PDA

View Full Version : Trailer and car theft from Jacobs Well

tigermullet
13-01-2007, 07:57 AM
I am new to Ausfish and have been combing through the chat boards. It seems that there is still a sporadic problem with theft from Jacobs Well. I have not been game to leave my vehicle and trailer there overnight for many years.

One solution to the problem is to leave your vehicle and trailer at Horizon Shores or Maas Marina. I was a member of Maas Marina a couple of years ago when there was an annual charge of $200 for use of their facilities. I think the price is now around $300 but if you go fishing regularly, and particularly overnight, it is a bargain for the peace of mind that it gives. During the years that I was a member I did not have one problem. They also have fess suited for casual users - either by the day or by the week. I would still be a member but the long haul to Jacobs Well in a heavily loaded dinghy with a small motor got the better of me. In a south east wind everything was soaked on arrival at the Jacobs Well mooring.

My solution now is for my wife to take the vehicle and trailer home but then I go out regularly in the larger boat for between one week and a fortnight per trip. Such are the benefits of retirement.

When friends want to come out for a few days or a weeks fishing they generally use Maas Marina. In a fast boat it adds only a couple of minutes to the trip to the Pin.

I don't know if there will ever be a solution to the problem of theft at Jacobs Well. The Police are based at Beenleigh and I don't think that there are regular patrols. Not to bag the Police but their presence seems to increase in holiday times only for the purpose of checking of registration of trailers, boats etc.

The last horror report of police action that I heard a few weeks ago was that they booked one poor bloke for enjoying a stubby whilst dangling a line from the jetty. The fine was, from memory, $75.