View Full Version : Your thoughts on BCF

Pages : [1] 2 3

Bream_Reaper01
09-01-2006, 12:42 PM
Gidday all,
Maybe should have started this thread with a poll(not sure how to do that),what's your opinion of bcf and the service or lack thereof?

madman1
09-01-2006, 12:49 PM
I went there yesterday and was pleasently surprised. The prices were better than other places. It was the first time I venture in there and more than likely the last time (I spent way too much money). I will continue to support my local Tackle Shop.

The wife was there and I discretely made suggestions for birthday Christmas and I love you presents.

thumps
09-01-2006, 12:52 PM
ours is right next door to another similar shop

funny to watch people walking between the two comparing prices
the service was non existant

didnt see one person over the age of about twenty(though im sure their about)

even the young girl stacking the shelves with lures didnt seem to know what to do

DaneCross
09-01-2006, 01:07 PM
Can't all be bad. I know BCF employs a few young Ausfishers... ;)

09-01-2006, 01:08 PM
The prices, particularly for lures are way over the compared to those who shall not be named. The staff who are working seem to be more involved with stacking shelves than customer relations, and those who are not working seem to be doing just that....... pissing around with each other and playing silly games. The till service is non existent and the staff seem to talk to each other whilst checking you out rather than talking to the customer. Goes with the territory I suppose....employing teenagers.

I can speak only of one branch, and despite the poor service at this branch, there are a couple of guys who shall remain nameless but used to work at the hypermarket gympie rod who are now employed at this branch. I have known these two guys for a while via their previous employment and they will bend over backwards to give good service and they know their stuff particularly where lizard hunting is concerned. I am sure things will now improve, now that these two guys are on board.

toymod
09-01-2006, 01:08 PM
Im the same I think the service stinks but I thing my local bias store is realy starting to become crap, so might be going for a drive back to whitsworths, its a shame because these days that service is last on companies minds. :-?

Gbanger
09-01-2006, 01:14 PM
Shyt service, and last time i went to my local bcf they had about 3 bags of bait in total... i almost laughed...

nodjule
09-01-2006, 01:16 PM
I used my local BIAS store for the first and last time today, I did not feel comfortable at all in the shop, basically they just want your money then get you out the door, they need to be a little bit less abrupt to get my hard earned cash...

devocean
09-01-2006, 01:29 PM
Would love to know which multinational owns BCF probably General Motors or something, if anyone can help identify who really owns BCF it would be great.

The problem I find is that they dont specialise and generalise on everythng, there rope and cord section is great though and quite cheap

DAVE_S
09-01-2006, 01:30 PM
they have a great range but i like the local tackle shop, just puts more presure on the poor little guy again , it also helps when they know what there talken about also .

Bad_Bubby
09-01-2006, 01:33 PM
BCF yeah tell me about it. One just opened up in Cairns recently, nearly landed a job there but when I fronted up it must have occured to them I wasn't under 18 ::). Even if a person that age knows their stuff the plain fact is if you have a decade (or two) more of knowledge its hard to even want their service. I'm gunna call it Boys Caring Foundation and keep shopping in elsewhere.

Bad_Bubby
09-01-2006, 01:35 PM
devocean- Close guess...they're owned by Super Cheap Auto.

gotwet
09-01-2006, 01:35 PM
bcf is an arm ofa listed company owned by super cheap auto.

cheers mal

DR
09-01-2006, 01:38 PM
Would love to know which multinational owns BCF probably General Motors or something, if anyone can help identify who really owns BCF it would be great.

The problem I find is that they dont specialise and generalise on everythng, there rope and cord section is great though and quite cheap

they say it is owned by the 'Supacheap' people.
went to one at springwood,not a lot of staff,but ended up being served by someone who knew what he was talking about, ;) so was all good. lack of some products was a pain, hope it was only a christmas thing..

shano
09-01-2006, 01:44 PM
fantastic! my local (browns plains) store is great! have spent hundreds there so far! the manager (mark) is more then helpfull! although i am still waiting for my bcf members card!!!!

adds31
09-01-2006, 01:48 PM
Support your local smaller tackle shop and i find you will always recieve the right advice and good customer service. I think the BCF's are just like super cheap auto, now who gets good service there and i won't buy anything from BCF cause all there workers have to sign one those new workplace aggreements. Support the little bloke.

Adds....

onerabbit
09-01-2006, 01:49 PM
Hi all, I know we can't mention names here, but not familiar with bcf, is it a queensland thing? I get all my major tackle supplies from a certain mail order place in Coffs Harbour,, Mo something, anyway,as long as you know what you want, they are very good, far cheaper than most local shops. Muzz.

Bream_Reaper01
09-01-2006, 01:53 PM
Most seem to be going along with my less than pleaseent experience,the 2nd visit i was there for half an hour trying to get some service.Went instead to my local chandlery shop and had what i needed in 2 minutes for less $$.

My 1st visit i was after some sp's(new to this)and purchased 2 x Berkly packs at what i thought was a good price,then a few days later i was in my local tackle store and was left a little perplexed at the price difference on the same sp's.I'm not talking a few cents cheaper either,between $2-$3 cheaper at my local.

I liken BCF to supercheap as they are owned by the same people.I do not go to supercheap anymore and will only use my locals now instead of a multinational.

Figjamm
09-01-2006, 02:20 PM
went to one at springwood, not a lot of staff,but ended up being served by someone who knew what he was talking about, ;) so was all good.

I have to agree with this comment about springwood, plus we got discount and a bonus gift :D

Can't say the same about the Gold Coast (north end) :(

2iar
09-01-2006, 02:22 PM
I reckon they're a bit hit and miss.

My local (just up the road) has some absolute brain-deads, but one or two that are really on the ball. If you can work out which is whch, you're ok.

I reckon they're pretty good price-wise for the popular stuff, but the the local tackle shop gets the nod for anything less mainstream, offers a good yarn and always knocks a bit of the ticketed price anyway.

Horses for courses I suppose, but there's a place for both IMO.

Good luck,

09-01-2006, 02:31 PM
I went to the Keperra shop yesterday....spent quite a bit of time there and not one staff member asked if they could be of any assistance. I went to ask for some help but there were about 3 staff members standing near the checkout having a good ol natter and a giggle so I thought the better of disturbing their good time. I put back on the shelves what I had already gathered and left. Went to the tackle shop at the Bald Hills Flats...got great service and everything that I wanted..spent just under $400.00...seems like BCF does not need the money...too busy enjoying themselves to bother attending to customers..I won't be going back there.

juicyfruit
09-01-2006, 02:39 PM
The BCF in my area seems to only employ juniors that just don't seem to know their equipment and how to relate to the customer and the customers needs.

As for BCF's stocks and prices....they are well stocked on certain things and prices are reasonable, but a little shopping around can always find a better bargain then BCF are offer.

Rather support the local guy then BCF.

(rather spend an extra dollar for his pocket, support a local business and to be on first name bases with someone then be call Madam by some snotty kid that knows nothing and have the money go to some fatcat)

Juicy

Bream_Reaper01
09-01-2006, 02:43 PM
The northern Gold Coast store is the main one i'm talking about.

How come we can't mention names of tackle stores?

Commodore
09-01-2006, 02:48 PM
::) ::) :-X :-X I give them 18mths, then there should be some real bargains ;), I did ask one staff member why the had 2000 million barra lures in SE Brisbane, he said barra lures what barra lures :P

NeilD
09-01-2006, 03:13 PM
I have found pretty much the same thing. Good range of basic stuff but the prices are about 25% higher on most lures than @ fart or even the large retail stores. I don't mind paying a small premium at a local tackle store as the advice and service make up for it. These are sadly missing at BCF.

HarryO
09-01-2006, 03:17 PM
Hi all...

BCF owned by supercheap auto (Reg and Hazel Rowe)

I've been down to our local (Cannon Hill) 3 times for a
browse only, and they appear to be more expensive
on most items...
I've found "Bloody Incredibly Anal Service"
doesn't honour their guarantee to match
competitor prices like they advertise they do,
Whitworths will, but do so reluctantly, and treat you like
a bit of a leper for asking them to do so.
(Hey, its my money, gotta keep'em honest)

I found myself mixing it between the local bloke for terminal tackle,
A "well advertised" sports store for rods'n'reels (only when they're on sale)
and Glascraft for all the boating bits.

Harry..

09-01-2006, 03:20 PM

A Fart Hole Snorts peed on Ausfish and as for mentioning other stores......You have to be careful what you say because if you can't substantiate (prove) what you say and they think what you say is detrimental to their business, then they may sue.

bushbeachboy
09-01-2006, 03:32 PM
I found the BCF in Townsville to be dearer than the tackle shops, by a fair margin. Service was non existent. The staff seem fairly junior, and you can't expect kids to know too much. I guess they do the best they can. The 'Buy Immediately And Shove-off' store in Townsville has very rude staff who only want your money and then want you to leave and not interrupt their reading. They also appear to have little knowledge about the electronics they sell. I'll be sticking with the locals from now on.

Just_chips
09-01-2006, 03:40 PM
BCF, Bunnings, Amart, Harvey Norman etc etc They are all the same, they bamboozle you with advertising, telling you that they are the cheapest over and over again. Then when you finally succumbe and stumble into their store you find that there is only the occasional good price. They use their buying power to rip the guts out of their suppliers without passing on the savings. So many people believe that a store offering to beat a competitors price by 10% must be the cheapest otherwise they wouldn't offer, not true, they depend on a lazy consumer who does no homework on the particular item that they are about to purchase.

There is however an upside to these places and that is the fact that they have such a large variety of items in each store that it almost justifies paying that little bit extra to save yourself some running around.

Oops, I think I need a step ladder to get down off my high horse... I wonder if the missus can pop down to the nearest megastore to pick one up for me?

Cheers Kev

cooky
09-01-2006, 03:59 PM
I found the BCF in Townsville to be dearer than the tackle shops, by a fair margin. Service was non existent. The staff seem fairly junior, and you can't expect kids to know too much. I guess they do the best they can. The 'Buy Immediately And Shove-off' store in Townsville has very rude staff who only want your money and then want you to leave and not interrupt their reading. They also appear to have little knowledge about the electronics they sell. I'll be sticking with the locals from now on.
I've been into the BCF store twice now for small items I was sure they would have. The first time a 7 pin trailer plug - after searching for ever to find where they were (or the tag was) I had to find someone to find out whether they had any or not - out of stock. Next time (the other day) I went to buy some rod holders I had spotted the first time I was in there - after searching (layout had changed slightly) and having a general look around - they were out of stock. I know this happens, but bit of bad luck. BIAS pricing was way cheaper on most things, however I will agree completely with the comment above - you have to ASK / Demand help at the Townsville store. I was in there for over an hour on Saturday and no one asked - I felt like I was interrupting the 3 staff standing at the counter doing something (talking).

that there is only the occasional good price. They use their buying power to rip the guts out of their suppliers without passing on the savings. So many people believe that a store offering to beat a competitors price by 10% must be the cheapest otherwise they wouldn't offer, not true, they depend on a lazy consumer who does no homework on the particular item that they are about to purchase.

this observation is 110% correct. It sh*ts me how dumb the general public really are. In fact I see it time and time again - business you don't think will do well, but do. Similar to Flight Centre "Cheapest Flights guaranteed" - my sister was a manager there and they were only cheaper if you bought a price from a competing company, otherwise they'd rip you off. BCF has premium pricing on most boating / fishing items (from what I could see). I agree with supporting the local guys if they offer good service - can't beat good service and advice.

09-01-2006, 04:05 PM
Well, i've been to my 2 local ones...(capalaba and cannon hill) for a good suss out of prices and range. Range is good, service is shocking and prices well... dont bother. I know of another chandlery/boat yard on the southside who display BCF catalogues in their store so customers can compare. I will stay loyal to my local tackle shop because i always get helped out on allready cheap items, service is excellent and range is good.

gogecko
09-01-2006, 04:09 PM
I like BFC but I pick my marks.

Epirb on special for $179 was great, but they were outa stock and still gave it to me for $179 when then got it in after xmas. Skirt lure for $20 was about $5 too much. Spare fuel cans for $19 were good, knifes for $20 were rubbish.
Etc, etc.

Know your prices. Shop around. BFC will match prices too. There are ausfish members working there (Labrador).

Poseidon
09-01-2006, 04:20 PM
Found the one at Lawnton to look more like a garage sale than a store, stock is all over the place, bits and pieces all over the floor, marked prices are few and far between, though there is one guy there who works on the weekends who is very helpful with fishing information.

They certainly though are maximising there exposure and sales and marketing to ensure though they will remain a significant player in the market, short on customer service though.

09-01-2006, 04:23 PM
<snip>

There are ausfish members working there (Labrador).

Perhaps a word in the right place from these members will have BFC lifting their game then?

I did get it from an employee that current negotiations in China by BFC, will have them stocking (within 6 months) items at considerably lower prices than the opposition. IOW, they are doing a Super Cheap.

Gbanger
09-01-2006, 04:33 PM
Well, no offence to the ausfishers that work at labrador, but i get a sick feeling going into that store now... i spent about an hour trying to find a rod, which was marked on the rack with a price etc...

If you ask for something that is in a locked cabinet, may as well pull out one of the camp chairs and take a seat because it has taken way way too long on the 2 occasions that ive wanted something out of there... (flares and epirb)

Hutcho
09-01-2006, 04:42 PM
The BCF i visited was very ORDINARY. I was there with a mate for over an hour looking at rods (only cos i was given a voucher for BCF for Xmas) and not one person offerred any advice or assistance. They even walked past us at times with no offer to help. I certainly won't be going back to any of their stores. IMO, support your local tackle store, they're the ones who need it and the ones who actually know what they are talking about, not some giant multi-national company.

My two bobs worth.

Hutcho

Scott15
09-01-2006, 07:59 PM
Hey guys. Some of these replys are really bad lol. Was pretty interested in some of the replys about the Keperra shop as i work there. Especially the reply about a few ppl having a chat down the front while customers are in the store. Ill mention it to the guys but it can be pretty slow some days. If your in the shop come up and have a chat with a few of us. Michael(chemmy), Phil (unlucky_phil) and me all work there.

cheers.

shaman
09-01-2006, 08:04 PM
I've only been in once (labrador branch) nearly fell over when I saw the range, thought I was in fishos heaven. Service seemed ok and the guy I spoke to about sp's and lures seemed to know his stuff. If they're owned by Supercheap I hope they don't end up with the same level of service, as supercheap employees wouldn't have a clue. Loved the big plasma on the wall with big Rod Harrison doco's showing. Next time i'm takin' a esky and chair. I used to own a bait & tackle shop & know the pressure the bigger stores can put on the little guy but my local store has nothing in stock so I don't feel so bad about shopping at BCF.

maztez
09-01-2006, 08:15 PM
I tend to agree with most regarding BCF .I have only been to 2 stores Labrador and Browns Plains and found them overpriced and a total lack of customer support .
The future lies with our local guys.
cheers Terry

rickraider
09-01-2006, 08:26 PM
i went to the one on the sunshine coast to buy some mono line but was told every one uses braid and dont use bait... lures are the only way they fish well what a load of shat ...multi nationals really crap me ...put the small blokes out of business (who have local knowledge) then put up the prices..really passes me.... :-? :-?will we ever learn

rickraider
09-01-2006, 08:36 PM
feel better now ..got that of my chest.....still rekon bcf fishing side of things is crap

Derek_Bullock
09-01-2006, 08:41 PM
Maybe someone should email Bob Thorn, Managing Director of Supercheap or Steve Doyle, General Manager of BCF a link to this thread. They are business men after all and should take notice of public opinion.

Derek

David_P
09-01-2006, 08:42 PM
Like a lot of the Ausfishers who've replied to this post, I'd prefer to support the smaller tacke shop where I feel I get much better service, and can have a chat about what they and I've been catching (often not much in my case :-? ).

Having said that, I work for a subsidiary of a very large multi-national corporation. If the locals don't purchase the products and services I have to offer, I'm pretty much stuffed. So, I think it's important to support the business' that support us, the customer. In other words, buy your stuff from the business that offers you the best of customer service and price. Just because a business is a multi-national doesn't mean they can't offer price and service. If they can't, then they've got their business model wrong and deserve to to fail.

That's my two cents worth.

Happy shopping people.

Seahorse
09-01-2006, 09:19 PM
browns plains bcf got some of my money when first opened. to expensive and if more than 3 people in a row you got no chance of looking at what you want. wont get me back. rather get my fishing gear at am....t. the bias shop at kingston is pretty good

McCod
09-01-2006, 09:25 PM
Top shop indeed... Boating ,Camping ,Fishing all in one. labeled prices are not that flash. but if you don't ask you don't receive.... beter price that is. I managed to get $5 knocked off each Australian made lure last time i was in there. And the best thing about it ..... if you want 3 or 4 of the same lure size, colour ,depth etc, they got it. They have the biggest range and quantity of Halco RMG lures i've ever seen

#Cheers Les

stevedemon
09-01-2006, 09:51 PM
well i have seen that some of you have had bad experiences with some B.C.F stores the one at Browns Plains has been top service all the way it will always come back to management an how they teach there staff or if the staff is to young without experinence in talking an handling customers, i have also dealt with our Bais store at Underwood have brought gear from both and both with good customer service an knowledge, but my main Fishing takle and rods i will always buy from Beenleigh Bait and Tackle like Juicy first name base an old fashion service is great if we look after the little guy's they will always look after you this has been proven time again if some thing is wrong they will go out of there way to help or fix the problem but the big guy's will just not give a damn until you jump up an down an the other way to look at it is if the little guy's are still around then they will give the big guy's a run for there money an keeping them honest to a certain degree with out the little guy's the big guy's would dictate the prices without giving one thought to anyone

Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)

2DKnBJ
09-01-2006, 10:01 PM
I went to the Keperra shop yesterday....spent quite a bit of time there and not one staff member asked if they could be of any assistance. I went to ask for some help but there were about 3 staff members standing near the checkout having a good ol natter and a giggle so I thought the better of disturbing their good time. I put back on the shelves what I had already gathered and left. Went to the tackle shop at the Bald Hills Flats...got great service and everything that I wanted..spent just under $400.00...seems like BCF does not need the money...too busy enjoying themselves to bother attending to customers..I won't be going back there.

Right there with you PinHead.Went in to the above mentiond store to buy a few things and had exatly the same experience.Walked out of there after 45 min and spent my money elsewhere.
Another thing that annoyed me was the fact that there are no prices on the rods.If you know roughly what you want and how much you are going to spend all the service in the world won't make a difference(if you can get some service)
Scott,Chemmy and Unlucky Phill maybe you should show this thread to your manager and see what he/she has to say about it.
I for one will continue to go where i receive good customer service.
In one particular B Mart store i have had one young sales guy ask me if i needed any help.It soon came apparent that he didn't know a great deal about fishing and i think i helped him out more than he helped me but he was interested in listening in what i had to say and the whole time i was there he did his best to help me.
Cheers Dazza

oscar22
09-01-2006, 10:16 PM
woo woo woo you lot

Settle down.

The whole idea of this company is to give you good products at a good price.

If it is service and lip service at that that you require go to uncle bobs hick ville tackle store

If you want fireline at slightly above market price now that the free trade agreement with the US is in then go and get it cheap.

Mad_fisherman
09-01-2006, 10:20 PM
Hi all...

on most items...

Harry..

I have shopped at both Labrador and Browns plains stores and everytime they have been more then helpful and always up for a good old chat about fishing and whats on. If you shop at labrador go and speak to a bloke called Brad top bloke and knows what he is on about.

As for the browns plains store speak to a big fella there called Dave or the manager Mark they are both more then help full even if you only buying some $2 hooks or spending $1000 there always excellent and there service is faultless

As for the coment about them not beating prices well that is a total load of Crap. I priced a tackle bag at a store with a Big A and some kind of mart about it. it was $99 BCF did not have the model but the model above it for $149 and they sold it to me for $99 not only did they give me the same price they also gave me the model above.

As i stated i have found these lads at both the stores nothing but more then helpful and always Cheerful and happy and will to talk shop. But then again i am not afraid to look like a dick if i do not know something i go up and ask if i want to knwo something i Go and ASK. we complain about people stackign shelves etc. Well they do not stack themselves also i have asked people who have been stackign the shelves about gear and they have taken me and shown me etc.........

MAD

Mad_fisherman
09-01-2006, 10:21 PM

I have Shopped at the labrador store about 6 times and ever time they have been excellent even to the extent where they have spent time talking tatics about spots etc.. Next time you go there Ask for a bloke called brad he is about 30 odd top bloke and knows what he is on about!

And his service is diffecult to fault.

MAD!

2DKnBJ
09-01-2006, 10:39 PM
Oscar 22
If they are not into customer service why dont they put prices on their products so we can atleast service ourselves.After all if you know what you want all you really need to know is the price of the item but in the Keperra store you get neither.
Cheers Dazza

Jeremy87
09-01-2006, 10:51 PM
I work at the capalaba store and am one of the old campmarters. Good to see only one negative reply in regard to the store i work at. I would consider our service at capalaba at least to be up there with the best at any store, if we are not busy we normally greet customers at the door and at least everyone is offered assitance atleast once unless theyre tucked away in some corner hiding from us or make a beeline upstairs and hide in tents. Of course the simple solution if you want assitance is to ask. Yes some of the prices are more expensive but most are about the same and some are cheaper. Just because the one item you looked at was over priced doesn't mean the rest are. Yes alot of the staff are only young but with any new store you need to get staff members from somewhere and we are training them up. Also I'd challenge alot of you older gentlemen to forget your pride and actually ask for assitance from some of the younger staff (beleive it or not you actually become familiar with alot of stock when you work at an outdoors store). Simon and Glen are there on the weekdays and know there camping inside and out and there is always at least one fishing staff member. Anyway if you are there on a weekend and you see me (cant miss me, short fella, blue shirt, yellow name badge that says Jeremy) i'll be putting round somewhere in the fishing section trying to get some order back into the stock.

09-01-2006, 11:34 PM
I have found the Capalaba store staff very keen to help but as Jeremy is implying, I guess, they probably have a core of the old CampMart people there who have already teamed and know whats what. On the other hand, the Cannon Hill store is brand new with obviously new people still learning the ropes and I have not received great service there - not that I have been especially seeking any, anyway, but no one has volunteered to help when I have been looking at stuff.

On my most recent major purchase, their (Capalaba) floor price was cheaper than most stores around the area but was really put to shame by Sundown Marine's floor price, even without the recent encouraging discounts for Ausfishers. Once, I mentioned Ausfish at Sundown, of course the price came down even further - game, set and match really. Even though I am a southside resident, it was worth the drive.

Like others on this thread, BIAS has not convinced me. They are just another retailer and in my experience, not in the league of Whitworths in terms of their knowledgeable helpfulness. I received some pretty lame advice there last year regarding reef anchors, chain, rope - ie what size would I need for my boat.

I wish that the boating shops would badge their staff with badges to tell customers of their expertise - ie sailing, powered boats or whatever so you don't ask a sailor something about fishing boats.

BTW, the price that continues to shock me is for the downrigger that I imported from Cabelas in the USA for AUD$187 landed to my home last Christmas. I saw this at BCF for $499 which is the price that I saw elsewhere 12 months ago. Someone in the supply chain is having a go at us on that sort of price, I reckon.

2DKnBJ
09-01-2006, 11:36 PM
While i was in the store i am refering to in my post on this thread i asked for assistance twice but after 40min i put an item i was holding back on the shelf and walked out.I have also read plenty of positive feedback on other BCF stores so maybe it is just a few that need sorting out.you very rarely hear about good service but you will always hear about bad service.
Cheers Dazza

land_based
10-01-2006, 12:51 AM
I have probably spent over $800 dollars at the lawnton shop since its opened, although i have only bought items that i have researched and found they are no cheaper anywhere else. I found the customer service up to sh!t. I have probably been there in excess of 15 times and have never been asked am if i need any help. As other member have said there is youngins running around giggling and talking cr4p instead of helping customers. And at the checkout it is like being served by a galah. I am in the market for a new flcik stick and i am looking at spending around 400-500 clams, i guarentee you this large company wont be getting this, i will be going to the tackle shop at carseldine, top blokes there and very helpfull.

land_based
10-01-2006, 12:56 AM
Also kev i think i know the bloke your talking about that used to run the hypermarket fishing section. One of the most helpfull people ive ever met.

reevesey
10-01-2006, 06:31 AM
I tend to think BCF is way over priced, but if your looking for boating gear, you can't go past bias at slacks creek, there is a bloke there named Craig and he will bend over backwards to help you.

Scott15
10-01-2006, 08:17 AM
2DKnB, As for the prices on the rods, thats getting done as we speak. Being a new store as it only opened around christmas time we havent had much of a chance to put the prices on everything. We're basically still getting all sorted out, but we are getting there.

Tracker
10-01-2006, 09:02 AM
no good showing link to Mr Bob Thorn,he has taken his bat and ball and departed the co. ::)

dynamicspot
10-01-2006, 09:36 AM
not quite sure quoted a price for a transducer and bit and pieces 197.00 can get the same bits elsware for $124.00

brentasauros
10-01-2006, 09:48 AM
yeah..i'm..not..a.big..fan... :-X

MulletMan
10-01-2006, 09:50 AM
I went to the Capalaba store after seeing all the advertising on Telly and that was my first and last trip!!
They had kids serving who couldn't give a rats about looking after the customers and the "ginormous" stocks of everything just weren't there!
The prices - especially the lures and reels - were way over the top and what bait they had was pretty crappy!
This gang is going to get their act together or they will finish up like Clarke Rubber did some years back when they also employed young kids to with no experience.
They have now scrapped this idea and are quite good stores again..ya find the same in Hardware Stores as well..............

fish2eat
10-01-2006, 11:22 AM
They fill a need for some, those looking to browse all day for something to do, just like Bunnings. However, Bunnings has worked because they generally seem to employ the older assistants, who have some cred and knowledge.

BCF is set up like its parent Super Cheap...which by the way is NOT a multi-national unless you count a couple of stores in NZ, they are a Qld company that grew up and listed on the stock exchange....but thy seem to have stalled a bit lately, and I think they sell crap at "not cheap" prices, with no service or expertise. But these types of stores are good when they have an advertised special....eg where can you buy Fireline for $15??

It won't replace the local tackle store, but it will shake up the "do not metion its name mart"

nonibbles
10-01-2006, 11:39 AM
emailed thread address to steve doyle. he has looked at it said thanks for heads up and will discuss same with his managers/staff. He also said thank you.

essky
10-01-2006, 11:57 AM
I like the range, but cannot believe you cannot get simple things like a block of pillies. I asked one of the staff if they had a block as i was going to use it as burley. He directed me to a packet of 10 long life pillies for $11.00 and said they were good. I figured that was going to be an expensive burley trail and it dawned on me quickly, that maybe the person serving did not know as much as he let on.

It is helpful having all the boating, camping and fishing gear together but.

2iar
10-01-2006, 12:06 PM
It is helpful having all the boating, camping and fishing gear together but.

Its' major drawcard IMO. While I've always had a few camping store options in my area, my "local" tackle shop and marine supplier are miles away.

Good luck,

Big_unit
10-01-2006, 12:11 PM
I havent been in a BCF store and just from reading this thread I will not be wasting my time even looking in there. Service is the most important asset a business has, if they can not provide the basics then they do not deserve my time or money.

James

HarryO
10-01-2006, 12:22 PM
Hi all...

on most items...

Harry..

I have shopped at both Labrador and Browns plains stores and everytime they have been more then helpful and always up for a good old chat about fishing and whats on. If you shop at labrador go and speak to a bloke called Brad top bloke and knows what he is on about.

As for the browns plains store speak to a big fella there called Dave or the manager Mark they are both more then help full even if you only buying some $2 hooks or spending $1000 there always excellent and there service is faultless

As for the coment about them not beating prices well that is a total load of Crap. I priced a tackle bag at a store with a Big A and some kind of mart about it. it was $99 BCF did not have the model but the model above it for $149 and they sold it to me for $99 not only did they give me the same price they also gave me the model above.

As i stated i have found these lads at both the stores nothing but more then helpful and always Cheerful and happy and will to talk shop. But then again i am not afraid to look like a dick if i do not know something i go up and ask if i want to knwo something i Go and ASK. we complain about people stackign shelves etc. Well they do not stack themselves also i have asked people who have been stackign the shelves about gear and they have taken me and shown me etc.........

MAD

G'day MAD....

Wasn't talking about BCF not matching prices...

Rather "Bloody Incredibly Anal Service"...

Should read more carefully before slinging off.

Harry...

Mad_fisherman
10-01-2006, 12:59 PM
Harry,
I was just stating my experiences there sorry if you took offence mate

MAD!

brett_rokesky
10-01-2006, 01:13 PM
I'll have to drive the 2 hours to Mackay before i can give you my opinion :)

bushbeachboy
10-01-2006, 01:19 PM
My personal experience has been that BCF don't even match prices, let alone beat them. I was in BCF Townsville just after it opened. I was helping a mate set up a tinnie, and was looking at nav lights, among other things. They seemed a bit too dear, but thinking they would match prices, went to the car and got out a 'Blinkingly Incredible Attitudinal $hithead' catalogue. Went back into the store, asked them to match the price. The 'manager' said "If it's not exactly the same brand with exactly the same number we won't match the price." I was not comparing an expensive, high quailty light with a cheap plastic one or something. The lights were very similar in construction and size, and I believed that I was being fair in asking for a price match. That was enough for me to go elsewhere. My thoughts ran along the lines of 'what are they going to say if you have a problem with a product and want a replacement or refund?' I haven't been back, and won't be back until convinced that the fundamental character of the store management has improved.

Fixation
10-01-2006, 01:50 PM
Your right about the under 18's club. I'm not having saying that young people can't fish but I know I'd rather talk to people who actually own boats themselves and have an idea of the equipment that suppose to go in them. Wanted to buy a deck wash pump before christmas and the 17 or 18yr old guy that was helping me knew squat about them. Customer service is the key. I also rang them before going to pick the pump up (bit of a drive to my BCF) to make sure it was still there and he said they were all gone. I thought that was pretty funny so I drove out there from within 2 hours of ringing and there was 5 on the shelf. They might want to look at there customer service a little more.

thumps
10-01-2006, 02:15 PM

i hope your not coming in just for that

cooky
10-01-2006, 03:04 PM
Your right about the under 18's club. I'm not having saying that young people can't fish but I know I'd rather talk to people who actually own boats themselves and have an idea of the equipment that suppose to go in them

Different stores fill different niches - I think it's good that these store employ young people - I know I would have rather worked at BCF than Woolworths when I was young. Maybe they just need a little balance or TRAIN their staff. Young people are often enthusiastic, which is both good and bad. Good from the perspective that they'll run around and help you without makign you feel like an idiot and bad that many people don't 'trust' their input because they're often too enthusiastic to make a sale or help you buy something. I've had a few examples lately where I try to pick the more experienced looking staff member for assistance with something I don't know too much about - often ambushed by a younger staff member though.

I like the young ones when I know what I'm looking for.

cooky
10-01-2006, 03:21 PM
I forgot to mention - don't read too much into age in relation to knowledge. It's just that older people generally feel more comfortable dealing with people of similar age or older - it's the perception of knowledge / experience that counts in retail sales.

Young people often feel intimidated by older staff too.

Usually higher value (cost) items require older sales people (generally) as "perception" is important. Could a 19 year old sell a houses/s - yes, but you'd possibly feel more comfortable if they were selling you a burger and fries.

Barrymundi
10-01-2006, 06:03 PM
BCF Townsville fishing area is run by Shane, a well seasoned fisho.

They matched a price for me on a $600 esky.

They ordered a part for me which was $40 at another camping store, $20 BCF.

I will shop there more, plenty of range, plenty of people there to chat too.

Al

yort
10-01-2006, 06:08 PM
Went to BCF Townsville on the weekend and bought a River2Sea Cicada Pop. #I used it and found it sunk when I cast it and had to be pulled up to the top of the water. #I wasn't sure really how it was meant to work so I went back and asked the staff. #Not one of them knew how it was meant to work! #They said to come back the next day as a follow employee should know about them. #Of course I didn't go back and probably won't ever be back unless for specials of course. #Does anyone here know how they're meant to work?

10-01-2006, 06:11 PM
I have been in 3 times, once when they first opened for a look see, then to buy a child's life jacket, then to buy a knife sharpener but it was out of stock on the shelves. I was planing on getting the gas bottle filled and a few other things before the end of the week.

I didn't know they were a usury employer :o Happy to be corrected.

For what it is worth today, it is important to me to maintain my social conscience wherever I can so I will never ever be back, shame really.
They can have their club card back also, was pretty useless anyway!

Derek_Bullock
10-01-2006, 06:15 PM
Went to BCF Townsville on the weekend and bought a River2Sea Cicada Pop. #I used it and found it sunk when I cast it and had to be pulled up to the top of the water. #I wasn't sure really how it was meant to work so I went back and asked the staff. #Not one of them knew how it was meant to work! #They said to come back the next day as a follow employee should know about them. #Of course I didn't go back and probably won't ever be back unless for specials of course. #Does anyone here know how they're meant to work?

Now I can read it. #;D

Derek

yort
10-01-2006, 06:58 PM
Sorry, first post.

brett_rokesky
10-01-2006, 07:05 PM

i hope your not coming in just for that

Ok i might wait here in Yeppoon for one to be built. # should i say"take there time".

muzz30
10-01-2006, 07:34 PM
BCF is owned by SuperCheap Auto and i have visited the store around three times and i was not happy they were more concerned about the shelves being filled and not concerned about the customer's and also i found some of the people didnt have a clue about the product's they were selling a turn off for me
unfortunatly and ill just keep supporting my small supplier at least they think of there customer's...

Gone_fishin
10-01-2006, 07:53 PM
If you want customer service and guy who knows what he's talking about go to your local tackle shop.

If you want to go to a multi million dollar operation that is only interested in making money go to BCF. They are retailers only you will need to know what you want first.

The prices I have found have been a bit higher than other tackle outlets but they do have a great range.

Gone fishin

tryin
10-01-2006, 08:01 PM
I have been into both the cappalaba and cannon hill stores, having bought heaps of gear from the old cappalaba campmart, i was really suprised by the changes. I found campmart went down hill really fast once supercheap to over, never any stock, lots of new faces and porer service. ......But went back first time for months the other week and service at cap. was pretty good. the bloke looked through the computer system checking all stores stock for the part i was looking for.

The cannon hill store is complete waste of time, the staff know buggerall about the stock they have/dont have/can get in/or not. Plus half the staff was playing silly buggers with eachother.

I have had better luck with BIAS, picking brains was pretty easy just ask. A bloke i used to work with got a job at one of their stores, and he has been speeking highly of them.

If service you want then got to your local and get to know them, if you want answers then ask questions, and if they dont know ask if anyone does. But if your not happy ban em. I went into a decent map store chaseing a price on a handheld gps (magellan explorist 400 TRAVELER PACK) they said gotta chase up the price will ring you back, 10 days latter got a call from shop saving no such thing exists. didnt have the heart to tell her that i have the paper work infront of me....so theyr BANNED

woody74
10-01-2006, 08:40 PM
Interesting how so many bcf shops around Queensland all seem to give the same experiences :o. Im in Toowoomba and all of the replies I've seen to this thread seem to be the same. The shop here works the same as many of you have said as your local shops, not many people employed there want to help you out. The shop here has one person who knows what he's talking about with fishing, pretty slack really. If you have any questions about anything fishing orientated , you have to hope the hell he's working. That's my rant anyway. CHEERS woody.

backhoe
10-01-2006, 08:44 PM
Experiences pretty much the same as others with BCF. Good range, prices OK, service non-existant. Have bought a few things from there that were on special significantly cheaper than I could get them elsewhere but that's all. Isn't a bad place to have a wander around though if you want to check out stuff and not get hassled, just as long as you don't want any help.

Got to say that I'm surprised with the BIAS knocking. Only really had experience with the one at Slack's CK but I've always found them really helpful and they seem to know there stuff. A few times I've gone in there wanting to buy things thinking they will do the job I want them to and gone out empty handed because they've recommended something else or thought it wouldn't do the job. That doesn't happen too often with most places as they are usually quick to agree with you to get the sale.
Range probably not as good Whitworth's though.

whichway
10-01-2006, 08:51 PM

I bought some tent poles and the like from BCF before Xmas. Generally the prices seemed about average, and the service was about the same.

For fishing and boating gear, I note the earlier comment re getting stuff made in China. At the moment, everything is pretty much the traditional brands. But when you go to Super Cheap, alot of the stuff is their own brand, made in China, and in my view, generally poor quality. If BCF follow the same business model as Super Cheap, there is a possibility that Shimano (for example) will be replaced by a BCF own brand - will look the same, but made out of recycled chewing gum.

Going into neighbouring camping shops before Xmas, it was obvious that BCF were taking a significant share of the market. I use to think that camping shops were a good business, but I don't think so anymore.

It will be interesting to see how this plays out in the long run

Whichway

Steven78
10-01-2006, 08:53 PM
I love my FISHEAD and when i cannot get there i mail order.
www.fishhead.com.au.

ZOOM ZOOM ZOOM

The leader in pro gear i just got fitted up with my G loomas and Certate 2500r custuom. Duncan always has the time to talk to his customers..
BCF is very good for Camping and boating. Bias is go too.
I love then all but my wife hates them and i wonder why ::)

al_neibling
10-01-2006, 09:28 PM
We have tried the BCF townsville a few times now and have been disappionted each time.

first time asked about outriggers and got shown a downrigger (wrong!!)

seond time no one in sight to serve me (Lost sale)

third time hubby went into to buy a bulk lot of fishing line, the line they tried to sell him had been used to spool other peoples rods, when my hubby pionted this out the young bloke just said oh thats ok just buy the one the looks the biggest (strike three they are out)

Love the service and the prices at my Fav tackle shop in Townsville ( on duckworth, big yellow building, right across the road from BCF you guys know the one ;))

Just my experience but after three strikes your out in my books

4x4frog
10-01-2006, 11:45 PM

BCF's parent company is a large auto supplier who bought out a camping chain and expanded. Given the comments here and the level of service talked about I'd say right up to par with the other end of the chain. I am sticking to my local guy/s too, they offer service and a smile.

EDIT....if only I had read a little further before positng, didn't notice this thread was 6 pages long. #Heard the other day that Bob Thorn resigned from MD of Supercheap?? (probably been posted too ::))

I have to say I diidn't like the atmosphere in the store I visited, all real bright lights like the supermarkets have in the meat departments these days to make everything look more life like or perfect IMHO.

thumps
11-01-2006, 07:46 AM
heard a "story" the other day (from a reliable source, usually)

the cheap flares that a customer bought were out of date

seeing as our store has only been open for a month or two..this seems very weird.

or is it a lack of attention due to the untrained staff members????

SMB
11-01-2006, 10:16 AM
I personally don't mind the BCF stores, I've been to the Strathpine and Brown Plain stores, found the browns plains ones definately more helpful. Big guy in there called Dave (as mentioned previous in this thread), seems to be quite knowledgeable and is quite happy to help you if he's not busy. The service isn't always great, one thing that annoys me is that they only ever seem to have one register open late, no matter how many staff are sitting around. I do like the fact however that I can go in and browse, and quite often I don't want to be bothered every 5 minutes by a staff member, so I'm happy just to look around and when I want some info I will ask for it, I think they have their place.

thumps
11-01-2006, 11:20 AM
rmg's 2 for ten bucks

and those barra mags11 cm 10 bucks each atm

NeilD
11-01-2006, 03:02 PM
I went into the Lawnton Store and spent 5 mins hunting down some Bushmans. No one to ask except for the eight staff hanging around the cash registers chatting to each other. I didn't want to disturb them as they looked like they were having a good time.
You can't complain about the service. There was none ;D

MIKOS
11-01-2006, 03:49 PM
Hi Guys,

I went to the slacks creek store only one time and this being the first time I found a customer arguing with the staff over something.They obviously were not happy with something and i aint going to hang around to find out what. ;D

The thing that I was mostly impressed with was the large range that they had available on there shelves. :o

Bias Boating store at Underwood on the otherhand are bloody fantastic.
The staff go out of there way to be freindly and very helpful without pushing the boundaries.

Got to love the old fashion service. A business can be very successful with just that one word.

MIKOS ;)

Ps all, Good to see the normal smilies back again. ;D

11-01-2006, 03:53 PM
The one at Capalaba doesn't seem too bad with enough staff walking around asking if they can help you, but they really need to keep their shelves stocked with terminal tackle.

Very annoying when there's hardly any line or hooks on the shelves.

11-01-2006, 04:07 PM
I prefer to support ausfish where ever possible.

The prices at bcf are not very competative on a lot of items. I asked to see some rod blanks, and I was shown fishing rods without reels attached.

Barrymundi
11-01-2006, 04:27 PM
usury employer = Please explain ?

ancienttinnie
11-01-2006, 06:29 PM
I love the way there have been lots of comments made by people here, I work at a bcf and am very happy to work there. I have had many years in retail tackle in brisbane and on the gold coast. I have found that customers are the same every where, the ones that complain the loudest are usually the ones that want you to drop everything and look after them exclusively for hours on end so that they can spend $2 and then complain they are hard done by. Or they butt in and try to drag you away when you are trying to look after a customer who has arrived earlier and has waited patiently to be assisted. I have also worked at Clark Rubber and the reason I left there was the arrogance of the customers. It is a two way street folks and there must be some give and take. I walk 8 - 10 likometres a day up and down aisles checking customers are ok and are finding what they are looking for. The other thing to remember is that I can have 6 or 7 customers come in one after the other and each will require help with a different style of fishing, to be able to assist each person requires a great deal of experience and there are a very limited number of people with that sort of experience available. It is also a bonus for me as a staff member of bcf if a customer actually has some idea of what he/she wants or is after. I am proud of the service I give to my customers and am finding I am getting repeat customers who come looking for me so, I also have customers returning to thank me for putting them onto the right gear and or place. I assume I am doing something right.
I think part of the problem here is a result of the closed shop mentality the retail tackle industry has had, for many years you could only get a job in this industry if you "knew" or were related to someone. This has meant that experienced people are now short on the ground and opening a chain like bcf wil make the problem worse in the short term. Yes not all the prices are cheaper and some are dearer than your local tackle store but I have seen at least two stores whose prices have dropped after a bcf opened near them, what does that tell you. I also spend a fair amount of my time off shecking out other tackle stores to see what is being offered etc. BCF has been on the go for omly a few months , yes there are teething problems and yes they are being fixed. I have found BCf agreat place to work and a great place to shop, even before they gave me a job.

thumps
11-01-2006, 07:23 PM
great to hear an actual employee have a say

i like that

however it does nothing for all those that have found it disappointing

it also does nothing for those that have had good service.

we all work(most do anyway)

and we all have a responsibility to the consumer of our goods
sometimes the service is below what people expect.

a one stop shop..i think the ad says...well sorry...but its not close yet...but critism at this point can only improve that over time

11-01-2006, 07:32 PM
Good return serve antcient tinny.

But I find its not only places like BCF & the mart that shall not be named. Sure its more of a prob with the these places due to the age of the attendants. No real idea of customer service with the exception of a few. I went to one of the big tackle shops on the Goldy many years ago & had to pull one of the guys away from their mothers meeting so I could pay them for some tackle. Havn't been back for about 5 years now.

Gave them a bit of a test with my mate who visits there a bit ordering some parts for my TSS4 just before xmas. Ordered 2 parts, got 1 only. Yep, nothing has changed. ::) ::)

juicyfruit
11-01-2006, 07:42 PM
I've read all the posts, at no time did I read that someone was trying to take a salesman away from another customer, what I did read was that most salesmen could be found conversing amongst themselves.

In my profession, hospitality, customers that complain the loudest are usually the ones that have taken enough and need to be heard.

And maybe on a little 'nitpicking' note......what’s it matter if the customer spends $2 or $2000, you are on a wage and will still receive your hourly rate, no matter what they spent....

Can't imagine how much service a customer would receive if some salesmen were working on commission....(this wasn't directed to you, just in general).

You may be one of the 'better' salesmen at BCF, but there are, from my own experience and from what I have read on this site, you are the exception of the rule.

Juicy

luress
11-01-2006, 08:04 PM
They are not there to teach you how to tie knots or rig baits they are there for convenience.No-one in kmart tells you whats good about a bbq or why that shirts 10 bucks and that ones 30The staff in most tackle stores will not be able to tell you the ins and outs of all there products either.Once upon a time we used to get our petrol pumped for use now you can do your grocery shopping there aswell.Its called convenience.
And before someone tells me you cant beat your local tackle I used to own one in Townsville and no matter how loyal your customers are they will still go to BCF's and Amarts and then come back and screw you ::)
regards gary

11-01-2006, 09:30 PM
I love the way there have been lots of comments made by people here, I work at a bcf and am very happy to work there. I have had many years in retail tackle in brisbane and on the gold coast. I have found that customers are the same every where, the ones that complain the loudest are usually the ones that want you to drop everything and look after them exclusively for hours on end so that they can spend $2 and then complain they are hard done by. Or they butt in and try to drag you away when you are trying to look after a customer who has arrived earlier and has waited patiently to be assisted. I have also worked at Clark Rubber and the reason I left there was the arrogance of the customers. It is a two way street folks and there must be some give and take. I walk 8 - 10 likometres a day up and down aisles checking customers are ok and are finding what they are looking for. The other thing to remember is that I can have 6 or 7 customers come in one after the other and each will #require help with a different style of fishing, to be able to assist each person requires a great deal of experience and there are a very limited number of people with that sort of experience available. It is also a bonus for me as a staff member of bcf if a customer actually has some idea of what he/she wants or is after. I am proud of the service I give to my customers and am finding I am getting repeat customers who come looking for me so, I also have customers returning to thank me for putting them onto the right gear and or place. I assume I am doing something right.
I think part of the problem here is a result of the closed shop mentality the retail tackle industry has had, for many years you could only get a job in this industry if you "knew" or were related to someone. This has meant that experienced people are now short on the ground and opening a chain like bcf wil make the problem worse in the short term. Yes not all the prices are cheaper and some are dearer than your local tackle store but I have seen at least two stores whose prices have dropped after a bcf opened near them, what does that tell you. I also spend a fair amount of my time off shecking out other tackle stores to see what is being offered etc. BCF has been on the go for omly a few months , yes there are teething problems and yes they are being fixed. I have found BCf agreat place to work and a great place to shop, even before they gave me a job.

As per my previous post, I went into the Keperra store..racks full of rods and hardly a price on any of them. There was a staff member sitting on the floor packing shelves in those aisles..not a word..did not even look up to ask if I needed attention...I went to the front of the store to find a staff member but they all appeared busy with their chatting so I thought it would be rude to interrupt their frivolity to maybe do a little work. As for the $2 comment...I went elsewhere that day and spent almost $400..I just happened to have about $2k in my pocket that day and it would not have worried me if I had spent it. One bad experience and I do not bother going back into the store again...I really do not have the time to waste in a store where service is totally non-existent. The person that may spend $2 today could also be the person that spends thousands tomorrow of they like the service they received the first time.

ancienttinnie
11-01-2006, 09:41 PM
It is good to hear that some people have read my post, I will also say that when I got the position there I was told Iwas there to help customers and make sure they got what they came in for as far as possible. As for the $2 comment it was not aimed at any person or business directly but was rather something that has been happening in all my time in retail. If someone has $2 0r $2000 I try to give them the best service I can and to hell with what the boss thinks and yes I do get into trouble sometimes. If you find the staff all talking out the front and apparently having a good time please interrupt them - they are giving me a bad name.

11-01-2006, 09:46 PM
ancienttinnie..I had no intention of interrupting them...I am one of those people that does not complain to the manager or to anyone else in the business concerned...I am just one of those people that quietly walks out the door never to return. At this time of year I am lucky to get one day a fortnight off working myself so I am really not into creating a scene or anything like that which wastes my time..I just want to purchase what I want and go on my way. There are a lot like me out there.

tryin
11-01-2006, 10:59 PM
Amen PinHead ;)

THE_BILL_COLLECTOR
11-01-2006, 11:07 PM
I have been to the lawton store twice now and have found the same problem that everyone seems to. i couldnt find a staff member anywhere to help me. this didnt bother me at this stage so i walked back to the front thinking there mite be someone who could help me there yet there was only staff on the tills. i finnaly spotted a young guy there who i thought could help me with some questions but as soon as i started to walk towards him he turned and went the othe way like he didn't want to serve me. by this time i had been there for 20 mins and i was over waiting so i left. there would have to be a big improvement before i will go back.

i am sure bcf is a great place if u no what u want and just simply want to "cash and carry!" but if u are after service i strongly recemend u stick with ur local guys who have been doing what they do for years.

after all if these big chain stores put all the local smaller guys out of bussiness, what are all us fisho's going to do when we need some good advice?

i guess the moral to the story is if u want some good advice (and i'm sure we all do from time to time) stick to the local boys who are willing to help us when they can. that way we can ensure that their advice will be there for all of us in the future

Good fishing everyone

Bill Collector

12-01-2006, 09:23 AM
Spot on Juicyfruit, and needed saying (you beat me to it) ;D

I've spent time in retail sales, and have found that on the whole, those who do the most shouting are simply the more forceful kind of person as opposed to what has been suggested here as the one with least grievance or more rude.

If it gets to a stage where a customer is butting in, then that is more than likely out of sheer frustration at not being attended to correctly/appropriately.

As for the $2 /$200 comparison ancienttinnie, that's irrelevant............every buck pays your wages, keeps you and your peers in work, and is of equal worth, as is the person tendering it. One thing I learned in sales was to look after the "bread and butter" person and the rest is icing on the cake.

If you view with disdain the small spender or the most troublesome then you shouldn't be in sales where "the customer is always right". It's "nice to be nice" and that is simply the easiest, best, and most approriate response to disarm even the most obnoxious of customers.

Pay them attention, irrespective of your personal feelings and watch their attitude change. Ignore them, argue with them, pay attention to your colleagues antics instead of the customer's antics and the business will go nowhere. I'm not saying it won't succeed but "difficult" people abound nowadays due to modern pressures and they are a good slice of the market. Tap into 'em and you will succeed further.

12-01-2006, 09:29 AM
<snip> There are a lot like me out there.

Oh Nooooooooooo! Aaaaaaaargh! ;) ;D <joke>

Spot on mate. Me too. If they don't want to know, then neither do I. Life's too short to be getting into hassle when shopping. I just walk. OTOH, I walk too if the salesman is *too* pushy and this is where things can go wrong. They sometimes come across as trying to push a sale as opposed to simply trying to help. Perhaps that's why some salespersons aren't helpful? They're afraid of seeming to be pushy?

Bosunsmate
12-01-2006, 10:11 AM
The townsville store is sparsely staffed but I must say that the staff who are there are knowledgeble about their stock.

I was impressed with variation in supplies for trailers and the prices appeared to be very competitive for this region. $55 for an 18x24 heavy duty silver/green tarp seemed good to me.

I guess time will tell...It's nice to have a larger supplier here, we seem to get forgotten by many, even though we have the largest proportion of boaties to population.

fish2eat
12-01-2006, 10:34 AM
I cannot believe the activity this thread has stirred up....obviously the advertising has worked, because such a large number of us have been there for a look.

Unfortunately, not a high percentage like what they saw and if BCF are to grow and survive, they need to modify their business model. Hope the senior management of BCF are following this. This valuable customer feedback would cost them tens of thousands to get from a research company !!!!

juicyfruit
12-01-2006, 10:35 AM
Feel the same way about being forgotten by many, living here in Mackay, we use to and still do to some extent, order things in from Rocky, Townsville and further a field. At times it could be a down right inconvenience.

With the expanding population here, the arrival of such shops as BCF and the likes are popping up everywhere (‘superstores’).

Seems lack of staffing and staffing knowledge is the new inconvenience.

All that needs to happen with these superstores is for them to adopt some good old fashion service....sure it will boost their sales.

*sigh* I miss the way Mackay use to be, time to move ;D ;D ;D

Juicy

Derek_Bullock
12-01-2006, 07:14 PM
Super Cheap Auto boss drops down a gear

Liliana Molina

06jan06

THE face of Super Cheap Auto has resigned from the company he nurtured from a small Brisbane chain to a listed international retailer.

Managing director Bob Thorn, who has starred in the company's television ads, yesterday said he was leaving after 13 years at the helm to spend more time with his young family.

Chief financial officer Peter Birtles, who has been with the company for five years, will be his replacement. The resignation and lower than expected first-half sales figures wiped more than 10 per cent off the share price, which closed down 29¢ at $2.55. The shares were trading between $3.20 and $3.40 in the 2005 first quarter.

The weak Christmas trading period and slow NZ sales dropped like-for-like sales by 0.5 per cent, although group sales were up by 14.3 per cent to $264.7 million.

Its new $27.5 million 12-store BCF venture reported sales of $18.5 million, which is forecast to grow by at least $5 million to $45 million in the full 2006 financial year but Mr Birtles last month said he expected losses of $5 million this year because of setting up the chain.

Mr Thorn said he had been pondering his future since taking an extended break late in 2004.

The recent birth of his son and turning "the fearful 50" prompted him to start negotiations to get out of his contract three years early. He will retain his 4 million-plus shares.

"I have a young son of only 10 months as well as two grown-up daughters and I haven't spent a lot of time with them," he said.

"The business is in a strong position. I've set some other objectives for myself and the timing is very appropriate."

He said he would take a break with his family and was considering expanding his Queensland cattle property interests.

But he did not rule out returning to retailing in the future. He started his career working at David Jones and was the general manager of haberdashery chain Lincraft in Melbourne before returning to his home state.

Mr Birtles, who confirmed he would not take Mr Thorn's place in the ads, said aggressive discounting among retailers had hurt the sector.

"Retailers are having to work hard to get customers in the door," he said.

The group would be undergoing a rebranding exercise and would consider further acquisitions.

Burrell Stockbroking analyst Bruce McLeary said discretionary retailers were suffering the most because of the slowdown in consumer spending.

The rollout of BCF stores would be an "expensive exercise" for Super Cheap.

12-01-2006, 07:17 PM
We Aussies seem to be turning into a pack of whingers and want want want, especially service that doesnt exist anymore.
The days of good service in any store has gone by the way side, and its all caused by todays modern society, fast pace and the all mighty dollar.
Except for thesmall stores, where good service is required to keep loyal customer and the cash register ticking over, otherwise they are swept away by the big conglomerants, and there isnt too many these days that can compete with bigger store prices.
Walk into any multi lane store these days and forget the service, their there for one reason sell sell sell.
The style of the new BCF stores is what most want these days, its all under the one roof, it saves on travel, its more convient to buy under the one roof then several.
But like any new super store opening, you cannot expect them to clikck there fingers and produce staff that are conversant or experienced.
Bunnings killed off most small hardware stores and BCf will do the same to the small tackle shops, even the big opposition is hurting.
When was the last time you got bowser service from a garage???
If you want good service go back to the 70-80's its your only chance, and lets stop all this whinging, modern socity brought it upon themselves
regards.

muzz30
12-01-2006, 08:17 PM
I have had my little bitch about BCF on here previously but hey everyone has
a different story and alot of them good report's so i bit the bullet last night as
im taking my girls to the Aussie Fishing Park this saturday i thought that Sage
& Talia could do with a small spinning outfit and why not try BCF maybe i have
caught them on a bad day before.... Well once in the store all i could see was
shopping trolley's everywhere filled with stock starting to look very familiar and
well i dont know who is running the store but there combo's were just thrown
together i think the Shimano and Jarvis Walker combos were good but hey they buy them as combo's but really would you put a abu 6500 on to a 15kg
stand up stick i lost interest my daughters on the other hand had a ball in the
tent's but what bugged me the most was i got asked if i was right after being in the store for 45 minutes and i said yeah wheres your killalure's oh sorry sir
we dont sell them and walked off behold behind him thats where they were so
i think now i might just not go back there until they know what there doing.

NeilD
12-01-2006, 08:20 PM
I think the main concern I have is not the lack of service as I usually know what I want but the attitude of the staff who seemed to ignore the customers. This does not happen in a supermarket etc. Staff are thin on the ground but only too happy to assist. I think my biggest dissapointment was the pricing. They are not even close to the Mart that shall not be named. There you do not expect service but get better pricing.

Scott15
12-01-2006, 09:31 PM
Was bugger all workers in the store,

LOL yeah I was the only guy on the floor until 12pm. Come say g'day if ya pop in again

Skipsta
12-01-2006, 09:32 PM
I went to the Cannon Hill Store yesterday. Didn't see any staff approach people at all. Good range of stuff, but don't be fooled by virtue it is a Super Cheap Auto Company. They are NOT necessarily cheaper than the small stores. I have my eye on a Coleman 2 burner Cooker (1xburner, 1xgrill plate) The Down Under Store at Capalaba is $129 and BCF are $140.

The old adage that you have to shop around still rings true ;)

bignick
12-01-2006, 10:16 PM
Like anything to do with Super Cheap, their "Brand-X" stuff is pretty cheap, but anything with a name brand is as dear as poison. Their product range on certain items does leave a bit to be desired at times. Whilst some of the staff are quite knowledgeable, some of the younger staff look and sound like they would be more at home across the road selling "kick-ass" car stereos and sub woofers to young blokes with "fully sick" cars.

NICK.

saphire
12-01-2006, 10:23 PM
I went to BCF in Moss Street prior to Christmas. The young fellow who served me was very polite and helpful. He must have been an Ausfisher.
saphire.

juicyfruit
12-01-2006, 10:54 PM
Hi ya Webby ;D

ahhhh, the 70's and 80's, those were the good old days ;D ;D ;D

Can't recall being asked by modern society I if I wanted to be treated as a number. [ch61516]

Guess talking about something amongst ourselves wouldn’t help or make a change after all... Shudder to think what would happen if we were all caught up in the flow of the masses that don't give a damn. :o :o Or worst still, if that was the adopted attitude of our forefathers….eeeeeekkkkkk.

Perhaps instead of clicking their fingers (these super stores) to produce staff that are conversant or experience, they could try interviewing candidates best for the job, (maybe those that are aged between 35 and 65 instead of saving wages on hiring junior staff, surely what they lose in wages for aged experience, they would gain in sale).

But hey!!!! What can we do, apart from voice our concerns and suggest ways in which they can improve on getting more of our hard earn dollars.

*Said in no harshness or as a personal attack, maybe with just a tad of sarcasm*

Juicy

bungie
12-01-2006, 11:12 PM
Went to the Keppera one today .................. WOW it is big, asked for a price on a inflatable life jacket and the guy didn't know what i was talking about, but said he would find out. Came back with a second sales assistant and the second guy explained to him how they worked and the prices of each type. I was impressed, Genuine interest from the first guy as it was explained to him. Was bugger all workers in the store, but they were all helpful and courteous. S%#! they have some stock in there.

Rod_Bender
13-01-2006, 11:02 AM
I have found the BCF store in Townsville to be great. Like any retail outlet, when #a store has a special on, there most times always gonna win the race. For total range and price, their hard to beat. Little tackle stores can monitor there prices a lot easier with only 100 products or so. Its always hard to find boating gear open on a Sunday too. Yes, shop around but they do match competitor's prices. I saved $156 buying my esky there on special pre. xmas compared to the local camping chain. The best thing i found out was that their sales people aren't on commission, so there not forcing you to buy things. Tight lines everyone

fish2eat
13-01-2006, 11:22 AM
After all this valuable feedback , lets hope this is NOT a picture of BCF management

boney
13-01-2006, 07:37 PM
Well after reading these replies I am starting to think the average fisher has limited intelligence to think beyond their tackle box. Firstly these BCF stores are new to the game and would not yet have the buying power of a Franchise set up, I think they have 12 stores according to their web site. So I believe if given a go they will sharpen their pricing as they look around and get a feel for the market from other outlets. You talk about about supporting the locals, well hello these stores create job for the local people of mixed ages. I have shopped at the Townsville store on three occasions and have been more than happy with the service. Yes they have some young people, but how are they ever going to develop and gain the knowledge if no one gives them a go. These young people have always gone and grabbed someone with more experience if they could not help me out. I know the guy at the Townsville store in fishing has been working in the fishing industry for years at different tackle shops around town because I have dealt with him. I believe he has more knowledge than most and over time will pass this on to the young bloke who helped me out. I needed a new anode for my boat and BCF was the only place open Saturday afternoon I could buy one from. I work in retail myself and know it will take some time to sort out how much stock they will need to carry to ensure they don't run out. I still think they would have the largest range in one shop, especially in Townsville. Stop being a mob of wowsers and give them a go. I will still shop with these guys and as they get it sorted, I am sure the Ausfishers out there will be the ones to benefit long term.
Boney

dicko1980
13-01-2006, 08:33 PM
I live in Townsville and have shopped at the BCF store and visited on a couple of occasions. They were no cheaper than any of the local guys on most products and their staff that tried to help me had no knowledge of their products. This is what happens when you offer employees shitty Australian Workplace Agreement's instead of paying a reasonable wage and attacting experienced staff. For example I looked at a chartplotter and asked where the map cartridge was so I could look at my local areas by comparing the different cartographies available. I was told that the unit already had a map in it. I was then explained that the maps show all the wrecks and reefs ect. I demonstrated to the salesman that the map he was referring to was the internal map and was nothing more than a gimmick with no information. I asked to look at a unit with a map cartridge in it and was told that they don't do that. I then explained why I wanted to look at the different options out there but this was to no avail. I then asked him why I should spend over $1000 on a chartplotter when I can't even try it in the shop. Last time I looked he was still standing there with a confused look and wondering how he was going to answer the question. I must admit though that Shane Bradley who works there in the fishing department is very helpful and experienced. Its a shame the rest of the store is poor on service and knowledge. I will continue to support the local guys who are very competitive on price these days

AnthonyL
13-01-2006, 08:37 PM
Been to our local one 4 or 5 times... staff offered help but failed to have the knowledge to follow through.

inspired
13-01-2006, 09:02 PM
the local bcf capalabar was ok but you have to remember its up to you to do your own home work getting info about a product your after. how many brands are there of the same thing but only one will be the best for you which you will buy wether its buy price or buy brand
get it

Figjamm
13-01-2006, 10:01 PM
They are not there to teach you how to tie knots or rig baits they are there for convenience.

I don't think anyone here's expecting lessons in knots, etc.... just some friendly staff who look like they're interested in serving the customers. I've been into our closest store about 6 times now, and still haven't stuck a checkout person who can even crack a smile!

And before someone tells me you cant beat your local tackle #I used to own one in Townsville and no matter how loyal your customers are they will still go to BCF's and Amarts and then come back and screw you ::)

One #of our local tackle shop owners has told me to shop around, then come and see him. Perhaps he enjoys being screwed :-X

We Aussies seem to be turning into a pack of whingers and want want want, especially service that doesnt exist anymore.

I wouldn't call it whinging, people have merely expressed their opinions.... some good, some bad.

The days of good service in any store has gone by the way side, and its all caused by todays modern society, fast pace and the all mighty dollar.

What a shame that in the process modern society has wiped the smile from the faces of so many employees :-(

Except for the small stores, where good service is required to keep loyal customer and the cash register ticking over, otherwise they are swept away by the big conglomerants, and there isnt too many these days that can compete with bigger store prices.

I'm prepared to try the big stores as well as the small, but in the end I'll drive out of my way and even pay extra $$'s if I know I am going to get servce with a smile.

Perhaps instead of clicking their fingers (these super stores) to produce staff that are conversant or experience, they could try interviewing candidates best for the job, (maybe those that are aged between 35 and 65 instead of saving wages on hiring junior staff, surely what they lose in wages for aged experience, they would gain in sale).

I prefer to see a blend of seniors and juniors in any store... the juniors have to start somewhere. We can only hope the seniors train them up right :-)

--
Bev

13-01-2006, 10:35 PM
[<snip>

but in the end I'll drive out of my way and even pay extra $$'s if I know I am going to get servce with a smile.

Here's the petrol money, I'll be in the shower ;) ;D

kev <with a big smile (amongst other things)> ;D

Figjamm
14-01-2006, 12:11 AM
[<snip>

but in the end I'll drive out of my way and even pay extra $$'s if I know I am going to get service with a smile.

kev <with a big smile (amongst other things)> #;D

How's your after sales service and gimme a look at your refund policy.... for that kinda drive I wanna be sure that satisfaction is guaranteed! #;)

14-01-2006, 12:22 AM
[<snip>

but in the end I'll drive out of my way and even pay extra $$'s if I know I am going to get service with a smile.

kev <with a big smile (amongst other things)> #;D

How's your after sales service and gimme a look at your refund policy.... for that kinda drive I wanna be sure that satisfaction is guaranteed! #;)

Speaking of after sales service.............I could murder a ciggy! :'(

This, after lecturing Troy ::)

Enjoy your sojourn, and here's hoping the mozzies stay away.

Figjamm
14-01-2006, 05:49 AM
[quote author=ColacGirl link=1136774559/120#131 date=1137161509

Speaking of after sales service.............I could murder a ciggy! :'(
This, after lecturing Troy ::)

Ah, so you were really offering me petrol money to bring you a ciggy, or two or three ;-)

Enjoy your sojourn, and here's hoping the mozzies stay away.

Will do.... mozzies & crabs seem to go together, so we'll spray ourselves, put up the screens and hope for the best. #:) Ross has to work this a.m so we'll miss the morning high tide for accessing the new spot :-X .... will have to make do covering old ground.

14-01-2006, 07:57 AM
Bev,

LMAO at your reply to Kev. What a comeback !! Brilliant !!

14-01-2006, 09:51 AM
[<snip>

will have to make do covering old ground.

That's what I think at bedtime............one of these days she'll wake up ;) ;D

14-01-2006, 10:07 AM
That's why I enjoy this site so much !! The funny and witty comments !!

I'll have to show this little exchange to wife when she gets home. She's gone shopping at Capalaba. Might see her tomorrow.

14-01-2006, 10:18 AM
Maybe she's shopping at BCF the TOL!!! ;D

And Cola - VERY nice response! 8-)

14-01-2006, 10:41 AM
Hi Dan,

If she's shopping at the BCF, I hope she brings home a TLD 25 !! By the way, did you see that post where somebody's wife bought him a TLD 50 2 speed? BCF had one there last week. $750.00 !!!!!

Loved the post about the interview.

14-01-2006, 10:46 AM
A corker Dan. ;D

BAIT_MAN
14-01-2006, 12:04 PM

I have sat back and watched this thread from the time it was posted on the 9 january and some of the comments have surprised me. So i thought i would give you a locals point of veiw.
1: Who is there at 5am in the morning on weekends when you need to go fishing. YOUR LOCAL
2: Who is there at 7pm at night on weekends when you need to go fishing. YOUR LOCAL
3: Who can tell you of the top of his head the tide times for the day. YOUR LOCAL
4: Who has all the local knowledge on whats biting. #YOUR LOCAL
5: Who can you go to and have a chat about your last fishing trip. YOUR LOCAL
6: When your rod and reel need to be fixed where do you go. YOUR LOCAL
7: When you need info on size and bag limits who do you ask. YOUR LOCAL

Our very lively hood comes from you the public and we have to surply a service second to none.
I am not saying just surport your local go to BCF and others and check out their prices but always ask your local if he or she can match the price or better still bet it before you buy. You will never know if you dont ask. Just remember that your local may have been in your area for 5.10.20 + years and if so the are there because they have given you the public a service that you expect.

Commodore
14-01-2006, 01:22 PM
Got any Mullet Gut?? ;D ;D

gunna
14-01-2006, 02:03 PM
Being new to the Sunny Coast I am yet to find the tackle shops. I needed kids life jackets the other day and went to Whitworths. The initial treatment by one young female assistant had me seething and I almost walked out till a more mature sales person helped me with the purchase. Not happy with Whitworths.

Went to a fishing tackle store in Nicklin Way and purchased some kit. Asked about Pumistone Passage and got a very gruff "woudn't have a clue" answer from the older sales person. That store is now out.

Walked into BCF the other day and nearly wet myself at the range of gear. Couldn't care less at the age of the sales people or knowledge after the afore-mentioned tackle shop experience. If I need more advice I ask on here. To get boating, camping & fishing with such a wide range of stock is great IMO. Haven't bought enough to worry about prices yet but we will see if they negotiate when that time comes.

kirin
14-01-2006, 06:50 PM
Know a guy who is a supplier to BCF. Has already been told (indirectly by staff) that his product will be replaced by a "BCF" brand made in China. This is exactly what Super Cheap did years ago. Who wants to buy a replica that is going to fall to pieces. Can imagine the warranty......

Rod_Bender
14-01-2006, 07:13 PM
This is a sad way many business's are turning too - why = because customer's are continually demanding cheaper prices. Cheaper prices come from cheaper made products. How often i am standing in a resister line listening to people ask for a Def Com discount or discount in general. What other chain can bring all their gear under the one roof and satisfy 100% of their customers. Imported products are a fact in many business's. How else do business's pay their large bills, rent, marketing, wages, insurance etc etc. The problem is linked heavily to society, not a business issue at all!!! Retail outlets only sell products that their customer's are demanding, otherwise they would never sell a thing. After all, they provide the range, its your choice at the end of the day.
Rod Bender.

Hakunamatata
14-01-2006, 08:24 PM
My partner was reading some of the feedback regarding bcf, and I'd like to offer a females point of view-
I visited our local bcf store in search of the perfect Christmas present for my partner. Thankfully we'd been in together the week before and I roughly knew what he liked. After waiting over 10 minutes in the tackle box section, I had to track someone down at the front of the store for help. The response I got was "Our tackle bags are down the back near the beach rods" and something about they were all much the same. The young man then proceeded to walk over to an older man nearby to help him with fishfinders - leaving me to fend for myself in an area I know very little about! >:(Feeling a little peeved, I walked up to the front counter and asked the young lady if there was anyone who could give me some customer service, or my partner would not be getting a Christmas present! She quickly found me an older man who was more than happy to talk me through the various choices - and yes - my partner got himself a tacklebag for Christmas. ;D

Katie

luress
14-01-2006, 08:35 PM
Kirin, They had a meeting with all suppliers and told them they are going to do that, but will still have the good brands.They don't have to look far most overseas lures are bought in china and sold to anyone who wants them, some reels and rods are the same just put your own sticker on.
Colacgirl
Strange policy your local shop telling you to shop around , human nature makes you go back to the cheapest spot all the time ::)
regards gary

Bosunsmate
15-01-2006, 08:30 PM
On the price point I bought a Shimano BC200 with matching Shimano rod for $89 from Eddie Riddles Pro Tackle here in Townsville, the same reel on a cheap Ugly look-a-like was $99 at BCF, many other reels were also 10 to 20 dearer than the locals, so much for bulk buying power.

The tackle prices are not too much to get excited about thats for sure. I suppose the range and convenience of one-stop shopping is there, as I stated in my earlier post I had no pros with staff or their knowledge here in the Townsville store, but I would still shop at the local for anything other than bulk leads etc wich I usually get when K-Fart has their 30% sale....Lay-By is a great way to get a years supply in one hit without having to have the $$$$ there and then.

16-01-2006, 10:56 AM
I know this isnt to do with the tackle shop but
I was in LORNE (start of the great ocean road tourism route) on satuerdfay and went into the LORNE PIER SEAFOOD SHOP think I may get a feed of fish and chips to eat whilst on the road. Walked in the door and asked the retailer if they sold what I was after or I was probable in the wrong shop (had some very nice looking fresh fish, cooked cray, prawns etc), Explained I was just after fish and chips. As I walked out the door, just outside (had them hangy fly stopper hanging in the door) he preceded to call me an imbosole. Blaze being Blaze, hot, hungry went straight back into that shop and told him IN A VERY POLITE WAY what a tasmanian thought of his comments and lack of respect for customers.

BigE
16-01-2006, 04:17 PM
been away for awhile and missed 1/2 the fun ....... local BCF (browns plains) has givin good service & saved some bucks .... the manager Mark has been more than helpful, some of the younger staff need to learn a bit. .............. as for employing only older staff, anyone who has employed on a large scale will know, that's just not legal ( & i don't think BCF made that law) as for young staff not knowing the answer to every Q? in the world , if you want that talk to YOUR teenage son or daughter i'm sure they will provided some pearls of wisdom for you to grasp, my teenagers know everything just ask em. as for price buy it , haggle , or go someplace else, but for god sake don't winge.

my 2c E

muzz30
16-01-2006, 06:31 PM
I have read through this post again and saw many people that stood up for BCF blamed BCF's poor service & high price's on that it's a new store well hey i use to work in my old mans store in Darwin it had nothing to do with fishing it was all automotive but it had something in common we both relied on customer's and once the doors are open from the first day of trading your goal is to survive meaning you have to show the customer your interested in them and are willing to listen they appreciate it if you leave your post to help them out hell know's you might make a dollar it might not be much to you but hey to the customer they have had trouble free service and are going to remember this so next time they appear you might make a $1000.00 or more i took pride in looking after my customers they were my bread and butter i seem to think these days the young ones have it to easy they get a wage for looking after themselves.

MikeC
16-01-2006, 08:05 PM
No complaints about my local BCF good range and personally I like being left alone to browse. We picked up an inflatable boat [shop-soiled] for $120 less than the list price and also some arbogast jitterbugs at $5 each - a great saving!
Since then, though, we've found that Sundown Marine has far better prices on new inflatables >:( We bought nav. lights and trailer lights at Sundown, and Jason gave us a good discount coz of my Ausfish membership, and no-one else will do that! Well done Sundown Marine!

trueblue
23-01-2006, 11:59 AM
I just had a look through the new store at Keperra the other day. Won't see me back there!

Many prices were double, yes DOUBLE, what I could get same product for elsewhere if I looked hard enough and waited for common specials.

I just can't afford to pay over $500 for a reel that I know I can get elsewhere for in the order of $260.

I mentioned this to the guy behind the counter, and he just said "so what - go and get it at the other place".

nodjule
23-01-2006, 12:33 PM
I rang the Townsville shop last Friday after price and availability of a certain item, when I called I was put trough to the fishing section, after a wait of 10mins I was greeted with Quote "what do you want" unquote, to which I replied a bit of phone ettiquite, after fighting myself not to hang up I got the price for the said item and it was nearly twice the bloody price I could get the item at another local store. >:( >:(

fish2eat
23-01-2006, 01:38 PM
Walked around the Cannon Hill store yesterday, there were about the same numbers of customers as staff, about 5 each

I was looking for a couple of vidoes I want for my Birthday, but was also doing a general cruise of the whole shop. Went past all of the 5 staff at some stage, not one of them even looked at me, let alone asked if they could be of assistance.

Won't last long like that, there could be some massive specials coming up when the nean counters review the first half year cash flow....

P.S there were very few special prices, almost none!!!!!!!

masterdusky
23-01-2006, 03:52 PM
I found the sales staff to be terrible..LOL asking them about one thing I got a rundown on something completely different that wasnt even related...stock was OK but Ill continue to support my local tackle stores....:D

DR
23-01-2006, 05:26 PM
you know what they say...
'employ a teenager now, while they know everything' :)

Barrymundi
23-01-2006, 06:59 PM
I just spent the weekend at Airlie Beach. two tackles stores, service was crap, one old boiler behind the counter "grunted" I guess that was "hello"

Al

Burley_Boy
23-01-2006, 09:01 PM
I have been impressed with what Bob Thorn has done with Supa Cheap. Don't get me wrong there I won't buy anything there due to the lack of quality I've experienced, but he took that company and made it a successful enterprise. The thought was to go the same way with BCF. Buy up some existing camping shops, rebrand, open new stores then flood them with cheaply sourced goods. Very much along the lines of Supa Cheap and they have done well.

What the difference with the local tackle shop is is how the business came about. My local was created by a keen fisherman who has grown his shop and instills his philosophy into the staff he employs (both young and old). BCF has not got a store wide culture thus the response will vary from shop to shop and staff member to staff member. Its grown not slowly and out of profits but due to heavy investment being pumped in and a massive imflux of new staff.
Bobs exit leaves me wondering what other reasons there were as well.

I've been at my local (Labrador) a few times and I must say the only advantage is the Bunnings convenience of plenty of products but the staff approach and general store approach has not been enough to make me want to go back even though its my closest shop and I pass it every day.
My business relies on customer service but possibly BCF do well with higher prices making up for not getting repeat business of certain types of customer but I do seriously wonder if it will be another success story. I'm guessing not but thats only based on my local store experience.

23-01-2006, 09:13 PM
I went to the Labradore one on the weekend. Got to the check out with a queen self inflating matress under one arm & a fold up camp bed under the other. Looked around & spotted 2 mothers meetings going on. Said to the wife, this is the problem with this place, can't give your money away.

Finally got served & get asked what the product is, the brand name & the size so the girl cantry & find it in the computer. No luck there, so 3 calls over the blower for someone to get a price check.

Finally get one & then I'm told what I have picked up is not what I wanted. I should have grabbed the bag that was 4 inches longer for the jumbo camp stretcher, so off again she goes to get one.

Talk about a painfull!!!!

No need for me to go back anytime soon.... thank god!

23-01-2006, 09:51 PM
I get to talk to a few builders around the traps and it is becoming more and more painfull to hear them whinge about the service or lack of it from bummings. In the next breath they say " but where else around here can you get this stuff". It seems that this company has done what bcf is trying to do. Provide a one stop fishing shop. The little bloke cant compete and goes belly up. I for one will continue to support my local because I would hate to see the day when the only place to get some gear is bcf, bummings etc. I have found a good thing and will stick to it. Bought a tld 25 from local 185. Next week bcf 179. Still I am happy :)

cannon
23-01-2006, 10:39 PM
I am keeping my identity to myself with this post. Going as far to register under another e-mail adress and user name for what I am about to write. I have been in the tackle industry now for some time, and have worked for most of the major players in this country. I know many of you in this forum personally and by chatting to you on this and many other forums that I am a member of. I have read all of these posts, and despite whether I agree or disagree with the BCF concept of chain store fishing tackle, I have this to say on behalf of all the BCF employees that most of you are slinging of for age and knowledge. In fact I say it on behalf of anyone in the tackle trade that are too polite and professional to say it out loud. Maybe these kids are young and dont know too much, but have you tried to get into the tackle trade yourselves? It is almost impossible as all stores previous to BCF were family owned buisnesses, where you had to be related or wait for someone to die to get a job in what you love doing. These kids are young, but you expect them to know more than yourselves who have spent a lifetime learning. Wake up to yourselves, I know alot of you out there, and believe me, you are not as smart as what you all think. You come into tackle stores all over the country thinking that you are red hot fishos, still thinking that Ugly Sticks are the best rods on the planet, and ABU's are the best reels ever made, and spewing over a $100 combo that in your mind is too expensive an outfit. Its true what they say, 90% of the fishermen catch 10% of the fish, and 10% of the fishermen catch 90% of the fish. I have been in tackle now for many years, and served hundreds of thousands of you, and I am fed up with your crap thinking that you know everything. The majority of you out there dont know sweet F.A. and no matter how many forums you subscribe to, no matter how many boat stickers you put on your boats, and no matter how many fishing clothes you put on your back, you will still be part of that 90% of fisherman that only catch 10% of the fish. Do I agree with chain store tackle- no. But I remember how hard it was to get into the tackle industry, and if BCF is going to open the doors for some young and upcoming fishos, then god bless. And to you members from other tackle stores (and you know who I am refering too), stop fueling this debate with B.S. If your shop is so much better than BCF because of your knowledge being better than theirs, then you shouldnt feel threatened by them. Serve your customers, as I will continue to do, with good knowledge, service and advice, and let BCF go and be what it will be.

24-01-2006, 01:39 AM
ahhhhh cannon....seems like someone has the cat by the tail. I don't recall anyone saying they are a great fisho. All the majority want is some good old fashioned service and some prices on products. It does not matter if it is BCF or any other store...no one likes being ignored if they are shopping and everyone likes to see some prices if they are considering buying. If BCF want to use their store for training kids in the boating, camping and fishing retail industry that is fine by me...just don't expect me to be there. I will go to a tackle store when I can get "good knowledge, service and advice." I will not go to a training school for kids in the retail industry where it appears the customer is an inconvenience to said staff.

24-01-2006, 07:56 AM
no wonder you want to remain anonymous with a post like that cannon and have registered a new name to post this. Doesn't say much for you personal integrity and intestinal fortitude to me.

And I s'pose you plan to go on using you other avtar like nothing has happened? Spineless!

You'd better make up your mind tho - is it "The majority of you out there dont know sweet F.A. and no matter how many forums you subscribe to, no matter how many boat stickers you put on your boats, and no matter how many fishing clothes you put on your back, you will still be part of that 90% of fisherman that only catch 10% of the fish" or is it "yourselves who have spent a lifetime learning"

You can come back at me with whatever you like. At least you will know who it is you are writing to. I don't need a veil of secrecy.

Darryl
24-01-2006, 08:01 AM
"I have been in tackle now for many years, and served hundreds of thousands of you, and I am fed up with your crap thinking that you know everything. #The majority of you out there dont know sweet F.A. "

AND YOU SIR CAN KISS MY LILLY ASS... ;D :-*

Regardless if we think we know all, we pay your wage ..
As Pinhead said i wont go too any store that treats costumers like an inconvenience. #

24-01-2006, 08:57 AM
Cannon, me old spineless mate. You certainly fired off a barrel there. It's a shame though, that the bang sounds just like a damp squib ;D

I've said it before, and I'll say it again, "this medium gives everybody time to think about what they are saying, and then to read it back to themselves and check as to how it may sound to others, so there is little excuse for how a "tone" of a post comes across".

I hate to say it, but yours comes across as being just a little bit peeved at the folks who actually keep you in work. I would go so far as to say that "peeved" is being rather charitable. On reflection I think your post sounds that you actually *despise* the majority of fishos.

I think that if you took the time to consider this thread as a whole, then you would have to agree that the majority complaint is not that the staff have little knowledge but that they just don't seem to give a shit. This has absolutely no bearing whatsoever on the fact that the staff lack knowledge (not that that isn't a justifiable complaint). If the staff took the time to pay attention to their customers (a basic) then their lack of knowledge of their products would be amply compensated for by their courtesy. Nobody expects junior staff to be fully conversant with all the products on their floor but they do expect them to be fully conversant with the customer's needs to be valued. Or is it only the 10% of fishos who catch 90% of the fish to be valued?

The customer is not there to provide a training opportunity for a junior, and is certainly not there to give an opportunity for the juniors to brush up on their "I'm a teenager, I can do what I want and ignore who I want" skills. The kids at MacDonalsds would put the BFC kids (at my local store)to shame in their approach to customers.

This is absolutely nothing to do with whatever it is that you perceive it to be, as your post (to me) sounds simply like a broadside attack on the 90% of fishos who appear to piss you off. It is about common courtesy and the generally accepted, and justified expectation of retail clients, that the retailer have at least some basic knowledge of the products that they are retailing and that if not, then they are prepared to listen and learn. I think the consensus here is that this is not so at most bcf stores and as such, the clients have a right to voice their opinions without derisory comments from "masked avengers" who seem to miss the point completely.

If your post here is indicative of your general attitude to your clients then you have either lived a lie for too long and need to bale out now, or else thank whoever, that it is a miracle that you are still employed in the business.

kev (pissed off at 90% of staff who only know about 10% of their products and hate 90% of their customers)

We give advice, but we cannot give the wisdom to profit by it.

land_based
24-01-2006, 09:19 AM
I went to bcf yesterday and bought a new shimano bream rod, got it home, put my little silstar reel on it, and threaded the braid through the guides. I grabbed the end of the braid and pulled it down just to check the action of the rod **craaaaaaaack** the tip completely broke off. I quicly drove back to the store with reciept and rod in hand walked in and luckily my missus knows one of the girls that works there, she replaced it with a smile and i was on my way relieved. I was very happy with that.

boyzie
24-01-2006, 09:54 AM
about time someone told it how it really is !!!
good on ya cannon

HarryO
24-01-2006, 10:39 AM
Hi there, Cannon,

Tell me, being obviously a person with a (self stated) wealth
of knowledge and experience, and, with the benefit of anonaminity,
what do YOU think is the best rod and reel? and WHY?

Looking forward to your opinion...

Regards, Harry..

bushbeachboy
24-01-2006, 05:22 PM
Harry,
Get with the program mate. The best rod is an Ugly Stick and the best reel is an Abu. Oh, hang on a minute, 90% of what I think say and do is $h1t. So is the other 10%. But somehow my cash is ok.
Cheers mate.

cannon
24-01-2006, 07:10 PM
I went to bcf yesterday and #bought a new shimano bream rod, got it home, put my little silstar reel on it, and threaded the braid through the guides. I grabbed the end of the braid and pulled it down just to check the action of the rod **craaaaaaaack** the tip completely broke off. I quicly drove back to the store with reciept and rod in hand walked in and luckily my missus knows one of the girls that works there, she replaced it with a smile and i was on my way relieved. I was very happy with that.
There you go right there.........glad you are happy having the rod replaced, but so many of you "fishos"should know not to pull the rod down at that angle, they are designed to bend through the lenghth of the rod - like when a fish is on. Not being pulled down with rod in one hand, line in the other so it is only bending at the tip section, thats how they break. Thanks for pointing out how little knowledge some of you have.

cannon
24-01-2006, 07:13 PM
Hi there, Cannon,

what do YOU think is the best rod and reel? # and WHY?

Regards, #Harry..

There is no best rod stupid. It depends on what species you are chasing, what you are fishing with etc etc. Thanks again for more stupidity

cannon
24-01-2006, 07:16 PM
"I have been in tackle now for many years, and served hundreds of thousands of you, and I am fed up with your crap thinking that you know everything. #The majority of you out there dont know sweet F.A. "

AND YOU SIR CAN KISS MY LILLY ASS... ;D :-*

Regardless if we think we know all, we pay your wage ..
As Pinhead said i wont go too any store that treats costumers like an inconvenience. #
Sorry, you dont pay my wage. My knowledge and skill as an angler pays my wage. As for your ass......spend less time on forums and more time fishing, you never know, you might learn something

Darryl
24-01-2006, 07:18 PM
I am curious as too why you have to hide, if your such a respectable tackle shop guru why wouldn't you just say who you were?

Is it though fear of not getting our dollar?

muzz30
24-01-2006, 07:27 PM
Ow now your a charter boat legend too. ::) ;D

24-01-2006, 07:33 PM
[quote author=cannon link=1136774559/165#172 date=1138094211<snip>

Sorry, you dont pay my wage. #My knowledge and skill as an angler pays my wage. [/quote]

Bloody hell! paulez2 has morphed! ;D

One day, your life will flash in front of your eyes...Make sure it is worth watching.

cannon
24-01-2006, 07:36 PM
no wonder you want to remain anonymous with a post like that cannon and have registered a new name to post this. Doesn't say much for you personal integrity and intestinal fortitude to me.

And I s'pose you plan to go on using you other avtar like nothing has happened? Spineless!

You'd better make up your mind tho - is it "The majority of you out there dont know sweet F.A. and no matter how many forums you subscribe to, no matter how many boat stickers you put on your boats, and no matter how many fishing clothes you put on your back, you will still be part of that 90% of fisherman that only catch 10% of the fish" or is it "yourselves who have spent a lifetime learning"

You can come back at me with whatever you like. At least you will know who it is you are writing to. I don't need a veil of secrecy.

Before you insult my integrity, you might want to think about comments that you have made behind customers backs. Like I said, I have been around and know many of you, directly or indirectly. So now you can add to the list of negatives for BCF a two faced character. I hide my identity because I have many friends on this forum, who also believe as I do. I hide it to protect who I work for, people I know, and I posted the post because I am sick of whinging people like most of you. If you want help, bloody well ask for it, cause garunteed if every staff member of BCF or my store or anyone elses kept asking you if you needed help, you would all be on here whinging again that you were being harassed by a bunch of car salesmen. The truth hurts, and its showing through now. My message is this, evryone deserves a fair go, and you customers out there have definatley had yours. Try working in retail where you lot come in and treat us like dogs and slaves every day. The courtesy and respect that your here complaining about for lack of from BCF, have a look at yourselves. The majority of you are rude ignorant and ill mannered. Try saying please and thankyou for a change. And next time you want advice, just remember that normally you are asking it from someone who fishes a hell of alot more than you. Treat others as you want to be treated yourself. You the customer on alot of occasions treat us the retailer like crap. Just a pity we couldnt do it back. One of you commented that its time to get out, yes it is, for listening to a pack of whinging people like you that do nothing but complain, want advice for nothing- hard earned advice at that. You take all the credit when we put you onto the fish, and then come in and blame us when with the advice we have given you didnt work because you were half the angler you claimed to be. Live it up and enjoy the rest of your bitching session on this forum, Im going fishing, I will think of all of you tapping away at your keyboards while I am pulling in the fish that laughed at you. Regards and a fond final farewell.......

longtail
24-01-2006, 07:51 PM
went to my local BCF on sunday , had a bit of a look around and was shocked when i saw the prices in the reel cabinet $160 for a tss4 #:o spoke to the manager told him that i could go to that ######### store and get the same reel for $125 his reply , 'go for it , i don't care' # :o

won't be back
i will continue to support my local tackle shop and springwood marine

jason

ps- cannon , what is your affiliation with BCF???

Darryl
24-01-2006, 07:54 PM
Betcha that wont be all your pulling. ::) ::) ;D

What a legend. :-/

westie
24-01-2006, 07:57 PM
Wow this is getting spicy.
I am a 90% fisherman that caches fish 5% of the time, with that adverage am I an under adverage fisherman #;D ;D

And my name is not ........Danny Crane

24-01-2006, 07:59 PM
Least buying online, you don't have to put up with the garbage you're carrying on about.

Just a shame your not man enough to post under your usual name, scared of what your mates might think?

thumps
24-01-2006, 08:01 PM
this reminds me of a certain mountain climbing 2 marlin catching semi retired someone ::)

maybe its just me...i dunno :-?

masterdusky
24-01-2006, 08:04 PM
Gotto agree with some of the commens here,Heath I too have witnessed the mothers meetings at the labrador store...am sure the repeat customer business is non existent... :D

skippa
24-01-2006, 08:10 PM
I just spent the weekend at Airlie Beach. two tackles stores, service was crap, one old boiler behind the counter "grunted" I guess that was "hello"

Al

Yep Al, think I know that store, I've been in there ...... once .... >:(

Barrymundi
24-01-2006, 08:15 PM
Now I have two posts to laugh at each time I get online.

Well done boys. Remember play nice or Mr Brown will delete the post. :)

Al (I shop at BCF)

24-01-2006, 08:17 PM
this reminds me of a certain mountain climbing 2 marlin catching semi retired someone ::)

maybe its just me...i dunno :-?

Could well be right Thumps.

Let's give him a test.

How do you spell gimbal ! ;D ;D ;D

Rod_Bender
24-01-2006, 08:24 PM
WELL SAID CANON. As for everyone, we all hide behind some form of hidden identity. To call him spineless is a bit rough!!!

He provided his own opinion and clearly stated his intention to hide his identity. Really, I think he is speaking for the majority! After all, with only a couple of hundred views stated, does this really reflect the average fishing person? Sitting on a keyboard winging about service – its not the “typical/average” fisher person to me. Every time I have walked into a BCF store in NQ, it’s packed. If I wanted some assistance I asked! I didn’t try and seek a young teenage person for his comments about my Marlin Skirt. I was realistic and went to the service desk and asked the young lady to call someone after I explained what I was after and it’s a technical query. She then called the fishing specialist. Turns out he formerly worked at a local tackle store.

In any industry, people talk shit. I have been given incorrect advice from my mechanic, my tyre fitter, boiler maker, etc etc. But I don’t sit on here and whinge about it.

What is this world coming too?

As for Canon’s comments about BCF’s opposition making sly comments on here to degrade BCF, how low is that? As a business minded person, the minute your focusing on another firm, your taking critical time away from your own business.

After all BCF make some claim to have 1000 rods, lures and reels or something, How is it possible for each staff member to fully know about each product?

If there’s something I hate, its people with negative attitudes. Help the young lad next time and make him smile by teaching him something, not belittling him in front of him by his lack of knowledge. After all, without these big box type shops, TLD’s etc would still be priced in excess of $250. Now who’s complaining? And as one former tackle store owner said “All people do is come back to the small independent players and try and screw them on price anyway.”

With so many products in the one store, how can it be possible to have the best price 100% of the time? Most specials from any store are more often then not at like cost price plus 5% if that!!

Go and open your own store, recruit 100 staff, train them, pay them, deal with whinges, and then come back on here and provide feedback. Theres nothing worse when people tribble on topics such as bad service when they probably have never even trained anyone in there life.

Full mark’s to Canon!!!!!

Roddy

Scott15
24-01-2006, 08:35 PM
I just had a look through the new store at Keperra the other day. Won't see me back there!

Many prices were double, yes DOUBLE

I just can't afford to pay over $500 for a reel that I know I can get elsewhere for in the order of $260.

I mentioned this to the guy behind the counter, and he just said "so what - go and get it at the other place".

Which reel was this?? and do you remember who you talked to behind the counter

24-01-2006, 08:46 PM
Wholly Cow!

Lot's of good reading here, but I think I know who the Cannon is......And it'll stay secret because I know that in your work circumstance you are thinking responsibly for your business.. but you sound a lot like the guy who was rather cheesed off and hostile that I would even dare mention I had done the rounds and visited other retail outlets, but came back to you for a bit of a chat and "negotiation." It's not about who knows more about fishing. Who cares if you actually know more about getting more fish. Geez, if anyone carries that yard stick around and measures life up to that, my advice to anyone is " get a life" and seek help before it poisons you. You will see the syptoms (wife complains the grass has rabits hiding in it, or the dog has forgotten who you are and bites you, ;D) This is something about what value we put on "Intellectual Property." Cannon, I empathize that generally we are all driven by greed, and shop around for the best price possible to make our dollar go that little bit further. As I am also in the retail ( I.T ) industry, sometimes I spend ages explaining a sophisticated I.T solution to someone, only to have them turn around and give all of my information to a competitor who dumps a mere 5% profit margin on it, and spends no time with the client at all, and could not give a toss about whether any of the equipment fails. I lose respect for the client who does this and looks at only the price ticket on the item, not what value I can add for my knowledge, especially if I am the bunny who explained it in the 1st place. Can't please everyone, and every type of retailer will have their customers, but loyalty goes both ways, and most of the responses here are crying out for respect, some need to look that word up in the dictionary.

juicyfruit
24-01-2006, 08:47 PM
You come into tackle stores all over the country thinking that you are red hot fishos, still thinking that Ugly Sticks are the best rods on the planet, and ABU's are the best reels ever made

Well before purchasing my Ugly Stik and Abu Reel, I asked several local tackle shop guys (the ones that work so hard, from the bottom, that they now own their own business) what was the best rod and reel for my needs....all said Ugly and Abu.....unfortunately when I went to BCF to ask their valid opinion, they were all too busy avoiding customers and talking amongst themselves....go figure.

Happy and proud Ugly Stik and Abu owner

Juicy

P.S. Could be wrong, but I believe you may be breaking Ausfish agreement by signing in under a different I.D. and email? Not to mention, in this case, it is undermining the credibility of your word in each of your post.....but each to their own I guess :)

Darryl
24-01-2006, 08:51 PM
Well had cannon come in with a better attitude he might have come out the otherside with a bit of respect.

Had he had not belittled people from his first post he might have gained a little respect also. I'm afraid in my world i dont listen to people trying to make a point by name calling and carrying on like a 2 bob watch.

As for BCF, never shopped in one, will i? Yeah of course i will go and see what they have to offer no problembo. I dont expect the young blokes/girls that work in them too roll out the red carpet for me for christ sakes..

Had cannon made his point without insults i wouldn't have posted, but if his sales staff act like him it's no wonder he is feral. ;D ;D

cannon
24-01-2006, 09:17 PM
WELL SAID CANON. As for everyone, we all hide behind some form of hidden identity. To call him spineless is a bit rough!!!

He provided his own opinion and clearly stated his intention to hide his identity. Really, I think he is speaking for the majority! After all, with only a couple of hundred views stated, does this really reflect the average fishing person? Sitting on a keyboard winging about service – its not the “typical/average” fisher person to me. Every time I have walked into a BCF store in NQ, it’s packed. If I wanted some assistance I asked! I didn’t try and seek a young teenage person for his comments about my Marlin Skirt. I was realistic and went to the service desk and asked the young lady to call someone after I explained what I was after and it’s a technical query. She then called the fishing specialist. Turns out he formerly worked at a local tackle store.

In any industry, people talk shit. I have been given incorrect advice from my mechanic, my tyre fitter, boiler maker, etc etc. But I don’t sit on here and whinge about it.

What is this world coming too?

As for Canon’s comments about BCF’s opposition making sly comments on here to degrade BCF, how low is that? As a business minded person, the minute your focusing on another firm, your taking critical time away from your own business.

After all BCF make some claim to have 1000 rods, lures and reels or something, How is it possible for each staff member to fully know about each product?

If there’s something I hate, its people with negative attitudes. Help the young lad next time and make him smile by teaching him something, not belittling him in front of him by his lack of knowledge. After all, without these big box type shops, TLD’s etc would still be priced in excess of $250. Now who’s complaining? And as one former tackle store owner said “All people do is come back to the small independent players and try and screw them on price anyway.”

With so many products in the one store, how can it be possible to have the best price 100% of the time? Most specials from any store are more often then not at like cost price plus 5% if that!!

Go and open your own store, recruit 100 staff, train them, pay them, deal with whinges, and then come back on here and provide feedback. Theres nothing worse when people tribble on topics such as bad service when they probably have never even trained anyone in there life.

Full mark’s to Canon!!!!!

Roddy #

Thankyou. Obviously someone who has worked in the industry

24-01-2006, 09:20 PM
Rodbender said:

"He provided his own opinion and clearly stated his intention to hide his identity. Really, I think he is speaking for the majority! After all, with only a couple of hundred views stated, does this really reflect the average fishing person? Sitting on a keyboard winging about service – its not the “typical/average” fisher person to me. "
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Are you for real? Did you read his post properly? Apparently, what *you're* saying *doesn't* reflect The average fisho, in his eyes! He shows nothing but contempt for 90% of fishos and do you really believe that the other 10% keep him in employment?

Wake up for Ch***'s sake! The days of the whingeing pomm are gone. It's the right of everyone (Australian and Pomm alike) to voice their displeasure at what they consider to be "short thrift". I honestly don't see where those who disagree are coming from. If you don't voice concerns then nothing changes and you continue to receive crap service. You get it from your pollies, precisely because of this attitude.

Fair do's to those who have found satisfactory service but bollocks to those who think that those that have found shit service, shouldn't voice their displeasure.

Get real or go under. The post's that have been posted here should be seen as constructively critical (or not) and should never have been "personalised" by this ###### who hasn't got the balls to front up.

If I've found shit service (despite having mates in the shop) then I'm gonna speak up, and oarlocks to those who see it as "whingeing".

One of the most important things in communication is to hear what is not being said. (Peter Drucker)

cannon
24-01-2006, 09:21 PM
Wholly Cow!

Lot's of good reading here, but I think I know who the Cannon is......And #it'll stay secret because I know that in your work circumstance you are thinking responsibly for your business.. # #but you sound a lot like the guy who was rather cheesed off and hostile that I would even dare mention I had done the rounds and visited other retail outlets, but came back to you for a bit of a chat and "negotiation." #It's not about who knows more about fishing. #Who cares if you actually know more about getting more fish. #Geez, if anyone carries that yard stick around and measures life up to that, my advice to anyone is " get a life" and seek help before it poisons you. #You will see the syptoms (wife complains the grass has rabits hiding in it, or the dog has forgotten who you are and bites you, ;D) This is something about what value we put on "Intellectual Property." #Cannon, I empathize that generally we are all driven by greed, and shop around for the best price possible to make our dollar go that little bit further. #As I am also in the retail ( I.T ) industry, sometimes I spend ages explaining a sophisticated I.T solution to someone, only to have them turn around and give all of my information to a competitor who dumps a mere 5% profit margin on it, and spends no time with the client at all, and could not give a toss about whether any of the equipment fails. #I lose respect for the client who does this and looks at only the price ticket on the item, not what value I can add for my knowledge, especially if I am the bunny who explained it in the 1st place. #Can't please everyone, and every type of retailer will have their customers, but loyalty goes both ways, and most of the responses here are crying out for respect, some need to look that word up in the dictionary.

Well written. If you do know who I am, then you will know that I am a fair dinkum bloke, and you know that I say things how they are and dont try to butter them up

24-01-2006, 09:25 PM
rod bender you dont happen to know who cannon is do ya ::)

the few bcfers i know personally and fish with id be more than happy to deal with, they can even catch fish ;)

never shopped there, to many choices.

cannon
24-01-2006, 09:25 PM
Well had cannon come in with a better attitude he might have come #out the otherside with a bit of respect.

Had he had not belittled people #from his first post he might have gained a little respect also. I'm afraid in my world i dont listen to people trying to make a point by name calling and carrying on like a 2 bob watch.

As for BCF, never shopped in one, will i? Yeah of course i will go and see what they have to offer no problembo. I dont expect the young blokes/girls #that work in them too roll out the red carpet for me for christ sakes..

Had cannon made his point without insults i wouldn't have posted, but if his sales staff act like him it's no wonder he is feral. ;D ;D

To think I was not going to make another post. I respect your opinion, and my comments were never to the individual and I stand by them 110% as you would if you were in my shoes

24-01-2006, 09:28 PM
Rodbender..I have not been negative about BCF..I am very positive..I am positive i will not be going back there again.

Anyone can and will complain about bad service..we were all trained in jobs at some stage.
Cannot really complain about BCF's service...there isn't any. As for helping a kid out in their store...at Keppera, there was a teenager sitting on the floor restocking shelves..he did glance up for a second or two but went back to what he was doing...totally ignored everyone walking past him....maybe he was not involved in serving people but perhaps he should have been.

Yes..I do have my own business...Yes..I do train people....No..I do not let them loose on the general public until I am sure they know what they are doing.

In summary...BCF would have to be one of the worst stores, in any industry, I have been in.

cannon
24-01-2006, 09:34 PM
went to my local BCF on sunday , had a bit of a look around and was shocked when i saw the prices in the reel cabinet $160 for a tss4 #:o spoke to the manager told him that i could go to that ######### store and get the same reel for $125 his reply , 'go for it , i don't care' # :o

won't be back
i will continue to support my local tackle shop and springwood marine

jason

ps- cannon , what is your affiliation with BCF???

I have no affiliation with BCF, and personally will never have. I do not believe in another "Wall Mart" taking over Australia. My argument is that I know how hard it is to get into the tackle trade, and you blokes are up these 17 year old kids for not knowing what has taken us a lifetime to learn. As much as BCF hurts me financially, I credit them to starting off many young fishos dreams, I just wish I could employ so many keen young kids that want to turn fishing into a career.

Rod_Bender
24-01-2006, 09:42 PM
Mackmauler

Mate i wouldn't know anyone on here unless they gave their full name. I don't work in the fishing game, but i have worked in different retail outlets b4.

Kingtin

I fully take on board what your saying. But what really does whinging on here about BCF gonna do long term. Majority - referring to the 1000's of people who walk through their doors weekly. If you want better service, ask for it! If you want to be served, ask!!! Theres nothing worse then walking into a store such as a shoe store to be constantly asked, "can i help you!" Provide negative feedback to the store manager on the spot in far less time then it would take to turn your PC on and fire such a response.

I'll shop anywhere, but i love that BCF have everything under the 1 roof and they will match any advertised price.
Roddy

24-01-2006, 09:44 PM
Thanks Cannon,

I buy my tyres from the same place, I get my petrol from the same place. Last round of Tyres they gave me a spare for the box trailer and fitted it free of charge. The servo manager lets me wash the boat down late at night and run the motor in fresh water if I bring my own hose so I can sleep in the next morning and not have to worry about the salt drying on the duco or corroding the internals of the motor. I don't think I will whinge about the price of petrol there, so long as I am not being ripped of by significantly higher prices higher than anyone else. I am sure that you, if you represent the independant are willing to negotiate prices with me, which will appease my ingrained western society need to beat your prices down, so long as I respect your need to make a profit, which pays for your knowledge. Besides, you have proven to have EXACTLY the colour of plastics or lures I want!! Someone has to pay for that attention to detail!

Scott15
24-01-2006, 09:47 PM
I work at the Keperra store and yes i have had some people come in and complain about the service and yes i have followed that up. But from some of the replys some you you guys have posted, im not saying your lieing but i highly doubt it was that bad of a visit. When im on the floor i try my hardest to say g'day to as many as i can, and if not ill chase them down later lol. But seriously none of the guys at keperra are ever rude to customers and if they dont know something they find someone who can. No offence to anyone but if you come into the store and I or any of the other team members serve you and we have no idea on the product please dont go banannas or complain. Its bloody hard to know every single thing about every product in that store. We're learning as we go along. Dont hesitate to come up and say g'day, Ive now met a few ausfishers through work and everytime they seem to go home pretty happy, so i must be doing somehting right ;)

Cheers guys

Darryl
24-01-2006, 09:51 PM
Cannon, agreed your comments were not made to individuals, just us as a whole. I have been sitting on the fence about BCF as i haven't been to one yet to have a look. Obviously a new chain is going to have teething problems has to settle into the market.

I certainly would take into consideration Ausfishers comments on the store, but would still have to go find out for myself how my local one would operate. So in hindsight i dont think constructive critisism on this board is going to affect the yearly takings of BCF that much.

And myself having worked in hospitality most of my life on the Gold Coast has certainly copped my share of customers that expect you to do everything bar eat there meal for them, so of course i can see your side.

Please let it be known not all of us give a hoot about being a fishing god.Some of us do it for the R@R mate and dont give a crap about line honours.

24-01-2006, 09:52 PM
[<snip>

Well written. If you do know who I am, then you will know that I am a fair dinkum bloke, and you know that I say things how they are and dont try to butter them up

Wrong! You like to *think* of yourself as a fair dinkum bloke but it's obvous from your post that you have nothing but contempt for 90% of the fishos that you deal with. Considering that most fishos that I know are pretty average blokes, then to translate this outside the fishing sphere I would have to conclude that you have nothing but contempt for 90% of humanity, Fair Dinkum? I think not! Self righteous, pompous, and self opinionated more like.

Now *that's* "saying things how they are" :D

One of the most important ways to manifest integrity is to be loyal to those who are not present.

Zeeke
24-01-2006, 10:05 PM
I'll add more fuel to the fire ;D

Ive been to the BCF at Maroochydore once... big store.. all looked good.. staff looked friendly... i had a quick look around for what i was after, couldnt find it.. so i asked some upstart where the Bushmans was... i only needed some insect repellant.. so he showed me where it was.. and then with a really cheerful voice "Have you used this before??" .... well geez mate, i wouldnt have freakin asked for it if i hadnt used it before.. but yeh.. i go and reply nicely "yep, use it a fair bit" as i grabbed a big can of bushmans and a tube of rubon bushmans and he goes "Thats Super.. Thats ALL I use.. If you want extra protection you should use the rub on... all the while.. im standing there while this guy yaps on.. im holding my bushmans and tube of the rubon..... anyways.. thanked him for his service.. and went to the counter.. got served by this nice lady.. she goes "Bushmans... Have you ever used that before?" and im thinking.... yep.. freakin robots are taking over the world!! RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUN!!! and i did.. soon as all things were paid for i ran..

Having BCF is all well and good.. and i totally agree with a mate of mine cept for the age part.. but he told me this when he went in "I felt like a 5yr old with $2 in my pocket, but im a 40yr old and a sore bank account!"

We dont need a BCF... within 5mins walk, ive got camping, boating and fishing in the center of maroochydore supporting local business

24-01-2006, 10:28 PM
<snip>

Kingtin

I fully take on board what your saying. But what really does whinging on here about BCF gonna do long term. Majority - referring to the 1000's of people who walk through their doors weekly. If you want better service, ask for it! If you want to be served, ask!!! Theres nothing worse then walking into a store such as a shoe store to be constantly asked, "can i help you!" Provide negative feedback to the store manager on the spot in far less time then it would take to turn your PC on and fire such a response.

Roddy

Roddy, I'm sorry mate but you seem to be missing what I am fired about. It is *not* bcf. I think my comments about bcf were medicre comapred to some.

What I *am* fired about is some anonymous tosspot inferring that 90% of fishos are wankers and are not entitled to voice their genuine concerns. Read through the whole thread at once, consider what has been said, and then think about how this guy comes on and starts slagging off fishos in general just because he can't justify genuine complaint.

One will never reach distant shores, if he chooses to remain upon the dock, In fear his little ship of dreams may be dashed against the rocks.

Brett_Hoskin
24-01-2006, 10:37 PM
I like BCF on a really hot day cause they have airconditioning...hahaha

I visited a new store and they had ABU reels on"sale" $65.00 more than Fartmart 50 mts down the road.
I mentioned this to the #sales bloke and he said that Fartmart wern't being fair because one of their people #keeps an eye on the prices at BCF and then Fartmart are cheaper. #duh

He spent several minutes trying to justify why they had a 6500C3 Abu for $165.00

We didnt all come down in the last shower. #

They have a good selection however prices are far higher than many othere stores around town.

Burley_Boy
24-01-2006, 11:59 PM
Cannon, you need to retire and grab a jar of turbolax ;D

Rodbender, you say you hate negative people well a tirade from a chap who despises 90% of his customers is not what I call uplifting. I'm one of the more positive chaps that I know [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] with possibility thinking every step of the way, I'm also a businessman who has an interest in how businesses operate. Sure every business get a percentage of customers who we just don't click with but anyone with an open mind running a BCF shop could take away a lot from this discussion to improve his business and it certainly is not pricing.
The advantage a large BCF store has is if it has a clearly priced and ordered range, that gets the browsing chap happy (yes us who call bunnings boysworld) and it will satisfy plenty of people. Hopefully the stores get good management that know how to treat their staff well and build a great store culture and from this thread it looks like a few stores have, others are very early on in the piece and have plenty to learn.
Hopefully Cannon retires and doesn't pass on his style to the rest of the chaps in his shop.

ANYFISH
25-01-2006, 12:37 AM
I have no affiliation with BCF, and personally will never have. I do not believe in another "Wall Mart" taking over Australia. #My argument is that I know how hard it is to get into the tackle trade, and you blokes are up these 17 year old kids for not knowing what has taken us a lifetime to learn. #As much as BCF hurts me financially, I credit them to starting off many young fishos dreams, I just wish I could employ so many keen young kids that want to turn fishing into a career.

Hard facts mate!
Maybee if these 17 year old kids didn't have a 4 person meeting talking about what they did on friday night (wich was going out in toowoomba and getting on the grog)YES i was in the toowoomba store, then maybee i wouldn't have walked out of the store after waiting for them to finish there little conversation.

If it has taken you a lifetime to learn that you don't stand around talking about what happend last friday nigh't, then you had better let me know which tackle store you own/work in so i don't have the pleasure [smiley=hammer.gif]#to deal with you.
Anyfish

Rod_Bender
25-01-2006, 10:27 AM
I'm over this topic. At the end of the day, i too shop around. I love walking big shops with a huge variety. I'd rather spend 2 hours walking around BCF then a little 20 sq mt tackle store. Once again, i think Canon was spot on the money. Obviously, the store i explore on weekends has different views on BCF. I always find it full of people. Roddy

2iar
25-01-2006, 10:55 AM
Dont hesitate to come up and say g'day, Ive now met a few ausfishers through work and everytime they seem to go home pretty happy, so i must be doing somehting right ;)

Cheers guys

I can attest to this, and certainly can't complain about the service Scott provided (twice) on Saturday.

I've been to Keperra on quite a few occasions now (it's just up the road from me), and found the service pretty hit and miss. However, I'll keep an eye out for the young fella from now on, and another guy who has helped me in the past (I think it's Anthony, but not sure).

As I've said before, I wouldn't necessarily go there for price alone (though I managed to get a reasonable deal on a Pflueger at the weekend while after some Fireline) and probably not for the service though that's improving (see above), but it's the convenience of being much more local than my "local" tackle store and Sunday opening. I can also grab camping and boating stuff at the same time.

I reckon there's a market for both, but I'll remain loyal to the small guys whenever I can.

Good luck,

PS - Cannon, if you don't hold the courage of your convictions enough to let us know who you are, could you at least let us know where you work? I'd like to make sure I don't offend your sensibilities by making a purchase from you, and I'd also hate to think that you'd feel obliged to take my money, such is my lack of knowledge and skill. Thanks.

25-01-2006, 11:51 AM
Hi Thumps,

You could be right. Cannon sounds like the bloke who's caught 2 marlin, climbed Mt Everest and gone to the moon a few times. He also sounds a lot like that bloke who has a thing about 4WD's (Reggie, Ronnie, I think).

Crestcutter: I thought I'd draw your attention to a slight technical error you made in one of your posts mate. Since the 14th February 1966, it's "as silly as a 20 cent watch", not a 2 bob watch. Sorry about that.

thumps
25-01-2006, 12:00 PM
Hi Thumps,

You could be right. Cannon sounds like the bloke who's caught 2 marlin, climbed Mt Everest and gone to the moon a few times. He also sounds a lot like that bloke who has a thing about 4WD's (Reggie, Ronnie, I think).

Crestcutter: I thought I'd draw your attention to a slight technical error you made in one of your posts mate. Since the 14th February 1966, it's "as silly as a 20 cent watch", not a 2 bob watch. Sorry about that.

oh gawd......and i bet you remember the song too

lol

25-01-2006, 12:28 PM
Rod_Bender stated: "Once again, i think Canon was spot on the money."

Cannon stated:

"Wake up to yourselves, I know alot of you out there, and believe me, you are not as smart as what you all think. You come into tackle stores all over the country thinking that you are red hot fishos, still thinking that Ugly Sticks are the best rods on the planet, and ABU's are the best reels ever made, and spewing over a $100 combo that in your mind is too expensive an outfit. Its true what they say, 90% of the fishermen catch 10% of the fish, and 10% of the fishermen catch 90% of the fish. I have been in tackle now for many years, and served hundreds of thousands of you, and I am fed up with your crap thinking that you know everything. The majority of you out there dont know sweet F.A. and no matter how many forums you subscribe to, no matter how many boat stickers you put on your boats, and no matter how many fishing clothes you put on your back, you will still be part of that 90% of fisherman that only catch 10% of the fish."

Roddy, if you're convinced that Cannon is spot on the money, then does it also hold true that you have as much contempt for 90% of your fellow fishos as Cannon appears to?

He "knows a lot of us out there" and his view of us is gleaned from his personal dealings, obviously, so must be "spot on the money". <sarcasm> It's a pity he couldn't make that kind of statement to "us out there" as we were handing over the cash that keeps him in an employment that he appears to detest. His attitude reads something like, "You're a know all ######, who really knows #### all, and catches #### all. That Ugly Stick and Abu are absolute shit, compared to other stuff, and and that 100 dollar combo is actually underpriced but what the hell, I'll keep my mouth shut, pretend that you're on the button and just take your money. I can always slag you off when you're gone..........anonymously of course"

It's no big deal mate but I would just like to think that me being in the 90% 'n all that I wouldn't have to waste my time trying to answer any of your future posts. I mean, I know #### all and think crap anyway, so what would be the point?

Cannon, I really do feel sorry for you mate if this is how you view your "bread and butter" customers. Your working life must be really miserable.

Take care of your character and your reputation will take care of itself.

fish2eat
25-01-2006, 01:31 PM
yes, maybe a change of retail environment is something in order for Cannon

maybe a job in womens lingerie

propdinger
25-01-2006, 01:38 PM
yes, maybe a change of retail environment is something in order for Cannon

maybe a job in womens lingerie

why not he propably is already wearing them :o

i do believe that wasnt the best way to put your point across cannon
i for one love my abu and my ugly sticks ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

25-01-2006, 02:02 PM
Thumps,

I could always put the song in a PM to you if you wish.

25-01-2006, 02:05 PM
I wonder if he wears suspenders and fishnet stockings?

Thumps; does Juicy get done up in that stuff for you? :o

juicyfruit
25-01-2006, 02:06 PM
No need for that TOL. :)

He was about in those days and recalls the song well. ;D

As for me I wasn't even a twinkle in my fathers eye. ;)

Juicy

juicyfruit
25-01-2006, 02:12 PM
And as for part 2 of your question TOL.

LOL

I could reply several ways (on Thumps behave of course....only cause he is currently having his 'Grandpa's nap'),

But as I am a young innocent, you best be asking that question in PM, only, that is, if your pacemaker can handle it!!!!! ;D

Juicy

Oh I am in so much trouble when Thumps reads this

Darryl
25-01-2006, 02:33 PM
Apologies to TOL , i need to get with the times. :-/ ;D

25-01-2006, 02:54 PM
I wonder if he wears suspenders and fishnet stockings?

Thumps; does Juicy get done up in that stuff for you? #:o

Arse about face TOL. Thumps gets done up in that stuff for Juicy :o ;) ;D

The 50-50-90 rule: Any time you have a 50-50 chance of getting something right, there's a 90%
probability you'll get it wrong.

thumps
25-01-2006, 04:01 PM
the only reason i remember that song...is cause my MUM sang it alot when i was young >:(

as for a granpa nap.... >:(..i do belive im working tonight

as for the outfit.......maybe i do...maybe i dont...but i havent had a complaint yet :P

(must shave legs) ;)

bigmack
25-01-2006, 04:24 PM
Whoa what a thread - and animosity....................too boot

Its good to look around in there - all the staff are quite polite and leave you alone if you want - which is nice sometimes.

As far as casting aspersions on our old ugly sticks - a big bah humbug to you - it catches fish and more fish and my old Shimano Triton Mag still howls like a champion ............ Who cares if you dont have the latest and greatest gear - if its old and you like it and it works then it is the greatest rod and reel in the world (favourite gear I think its called). In the end I drop into about 4 different stores here on the Sunny Coast to have a look, have a chat - see whats going on and find out what everyone else is up to.

All kinds of stores for all kinds of people - dont get bent out of shape about it - just shop where you want.

Anyway - Im sure BCF is grateful for the publicity - just watch out when they special stuff off and get it if you want / OR Not!

5000 plus reads - jeez thats a lot of traffic!!!!

Philll

25-01-2006, 04:33 PM
Thumps,

I remember 14.02.66 very well; I was working in the National Bank in Innisfail then as a young man about town. There were 8 banks in town in those days: the Commonwealth, Bank of NSW, Commercial, Commercial Banking Co of Sydney, ANZ, ES & A, and 2 x National Banks.

A big armoured van backed right up to the bank's doors after closing time, guards with shotties jumped out, and we unloaded the new loot and put all the old stuff in the van.

Now Thumps, maybe you do and maybe you dont, so should I jump on the first flight to Mackay and find out?? :P I should warn you that I'll be bringing my heamorroid cream with me.

"Your mind is like a parachute; it must be open to function" (anon.)

Sorry Kev.

25-01-2006, 04:37 PM
[quote author=thumps link=1136774559/210#211 date=1138154447

oh gawd......and i bet you remember the song too

lol[/quote]

"Out with the pounds, the shillings and the pence"

that is the opening line....

part of the chorus was "on the 14th February, 1966"

sung to the tune of Click Go The Shears

I cannot remember the rest of it

juicyfruit
25-01-2006, 05:55 PM
`In come the dollars, in come the cents
Out go the pounds, the shillings and the pence
Better be prepared when the coins begin to mix
On the 14th of February, 1966.’

juicyfruit
25-01-2006, 06:00 PM
I do however recall the 1974 jingle.

'we have football meatpies kangaroos and holden cars'

Anyways, back to the main topic.

Yes Thumps has lovely legs.

Cloud_9
25-01-2006, 07:17 PM
BEEN THERE DONE THAT .
I'M SUPPORTING MY LOCAL TACKLE DEALER. NOT BCF.
Cloud 9

Cloud_9
25-01-2006, 07:19 PM
what about juicyfruit hows the legs?????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????

juicyfruit
25-01-2006, 07:40 PM
What do I think of Thumps legs?????

Well I think they are great, it stops his bum from dragging on the ground (wait ten more year and it will do this even with legs). However, I do wish he would stop clogging my razor with his follies.

Juicy

thumps
25-01-2006, 07:42 PM
Juicy's legs????

best set of earings i have ever worn ;)

BCF is ok in my book,,,they have a place

and that place is 35 klms away from me and my local tackle shop

Burley_Boy
25-01-2006, 10:05 PM
Now here's an added bonus in shopping at BCF. You can be sure you're not dealing with a d&^%#^#d like Cannon. ;D
Ok sorry mate, actually you're probably all ok and just had a bad day, week, decade etc etc etc.
BB :-*

Far_Canal
25-01-2006, 11:00 PM
I think alot of you really exagerate your opinions on BCF. IV been reading and theres a fair few that say there is absolutely no customer service at all, in all their visits they have not once been spoken to etc. Its a bit over the top i think. Everyone has to remember that its a massive store and the staff are expected to be knowledgable in all areas of the store so if they get caught up with a customer in boating, they obviously cannot monitor their own area. Also with the "all they do is stack shelves"....they really dont have a choice, so much stuff is being sold so they have to get more on the shelf.

Also most of you think you know everything about fishing so do you really need anyones help ? IM sure the majoprity of you dont want employees asking if ur right with your selection of plastics or lures or whatever, you know what you want, you know what catches wat etc.

At the end of the day most of you will have to shop there anyway because places like BCF will just take over.

HarryO
25-01-2006, 11:06 PM
Hi there, Cannon,

what do YOU think is the best rod and reel? # and WHY?

Regards, #Harry..

There is no best rod stupid. #It depends on what species you are chasing, what you are fishing with etc etc. #Thanks again for more stupidity

My my, we have touched an exposed nerve, havn't we?

Actually, it was a very clever question, and the
ONLY STUPIDITY displayed here was
YOUR FAILURE TO NOTICE it....

And judging by the kneeJERK juvenile "name calling"
response you posted tells me a lot more of your
character than you could imagine...

A "fair dinkum bloke?" Thats a joke!

"Calls things as they are?" Don't make me laugh!
You seem to call things as YOU see them,
and thankfully, most of us (the other 90%,oops)
clearly don't agree with you.

Not affiliated with BCF?

Finding it very difficult to believe that one,
but thats my opinion, and I'm entitled to that...

Sorry, Cannon, I hope you manage to reconcile
your differences with whoever it is that has made you
so bitter...

Tunzafun
26-01-2006, 01:09 AM
Guys (and Gals)

My experience has been that they are a superstore that can discount on bulk items. Watch the specials and you will pick up bargains (their recent tarp and tent pole specials were value for money). Generally their prices are comparative with other outlets but, I would still do price comparisons before buying. As for service on the North side, I find the Lawnton store better than Keppera and the staff more knowledgeable however, this may be experience and could improve with time. Overall, worth watching and specials can be a bargain but, compare prices before committing,

Ross

WHITTO
26-01-2006, 03:23 AM
Ahhh Cannon u son of a Gun, I might be putting the cat amongst the pigeons, I reckon it,s wait forrrr it Rexy Boy, or I could be wrong :D :D ::) ::) Whitto

dynamicspot
26-01-2006, 11:15 AM
dear as poison customer service non assistance still waiting on phone call from them on parts orderd 2 weeks ago went elseware for cheaper parts and better service

dynamicspot
26-01-2006, 11:16 AM
dear as poison customer service non assistance still waiting on phone call from them on parts orderd 2 weeks ago went elseware for cheaper parts and better service

Canoedle
26-01-2006, 11:31 AM
I think BCF is a great idea, but cheap they really aint, it's a big ask to have boating, fishing and camping covered comprehensively under one roof, saying that, I have only been to the camp hill store and it's not really that big. I found the range of fishing gear rather limited, no fly gear beyond a cheap combo hidden amongst some spinning outfits, very limited range of plastics and none of what I wanted was cheaper than you can get at any specialty outlet.

BENJI
26-01-2006, 11:53 AM
Dear as poison

26-01-2006, 02:07 PM
I think alot of you really exagerate your opinions on BCF. IV been reading and theres a fair few that say there is absolutely no customer service at all, in all their visits they have not once been spoken to etc. Its a bit over the top i think. Everyone has to remember that its a massive store and the staff are expected to be knowledgable in all areas of the store so if they get caught up with a customer in boating, they obviously cannot monitor their own area. Also with the "all they do is stack shelves"....they really dont have a choice, so much stuff is being sold so they have to get more on the shelf.

Also most of you think you know everything about fishing so do you really need anyones help ? IM sure the majoprity of you dont want employees asking if ur right with your selection of plastics or lures or whatever, you know what you want, you know what catches wat etc.

At the end of the day most of you will have to shop there anyway because places like BCF will just take over.

I tried to get someone to find out the price of a rod and reel combo...very few have prices on them. As the staff were having a chinwag at the front of the store I did not bother interrupting their fun times.

Once again, where do you get the idea that most think they know everything about fishing...if we did then there would be very few questions on these boards.

BCF will never take over..Woolies and Coles are there and so are the corner stores still...no one will get a monolopy on anything.

If you enjoy BCF so much, go right ahead and shop there..I din't care who shops there. I know I won't bother going there again.

seatime
27-01-2006, 05:38 PM
We're blessed here in the Redlands area of Brisbane. I've found the Capalaba BCF okay if you can get one of the old hands for service, but forget it on Saturday mornings (advise by new salesman - " if you really want to know how the functions on these Raymarine sounders work go to our Browns Plains store and see ....blah...blah...blah...", I'd been distracted by now by the small child beside me unwrapping a gaff). Leisure Marine at Capalaba are really helpful and offer good advise on boating gear (best on weekdays) and the prices seem comparable. If you want to talk fishing, dig through lures, and get resonably priced boating gear go to Wellington Point Marine. Buds Bait and Tackle at Cleveland cover most other fishing needs and have terrific custom rods and more advise, etc (I've got the "nine nines" 9' 9kg). regards

27-01-2006, 08:19 PM
I recently poped into a BCF, prices wernt to bad ... but the service was ordinary!

When possible I will support my local shop!!!

cannon
27-01-2006, 09:21 PM
I have just read the a " little less agro" post. For what its worth, I apologise for my insults earlier. If I could just ask for one grace, just remember customers in general are always complaining about something or another. It is almost non existant that a retailer gets to complain about poor custom. In 23 years in the tackle industry, this is the first outburst that I have displayed, and I formally apologise to you all.

Darryl
27-01-2006, 09:31 PM
I accept your apology, any chance of a free rod and reel?? ;D ;D

HarryO
27-01-2006, 10:08 PM
No worries, #Cannon...

It can be difficult to control the blood pressure at times..

and equally difficult is resisting the urge to bite back..

Be at peace, armed with the knowledge that after 20+
years of dealing with the #"public at large",
you qualify for a free pass to heaven when you die...

Did someone mention free rod'n'reel?

I'll have an Uglystik, and an ABU, thanks.. # #;) # ;) # :)

Huggy_B
27-01-2006, 10:40 PM
We dont have BCF here in Perth, or anything like it really. Closest we would have is ranger camping I guess, and they are usually pretty good.

I have found myself a great local, 5 minute drive from my place with knowledgable staff that are keen to impart knowledge and help you out. They look after me with pricing, so I am more than happy to go back there and spend my hard earned.

And while they dont have the range of some of the bigger tackle stores around Perth, they stock what they consider to be the better gear around. They wont stock something unless they field test it and think its worth stocking. Personally I find that more reassuring than staring at 580 baitcaster rods and having no idea other than a basic knowledge (or a staff member who has no idea also and will always point you to the most expensive one as the best). I like being served by someone who actually fishes.

A good tackle store is like finding a good hairdresser, worth their weight in gold.

gawby
27-01-2006, 11:10 PM
Cannon, I find you lack credability hiding behind your mirror. Any comments ive made on ausfish have been signed by me. I remember the post about fishing with pop, S H I T sturing was complained about, boy hasnt this had a bit of that. That post was supposed to have been put on by a fake as well. I dont have a high opinion of B C F.

Jucy Fruit, for the record.

In come the dollars and in come the cents
to replace the pounds the shillings and the pence
be prepaired folks
when the coins begin to mix
on the fourteenth of february 1966

The ditty was sung by Dollar Bill

Graeme

juicyfruit
28-01-2006, 09:28 AM
LOL

Cheers Graeme for that.

I had to do a search for it on the web.

pppssssstttttt.....its Thumps B'day on Monday, think that’s why he has been saying he is 'so old' lately, it’s a sensitive time for the old fart. It doesn’t help that I'm ten years his junior and love to tease him.

Juicy

chemmy
28-01-2006, 10:11 AM
First of all you all have to understand that most of the staff are new to the whole retail thing so they are still learning the basics just like me. So take it a bit easier on them by all means if the service is still the same in say six months then feel free to complain. And also all of the staff in the keperra store is shaping up now.