View Full Version : bass or perch hervey bay area

scotty_c_069
24-12-2006, 10:49 PM
hi i only just started on ausfish an i was just wondering if any1 knows where i can buy some baby bass or silver perch 2 putt in a damm i hav already got about 100 little barra from 4cm -15cm long an i would like 2 hav lots off differnt species even if any 1 knows an places where there is silver perch to catch?

thank you

Canoedle
25-12-2006, 10:57 AM
Mate, if you're catching live fish for your dam, you still need to stick to legal sizes and bag limits, ie. 2 bass over 30cms. Maybe you might find some suggestions about options to purchase fingerlings.

scotty_c_069
25-12-2006, 01:10 PM
yer that was what i been duing i baught my barra as fingerlings an there still growing in the pond an tank an a bath tubb cause im lettin them grow abit so eels dont get them . i dont now where 2 catch bass an i was just wounderin where i could catch some perch.

p.s if u read it propally u would see i wanna buy baby bass an perch an only catch the perch.

Canoedle
25-12-2006, 02:30 PM
Wasn't having a go mate, silver perch has size and bag limits too. 30cm min and 5 bag limit. ;)
http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/xchg/dpi/hs.xsl/28_2994_ENA_HTML.htm

scotty_c_069
25-12-2006, 02:36 PM
yer i now i will b followin the rules
thanks 4 the info anyways

scotty_c_069
25-12-2006, 03:43 PM
if a ;Dny 1 in the wide bay area has any fish i could BUY an put in a damm i would b very happy ;D ;D ;D

Tim_01
25-12-2006, 10:12 PM
if you have a look at the 'fish hatcheries' section of this page you should probably find a hatchery for you ;)

http://www.aaq.com.au/members.htm

i bought my bass fingerlings from QNF at childers and they were great!

Tim.

scotty_c_069
25-12-2006, 10:17 PM
thanks mate how much where they each
an how long does the average bass take 2 grow thanks

scotty_c_069
25-12-2006, 10:34 PM
OR an another thing do you recon they would live the way back 2 hervey bay

Tim_01
27-12-2006, 12:33 PM
the bass were $1 each and in good condition, i think they were 40-50mm fingerlings. As long as you drive carefully and keep them in a cool, dark place they should be fine. they came in a large bag filled with water+pure oxygen so take a big esky or something similiar to keep the bag in place. sorry i dont know how fast they grow in tanks, look up 'growth rates of australian bass' or something similiar on the net. ;D Make sure to contact the hatchery to see if fingerlings are available.

hope this helps,

Tim.

scotty_c_069
27-12-2006, 08:41 PM
thanks timmy
u where a big help great info

Big_unit
29-01-2007, 03:14 PM
Gday Scotty,
Give me a call on 0418 811 943 Ive got a very good contact for that kind of stuff ( Fingerlings ) locally. Im in Hervey Bay.

James

john4655
06-01-2008, 07:45 PM
hey my names john im from hervey bay i was interested in some fresh water barramundi prefflably babies. me and my bro have been looking in little freshwater creeks running off drains and wondering if their would be any in their if anyone can answer this?