PDA

View Full Version : Double Haul

SteveD
13-05-2002, 10:01 PM
Ok, I feel like a bit of a freak currently, but Im getting to the point, where I'm desperate for advice.
First off I can cast ok, a few technical problems courtesy of being self taught but, Im pretty damn accurate within my own range, can perform most of the different casts at will but I cannot nail down the double haul. Im normalyyabout -60 ft caster with whatever I pick up andcan hit that with one back cast on a good day, but I can't go beyond it.

DH Proving to be a huge stumbling block, and I really want the extra line speed/range particularly with heavier rods, clouserrs etc

Yep had some instruction from FFF certified instructors in the technique, and while they say I cast pretty well cannot fix the dh _ and I know what I should be doing but cannot master it leaving me feeling like the other sort of DH.

The problem lies in the fact that I cannot seem to get 2 hands to do different movements, you know the old pat top of head rub stomach thing. I can haul away but can't get my hauling back back to the rod hand. I can manage it sometimes without a rod, but not with it.

I know about muscle memory etc and I keep waiting for that mental click when it all comes together and becomes natural.
I guess what Im looking for is any advice from any others who have been down the same rocky path.

None of the mental trick like one-two/three four or go-no type of thing have worked. Hoping someone might have one that works for me. Even been mentally rehearsing as I drift off to sleep every night in hope it settles into the old subconscious.

I just can't get the rhythym.

PS anyone who says practice more will get strangled hahahahahaha Its notfor lack of trying maybe trying too hard

About a month ago I felt like I almost had it, but gone again.

Frustrating as hell, but im not giving up

Hope someone can help out

Steve

Randall
14-05-2002, 08:37 AM
Its a rythmm thing mate!! # Should have been born black!!!