View Full Version : drevil's new boat

drevil
28-06-2003, 04:17 AM
Hi All

Well after much looking around, I have finally bought my first boat capable of taking me out into the bay.

It's an '88 Mustang 18 footer with a 100 merc on the back. Apart from needing a little attention to the gelcoat which is a little powdery, it's in extremely good condition.

I'm not sure about the name painted on the side, I might want to change it. The paints a bit worn out anyway, so any advice on the best way to remove it would be appreciated. I read on a site somewhere to first try toothpaste with a lambswool buffer, then move on to wax, polish, etc, until it comes off.

I'll be picking it up this weekend and initially getting it wet around the southern bay islands before spending a little time checking everything out and then heading over to Moreton in the next couple of weeks.

drevil
28-06-2003, 04:18 AM
Oops, posted the wrong pic...

drevil
28-06-2003, 04:18 AM
Still having probs...

peterbo3
28-06-2003, 06:12 AM
Hey Doc 666,
You reckon you are having problems posting your pics. You will have no end of REALLY BIG problems if you change the name of that boat!!!! :'( :'( :'( :o :o :o

Lachie1
28-06-2003, 06:48 AM
Bad luck to change the name of a boat isn't it ??? ???

Lachie

drevil
28-06-2003, 08:39 AM
What about just removing the name? Is that bad luck as well??? :-/

Lachie1
28-06-2003, 10:23 AM
dunno mate not that i'm superstishous or anythin but apparently some god of the sea has something to do with it. ??? Like breakin a mirror (done that heaps before and i'm still doin ok) or walking under a ladder ::) :P ;D

Don't think that takin the name off could be too bad. Done it to my little boat and it still goes

Cheers, Lachie

aussiebasser
28-06-2003, 11:53 AM
Hi drevil,
Nice lookin' rig.
Get in touch with a decent mobile car detailer. He can give the thing a complete cut and polish, which will possibly remove the name anyway.
I wouldn't change the name, and I'm not supersticous, touch wood.

predator
28-06-2003, 04:25 PM
a sign writer told me to use a spray oven cleaner to get old signwriting off.. ??? ???

haven't tried it yet... ::)

28-06-2003, 06:33 PM
If the name is painted on oven cleaner will work (MAKE SURE YA DO A TEST PATCH FIRST)
If the name is in cut of vynal letters use a hair dryer and warm the letters and they will peel off, then clean off the remaining glue with thinners. I have changed a few boat names for people and i dont think any of them have sunk

Big_Kev
29-06-2003, 12:41 AM
A buff with some cut and polish would be the go if it is painted Doc.
Never tried the oven cleaner but it must work if Blaze has tried it.
Removing all recollection of the old name from the boat and log book is suppose to be the superstitious method to change the name.
www.boatnames.com.au has instuctions to change the name and the ceremony involved.
Not that you are superstitious but good insureance just in case LOL.
Nice looking rig too might I add.
Think of a good name for her before the ceremony.
I wish you calm seas and light winds.
Cheers Kev.

SteveCan
30-06-2003, 02:05 PM
Good Looking Rig Dr,

That will do lots of good things in the bay and a big cabin for storage and snoozin too. If your into overnightin that will do the job nicely.

Steve.

Morlers
30-06-2003, 04:30 PM
Hey Drevil
Check out the Boat Names Australia site and they tell you how to decommission a boat name and rename. Here's the site. http://www.boatnames.com.au/
Best of luck
Morlers

drevil
01-07-2003, 02:32 AM
Thanks for your feedback, guys. We took it out Saturday around the southern bay and it went great...heaps of room and the kids had a ball.

I'll look into that name thing as well. :D