View Full Version : 60lt drums
Any_Weather
30-04-2006, 08:11 PM
Guy's, does anyone know if people still use 60lt drums for anything. The reason I ask is I have been trying to get my hands on a couple for transporting fuel to Fraser Island for a fishing adventure. I have 4 already but was after a couple more. The ones I have, I got from a panel beater last year and they are good thick thinners drums but this year every where I go say they now use 20lt drums for Health and Safety reasons. Does anyone know where I might get my hands on any around the Northside of Brissy.
Lee
caveman
30-04-2006, 08:53 PM
mate there is a mob by the name of tilkey not sure on the spelling here in warwick that sells all sizes of drums, they have shops in other places but not sure where, why not get a tank made to suit
Any_Weather
30-04-2006, 09:05 PM
Caveman, thanks mate will look them up. I cant use a tank as it is for extra boat fuel and with the 60's they are small enough to manhandle on syphon into the boat.
Lee
caveman
30-04-2006, 11:14 PM
ok no worries
01-05-2006, 12:50 PM
If it's any help I'm going up to Warwick on Tuesday and coming back before the week-end. I can pick them up if they're suitable.
I may have a metal one under the house up there. I'll have a gander.
I'm on the southside.
shano
01-05-2006, 01:52 PM
60 ltrs is 10 ltrs too much legally to be brought onto the island!
50 ltrs max stored fuel!
01-05-2006, 02:43 PM
try colourite at brendale, 3881 1611. use to work there years ago, they should have plenty, new about $35, used, bashed up a bit around $10, just tell 'em what you want it for, they'll understand, ask for trevor when calling.
caveman
01-05-2006, 03:17 PM
tilkey is on the way into town from brissy finga if he want you to pick them up
01-05-2006, 04:50 PM
Can't miss the place with all the blue plant tubs around eh :)
caveman
01-05-2006, 05:30 PM
what are you comin over for mate if your still in town after 4pm give me a yell and you can come round for a cuppa
Any_Weather
01-05-2006, 06:15 PM
Thanks for all your help guys, will ring a couple of these places over the next couple of days. Have still got 2 weeks so there is no real urgency just yet. Once again, thank you.
Lee
sid_fishes
02-05-2006, 04:38 PM
a guy at work told me to check out any drum reconditioning place, they might even have something closer to the legal size to,,,,cheers ian
04-05-2006, 10:03 PM
50lts stored at camp sites i thought, you can have as much as you want on the back of your ute!!
btsah
08-05-2006, 05:07 PM
A lot of panel beater / spray painters use 60lt drums of thinners.
bagman
15-06-2006, 03:51 PM
Guy's, does anyone know if people still use 60lt drums for anything. The reason I ask is I have been trying to get my hands on a couple for transporting fuel to Fraser Island for a fishing adventure. I have 4 already but was after a couple more. The ones I have, I got from a panel beater last year and they are good thick thinners drums but this year every where I go say they now use 20lt drums for Health and Safety reasons. Does anyone know where I might get my hands on any around the Northside of Brissy.
Lee
bagman
15-06-2006, 03:55 PM
Lee you probably got it covered.But for the future I dispose of attleast 1 new 60lt thinners drum every 2-3 weeks on the goldcoast perfect for fuel.
Brett.
bagman
15-06-2006, 04:00 PM
Lee you probably got it covered but for the future I dispose of attleast 1 new 60lt thinners drum every 2-3 weeks you can take them for free.
Brett.
vBulletin® v3.6.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.