PDA

View Full Version : bent butts on game rods

woolly_bugger
10-01-2007, 06:08 PM
thinking of building a24kg stroker.looking at using a bent detatchable butt. Have not built one before .any advice greatly welcomed.

Bearclaw,sorry I haven't been in touch .been off the air for a while.

stuart
10-01-2007, 06:50 PM
I would like to know what size blue fin your chasing? What size boat your going to be fishing from size and beam. This may sound stupid asking these questions but trust me, I have built game rods for a living for more than 15 years. I have also fished this style for many many years as well. The disadvantage of bent butts is 1/ they don't sit well in rod holders, you will need to put a pin or a gimble lifter in your rod holder to bring the depth up to around 200mm. The lenght of the rod itself is also critical, to long and you will counter act the leverage benefits of the bent butt. Most people normally just take a rod blank and glue the gimble fitting straight on then add the fore grip and guides. That usually brings the total lenght up to around 6ft long, you need to look at a built lenght of 5'4" over all. It would also be handy to know what make of blank your using. The boat size can work against you in a big way. I have fished bent butts out of small trailer boats and I can assure you its nothing but a head ache in big seas. The bigger and beam-er the boat the more stable you will be to fight your fish. At least with a UNI butt you have three choices when it comes to butts, you can have a straight long butt "UB2" short straight butt "UB2S" and a short bent butt "UB2SC". I wouldn't use any other butts other than AFTCO because they are spun not machined to shape which makes for a softer less durable butt. Hope this helps. If you need any guidance let me know.

Stu

woolly_bugger
17-01-2007, 10:36 AM