PDA

View Full Version : Rods banging around in rocket launchers

rwells9999
10-06-2003, 03:12 PM
I recently had rocket launchers fitted to my bimini top on my centre console, the whole rig is fantastic, but the rods which I rig before I go out, end up in a tangled mess by the time I get to where I'm fishing. Has anyone got a fix.
Robin

mackmauler
10-06-2003, 03:16 PM
Don't put them up there while travelling, there are all sorts of problems that can occur by doing that, best to put them down low ;)
Rob

FLATHEAD1
10-06-2003, 03:32 PM
I fitted vertical rod holders to the front of the centre console. They consist of a pocket to rest the butts in and foam to push the rod into. Holds them nice and firm and up of the floor. They hold six rods.

FLATHEAD1

Rhino
10-06-2003, 03:49 PM
I'm fairly new to owning rocket launchers myself but generally I only place rods in the launchers without rigging. I usually have the rigs sitting in the tackle box ready to go which only takes a few seconds to set up once ready. I always have rods in the launchers whilst travelling and thus far haven't had any problems. (I don't use the launchers whilst towing obviously)

Regards Ryan...

peterbo3
10-06-2003, 04:57 PM
Evening R36,
If you need (or want )to carry rigged rods in the launchers the solution to tangles, bounce & even loss of everything is simple.
Get a length of shock-cord (5mm) & tie a sister clip to each end. The sister clips enable the shock-cord to be quickly joined & you can loop then around the rocket launcher & reel to give you a stable, secure tie-down system.
If you don't know:Shock-cord is nylon coated elastic but the sister clip is way past my literary explanation skills. Ask Glascraft or your local marine supplier.

Heath
10-06-2003, 06:28 PM
It is simply inertia at work. We don't have this problem on our rigs we use for live bait, but anything with a sinker & you are asking for trouble.

bazz
11-06-2003, 04:52 PM