clear to me then. The sun is ok, sunburn is not. A days fishing exposes us to excessive amounts of sun so cover up.

Slip, slop, slap had a new meaning to me then. Regrettably, in his day, the message was not so clear.

LW #

03-09-2006, 06:27 PM
That is a very sobering contribution to this discussion Lone_Wolf. Many thanks.

I hope that the pain of losing him is easing as time goes by but his legacy as an example from which we can all learn is very powerful in this discussion.

Many thanks for sharing your story.

Best wishes...

Reef_fisher
03-10-2006, 12:21 PM
I am 40 wear a frillneck hat(arafat style) poleroids sunblock long sleeve shirt long shorts and have started wearing shoes instead of thongs and I still get burnt even with the bimini up. It has to be the double dose with the reflection off the water. I feel sorry for people like my brother that have fair skin.

18-10-2006, 07:24 PM
just thought I would drag this back up as a reminder..as summer is approaching...just been to the quack...18 spots hit with the liquid nitrogen...one piece cut from face for a biopsy to determine if it is cancerous..(cutting my face will ruin my boyish good looks)..so remember..slip, slop n slap....or else...quack goes cut n burn

onerabbit
18-10-2006, 08:10 PM
Pinhead, bugger :(,

Although I don't subscribe to the sunblock theory, I do agree, we DO need to protect ourselves, by whatever means.
I choose to be covered in cotton rather than sunscreen, but that may not suit everyone, but I think the message is clear, cover up or..................

sleepygreg
18-10-2006, 10:10 PM
Have had about a dozen cancers cut/burnt off. Many years of cricket and fishin contributed to it. My warnin is to cover up and put zinc on what ya cant cover. No need to be a premature hero!!

my two bobs worth

Slient
26-10-2006, 07:45 PM
Unfortunately I have this type skin easier gets skin cancer.
Not long time ago I noticed sore on my back neck for a while and get someone to have a look at it "Yes I reckon you need see skin specialist now" so I took digital cam to shoot my back neck and check digital and zoom... :o

Slient
26-10-2006, 07:47 PM
This is superfcial BCC

Zoom closer... :o

Slient
26-10-2006, 07:57 PM
Today cut it out... :) and dressed

Hope my message is clear to anyone to look after your skin
"Slip Slop Slap" when you're outside

Silent

daggsy
26-10-2006, 08:05 PM
at 40 years of age i have had 2 lots of sunspots removed from my face and part of my ear has been removed and also had one cut out of my back. i grew up in NQ and spent 5 years living in the NT and O/S. never used sun screen now i am paying the price. I can show my 10 year old the reasons why she should have sun screen on.
I must concur with the topic that we are not very smart.

daggsy

26-10-2006, 08:07 PM
got the biopsy back..yep..cancerous..off to see the specialist for some face cutting..sounds like a lot of fun..not.

snelly1971
26-10-2006, 08:33 PM
I must be honest and say that i never wear any protection.....

Kendall249
26-10-2006, 10:39 PM
Not only are the older men not skin smart, unfortunately it seems to be a common occurence in the younger generation as well.

tunaman
27-10-2006, 09:00 AM
I had a skin cancer lazered off my chest. It started with a small pimple and sometimes it was sore to touch and other times it was ichy as hell.
When it was removed, it left me with a scar the size of a five cent coin.
So please! use a all the protection you can get.

But what the problem is, Australia is known for us to be the bronzed and sun loving, it just cant be anymore. Iam not saying you cant have a tan,
just dont get fried and cooked like a lobstar. Suncream and zinc is the go and a hat with sunglasses. Even if your t. shirt is to thin, sunburn can happen.

signed tunaman

Homer_Jay
27-10-2006, 04:45 PM
Yep slip slop slap this summer!

I have a theory on why it seemed back at the start of this thread that the people that used sunscreen had more cancer. I think it all comes back to the type of skin you have some are prone to it and some are not. The people that use sunscreen alot (like me) probably have the type of skin that burns easy, so we use more suncreen than the blokes who go with out and dont think they need it. But just the fact that the skin is more prone to it says we end up with more problems. It would probably be 100 times worse if no one used sunscreen. I have used sunscreen alot all my life but i go and get sun spots burnt off now every year and i am only 30. But i will continue to use whatever i can to cover up.

littlejim
27-10-2006, 05:57 PM
The idea that suncreen users get more skin cancer than non-users has to be a furphy and contrary to medical research. I'm sure the cancer Council wouldn't be encouraging us to use it if it actually caused problems rather than reducing them. The comments that it soaks into the skin are doubtful too, not many things penetrate the skin, think the sunblock just sits on top.

But all the comments on covering up, reducing exposure time plus slopping all make sense. As do the comments that some people are going to be more prone to getting skin cancer than others.

The Basal Cell Carcinomas (BCC) are less of a worry than the Squamous Cell Carcinomas, they don't spread alsewhere but remain local, but it is still better not to get any.

At least while we are out there fishing we are making a bit of Vitamin D so we won't get rickets if that's any consolation.

GAD
27-10-2006, 08:55 PM
I wear one of those frillneck hats ,and just incase there is a spare in the boat. I'm 42 and I realized along time ago that I had to wear hat,longs and becareful [ can't wear the sunscreen],but that wasn't always the case , never wore a shirt when I was kid and a hat and sunscreen were almost unheard of.
now if you work in the sun you have to be aware of the consequences, and the companies I have worked for are all into sun protection , supplying sunscreen and hats and now are going to a manditory long long policy.

tunaman
28-10-2006, 09:51 AM
Ever since this post has been running, I,ve looked around, and have seen that nearly all of our older boys do look after them selfs when it comes to sun protection. When it comes to not looking after ones selfs, its the younger ones that do it the most.
So the headline subject I think is wrong.

signed tunaman

The_Walrus
31-10-2006, 07:14 PM
At 53 and having lived 12 years in Africa, I've had a dozen burned off and eight cut off.

Two while not cancerous required further cutting to make doubly sure.

Now on full skin examination twice a year and anything suspicious get removed. Much rather have a few more scars than an early pine box.

So the norm is long sleeves shirts, pants, araphat, sunnies, shoes, sungloves and sunblock.

With summer coming on, early starts and off the water by 8/9 am is the norm as well as more late afternoon/evening trips.

At this time of year, to be out on the water between 0900 to 1700 is just plain nuts. ::)

I really like my bass fishing and can easily fish my local holes from 0400 to 0630/0700. Or in the evening. At other times it's just too hot to be in a canoe. :)

seatime
01-11-2006, 07:47 PM
just had six burnt off this week, arm, hand, nose and ears, and something called actinic cheilitis on my lower lip, which can't be burnt off.

nothing serious yet, though it's best to get them early, I'm 43.

i intend to be religous with the protection from now on

For_Steve
03-11-2006, 04:32 PM
Thanks for discussing this topic. After reading this a few weeks ago, I've become a lot more sun smart.

Firstly, I went out and bought an Araphat hat. It's great - very comfortable, cool and doesn't blow off easily when cruising along in the tinnie. I'm also now wearing an old long sleeve collared shirt, polarised sunnies and putting zinc or sunscreen everywhere else.

I really like the look of the Shimano vented long sleeved shirts. Definately putting one of those on my Christmas wish list.

With a baby due any day now, I don't want to shorten my time here.

Cheers, Brad.

05-11-2006, 09:52 AM
Thanks for discussing this topic. #After reading this a few weeks ago, I've become a lot more sun smart.

Yeah - this has become quite a remarkable thread. What has surprised me is the number of young guys who have found themselves getting skin irregularities frozen off or cut off.

Obviously, it does not take too many years of sun exposure for the bad stuff to start happening.