View Full Version : MSQ quick action at Comslie

Nugget
06-12-2006, 08:48 AM
I had an email this week from an Andrew about an obstruction near the Comslie boat ramp.

See the photo Andrew took pointing out the obstruction.

Nugget
06-12-2006, 08:51 AM
I emailed the details, including the photo to MSQ.
The next day they emailed back saying they had found and removed the object which turned out to be a large block of hardwood.

They sent photos back to me show the obect and it's removal to land - it was to be collected by a truck the next day.

Congrats to MSQ - they did a great job and very quickly.

See their photos below.

Nugget
06-12-2006, 08:52 AM
and another

Brett1907
06-12-2006, 10:27 AM
Good to see they are on the ball.

06-12-2006, 10:30 AM
That is pretty flash. Does that mean that you will beccome the Alan Jones of things marine? ;D

(Alan Jones writes lots and lots and lots of letters off-air to public authorities on behalf of people who are having difficulties communicating with them or just suffering injustices.)

Nice to see such sharp action from all concerned. :)

seatime
06-12-2006, 11:22 AM
That was lickety spit, my only concern is for the thousands of marine creatures that may have perished during the removal of object :o

you know, the ones the greenies are so worried about if we drive a vehicle on the beach :'(

dragging that lump up the beach may have caused the demise of countless worms and microscopic organisims ::)

seriously though, good work MSQ [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

06-12-2006, 12:00 PM
Yes well done MSB [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

My second thought is why didn't anybody else drag it up above the high tide mark??? Seeing it was in plain site of the ramp.
I purposely keep an eye out for things floating in the water just in case.
The number of plastic bags I've recovered amazes me sometimes but I look at it as every bag I pickup is another motor saved.
Also been known to drag logs and crap up above the high tide mark just so nobody can hit them.

seatime
06-12-2006, 02:43 PM
Hi finga

I used the Colmslie ramp on Sunday arvo around low water and didn't see it! didn't use the beach area tho, but jetskis were.
The Brisbane River Classic fisho's were in and around there all weekend, lucky no-one did any damage, or maybe they did?

It may have appeared recently?

imported_admin
06-12-2006, 03:08 PM
My second thought is why didn't anybody else drag it up above the high tide mark??? Seeing it was in plain site of the ramp.

My thought exactly. Or is there something I am missing. Why report it to someone who then reports it to someone who then gets someone to do something. What a waist of time and tax payers money. When someone could have shifted it in the first place. Why is it always someone else's fault/responsibility.

Nugget
06-12-2006, 03:51 PM
The problem was that it was very heavy and 'stitioned' to the river bottom.
Several people tried to move it - in fact it was originally reported as a concrete block.
It wasn't untill it was removed that it was identified as wood - very heavy and water logged wood.

Dave ><>

06-12-2006, 04:06 PM
The problem was that it was very heavy and 'stitioned' to the river bottom.
Several people tried to move it - in fact it was originally reported as a concrete block.
It wasn't untill it was removed that it was identified as wood - very heavy and water logged wood.

Dave ><>

Ah, ha that explains why no-one moved it..
Ta Dave
:).

Obi___Wan
06-12-2006, 09:54 PM
Well done Dave.

Maybe you could give some one a rev about the boat ramp at Clontarf? Absoultely a shocker at low tide, virtually impossible to launch and retrieve as it has silted up so much, so much in fact there could be a Holden ute under it.

OBI_WAN

Nugget
07-12-2006, 05:02 AM
I believe there is a case at the moment where a ramp user is suing a council after slipping over at a ramp.
I'm guessing if the boatie wins there will be a lot of clean ramps around the place!

Dave ><>

JasonT
07-12-2006, 05:39 AM
Or clean land where ramps used to be...

Ramps are inherently slippery.
Being sued will at least involve a risk assessment being carried out on the ramp.

Could be they decide it's too great a risk and remove the ramp.

Providing the ramp was well maintained I don't know how successful a case would be.. It would be interesting to see/hear more on that!

07-12-2006, 05:48 AM
Gee Nugget I think it is amazing that we as people can even contimplate suing the council for slipping on a ramp. I think we have to learn to accept things as being our own responsibility. Should have appropriate signs saying "Ramp may be slippery, use at own risk!" My wife slipped on a ramp at Caloundra during a boating day with Great_White and Herm. She received a cut under her foot and bruising but suing someone for it never entered our minds. What's wrong with people? No wonder our insurance premiums are sky-rocketing. Anyway, well done Nugget and MSQ for the collective effort in the removal of the obstruction. :D

mylestom
07-12-2006, 05:54 AM
Too many people want to sue for lack of their own commonsense.

Where does personal liability cover their lack of forethought - you are responsible for your own stupid actions.

There aren't many things in the environment once covered by water that don't become slippery or get a growth on them. Yeah I know that councils/marine authorities are responsible for cleaning them. But the money is not there to do the job every week or so.

All the clowns with their sue (For everyday problems) mentality, do is make it harder and more restrictive for the rest of the boating public. We are always after more ramps and facilities and if the money is spent in court it is not available for public facilities.

Sure if its a sheer neglect and the fault is know there might be a case. But most of time it just ties up the public purse. Which the public pays for in the long run.

Anyway just my opinion as used to run business and know what it costs for public liability and then what you do is cut back on your public (Restrict what they can do on your property or what you do to help others)

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year to All :) :)
Trev

marlinqld
07-12-2006, 06:32 AM
Stupid Litigious mentality we inherited from the states.

No more personal responsibility, just get what dollars you can.

Deiter
07-12-2006, 07:36 AM
I know ppl who would see an accident and automatically think, "I wonder how much that would be worth"? Needless to say i don't socialise with them anymore.

As far as ramp maintenance goes, I know that the ramps at wello point and cleveland get a gerni every now and then, and i have never seen them slippery.

Go the other side of Tinny Ck though, and its a different story. I watched a good mate of mine (all 120kg of him) go down while retreiving his boat at the Manly public ramp next to MBTBC. He went from the winch , under the trailer, and popped up next to me hooking the strap on to the boat. I didn't even hear him go under!! And he loves me reminding him too. ;D ;D ;D

But yes, the BCC does far less for the boatie than a lot of councils, maybe they do need a wakeup?

Damo

moondancer
07-12-2006, 09:43 AM
Gr3eat to see our fellow ausfishers are on the ball and taking quick action - safety is NO. 1

Dory4.1
07-12-2006, 07:14 PM
Imagine the damage to your hull hitting that at speed?

Better out than in. Well done

Rgs
Michael

robersl
07-12-2006, 07:22 PM
HEY NUGGET DON'T SUPPOSE YOU COULD GET SOMEONE TO DREDGE CLONTARF RAMP IT IS A DISGRACE AT LOW WATER 2 FOOT OF OOZING STINKING MUD I CALLED THE REDCLIFFE COUNCIL LAST YEAR WHO GET PAID TO DO IT FROM OUR REGO'S AND THEY SENT AN EXCVATOR DOWN AND DUG A HOLE AT THE END OF THE RAMP

SHANE