View Full Version : FlyFishing for Silver Perch

Zulu
20-06-2002, 06:30 PM
ive been fishing in this farm dam for sliver perch and i would like to know how to catch them on fly. ie. type of fly, fly line etc.
they feed on bugs, insects and shrimps for what i know as i have looked in the guts of a couple.
any help would be appreciated

mick
21-06-2002, 05:30 AM
for spanglies i use to use a bright green grasshopper imitation made from pipe cleaner. put it right on the edge near long grass. otherwise a slow moving shrimp pattern . silver perch might have completely different feeding habits. so i might be waisting your time.

lordy
21-06-2002, 07:17 AM
Try something like this with some red in it.

http://www.fishnet.com.au/flyswap/flybox/greenlakemidge.html

thunnus
21-06-2002, 01:44 PM
Mick,

where do you fish for spanglies and do you think they would still be willing to take a fly at this time of year?

cheers, justin

mick
22-06-2002, 08:28 AM
i used to fish on my sisters property(C.Q), but they have moved and it would now be trespassing. the dam was only 20 to 30 meters across. they would still take a fly because the population was so dense. fish rarely exceeded 15cm, but still good fun.

Zulu
22-06-2002, 10:12 AM
i fish for spangled perch in my dam and its not very big at all.
ive caught them at around 28cm and catch heaps 20cm long.
i reckon the best fly would be the red tag or something bright http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm9.gif

vince
22-06-2002, 10:23 AM
hi zulu
i have cought them with mrs simpson and small black mudler minow from hinz dam, after sunset they were rising and gulping insects even flying ant patern should work but this was during summer, i don,t know how it is now.
good luck
vince.

Zulu
22-06-2002, 10:45 AM
thanks vince for the help

Slates
26-06-2002, 05:42 AM
G'day Zulu.
Rob Meade (Clearwater Tours in Vic) has done a lot of work in his dam on the silvers.
They are bloody hard to get to take a fly too!! http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm23.gif
Some nights they are all over the surface, but refuse anything with a hook in it!
When the fish are like this is generally during a large mudeye hatch which is summer only.

Rob has previously caught them on black wooly buggers and bug-mudeye imitations.

Hope this helps a little.

Cheers, Slates

mick
26-06-2002, 06:18 AM
this is the shrimp pattern i use. i use a larger version for bream.

Quinny69
06-07-2002, 10:01 AM
Ive caught them on sinking Muddlers, dark ones, black, olive ect. Got them while fishing Baroomba fer Togas during mid arvo, very strong fish, pull Bass inside out. Cheers .......