PDA

View Full Version : Casting Problems

dazza
13-01-2002, 02:59 AM
I have just changed my flyline to a 8wt sinking from a 8wt floating. I am having difficulty getting in a decent cast.
The rod feels sloppy. Is it because of the different lines? Would slowing the cast down improve things. Have tried slowing down and speeding up but it dosen't make much difference.
i am only new to this and couldn't cast to save myself. any tips would be appreciated. If all else fails I might have to give Harro a call when I'm down south soon. He will probably have a nervous breakdown when he sees my "style"
dazza

Harro
14-01-2002, 01:57 AM
OK - I'm hooked.
Where are you and when can I see you?
Give me a yell.
Let me know if you're self taught or others are responsible.
More and more of my pond time is being taken up
sorting out the unnecessary and fatiguing arm waving/faults that unsuspecting flyfisherfolk have actually paid someome to learn. If they weren't so good for business I'd be advocating for those snake oil salesmen to be coated with softex and rolled in marabou.
Having said that, you're on a freebie this time.

Brett_Finger
14-01-2002, 03:09 AM
I have just changed my flyline to a 8wt sinking from a 8wt floating. I am having difficulty getting in a decent cast.
The rod feels sloppy. Is it because of the different lines? Would slowing the cast down improve things. Have tried slowing down and speeding up but it dosen't make much difference.
i am only new to this and couldn't cast to save myself. any tips would be appreciated. If all else fails I might have to give Harro a call when I'm down south soon. He will probably have a nervous breakdown when he sees my "style"
dazza

Dazza,
mate do yourself a huge favor,go see Harro for casting lessons, his teq will blow your mind with the massive changes it will make to your casting,increaseing distance and line speed while decreasing back-casting !!