View Full Version : Rod Building Workshop/Weekend  Round UP !

01-07-2006, 04:50 PM
Anyone caught anything with their new rod yet?

gruntahunter
02-07-2006, 07:01 PM
Firstly can I say that am so sorry that I had to work all weekend and miss out.

Secondly and more importantly can I say that I owe Roz and all the other ausfishers a sincere thankyou for being so kind and showing your hospitality to my son Ryan (alias Freddo). He enjoyed the whole time he was there and definately knows more about building rods then his old man now. He might even know more about other things that were talked about as well. ;D

Once again my sincere thanks to all involved

pete

02-07-2006, 07:08 PM
Pete, Ryan is a credit to you..well mannered and well behaved..more than welcome anywhere anytime.

bearclaw
02-07-2006, 11:35 PM
Sounds like you guys had a ball of a time. I was sorry that I was also unable to drop in and say g'day to you all due to family and work commitments. Hopefully in the near future a Brisbane rod builders club will be formed.

Myles

03-07-2006, 12:00 AM
Made it back to Agnes. FFS.... The grey matter is still spinning from info !

More later......need beauty sleep,,,,,,,,,, YES lots of it, I know ! ::) :P

03-07-2006, 07:39 AM
Yeah, had a really good time. Was good to meet up with people and to put a faces to names.

Will leave it up to others to provide a breakdown of the weekend's events. I really think I'd do better on the binding of a Friday or Saturday arvo though. Might get some hot pink thread if I can!

shayned
03-07-2006, 08:36 AM
I finished

shayned
03-07-2006, 08:47 AM
another underbind last night. ;D ;D ;D

Stuart,
You're right the work does go better with bundy, at least I think it does, I'll take another look tonight when I get home just to be sure. Thanks for the help, info, patience and not laughing too loudly at my efforts.

A big thanks to Roz, Phil and Greg for organising every thing so well. I've learnt enough to be dangerous now. It was a great weekend and again met some great people even the ones fixated on Toyotas.
Shayne

shayned
03-07-2006, 09:16 AM
And now it starts....................Stuart,
At the end there you said the Wilson Filler I bought would go yellow over time. I was using non metallic colour fast gudebrod(?) (nylon?) C thread, what should I have bought to coat the bindings with?

Now what was that contact phone number again??? ;D ;D ;D

Pete,
Your young bloke acquited himself well and it was a damn shame he had to leave on Sunday when he did, as I think he missed binding a runner with a chance to have it checked out but his efforts up til then looked pretty good.
Shayned
P.S. I did my best to shield him from the rest of the loons there. :D :D

stuart
03-07-2006, 10:39 AM
Well, I had a fat time on the weekend to say the least. A great bunch of guy’s and a laugh a minute was had by all….especially me. Shayned, Is the thread you used a NCP Gudebrod, if so you don’t need any colour preserver, just use the epoxy straight over the thread. I would recommend you use classic thread coat, its very good, sets up hard in no time, very user friendly, and non temperamental. Use a flat bristled brush that’s made from a mixture of Sable and polyester bristles, this brush would need to be around 5 or 6 mm wide, this will cover all the rods that I seen on the weekend. By the way, a huge thank you for Phil and Roz for picking me up from the Sunny coast each day. If any of you guy’s get stuck don’t hesitate to email me, post up here for all to see and learn, or PM for my number and I can talk you through the ordeal. ;D

Stu

03-07-2006, 04:54 PM
Many thanks to Stuart for his time and patience and also to Roz for organising the weekend. The following are some pics taken from the early stage of fitting the grips and reel seat etc through to the binding of the guides. The looks of concentration in the binding stage was phenomenal. Hopefully all those that attended found the weekend informative and enjoyable.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/discussion1.jpg

03-07-2006, 04:56 PM

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/deliberating1.jpg

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/stewartbutt1.jpg

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/butt2.jpg

03-07-2006, 04:57 PM

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/butt3.jpg

03-07-2006, 04:57 PM

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/butt4.jpg

03-07-2006, 04:58 PM
Just a quick message to encourage everyone that attended to post up a pic of their efforts, finished or not !

To those that couldn't make it, bugga ! #:( # To others, you people really missed something special. # #8-)

To Greg and Sue,

a job well done on Workplace Health and Safety Standards, Hospitality Procedures and the Food and Beverage Distribution Facilities !! #;)

To Stuart, #

can't thank you enough for the time, patience, guidence, knowledge and instruction given at no cost to a bunch of wannabe rod building ferets. #:) #::)

To Roz,

cheers for the huge effort in getting this thing organized. Everything from travel, equipment, information, ( 2,000,000 pm's ) tea, bikkies, cake and passionate enthusiasm which rubbed off on everyone there.

To the Toyota Drivers.................. :P

To the rest, Brad, Mike, Ian, Ryan, Rueben, Graham, Shayne, Adrian, Chris, John, Peter..............let's get the rods finished and put into use.

John,

Don't let Gwenda touch your rod as I believe an afternoon in front of the tele on D.D.D can produce the goods !

Cheers #Phill

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/loadup1.jpg

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/binding1.jpg

03-07-2006, 04:59 PM

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/binding2.jpg

03-07-2006, 04:59 PM

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/binding3.jpg

03-07-2006, 05:00 PM

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/binding4.jpg

03-07-2006, 05:00 PM

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/binding5.jpg

03-07-2006, 05:01 PM

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/binding6.jpg

stuart
03-07-2006, 05:38 PM
Not my best side, that’s for sure. Pinhead, surly you could have touched up my grey spots with photo shop before posting the pic's. For the guy’s who attended the rod building weekend, I’m going to send Phil some pics of various stages of coating a rod. That way you shouldn’t get to lost….crossed fingers and toes.

Stuart

03-07-2006, 05:47 PM
But Stuart...I DID touch up your grey spots...the programme would not let me do anymore..said...too many grey spots already done...LOL

BOWIE.M
03-07-2006, 06:06 PM
sorry i couldn't make had the gastro bug going around. And its along drive from toowoomba,didn't want to chance it. will post up the rod i did anyway.

bearclaw
03-07-2006, 06:56 PM
Hey Stuart,
Looks like you had your hands full.

Myles

chopjr
03-07-2006, 08:05 PM
absolute top effort,,,,,,,,,and truly i wanted to be there due to another post put up not so long back,,,,,

but birthday on sunday got in the way,,,,,,,,,

looks like all concerned had a top day,,, at least i've got a few names to pm and annoy when project x starts next week with chop jr,,,

any one get glued together????????????

and did pink binding REALLY get used??????? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

03-07-2006, 08:09 PM
ooops,,,sorry posted above in jr's handle,,,,his playing on the NEW GAMES option!!!!!

big thanks steve,,,,,,,,, ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

flea_350
03-07-2006, 08:43 PM
I just want to thank Stuart for all his time and patience all of us amateurs, weather it was a major dillema or the binding snapping and the constant "Stuart" eminating from my corner, he stayed calm and reasonably sane through it all.

Thanks also to Roz and Phill for all of their organization and efforts for the weekend, the drive from agnes and back was surely worth it.

Thanks to Greg and Sue (dad and Mum) for hosting the rabble and all of their efforts in the refreshments department amongst all of their grandchild issues.

A great timr was has by one and all To theoldlegend, I think bright pink may look like the orange you already used, I would recommend something a little different.

CHEERS TO ALL 4 A GREAT WEEKEND

FLEA

sid_fishes
03-07-2006, 09:19 PM
to those who said theywould be there and did not show.... it was your loss
to those who turned up well what can i say[ it was was fun]
roz, mate we all thank you for the faith and insight you had to organise such a weekend .
stuart,,, what can i sayyou are champion thanks for all the help, guidance and the extra bits
greg and sue, guys thanks for putting us up for the weekend
ryan, mate show the old man how it,s done and be proud[ wish my kids were like him]
phill mate , a mate that works at the pub wanted to pinch the slug off me are that that good cheers to you all be proud of what you have done and progress from there[ and hound the shit out of stuart] cheers ian[sid]

shayned
04-07-2006, 09:56 AM
John(TOL) you bloody ignore 'em mate, if you want a fluro pink and orange rod you go right ahead and make it. When they finally do a fishing float for that mardegra in Sydney you'd be on the list for a starring place for sure, go to it bloke!!! ;D ;D

stuart
04-07-2006, 10:46 AM
I think you may need a welders mask to handle that rod. I mean bright pink and orange bindings, could be considered an environmental hazard. It may be confiscated on that basses alone. 8-)

Stuart

White_Knight
04-07-2006, 12:28 PM
Hey tell them why you don't used fluro pink or orange
They fade to quick in the sun light and then look like S##T house

Chai
WHITE KNIGHT 8-) ;)

stuart
04-07-2006, 02:07 PM
White-night

I’m going to send my kid to the same school you went to. The obviously teach great English as well sentence structure. ;D ;D

Stuart

thedeckie
04-07-2006, 04:02 PM
TOL,
Is that you in the flannie shirt with the packet of Winnies in ya top pocket?????

04-07-2006, 05:59 PM
Paul,

If you're talking about the old fart with the white hair, yeah mate, that's me.

I think the hair's a bit whiter after the binding effort.

Musy have been the Winnies Red that gave the game away.

I'll put up a post or two about the weekend.

flea_350
04-07-2006, 07:09 PM
Only got one guide then the binding in front of the fore grip and the tip to go before laquering. The Black Widow is nearing completion, got a new alvey reel [black of course] with lever drag and graphite backing to go with it, cant wait to slay a few bream with it, keep posted on your progress.

CHEERS FLEA 8-) 8-)

White_Knight
04-07-2006, 09:25 PM
White-night

I’m going to send my kid to the same school you went to. The obviously teach great English as well sentence structure. ;D ;D

Stuart

I told U STU I am half ITALIAN
It's alright to put S##T on me as this will stop U putting it on some one else
CHAI STU
WHITE KNIGHT 8-) ;)

freddo
04-07-2006, 10:36 PM
Hey guys
I had a good time building the rod at the place. Whne i got home the next day i did allthe bindings and got the guides on. I also applyed numerous coats of thread sealer to the bindings tomorrow am going to varnish the rod a few times and then its done. Come up really nice so far.
Thancks for all the help. Ill see yas all another time.
Cheers Rhyno

White_Knight
04-07-2006, 10:41 PM
White-night

Stuart

Hey Stu here is one for you 56 and no grey hair .... not like some one I know 33 and grey. ;D
May be you should use grey thread for your bindings to go with your hair colour . ;D
Thank God we can both take a JOKE a mate not like some one else we know.

Chai from the
WOG BOY And that means me the WHITE KNIGHT 8-) ;) :D :D

05-07-2006, 04:59 PM
It's about time I added my voice to last weekend's happenings.

Thanks very much to Greg and Sue for kindly making their house available for the weekend, plus all the food and refreshment.

To Roz, a huge thank you for a huge effort in organising the event and also to Phill for your support to Roz, as well as being the chauffeur.

Thank you Stuart, for your expertise and skill and patience. Binding mightn't be my forte, but I believe I've learned how to build a rod from the butt up.

Everybody else, and I hope I haven't forgotten anyone, it was tremendous to meet you all and the banter between the Nissan and Toyota camps was very good to listen to.

White Knight, it's really immaterial to me whether I used orange thread, shirtlifter pink, or purple thread with aqua blue and yellow polka dots. I was there to learn, and I'm sure I did. That's what it was all about. I hope the fish don't mind what colour my bindings are. Actually, my butt has never looked better. Don't know about your butt, but I'm quite proud of mine. :-* :-* I think it's my rear grip that really sets mine off.

No doubt the fishing world at large is a lot wiser now after your words of wisdom.

05-07-2006, 06:05 PM
Hi Guys,

I won't have many chances to get in touch with all of you individually until I get home and back to my computer,

And YES, I have some great pics...sorry Greg it was me.

You are the best bunch of fellas, and I am so glad I got to meet you.

I want to adopt Ryan and Ruben.

Roz

05-07-2006, 06:33 PM
LOL Roz..I know that.

mickey7
05-07-2006, 08:28 PM
Hi guys,
Had a great weekend,many thanks to Greg and Sue for being terrific hosts,to Stuart for his tutoring which was graciously given-not many blokes let you in on there knowledge and experience when it is his livelyhood,to Phil and to Roz for organising a top weekend,and to the bunch of people that attended i hope i have the pleasure of meeting you all again soon.
Over the course of the weekend i learned a bit about building a fishing rod enough to complete one from start to finish,I am very happy with the results.
I am also now more aware of the intricasies of fishing rods-thanks stuart.
Here's some photo's of my effort.
cheers.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/img_0494_2.jpg

mickey7
05-07-2006, 08:30 PM
Samarai NV9

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/img_0495_2.jpg

mickey7
05-07-2006, 08:31 PM
AGAIN

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/img_0496_2_1_1.jpg

mickey7
05-07-2006, 08:32 PM
AND ONE MORE

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/img_0497_2.jpg

FearlessFly66
05-07-2006, 11:20 PM
I too, #would like to thank all concerned, #Stu - thanks mate, hope i can remember it all or the pm's will be free flowing, #Roz - well done on pulling it all together and thanks for your advice prior to the day, it was terrific to have met you, hope to do it again soon. #Greg and Sue - thank you for your hospitality, the bbq went off an absolute treat, and the new esky kept the beers at just the right temp. To the rest of the boys, may your newly made rods bend often (but not break #;)), #thanks for a great couple of days.

Brad

stuart
06-07-2006, 04:47 PM
Mickey7

I hope I didn’t cause to may headaches with that trim on your rod. I’m glad to see you have knocked it on the head. However I would like to see some close up photos instead of the pics that are around 10ft away, come on mate, let’s see. What did you use to coat the rod with i.e. Brush and epoxy?

Stuart

mickey7
06-07-2006, 06:11 PM
Hey Stuart,
here's a photo of my epoxy attempt,used a 12mm artists brush put 2 coats on a few hours apart and then flamed the epoxy with a butane touch.

cheers.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/IMG_0505_1_2_1.JPG

White_Knight
06-07-2006, 08:02 PM
Phill , Roz & Stuart , keep them going on it so they keep keen ..... ;)

Chai
WHITE_KNIGHT 8-)

banshee
06-07-2006, 08:17 PM
G'day Mickey7,I'm far from an expert but to me your runners look back to front,could be wrong but Ive never seen them put on that way,is that the way they were intended?

mickey7
06-07-2006, 08:45 PM
Hi Banshee,
intentionally done,the first guide after the reel is fitted with the single leg towards the reel,one of stuarts many rod building tips,reason is that as the line comes away from the reel the line passes through the guide clear of the side frames that would normally be there.Maybe stuart can add-hope my explanation makes sense.

stuart
07-07-2006, 07:55 AM
By placing the guide with the single leg forward i.e. single leg of frame facing the reel, it reduces much of the line slap encountered when casting or even dropping a jig down into the depths. It’s not a new concept; I and others have been doing this for many years. Having the guide facing the main stream way, you can expect it to reduce your cast by up to 10mtrs with a spin stick. Micky7, your coating job come up good mate, as long as you got plenty of coating in and around each guide foot.

Stuart #

shayned
07-07-2006, 12:57 PM
Mick,
The rod came up well, all the extra thread colours were worth the extra headaches in the end, hey?
Mind you I don't think I'd be game to say anything negative to a bloke that keeps his axe as handy as you do, top idea for a rod holder though.

08-07-2006, 10:00 PM
Peeled my binding attempt off. #$%@^Took more time to think about things and colours.

Even to get started again, took me 15 minutes. #$%@^That's one slippery sucker rod !

Anyway, after some time, I have completed the underbind. #$%@^The colours do not stand out, but the Green and Silver are metallic. And it appears my digi camera does not like to take close ups ?#$%@^I will try to do the guide tonight, but this has been a good effort for me. #$%@^It is certainly time comsuming, but the end result will be worth it.

Where are the rest of your efforts so far ?

For the record, rod is an M10. #$%@^( killwell )

Cheers #$%@^Phill

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/RodbindingS1.jpg

shayned
10-07-2006, 09:16 AM
Phil,
It's starting to look good mate, what colour are you going to use for the over bind? I'm still experiencing the same problem as well, the initial startng wrap is very hard, when I finally get it to grip, its not exactly where I want it or its not perfectly straight. With my little bloke at home I've actually stopped swearing in the house or at least I had until starting this. That said all the underbinds are done and I've made a start on the runners. Same as you I tried for some photos without much success, I'm going to pull out the manual tonight and find the menu set for macro work and manual focus so I can try again.

I'm just glad my rod doesn't have 36 runners on it like someone I know. :-X

grave41
12-07-2006, 10:55 PM
Thanks to all involved on the weekend.Reuben and I had a great time and learnt heaps. Still havent finished the rods yet, time is a problem.Its great meeting genuine people with the same interests.
Graham

shayned
13-07-2006, 08:48 AM
Almost got the macro settings sorted on the camera, still a bit dodgy though. Here's a couple of happy snaps of progress so far. A few are in focus enough to show the little mistakes up, I'll get better at it over time and as long as there's nothing there thats going to fall apart over time I guess I'll be happy for now.
Largest Runner, reversed for casting.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/caldad1web_001.jpg

shayned
13-07-2006, 08:50 AM
Another one and no I'm not a blues supprter, I just didn't put as much thought into colours as the rest that went to the weekend.
Second largest runner

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/caldad1web_002.jpg

shayned
13-07-2006, 08:54 AM
Another photo.
Third largest runner being done.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/caldad1web_005.jpg

shayned
13-07-2006, 08:56 AM
Another photo of runner and lubricant used to help apply bindings. ;D ;D

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/caldad1web_006.jpg

15-07-2006, 05:15 PM
Flea got to use his completed project lats night but alas he did not blood it.

15-07-2006, 05:29 PM
Has Flea finished his? Well done!! :)

I'm gunna be going for a while yet. :-?

I'll get there. Don't you worry about that.

gruntahunter
15-07-2006, 06:10 PM
hey Roz...if u want Ryan u have to take me as well ok ;)

15-07-2006, 09:12 PM
hey Roz...if u want Ryan u have to take me as well ok #;)

Only if you're house trained and don't drive a nissan ;D

cheers roz

sid_fishes
16-07-2006, 10:35 AM
well guys, the boat winch[as its fondly called] is complete. i put the final epoxy coat on this morning and i must say it don,t look to bad for a first time effort.the blank is a Hastings EGUSA #7 foot 24 kilo complete with ALPS reel seat and gimble american hyperlon grips and #FIGI HNSG guides. again i must thank everyone that made the weekend happen .. cheers # ian [sid]

gruntahunter
17-07-2006, 07:33 PM
Hey Roz.....i got 2 toyotas...1 hilux and 1 surf ... :-*

21-07-2006, 12:06 PM
Hey Roz.....i got 2 toyotas...1 hilux and 1 surf ... :-*

Just as well!!!

I've finished binding on my guides, although I won't be able to post pics until I get home, in about two weeks.

I will then start on a butt wrap to finish it off.

I've also got pics of the w'end to post, sorry about the time delay, I can't do it from up here (Agnes)

cheers Roz

gruntahunter
22-07-2006, 10:12 AM
Here is Ryans first rod...wat a little beauty...pity dads camera and computer skills arent up to the challenge...should have left him do it. :o

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/DSC00883_Medium.JPG

gruntahunter
22-07-2006, 10:25 AM
well done freddo

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/DSC00884_Small.JPG

shayned
22-07-2006, 11:07 AM
Well done Ryan, just have to go and give it a work out now. When does the next project start? ;)

22-07-2006, 11:16 AM
Top job there Ryan,

Hope you catch plenty with it.

22-07-2006, 06:43 PM
The pics are shockers dad!!!

Ryan, I think you've done really well mate.

I can't tell from the photo if you have done the epoxy. Sack the photographer.

We only need to see a pic of a good fish to go with it.

Great job Ryan.

Roz

gruntahunter
22-07-2006, 08:28 PM
awwwwwww fair go Roz, as u can see it was raining, so i had to hurry....didnt want to get wet

23-07-2006, 08:59 PM
I have now finished the underbinds and have placed the guides on and ' straightened ' them ( with a little help, thanks ;) ). #Some filler has been smeared on and the epoxy is about to be brushed on Monday arvo/evening.

I will only be able to get 2 coats of epoxy on #but I will bring the rod down to the River to Mud ( 29th & 30th this month ). #When I get back here, I'll do the 3rd epoxy coat and the varnish.

I haven't decided on a butt wrap/ weave/ decal at this stage.

I will post a pic when I have the first coat of epoxy on.

Nice job Ryan, btw.

Cheers #Phill

23-07-2006, 09:08 PM
OK, so I got anxious. here's a couple.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/Rodbinding11.jpg

23-07-2006, 09:10 PM
underbinds are in ' A ' thread.

black ends, Green metallic then a Silver metallic band in the centre. The overbind is doubled and in ' C ' thread.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/Rodbinding12.jpg

23-07-2006, 09:15 PM
Yes, for those that noticed, the date on the camera is wrong. I took the pics today ( 23rd ).

::) ::) ::)

FearlessFly66
23-07-2006, 11:47 PM
I see the hair dryer mate, #where's the mirror ## :-*

Fly

stuart
24-07-2006, 08:56 AM
Lucky_phill

That looks much better mate. I have to say you must have put a lot of thought in to choosing black over black. Lol. What you have now is far better in appearance; the binding looks very neat and tidy can’t wait to see the coating job. By the way, why do you need a heater in Agnus waters mate?

Stu

24-07-2006, 05:45 PM
awwwwwww fair go Roz, as u can see it was raining, so i had to hurry....didnt want to get wet

That's like saying the dog ate my homework.

24-07-2006, 06:07 PM
Fly.............. I cracked the mirror last time I looked in it, so have to keep it hidden.

Stu.... the bindings are " average ", but as has been assured to me, that the epoxy will hide these. Black on black was a challenge alright ::)

The first coat was thin, so it looks like about 4 coats to finish the job. I used the Environtex epoxy, Stu, and was wondering if something like Erskins can go over the top of it ? Further, I have little bumps on the bindings, so can I rub them with 1200 wet & dry, before another coat ???

Also, I ran the second ( double ) overbind past the first layer onto the underbind. This in my mind ( and that's a scarey place ), made for a smoother transition from blank to bindings. I have seen some shop stuff that stands up like a Tsunami !!

OH, and it's a Kebab cooker, not a heater ;D ;D ;) ;)

CHeers Phill

stuart
25-07-2006, 08:48 AM
Phill,

Try to stick with the same epoxy finish as you started with. There is a good chance it won’t react but why wast all that time binding if you’re not sure; personally I think it would be ok. Don’t rub the coating back with wet and dry, use a scalpel to cut any high spots off, just make sure you do it in one clean swipe. The way you have bound is just fine, make sure the transition is low as possible between the under and over bind that way you wont have a speed hump on each guide. It sound’s to me your going just fine even though your all toes and thumbs, lol. By the way, how cool having a kebab machine right next to the rod building lathe, why didn’t I think of that.

Stu

shayned
26-07-2006, 09:57 AM
Nearly there, Butt wrap done just need a reversed decal to go over silver/blue area and epoxy and done.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/caldad1_buttcompress.jpg

shayned
26-07-2006, 09:59 AM
Stuart,
Did I do the tip wrong?

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/caldad1_tipweb.jpg

stuart
26-07-2006, 02:11 PM
You only need to bind up to the tip shoulder, not up and over like you have done. It wont hurt it thought.

Stu

shayned
26-07-2006, 02:20 PM

FearlessFly66
26-07-2006, 11:15 PM
Well done Shayne, great job.

Nice butt mate ;)

Brad

shayned
27-07-2006, 08:25 AM
Cheers Brad,
Not as nice as Roz's I'm sure, but for my first crack it'll do me. ;D ;D Seriously though, Roz where are those photos you promised, I'm looking foward to seeing what amazing creation you've put on this one. Not only that I recall a couple of good shots of at least one member here. ;)

stuart
27-07-2006, 12:51 PM
I’m not touching roz’s crack, O I mean I’m not going down there, O I mean, you Know what I mean ;D. When are you guy’s going to put up some photos of your works of art? I really want to see how it went. ;)

Stu

stuart
27-07-2006, 12:57 PM
Here is a weave I did a while back.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/GameRodWeave600.jpg

DR
27-07-2006, 02:22 PM
Here is a weave I did a while back.

thats beautiful Stuart, will give everyone something to aspire to [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

did you get paid what it was worth ;D

stuart
27-07-2006, 03:02 PM
No way, you only make up for it by doing quite a few over a 12 or 24 month period. I will keep weaving this pattern till the end of this year before making a new design. This weave takes around 8 hours to do, not including coating. It's around 170mm long by around 30mm deep, it's weaved onto chair rods.

Stuart

stuart
27-07-2006, 03:11 PM
Here is the rod in action on a Cairns 1250lb black Marlin using 38kg of drag.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/Unlimited36Kgdrag550.jpg

shayned
27-07-2006, 04:39 PM
Bloody hell Stuart, thats impressive mostly because, nope scratch that, it just is. I'm with you where's the rest of the photos. Come on I showed you mine. :-[

27-07-2006, 05:30 PM
I will be heading home (where I keep my computer) this Sunday.

Will get something up and running then. I have finished binding the guides, also two coats of epoxy. Looking good. But as I said before, can't post photos until I get home.

Roz.

27-07-2006, 07:47 PM
OK, i have a shot that is sort of in focus.

Stu, I have 2 coats of epoxy on now and will do another one next week. When i put the varnish on, do I coat the whole rod or just the bits in between the epoxy ? and how many coats of varnish ??

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/Rodepoxy2.jpg

stuart
28-07-2006, 08:36 AM

You can coat the whole rod if you like, I wouldnt because the m10's are as slow and sloppy as wet spaghetti. If you want, you could put one or two thin coats on the entire rod. So far so good.

Stu

flea_350
31-07-2006, 08:03 PM
Have caught 2 winter whiting on my new rod,I know not the best fight inthe water, good feel and action, very happy with the outcome. Has anybody else caught anything yet?

Cheers, Flea

01-08-2006, 06:04 AM
Hey Flea,

Ask me that around January 2009. :(

DaneCross
01-08-2006, 03:10 PM
Some impressive works here. Just a question, where did you guys buy your blanks and materials? I know of some online stores but is there somewhere in Brisbane/Gold Coast that I could go in and have a look/feel of the rod before buying?
DC

shayned
01-08-2006, 03:23 PM
Hey Flea,

Ask me that around January 2009. # :(

It's in the diary John :)

Way to go flea, I should start and finish the epoxy next week, the rod decal is due any day. Woohoo!

01-08-2006, 05:46 PM
Good question Dane ( DC ),

I put up a post here on rod selection. I used a ' built " M10 some time ago, and found it great for what I wanted to use it for. I had some replies to that post which convinced me that it would go great with the TLD15 is wanted to marry it up to. All I had to do was track down the number / description and order the rod through a tackle shop.

As for materials, everyone bought their own and will continue to buy this sort of gear as I am sure it won't be the last rod they make. I am already looking forward to the next challenge.

Most GOOD tackle shops will have rod building materials.

Then again, I am sure there are members here that can advise you on rod selection, but as you say, nothing beats holding it in your hand. Having said that ;) a rod will feel different as a blank and as a built rod ( I am lead to believe ), hey Stui ????? What is mine now, spagetti :P :P

Can't tell ya how much pleasure it is, watching my rod come from a blank to something that almost looks like it came from a shop. Ah bugger it, better than shop bought ;D ;D ;D ::)

If you can hold out Dane, there will be a rod building workshop/ weekend next year about same time as this year.

sid_fishes
02-08-2006, 01:54 PM
here are some pics of the boat winch[i hope]

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/100_0064_Small.jpg

sid_fishes
02-08-2006, 01:55 PM
it finally worked

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/100_0067_Small.jpg

sid_fishes
02-08-2006, 02:02 PM
and another

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/100_0063_Small.jpg

sid_fishes
02-08-2006, 02:05 PM
the last one

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/100_0062_Small.jpg

stuart
02-08-2006, 02:30 PM
Looks great mate, Im glad you picked that colour than your first choice.

Stuart

sid_fishes
02-08-2006, 02:46 PM
yeah , i,m glad you told me about the royal blue but like everything i found an metallic one as well, maybe the next one ..... now all i have to do is go use it cheers ian

bearclaw
02-08-2006, 03:44 PM
Ian! what no marbling?

Myles

sid_fishes
02-08-2006, 04:45 PM
myles, no mate not on this one .i think i,ll practice on 1 of my old rods first.

02-08-2006, 08:05 PM
OK< for the rod building dummies. What's marbling ?

I know what it is in the painting game, so I could be assuming it is similar to that ?????

btw, looks great Ian !!!!

sid_fishes
03-08-2006, 05:11 PM
allright, i,ll ask what is it in the painting game?????? and thanks for comments i was beginning to think i was lously at it.marbling is adding pigments or paint to your epoxy, mixing or swirling as you go[ correct me if i,m wrong, and that will happen] if that makes sense cheers ian ps phill i dont think your rods a piece of spaghatti[if thats how you spell it] looks good to me cheers ian

Flying_duck
04-08-2006, 12:45 AM
Hi guys, I am new in this chat site and have done marbling for the last 2 years or so on my rods and others. I am also a rod builder from Adelaide. Here is a sample of what I did on the last rod I built that was completed about 10 days ago. Tell me what you think.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/uploads/Marble_2_001.JPG

06-08-2006, 04:10 PM
Looks interesting, Duck.

Marbling in painting, is sort of similar to this rod building type. Marbling is actually making a piece of " whatever " look like marble. You often use a brush ( feather ) to achieve a result. There are guys in the industry that will do a this and you will not be able to tell the difference from that and ' real ' marble. It is usually done on coloumns at entries to houses to create that " expensive ' effect, but can de done anywhere.

sid_fishes
06-08-2006, 07:57 PM
g,day duck, mate what do you use for your pigments? i would be interested in seeing other work that you have done ......... cheers ian

06-08-2006, 09:03 PM
Just checked out your finished effort Ian. Looks very tidy and I like the colour combinations.

Mine are along those lines, although I got into trouble from Stu for carrying over the epoxy too far, I actually had no idea, and totally forgot to ask him back then.

As for marbling, I've seen it on a few rod building sites and it looks very good, might give it a go down the track. Firstly I want to improve my fish patterns, and then have a shot at Stu's weaving, which I found very impressive.

sid_fishes
07-08-2006, 06:10 PM
thanks for the kind words roz, i have just had a reply from myles at bearclaw rods and i can follow up the marbling side of things , and have also looked at the viswrap program and its aviability so i can do other cross wraps etc..... why did i get into this stuff????????? cheers ian

07-08-2006, 06:31 PM
thanks for the kind words roz, i have just had a reply #from myles at bearclaw #rods and i can follow up the marbling side of things , and have also looked at the viswrap program and its aviability so i can do other cross wraps etc..... why did i get into this stuff????????? # cheers #ian

i ask myself the same question Ian.

It seemed so simple when I just built the wretched things and didn't worry too much about the binding.

It's people like DR, Volvo. David Boyle & Stu, that have helped cultivate my obsession....gotta blame someone. ::)

vapour_trail
14-09-2006, 05:21 AM
Nice work Ian,I think you told me it was sabre blank you used,Iwould be interested to know what you think of your rod after you fished with it,you must be looking forward to nailing some fish with it .

cheers mickey.

sid_fishes
16-09-2006, 07:24 AM
mickey,mate the blank is a Hastings EGUSA blank,and a cant tell how it fishes yet[ i cant seem to get enuff time ], but i am looking forward to using it. cheers ian