PDA

View Full Version : Tasmania

landy1
15-08-2002, 07:41 PM
G'day all
lock up your women i am coming to Tassie ;D
have just been told i am overdue for a visit so my folks are putting me up for a week and giving me the grand tour, having never been there before. i have put my foot down and said i will be trying out ny new fly gear. now for the interesting part. the gear is for saltwater use up here in moreton bay. basically i will be using an 8 weight rod with a 9 weight intermediate line on board. for its locality to Launceston (base of stay) i thought of Curries River dam from the banks ( southeast ). any other suggestions in the general vicinity of Launceston? also obviously i will be using wet flies i have read that red and black Matukas are the deal for Curries. any tips on fishing this fly. any info appreciated as i am new to fly gear and this Tassy trip is out of the blue and i have no idea what i am going to do fish wise while down there.
cheers

Chris_Dunham
16-08-2002, 08:56 AM
Michael,

Red & Black Matukas do work well there, fish it deep and slow - try a figure 8 retrieve speed to start with.

Yeti's in Black & Green and Black & Red are also well worth having on board. Bruce Gibson from Tas ties these as well as an excellent range of small matukas.

Cheers,

Chris.

thunnus
16-08-2002, 11:36 AM
G'day Landy,

For trout you could also try Four Springs which is a small shallow lake about 40mins north of Launy. Head up the West Tamer Highway and turn left at the Devonport exit as you go thought Exeter. Been there a few times but due to my inexperience and crap casting ended up just spoking a few fish.

In the salt you can fish the Tamer river itself. Try for mullet around any of the public pontoons, with the one at Deviot (about 30mins about off Launy) being a good place to start. Just use bream as burley and fish some small bread flies.

Also ask the dudes in charltons and the other sports stores in town as they will know whats going on.