View Full Version : Have you ever......

thehoodedwarriors
22-11-2006, 07:50 PM
[smiley=sick2.gif] [smiley=sick2.gif] [smiley=sick2.gif]

Have you ever taken a sickie for a fishing trip, then realised after 5 hours in the hot sun and major sunburn that he/she will find out??

Whatever your answer tell us your best sickie story... and excuses #;D ;D ;D

22-11-2006, 07:52 PM
nope...have taken sickies to go to the cricket....go surfing...do anything but work....BUT...now I am the employer...bloody people that take sickies are a pain in the butt...hehe

22-11-2006, 07:59 PM
Well I can honestly say that I am probably in the real minority group and have been probably over-dedicated to my work. Have never taken a sicky even when I am really sick. :-/ If only I could just take all the 20+ years of sick leave in back pay I'd get that boat I've always wanted. :D

thehoodedwarriors
22-11-2006, 07:59 PM
Your motto is ---- no fishing, no life!!!!

I hope you employee xmas party is on a boat somewhere rod in one hand beer in the other!!

tunaman
22-11-2006, 08:05 PM
My boss knows Iam a mad fisherman, and if I had a day off, he would know exactly were Ive gone, and probably come looking for me. ;D ;D ;D

signed tunaman

22-11-2006, 08:06 PM
Sorry can't have a sicky, just couldn't get away with it ....ever
The boss is the cook..or is that the cooks the boss.... dunno which one is right but she knows all :-?

22-11-2006, 08:18 PM

I hope you employee xmas party is on a boat somewhere rod in one hand beer in the other!!

no it isn't..shouting them to one of the restaurants at the casino.

22-11-2006, 08:20 PM
Haven't worked since I came to Oz but I can honestly say that me and the deckie have never taken a sickie since we met.

She's not only as fit as a butcher's dog, but she's one of the "old school", and wouldn't dream of dropping the Duty Nurse Manager in it........hospitals are extremely short staffed and she has had only 2 days genuine sick leave since coming here 11 yrs ago. That said, she's accumulated enough sick leave to allow her to have 3 months off to have her bunions sorted..........she won't be able to walk for a while but no doubt on some occasions in that 3 months she'll be fit enough to pull an anchor ;D

22-11-2006, 08:21 PM
can honestly say no but in saying that I have been self employed for the last 15 odd years, semi retired for the last couple and when that dosnt work some work can be rescheduled.

thehoodedwarriors
22-11-2006, 08:24 PM

?????

I can read..... Check your profile... HE HE HE doens't matter anyway just as long as you still have enough time to get out on the water

22-11-2006, 08:27 PM
I will be the party pooper - in over forty years of work, I have never taken a sickie for any reason - I don't believe in them.

I have also kept my job for 40 years. :)

onerabbit
22-11-2006, 08:27 PM
WORK, nah, I try to aviod it where I can, it gets in the way of my fishing.

22-11-2006, 08:43 PM

?????

I can read..... Check your profile... HE HE HE doens't matter anyway just as long as you still have enough time to get out on the water

the "no it isn't" is that no, the xmas party isn't on a boat somewhere.

22-11-2006, 08:45 PM
For me work just gets rescheduled when we get those rare calm days(self employed).Occasionaly though I used to be honest with customers and tell them I wouldnt be on site tomorrow because I would be at the reef.A couple of times,however I sensed some resentment. I'm wiser now and I just let them know that I have other important business to attend to.
Some people just dont understand!
# # # # # cheers Scott

22-11-2006, 09:00 PM
as long as i've invoiced enough, the minister is happy for me to chuck a sickie. at the end of the week when she does the books, and i didn't invoice enough. LOOK OUT!!!!!!!!!!

markpeta
23-11-2006, 04:30 AM
My boss would probley chuck a sickie and go as well. ;D ;D ;D

aussiefool
23-11-2006, 04:52 AM
never taken a $ickie jut for the $ake of taking a $ickie.....even vvhen vvorking really $h#t job$

Feral
23-11-2006, 06:17 AM
Well cant use sickies for when your sick, gotta go to work and spread around the "love" for all to share ;D

23-11-2006, 06:29 AM
What's a sickie ????????

Self employed for all my working life ( 30 years ) ( except for the apprentiship and I was tooooo scared to take an hour off, let alone a day ).

Sickies have their place and are in place for a reason. We won't debate that here, only to say, there was no radio dot ( in the poll ) for us self employed people to tell you we do takes days off to go fishing, but at OUR own cost, not someone elses ;D :) ::) ::) ::)

23-11-2006, 06:31 AM
ON a side note, the poll stats are now showing that NO Never- you liar.......is the most popular answer. Sounds like a lot of people out there with integrity or are self employed. :)

23-11-2006, 08:21 AM
ON a side note, the poll stats are now showing that NO Never- you liar.......is the most popular answer. Sounds like a lot of people out there with integrity or are self employed. :)

Or those that do take sickies simply won't admit to it ::) ;D

Brett1907
23-11-2006, 08:54 AM
I'm the boss so I can go if I can get away.

Geoff72 & deadlydave, I hope you guys say NEVER!

You better since I let you fish during smoko, lunch and give a friday early mark for fishing every now & again!!! ;D ;D

Seriously though, if people have a passion it is more productive to indulge them (and myself) rather than be a prick of a boss.

PS I am looking into hiring a couple of tinnies and taking the boys for a day fishing at the end of december.

SCOTTYGC
23-11-2006, 11:36 AM
have done
and will do agian

did so a few weeks backs to go on a new charter operating on the gold coast (freind of a freind) called the fat hooker

best charter i have been on

scotty

thehoodedwarriors
23-11-2006, 11:42 AM
Scotty, how many on the charter and prices etc.. did you catch much and where does it leave from??

23-11-2006, 11:50 AM
Interesting to see not one "It's my right to" attitude popping up..

I used to have the occasional one, but now I run a business in Brissy for a mob, so even if I am at home I still work.

Being a diabetic sometimes you just wake up and feel like sh!t, so you take a few hours off, or maybe even the day, but as I said I can still log into the systems from home and do some sort of work related stuff

JasonT
23-11-2006, 11:55 AM
Brett - I want a Job! #;D

How about you employ me as the advance party.. I can scope out new spots for you!
Hell.. I'll even bait your hook and clean the catch if you're prepared to pay me to fish full time!

Good to see a boss with your attitude.
I'll lay money you have no probs with the boys when you need them to do o/t or anything like that! #;)

Personally I can't recall taking a sickie to fish (not in the last 12 years or so anyway - I feel guilty about sickies even if I'm really crook!), but I do know I have taken annual leave a day here and a day there when the weather and wind has been good.
Work accomodates as much as they can, including when I ask for a day off less than 24hrs before I wish to take it. They haven't knocked me back, and as a result I'm more than willing to work O/T at short notice.
It's a give and take thing, and at the moment we have it well balanced!

Jason

Brett1907
23-11-2006, 01:56 PM
That is the way to do it Jason.

I do react very poorly if I discover someone has taken a 'sicky' as it costs me double their wages in lost production. That is the reason I try to create an enjoyable workplace and give the boys some slack when I can. That way we are all happy.

geoff72
23-11-2006, 02:09 PM
hey brett,you know me mate,loyal to the bone,thats why i have never taken a sickie to go fishing ;) ;). always make sure i get the work done b4 play time,and then cough cough [smiley=sick2.gif]then its ,sorry boss not well today bloody kids have given me the trotts cant make it,got dressed ,ready to go,even started the car,but couldnt get out of the driveway,sorry.hehehehe JOKING BRETT.any fishing i have done has been with you mostly.
P.S, Brett rocks, my vote for boss of the year. here here

thehoodedwarriors
23-11-2006, 02:18 PM
Brett,

What business are you into?? Sounds like you have quite a following! ;)

supertinny
23-11-2006, 02:30 PM
last year my boss told me and a mate to have a sicky as the weather was perfect. Under the condition that we brought some fish in for the friday BBQ. Coral trout for everyone!! Yes i do have a great boss

Brett1907
23-11-2006, 03:06 PM
I have a Geotechnical Testing Laboratory (we play with dirt and make mud pies) ;D ;D ;D

No, seriously, we do make mud pies, just have a look in the ovens!

We supervise bulk earthworks, roadworks, trench backfilling operations and carry out density/compaction tests and quality of pavement (road gravel) testing. #Can be a pretty interesting job.

We are very busy at the moment so can't get away all that often. #Had a couple of meetings finish on time this morning so had a go on the way back to the office.

Geoff is my lab manager and deadlydave is a mature trainee. The other two guys who work for me are fishing mad too.

hussy
23-11-2006, 03:12 PM
have taken sickies to go fishing and will continue to do so, so that when i die i know i didn,t work my life away. the ones that take no sickies in 20 years will find out that at the end of the day they are still employees , and will be no better remembered than i will. bob h

ps; fat is beautiful

Pitsta
23-11-2006, 04:03 PM
Well this monday just gone . I had two offers from different people to fish offshore , i replyed with NO . When you have 2 mortgages & young mouths to feed , you've gotta work !!! :(
Fishing comes second 2 work ATM ......." Go the weekend warriors"

23-11-2006, 05:15 PM
have taken sickies to go fishing and will continue to do so, so that when i die i know i didn,t work my life away. the ones that take no sickies in 20 years will find out that at the end of the day they are still employees , and will be no better remembered than i will. # bob h

ps; fat is beautiful
Luckily I didn't folow that when I was working.
In the last 12months at work I had to have 4 months off sick leave :(. Luckily I had it otherwise I would have been cactus financially :)

And yep, big is better (so my guts keep telling me) ;)

thehoodedwarriors
23-11-2006, 05:47 PM
finga and bob h

was told onve that its no fun with out the fat and im sticking to it!

23-11-2006, 06:11 PM
the ones that take no sickies in 20 years will find out that at the end of the day they are still employees , and will be no better remembered than i will.

Not so sure about that. #I have taken some needed sick days in forty years at work #but never a sickie. #I play with a straight bat at work and there has been enough give and take for me to think that I have been well rewarded for being a consciencious employee who steals neither materials nor time from my employer.

I am currently enjoying a legitimate thirteen month long service leave which I accumulated over 40 years. #I have three months remaining. I have thus far enjoyed the break and the saturated fishing experience (five days this week) #enormously and am now getting my head into gear about whether I actually want to go back, weighing up what I like and don't like about work so that I can know better in my own mind how I want to operate when I go back. #( It will be to the same employer but to a different job - they reorganised my job into four jobs when I left)

However, the sorts of issues that I am pondering are things like whether I want to do the same amount of travel that I was used to doing (interstate very week) not how I can swing the lead.

When I did finish up at work before taking this extended leave, I was treated like royalty by my employer and indeed my staff, with gifts, a nice lunch with the boss in Melbourne, a send-off lunch with straff and peers in Brisbane and lots of accolades. #In no way did I feel that I was "just an employee". #

My boss made an announcement at the time on a national phone hook-up that he was "absolutely commited to Bruce" and that there would be a job awaiting me when I return. #I have never heard of anyone ever taking as much accumulated leave as I am and a lot of colleagues said at the time to me that it was a "gutsy decision" but my boss supported my decision by saying that "life is too short" to not do this.

That level of respect goes a lot further in one's head than just "being an employee." #After eight months he called me to ask if I would like him to call me every month to give me an update on what is happening in my company so that I dont feel too alienated whilst I am away. #I politely told him that I did not need that level of support and will work it all out when I return.

Whether you are an employee or not is purely a matter of personal choice wrapped around your lifestyle and financial aspirations. #It is not a condemned person's sentence.

To each his own and I won't challenge your way of life but I would like to state my views so that the younger members on this site know that doing one's job as well as possible and as honestly as possible does endow one with a great sense of pride in the later years of a career and immense respect from peers, staff and "the boss".

Happiness is about what goes on inside one's head not the fleeting pleasures of externalities.

mattooty
23-11-2006, 08:33 PM
.......charleville wins this round

manchild
23-11-2006, 08:39 PM
For all those who taken a sickie for fishing .It is a fraud in my eyes and should be treated as such.
George

imnotoriginal
23-11-2006, 09:08 PM
My answer is "I've been a student all this time, haven't needed sickies" lol
Joel

hooknose
23-11-2006, 09:46 PM
I have taken sickies to fish the best tides but I had an ungrateful prick of a boss at the time, never , ever , regretteted doing so and caught some memorable fish to boot !!- no dramas.

Brett1907
24-11-2006, 09:04 AM
charleville, you could have a job with me anytime.

If someone takes a sickie, it costs the employer that persons days wages plus the lost income from what that person would have done for the day. You are in actual fact STEALING that money from the boss.

If my staff have a legitimate reason for taking a sick day, I don't even ask for a doctors certificate. I have even told guys to go home if they are not 100%.

I also try to be generous and flexible when circumstances allow. In this way I promote a feeling of comradery and trust in the workplace. I do this for two reasons....

1. because I like working in a pleasant environment

2. and yes, because it makes me more money. The more money I make, the more benefits (& money) is available for my staff!

My staff know that if they take advantage of my generosity and steal from me (whether phisically or by taking a sickie) they will be in deep s@$t. They are trustworthy not out of fear for their jobs, but out of respect for me and each other.

Has anyone ever wondered why those who 'take sickies' and similar behavior, allways whinge about how other people do so well and that they are always put/kept down? Maybe if those people started living with a positive attitude good things may start hapening to them more often.

hussy
24-11-2006, 09:39 AM
good things happen to me mate , and i have sickies as well, i dont whinge about how others do so well.(good on them if thats what they like ) or if its standing out in the hot sun selling bibles door to door . does it for you ,so be it, everyone to his own. might go home sick right now to go fishing. bob h

smokindrag
24-11-2006, 12:34 PM
I never used to take sickies either!! ......until i worked i could get into some good fishing action!! ;D

i now keep my rod in the car!! quite often stop for a flick during lunch!!

when i do an all dayer explaining the sunburn to my wife was a little difficult!! ;D shes got me worked out now tho!! ha ha!

Dan..

gilbo
24-11-2006, 12:55 PM
Am lucky, work in an industry where you could be for the most part anywhere doing the job, and get allowed to work my own hours. Providing my job is done at the end of the day/week then what does it matter if I did 16 hours in one day and didn't turn up the next (providing I have no customer requirements). I also have a few guys under me, and for 2 of them they are on opposite ends of the scale. One is great, never takes a day off and even if needs to rings and tells me that if I really need him I can call him at home etc etc, and the other cannot go more than a couple of weeks without taking a sickie and before I took on my current role and was just "one of the boys" told me that he even knows when his next sickies are due and will amek sure to use them all up.

Recently the owner and I sat down to evaluate salary increases - I think you can all guess who got the increase and who didn't. It is a bit of a catch 22 situation for a lot of workers though as they feel they shouldn't work harder cause they wont get paid better and for the employer, then they should pay any more cause the workers will not work any harder.

That said there are probably as many unscrupulous employers out there as there are employees. Guess you can just be happy if you are not either.

Shane

24-11-2006, 02:00 PM
That said there are probably as many unscrupulous employers out there as there are employees.

Shane - I have no problem with your being able to work the hours you do and still achieve what is expected. #No problems at all with that and good luck to you. #I once had a salesman working fior me, Martyn, who sold (and serviced well) three times what the average salesperson in our industry sold, month after month after month. #Often when I called him I "knew" that he was on a golf course but that was fine by me as he was a class act in what I wanted him to achieve in his job. Martyn work hard but smart and the hours of attendance were not so critical. #He did not claim any penalty rates when I asked him to work at trade exhibits after hours or at weekends either.

I do challenge the notion though that people should take sickies because they don't like their boss. #That sounds like a victim mindset. #Some people make great victims 'cause they do it so well, I guess.

I cannot believe that taking a sickie to spite the boss makes one's life happier. #Better to have the courage to toss the job and get one that makes you happy, I reckon. #Short term pleasure and life fulfilling happiness are not one and the same.

gilbo
24-11-2006, 02:44 PM
Hi charleville

I was not trying to condone sickies and sorry if you took it that way. I am lucky in that I enjoy my job (for the most) and have a pretty good employer. All I was trying to say that this is not the case for everyone out there and there are quite a few employers that will take advantage of their employees and do so on a regular basis.

Shane

24-11-2006, 04:42 PM
Hi charleville

# I was not trying to condone sickies and sorry if you took it that way.

Mate - I was not having a go at you in my post - yours was a good post but your line about bad employers just gave me the opportunity to respond to a recurring theme in some of the posts. That is, taking a sickie to spite the boss.

I did not wish to cause you any offence with my response - it was just that that line distilled a recurring theme in some other posts.

Good luck to you for what you are able to achieve with what seems like a great life balance.

I must confess to getting a bit irritated by victim type actions - that is, the boss is so unfair to me so I will get him back by taking a sickie. Much better to go find a better job, I reckon. It certainly might achieve more in terms of overall happiness.

Ah well, I am justa grumpy old man at times. Ask my wife. ;D ;D ;D

gilbo
24-11-2006, 04:47 PM
no offence intended and certainly none taken.

Maybe if you took a day off now and then and went fishing you wouldn't be so grumpy. Hang on isn't that every day for you ;) You shouldn't have any excuses.

hussy
24-11-2006, 07:38 PM
i would never take a day off to get back at my boss.i just take the day off to fish. one time i took the day off to go away fishing to a comp ,and guess who i ran into at the comp, ? . you guessed it ,the boss. he chucked a sickie as well. bloody inconsiderate sod. bob h

hussy
24-11-2006, 07:42 PM
to those 25% who said no , but thought about it. take a walk on the wild side,you might just like it , be a devil, the boss will forgive you eventually if he finds out. bob h

Bruff1
25-11-2006, 09:27 AM
whilst living in tannum sands couldnt pass up the glorious wether one day. rang in sick had a cracker of a morning then when i came back to the ramp at lunchtime the big boss and the foreman were having lunch in the park at the ramp. very hard to explain but plenty of other jobs anyway

saphire
25-11-2006, 07:29 PM
I took a sicky and went boating. Went to tipplers with a wonderful friend.
What a great sicky that was. Oh.. I didnt catch any fish. Just a great day out.
saphire. :)

Thank God we get sickies in our culture.

hussy
26-11-2006, 08:19 AM
Luckily I didn't folow that when I was working.
In the last 12months at work I had to have 4 months off sick leave #:(. Luckily I had it otherwise I would have been cactus financially :)

And yep, big is better (so my guts keep telling me) #;)[/quote]

yeah i also had time off this year, 6 months(open heart surgery) lucky queensland govt -super covers you for 75% of your wage for up to 2 years, otherwise i wouldn,t have been able to survive.
bob h

Glenn_Woods
26-11-2006, 01:46 PM
I dont take sickies. I take careers leave. I leave the sickies for when i am sick, and take the careers leave for the odd time when it's been blowing for weeks and the day it starts to look good and im working, Well the wife is looking pretty crook and some one needs to look after the kids ;). You might think sickies and careers leave are the same, but there not. If i had a sickie for when im sick and when the weather is sooo good, then id be asked for one of those medical certificates. But the misses and kids are expected to get crook once in a while, so i split them 50/50 ;D

Woodsy

roydsy
27-11-2006, 12:52 PM
I work so i can take days off and not the other way around. Sickies are also known as "Wellies" and for the taking. Wellies are sick days used to keep you sane and stop you being sick... of work that is.

In all seriousness, people that don't use their sick leave are missing out on a right of your workplace agreement, whether it is morally right is up to the individual, i say Yay to them.

roydsy
27-11-2006, 12:56 PM
I dont take sickies. I take careers leave. .....

Woodsy
Amen brother.... you and me both, good to see someone else getting their just deserves!