View Full Version : Why Quintrex .
Big_Kev
14-10-2002, 03:37 AM
I was wanting to know from Quintrex owners what it is that seems to set the Quintrex product ahead of the rest ?
I have read on many occasions through this site people giving glowing accolades to these boats , and am interested to know what it is that gives them this market edge . I am not wanting other boats to get a bagging just a productive feed back .
I am selling my beloved half cab and will be in the market soon for a smaller tinny .
A couple of the guys at work are owners and they always brag about their Quintrex's but still dont give a good explanation as to why .
In the past I have owned a Stacer and was more than happy with it , and was told that Quintrex make Stacer?
Flynny perhaps this may be along your lines .
Regards Reel Hard
CHRIS_aka_GWH
14-10-2002, 06:05 AM
Telwater Pty Ltd are the mother company that make Stacer & Quintrex.
We recently purchased a Stacer 475 Nomad & are delighted with it. It is the equivalent of a Quintrex topender but there are differences. The Quintrex version is more expensive but the peripheral welds seem more extensive (like on the gunwhales) & seem to have a better finish to them on the ones I've seen. Don't get me wrong the Stacer is as solid as a rock - I'm very happy & was aware of the variation when purchasing.
Also the layouts differ. The Stacer has more room for under deck storage & the live bait tank & kill box are under floor. The Quintrex has these as an above floor attached to the transom. The Quintrex console is better looking piece of equipment - the stacer more basic. The Quintrex has better quality anchor rope roller, Stacer more basic etc.
Like Eagle & Lowrance (both produced by Lowrance) I reckon #the 2 brand names allow for greater market penetration by having more dealer locations with competing but similar product, one with a lesser cost.
They are a big company with a good reputation & history - their factory is huge & high tech which gives a good quality consistent product.If you live in SEQ buying a Telwater boat means you have the manufacturer close at hand should repairs be needed. I have a mate who split a keel weld on his Quintrex half cabin (his own fault), Quintrex repaired it free of charge even though the hull was outside warranty period as long as he delivered it. Word of that sort of service gets around.
cheers, chris
Silverback
15-10-2002, 03:29 AM
Hi Reel Hard,
I bought my first Quintrex in 1995, a 4.55mt Fishabout. The reasons I picked the Fishabout was in my opinion after looking at all the others, they were the best finished off Alloy boat on the market, simple as that. I read all the mag articales, but in the end used my own judgement. After nearly six years great service I decided to upgrade to a bigger boat and was able to sell my boat with ease and got an excellent resale value. When buying my new boat I still had a look at the available boats before buying, but after such a good experience with my last Quintrex I couldn't find anything that swayed me away from buying another Quinnie. So I now have a 5.6mt Quinnie Classic, and love it.
We've been running a little Trevally 3.9 meter for about 5 years and I've taken it up to Hinchinbrook, Gladstone, all over the place even 20 km's offshore (up north). It's only our secondary boat but It's proved to be very seaworthy. My only complaint is that if you want any after purchase mods e.g. extra ribs then Quintrex don't want to know you.
Recently I've sold my bigger boat and had a look around prior and decided not on a Quinny because of the pricing. My new rig is a Fisher plate 4.8m set up like a Topender and was the same price as a Quinny 4.75m.
A good boat but check around as there are some excellent products that offer far better value. I suppose if we all had the same boats and cars etc... it would be a boring live.
Jack_Lives_Here
15-10-2002, 09:48 AM
Checked a few styles and brands before I forked out the $$$$. It came down to a smoother ride, better stability and better resale value in the Quintrex.
gruntahunter
15-10-2002, 03:32 PM
gday mate, i went for a Savage purely to save dollars and saved about $1500 . The boat is finished as good if not better than the equiv quinny and is a fantastic boat. The service I get from Northside Marine is top class and have not had 1 problem with boat.
Having said all this, I dont intend to sell this boat for a long time, just renew the motor every few years, so the resale is not an issue to me.
The $1500 is certainly better in my pocket than theres in my situation.
team_mongo
15-10-2002, 04:38 PM
Hi Reel Hard,
Me and a mate just bought a 5.60 topender. We were orginally going to by an ocean cylinder 5200, but would of cost close to $50K fitted out (a little exe for a 5m boat!). So we looked at the quinne.
I think the we were swayed by
1. Good quality
2. High resale value (if such a thing exists for boats) :P
3. Good ride
4. Wide range of accessories
5. Extensive service network
6. Springwood marine gave me an offer I couldn't refuse!
Its a safe bet to buy a quinne, but as you know they are more expensive. Suppose it comes down to budget and perceived value..
George
bassfanatic5
15-10-2002, 10:25 PM
Hi REEL HARD,
# # # # # # #As a boilermaker i have repaired many stress cracks in ( OLDER PRESSED ) alloy boats and when i went to buy my boat i decided on a quinny as the only welding i could remember doing on them was fitting rails and other accessories. I have also had friends buy other brands and then hop in the quinny and praise the ride quality. #I'm not saying that people don't have problems with quinnies cracking, only that i haven't come across any yet. #And yes i can understand the mates at work bragging about thier boats as it is a very common thing with Quintrex owners.
# # Cheers Bassfanatic5
Big_Kev
15-10-2002, 10:54 PM
Thanks for all the input fellas .
I have to say you arent kidding when it comes to the quintrex being the more expensive boat .
I chased around today for a hull price
in a 4.6mtr open boat and the Quintrex fishseeker with millenium hull and flared bow was two grand more than a stacer and seajay equivelent .
I guess I will have a bit of consideration before I take the plunge .
adrian
16-10-2002, 03:24 PM
hi reel hard
see if the dealers will take you out on a test run so that you can see the difference in ride and handling in the 3 boats . the only problem i've got is the battery isolator is getting corroded my fault I think
anzac
Flynny
16-10-2002, 04:20 PM
Hi Reelhard
I am sorry that I took so long to reply to your post,but I have a couple of days off the board.
I guess the responses from members will pretty much cover your questions.
As a Quinnie dealer I have to say this.
1/ When I make a suggestion based on feedback from customers , they listen to me.
2/My boat warranty problems are minimal,and if there is a problem that problem is attended to immediately.
Flynny
16-10-2002, 04:54 PM
Hi Reel hard
Sorry I have been off the board for a short time.The previous posts seem to have done my job for me!!
As a Quinnie dealer let me say this.
1/We go to them with a suggestion the door is always open.
2/quintrex are a market driven company,the boats they produce are a direct result of input from guys like you.
3/No manufacturer is greater than the sum of it's customers or it's dealer network,Quintrex is aware of this.
4/Stacer is owned by the same company Telwater,The Stacer Product does not compete directly with Quintrex,but rather with the allycrafts
and seajays,this is not having a go at either of these brands ,but in the scheme of things,the Quinnie brand is where all the developement happens.No one else in the industry can boast an R&D department with real live Engineers.
Cheers Flynny
jonesy
16-10-2002, 05:03 PM
hi real hard
you may be interested in this ;) saw a 4.6 sea crest with millenium hull at john crawford marine a couple of weeks back with 50 hp yeehaaa 8) ;Don it .
i don't know how many gorillas they wanted for it ,but if you are looking for something like this call them.could save some mullar on a new rig.
jonesy
Big_Kev
17-10-2002, 10:59 AM
Thanks jonesy I took a look at it .
Bit knocked around in the paintwork but otherwise looks like a good rig .
Might be a bit to much for my current budget though .
here is a few interesting shots of a Quinny http://www.kisser.net.au/ansa/Garry%20Frayne.htm
Big_Kev
18-10-2002, 01:11 AM
That would be a hard learned lesson DR to see your pride and joy destroyed like that . At least they got back to shore alive though could have easily been a different story .
Also says a lot for insurance , and making sure you have full coverage .
CHRIS_aka_GWH
18-10-2002, 09:31 AM
also says alot for not tampering with the factory installed flotation considering the thing was still on the surface after that sort of hammering.
gruntahunter
18-10-2002, 03:36 PM
Bloody hell, it must have found a nice reef to do all that damage.
Flynny
18-10-2002, 05:23 PM
Sorry Reelhard Something went wrong somewhere.
Quinnies I can talk About As a Dealer Without any Prejudice.
They have an Active R&d Department with Qualified people working on design.
2/ They listen to their dealers (one can only hope that the dealers are listening to the public)
3/Every year changes occur always for the better,i.e.3mm bottoms on 445 hornets.
The door is always open to anyone from the top to the bottom regarding suggestions.
They help us enormously with individual designs,this is an outstanding feature for us in our position.
They don't cost alot more if you compare apples with apples.
Warranties (few) are attended to immediately at dealer level.
There is lots more but gibven the choice of any alloy boat manufacturer in Australia,and I have that Choice.
I Could not trade them all for Quintrex.
Flynny