View Full Version : Hornet 455 Wohs!!

Jack_Lives_Here
26-03-2002, 08:45 AM
Have a Hornet 455 fitted with a Yammy 4 stroke 50hp. From new I've had a fair inkling the motor was mounted too deep - get a fair amount of spray coming over the back of the boat and can only reach 5400rpm at WOT, for about 49 - 50kmph. At plane, the cav plate is about 2inches under the water.

Keen to hear from anyone with a similar set up that I can compare mounting depth to?? The dealer suggested it be raised 1 hole but I think at least the two holes???

All the best

krazyfisher
26-03-2002, 01:14 PM
dave
I have a 435 with a 40 and it does 50kph with 3 blokes and the 330l esky full with ice bait and food and 60 with one empty and the cav plate sits just above the water just something to check have you got the tilt up high enough I was told it can make 15%differance having the motor mounted right?

Jack_Lives_Here
26-03-2002, 01:38 PM
Yeh, got electric trim so have tried all different positions while running at speed. Trimmed maximum at speed just before it starts to cavitate is my best speed. I reckon it needs to come up at least 2 inches.

krazyfisher
26-03-2002, 03:27 PM
be it right or wrong they told me if I was to lift it just use timber the right hiegh to lift it up so the cav plate is skimming on the plane

tonyp
26-03-2002, 06:28 PM
Jack,
I have a 4.35 hornet trophy with side console and 50hp 4 banger and the cav plate sits dead in line with the bottom of the boat. This height is great. I can get 6100 rpm by myself. but you have a heavy hull than i . The 4 banger is not very good on fuel at this speed either http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm36.gif
Hope this helps. Tony p

dazza
27-03-2002, 02:08 PM
krazyfisher,
sorry bit off the subject. what size prop are you running. i've got a 4.1m stessco with a 40 honda with a 12 inch solas prop. (the factory honda ones are an insult!). I get about 35mph. The hull would weigh heaps less than the hornet. thinking about going to 12 1/2 inch, to get a bit better speed out of it
dazza

dazza
27-03-2002, 02:12 PM
oops, make that 3 a 2, i get about 25 mph at 3/4 throttle
sorry
dazza

krazyfisher
28-03-2002, 05:21 PM
dazza its a standard 40 tohatsu prop

dazza
29-03-2002, 03:21 AM