View Full Version : Old fishing photos

fishingjew
09-11-2006, 03:26 PM
After reading I remember when. Got me thinking how many of you have old fishing photos and photos of where you live. Would be interesting to see some and the history behind them. To see how much has changed over the years. I will post some of my great granfathers photos.

Russell

The blessing of the moreton bay fishing fleet wynnum creek

SIRO
09-11-2006, 03:32 PM
This one's obout 30 years old , my father , sister and i , in Mildura on the Murray river.

fishingjew
09-11-2006, 03:44 PM
I think this is amity and the old cabins

09-11-2006, 03:48 PM
Hi Siro

Where was the block?
Was in Mda about the same time got married at that time, was also the Sec of the Mda and District Ski Club.

How long you been in Port M

PM if you want

fishingjew
09-11-2006, 03:53 PM
Wynnum fishing boats 1907

SIRO
09-11-2006, 03:57 PM
G'day Chimo
The block was in Red Cliffs , lived there 'till98 , moved to Brissy then Gold Coast Then Port about two and a half years ago.

How long you live in Mildura ???

SIRO :D :D :D

Duyz72
09-11-2006, 04:27 PM
I love those older pics, my Nan is part of the Gold Coast historical society and there is heaps of stuff she has shown me over the years.
Actually a relative of mine way back when was the first white person born on the Gold Coast so plenty of heritage to go through lol.

Smailesy
09-11-2006, 05:43 PM
some realy good pics there hope to see a few more

DazSamFishing
09-11-2006, 05:57 PM
Interesting stuff...

Who has more?

imnotoriginal
09-11-2006, 06:12 PM
It might also be interesting to look at some of the old fishing articles, you'll get some good old photos from them. I have one old book edited by Rodger Hungerford where they don't exactly talk up trevally, more as a by-catch. Now look at how people target them, especially up north. It also gives a really interesting indication into how the gear has changed. Threadlines were the new thing on the market in that book :o It's really interesting to compare and you can actually learn a lot of often forgotten lessons.
Joel

fishingjew
09-11-2006, 07:25 PM
Crouch fishing fleet of amity

fishingjew
09-11-2006, 07:34 PM
Some of the racing boats from the royal manly yacht club the one in the picture is the violet some of them where built in the back yard where he had a slipway into wynnum creek

fishingjew
09-11-2006, 07:42 PM
Pic of the old moreton lighthouse caretakers cottage it was sold to my great grandfather and disassembled and put onto his fishing boats and taken to amity and reassembled still in the family today

fishingjew
09-11-2006, 07:43 PM
Pic of house today sitting on the veranda you are looking at moreton island

backhoe
09-11-2006, 09:12 PM
Have an old book around somewhere called "Fishing for the fun of it" by Ian Gall who apparently used to write for the COurier Mail. It's got some classic old photos in it. If I get a chance in the next few days will scan a few of the better ones and put them up.

Willo
10-11-2006, 12:13 PM
Here's a pic of me having my first recorded fish #:) ;D.
Pic was taken at Andersons Inlet Inverloch VIC

3Vs
10-11-2006, 12:59 PM
Mate, Is that the Endeavour in the background?
;D

JasonT
10-11-2006, 01:01 PM
Lol @3Vs!

:-)

10-11-2006, 01:06 PM
;D

awwww thats low ;D ;D ;D

3Vs
10-11-2006, 01:24 PM
;D

awwww thats low #;D ;D ;D

It's only fish envy. :'(

Willo
10-11-2006, 01:26 PM
;D

awwww thats low #;D ;D ;D

It's only fish envy. :'(

Gawd 3V's shouldn't ya be at work LOL ;D
New I should have photo edited a couple of outboards on the back of that thing ;D ;D ;D

3Vs
10-11-2006, 01:39 PM
Gawd 3V's shouldn't ya be at work #LOL ;D
New I should have photo edited a couple of outboards on the back of that thing ;D ;D ;D
[/quote]

I am at what passes for work :'(

larfin
10-11-2006, 01:57 PM
Great to see some of the old pics

snapperm8
10-11-2006, 02:01 PM
yer some real nice old pics there to look at

staddie_local
10-11-2006, 02:04 PM
romer gray shark NZ.....1920

Yuffie
10-11-2006, 02:05 PM
Interesting thread with many interesting pics ~ I like ;D

I really want to see what Brisbane river looks like when the water was still clear though, but guess that's before anyone alive was born :-? ? And it wouldn't show up on black & white anyway. From what I heard it's been polluted and muddy for a long long time...

staddie_local
10-11-2006, 02:05 PM
Michael Lerner Seems Happy With His Catch Of Five Big Blue-fin Tuna Caught Off Wedgeport Nova Scotia.

staddie_local
10-11-2006, 02:06 PM
S. Kip Farrington Jr. Poses With Two Broadbill Swordfish Taken The Same Day Off Cabo Blanco Peru.

favourite_whiting
10-11-2006, 03:34 PM
Very interersting history pics!!

Fishing_Widow
10-11-2006, 03:53 PM
straddie_local,

I didn't know fish grew that big. ;) What people would give to catch those monsters of the deep again. ;D ;D

Nomes

Slider
10-11-2006, 04:38 PM
Fishermens ferry over the Noosa in 1955.

Slider
10-11-2006, 04:39 PM
First official ferry 1966

10-11-2006, 04:55 PM

They are brilliant pics, wynnum creek really surprises me.

Does anyone have any old pics of lota creek?

Pity some of you guys are showing us how old you really are!!!

chicken
10-11-2006, 05:41 PM
They are all great pics but what about the size of those tuna WOW! :o :o

fishingjew
10-11-2006, 06:05 PM
Bullimba brisbane river

no clear water

fishingjew
10-11-2006, 06:12 PM
One of the old old fishing boats of amity

fishingjew
10-11-2006, 06:12 PM
Bribie island

11-11-2006, 08:27 AM
My Pop at Flatrock near Ballina in the '50's have a smoko break.
They used to holiday at Shaw's Bay all the time in those days.
To pay for the holiday he used to row from Shaw's Bay over to the Porpoise Wall to catch a jew then row up to the fish co-op to clean and sell it.

11-11-2006, 08:36 AM
My Pop again. This time in the early seventies at Wardell jetty just after a grandchild (don't remember which one) didn't do up the catches on his tackle box and when he went to pick it up the contents went everywhere and that was one of the few times I heard him swear. [smiley=stunned.gif]
Everything in the picture (except the jetty) he made to suit himself down to the reel which is an 'Alvey' copy. He couldn't buy fishing gear for himself. He was #a lefty and in those days lefty gear wasn't heard of.
He was pretty handy. He even made the knives (out of power hacksaw blades) and scabbard, the rods, the seat (note how the legs sit square on the jetty and the rodholder), the fish box to the left and the tackle box (the box that's upside down just infront of him).
:)
I miss my Nanas and Pops #:'(

theVan
11-11-2006, 01:50 PM
finga...... Thanks for sharing :)

You remind me of all those times I would help my Pop cary the sack of Whiting back from the surf beach at Bribie to the shack we would stay in near the Pub.
Simpler times, simpler pleasures! :)

fishingjew
07-12-2006, 10:17 AM
I think this is amity and the old cabins

I was wrong on that one it is of bribie jetty & the koopa

slyman
07-12-2006, 08:37 PM
brisbane river, hamiltion reach 1889.

if only there was a time machine...

Pi
08-12-2006, 01:18 PM
Hi,

Etching done in 1828 by Theordore Lane shortly before he died. Original called "The Gouty Angler" - also called "The Enthusiast". This version was coloured in 1861. Interesting historically as it shows the angler with one of the early "multiplying reels" (or todays baitcasters) that came out of England in the early 1800's, fishing line at the time was braided horse hair and silk, replacing the various "gut" lines and the rod is either cane or hickory 11-12ft long. The book beside the chair is is supposedly "The Compleate Angler"

Phil

Freeeedom
08-12-2006, 06:32 PM
Fitzroy River barra (and me) in 1959. Unfortunately I didn't catch this one
Cheers #Freeeedom

no_name
14-12-2006, 11:25 PM
KEEP THE PHOTO'S COMING, I WILL NOW MAKE AN EFFORT TO DOWN LOAD SOME OLDIE'S
HOW GOOD IS THIS

vanurose
17-12-2006, 10:43 AM
Oh please, don't let this thread end. I am having a ball reading and looking at all the old photos.
I want more, more, more.
Merry Xmas to all of you
Rose

17-12-2006, 05:24 PM
Gotta agree Rose, I've really enjoyed this post!
Sincere thanks to all posters, just wish I could add to the pics.
Straddie that shark is a prehistoric monster!

fishingjew
17-12-2006, 06:45 PM
Tullen now jumpinpin bar

fishingjew
17-12-2006, 06:56 PM
The cambus Wallace was wrecked of stradbroke island in 1894 was carrying some dynamite witch was stacked on the beach then detonated some say is what caused the breach at jumpinpin as it weekend the beach and the sea broke through in a big southeaster not long after it was wrecked

fishingjew
17-12-2006, 07:40 PM
Amity kiosk north stradbroke island

fishingjew
17-12-2006, 10:11 PM
Bribie island

fishingjew
17-12-2006, 10:29 PM
The violet at cowan signal station 1930,s

fishingjew
17-12-2006, 11:19 PM
Catch of mullet

fishingjew
18-12-2006, 07:57 PM
Intersection of Bay and Pine Streets, Wynnum, taking in the surrounding shops and houses 1910

fishingjew
18-12-2006, 08:06 PM
No one else with some old photos ?