View Full Version : jaysee patriot 80's
rogue2527
21-06-2006, 11:03 PM
Hi, #if anyone knows of anywhere i can purchase these lures it would be greatly appreciated. #Any colour and new or used not a worry.
Big_unit
21-06-2006, 11:30 PM
Have you had some success with them ?
Ive got some of them but havent considered selling them, yet !!! ;) ;) ::)
What are they worth ?
James
rogue2527
22-06-2006, 05:34 AM
Hi James. Have had good success with these on bass, yellas and even barra. I think they used to retail anywhere between $13 to $15 although i did recently find some of the 65's at MO Tackle and they gave them to me at $6.50 ea. If you decide you do want to sell them, let me know. thanks mate.
24-06-2006, 09:27 PM
The Jayseas are copies of Flick Cobras, I was there at Somerset when Flick showed them to the Jaysea guy. Can't remember his name now. Flicks are pretty hard to get a hold of but Blitz Bagas which are much the same are dead easy to get a hold of. They are under the SMAK stable and were made by Murray who is a member of this site. If you are struggling to source some, try Bass to Barra Marine in Kingaroy on 4162 7555. They will do mail order.
rogue2527
25-06-2006, 07:03 AM
Hi Smithy. I never new they were a copy. Oh well they do the job i guess but might have to keep an eye out for the Klicks as well now. I do have a few of the Bitz Bagas and must say I'm quite impressed with them as well. While i have not landed any fish on them, the last time i was at Callide they certainly got a flogging. So I gotta say thanks to Murray you've made a gem there.
reddirt
13-07-2006, 11:04 PM
Hi Matt,
Thought I'd join & respond to your question regarding Jaysea's Patriot 80 & their other lures in the range, so we can all get the facts right,
try: # # www.jaysealures.com.au # #or mobile number 0417 758702 :) :) :) :)
I'd also be curious as to how long ago & how old the "copy critic" #was, when "Flick" showed the Jaysea guy (?). The "flick cobra" at Somerset? # # # # # As the Patriot 80 was the first lure in the series way back when this was a hand crafted cottage industry at the end of the 80's.
P.S: No time for #[smiley=clown.gif] [smiley=clown.gif]'s
17-07-2006, 04:30 PM
Hi Matt,
Thought I'd join & respond to your question regarding Jaysea's Patriot 80 & their other lures in the range, so we can all get the facts right,
try: www.jaysealures.com.au or mobile number 0417 758702
I'd also be curious as to how long ago & how old the "copy critic" was, when "Flick" showed the Jaysea guy (?). The "flick cobra" at Somerset? As the Patriot 80 was the first lure in the series way back when this was a hand crafted cottage industry at the end of the 80's.
P.S: No time for 's
Hi Craig,
how long have the moulded Patriots been around i.e. when did they go from being a hand crafted timber lure to a plastic lure? Yes I remember the Jaysea name being around before the Kirkleagh Klassic in about 92'-93' which is to what I am refering above. I was 20 and it was that record year that attracted the full 1,500 competitors and they had to close it off a bit like the Fraser Toyota Fishing Expo and the Straddie Classic. I think the Kirkleagh area saw something like 4,000 people through the gates. The copying is the story Flick used to tell. He did look into engaging solicitors to chase all the copiers at the time. He was his own worst enemy in many ways not selling to some people but selling to others. That is about the time Blitz Baggas hit the scene along with a whole heaps of others like Stalkers I think it was. From what I remember he took offence at anything with a similar bib or a similar tow point. I still reckon they were a Stumpjumper body with a Boomerang bib. Anyway I am not a bulls#*tter and I am sure Mods like Fitzy or blokes like Aussie Basser would have heard all of these stories before a million times. In the lure game it is pretty hard to come up with something unique and I am led to believe changing something just 5% gets a product away from a copyright. The Gremlins and Baker Krays are great unique Jaysea lures that I have used. I bet you feel ripped off with the Kokoda copies etc. I didn't even know Jayseas still existed till you put that link up. Haven't seen them in a tackle shop for a long time. The prices are pretty sharp on your site so stand behind your product and let the market forces decide for the first poster which way he chooses to go.
Robert
22-07-2006, 07:00 PM
Flick 10 footer and a Patriot 65. You be the judge. My last 80 is a bit beat up and is now used more for Jacks, Estuary Cod and Flathead
22-07-2006, 07:01 PM
Top view.
Chris_Riethmuller
22-07-2006, 07:42 PM
good on you Smithy, there's not much gets past you mate. I remember fishing at a very young age with flick and he showed dad and I his first of the cobras, I think the old man still has one as a key ring.
rgds Chris
rogue2527
22-07-2006, 09:28 PM
hey all, until i asked this question i never had heard of flicks or any of the copying that had occurred. All i remember was using the patriot in the picture (purchased aprox 15 years ago) and having excellent results with it and other patriots so i guess they're aways going to be a bit of a favourite.
Thank you Craig, I got straight on that site and sent in an enquirey and hope to be in business soon.
Thank you all