PDA

View Full Version : Wot's doin Yamaha ?

Lucky_Phill
19-08-2002, 04:12 PM
found this info confusing:-

This system helps achieve a dramatic boost in combustion efficiency that improves fuel economy by up to 20% compared to conventional carburetor outboards, while also ensuring cleaner exhaust emissions. ( this is from a Yammie dealer )

This revolutionary fuel injection system boosts combustion efficiency dramatically and cuts fuel consumption by up to 30% compared to conventional carburetor outboards.

( this is from Yammie themselves )

Both are giving a report on the HPDI 2 strokes. ( the 175 to be precise )

any ideas ?

is someone telling porkies or is it a numbers game ? # # #??? # # ::) # #>:( # #;D

Flynny
19-08-2002, 06:05 PM
Hi Phil
Direct injection is a wonderful thing
I have lots of experience with the
Optimax system used by Mercury and have found the fuel econy staggering
at least as good as fourstroke.
Regards the HPDI I really would not want to be around when a fuel line
let go
Flynny

Bill_Corten
27-08-2002, 07:57 AM
Hi Phil

As you know I am very happy with the 175 HPDI on "Reel Affair".
My experience of the motor has been about a 30% fuel saving over the carby model 150 HP Johnson on the last boat. While that motor was excellent with lots of grunt in its class compared to its competitors, it was also known as a thirsty motor.
I feel the Yammie dealers claim of 30% fuel efficiency, if comparing motors of similar HP, is credible.
For the record, the HPDI is averaging an 18.6 litre per hour overall fuel burn on offshore trips and bar crossing courses. The latter is thirsty work, so the average is bloody good on a rig which weighs a little over two tonnes (boat, motor, trailer, 195Lfuel and offshore gear on board too).

Cheers
Bill

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm1.gif #

Lucky_Phill
29-08-2002, 04:58 PM