View Full Version : discounts on boating accessories
locomotion
05-07-2003, 06:04 PM
:-/i am wondering if any of you know if there are any boating supply stores in the BRISBANE area that are having specials on gear to fit out a second hand boat i have just brought ( being a first time boat owner ) would appreciate any help i can get as far as best launching sites and things like should there be dirt and moisture in the bow of a 5mtr cuddy cab or how i can fix this would much appreciate any help or advice thanks
Big_Kev
06-07-2003, 03:29 PM
One thing at a time.
You are going at it like a locomotive.
As for cheap gear for a boat, (doesn't exist).
If you know what you are looking for scour the trading post.
Post asome pics of the dirt and moisture will help.
Cheers Kev
jaybee
06-07-2003, 04:02 PM
hey loco depending on what you want, whitworths are about the cheapest in brisbane. however it still pays to shop around. Like kev says posts some pics on the dirt and moisture. Like i have heaps o sand up my bow from last weekend but no moisture, even after hosing it out, but then jack didnt do a very good job with the hose, damn sand gets into everything YUK
joe.
06-07-2003, 08:51 PM
hi joe
Might be time for a new deckie or make him work harder for his trips (sorry jack)
jaybee
07-07-2003, 01:34 AM
Hi Blaze
Good help is hard to find these days ;D so hows the fishing been down your end of the world ??? with the winds we have had up here lately would probably make you feel right at home
joe.
Fisherman02
07-07-2003, 05:56 AM
joe u bastad
it would have been a lot easier to hose out if you didn't move that roof over my head, geez that hurt :o
What about the anchor well? Don't you mention any of the really good jobs I do, dear dear
cheers jack
locomotion
07-07-2003, 07:26 AM
kev thanks for the ideas but as far as posting some pics bit hard , its a nova fibreglass hull and as for the dirt and such thats what i found when i pulled the bung out and stuck my finger in there ( wow no spiders lol) and have not got a camera that small to fit into a 10mm hole so sorry pics not possible . And i don't know if shoving the garden hose down there is such a good idea as where is the water going to go ?, As for the donk don't know how long since it has had water thru it but i have been on the hunt for a large container to be able to wash the motor in , as yet no lock if any of you know where i could get a large plastic drum from i would be verry gratefull ( god this hard to do with a dissability ) but we all soldier on don't we , ok check ya's later bye
peterbo3
07-07-2003, 09:14 AM
Afternoon Locomotion,
Are you talking about dirt & moisture being inside one of your sealed floation chambers? Some more details would be helpful. As for a flushing drum, how big is your engine? There are plastic drums around which are easy to cut down but they are 200L. Try Yellow Pages, page 835.
Now cheap boat gear, different story. If it is new & cheap it will probably last two trips & you will have to replace it. Get the good stuff the first time. As for second hand, Trading Post or W/End Shopper. Or you could put a Wanted ad here outlining what you want. A lot of people have extra gear lying around which they are happy to convert into $. [smiley=laola.gif]
locomotion
07-07-2003, 09:36 AM
peterbo 3 sorry mate but yeh the problem is in the bow ( i think it is a floatation chamber but not sure ) has a bung plug but there is a lot of muck there where the ribbing of the boat is ( yeh i am slowly getting the hang of this boating language lol ) as for the other point it has an 85 horse evinrude on it was told by the guy i'm buying it of that it has had a 90 horse head put on it what that means or is supposed to do i don't know, but he tells me it now is rated at 90 ? . It also has what i think is called a a planing wing on the leg of the motor much more than that i can't say cause i don't know , But thanks for the tip :D
07-07-2003, 09:51 AM
Hi Loco
I think the best thin to do is spend a 200 bucks and take to a boat/outboard dealer and get it checked out professionally, then ya will know exaclly where you are. Old boats/motor are o/k but its not a nice place to brake down or find the hull breaking around you, the few $ might even save ya life
You might find that once ya know the problems (if any) that then ya can carry out the work yourself with the help this board will supply.
Hi joe
Fishin like sh..
Windy, rainin must be winter
peterbo3
07-07-2003, 09:59 AM
Loco,
Spend $100. Get an inspection done on your motor & hull before you go out. Most dealers will provide this service. Ring around & GET PRICES & CONFIRM WHAT they are going to check. You need a written report. Should cover the following as a minimum. Others may suggest more.
1. Cylinder compression
2. Charging system
3. Tilt/trim
4. Battery/cables
5. Fuel lines/filter
6. Gearbox oil
7. Prop
8. Steering
9. Trailer wheel bearings & lights
Motor should be run in test tank and gear change, rev range & general performance checked.
This will give you a starting point.
Get the hull checked where it is dirty/moist. Transom & engine mounts also need attention. Good luck & watch out for these. [smiley=greedy.gif] [smiley=greedy.gif] [smiley=greedy.gif].
locomotion
07-07-2003, 10:04 AM
Hi blaze
hmmmm good advice and well noted but being from forest lake area and only being a Queenslander for about 9 months still finding out a lot , like not much point trying to fish from the shore ( shit the water goes out a long way here ) so as is the case i don't even know where to go let alone where to or how to launch the dang thing. so when the time comes would be willing to pick up and take some knowlage with me ( hint hint ) , will check the yellow pages and see what i can find cause i need an epirb and all don't want to risk my life on a second hand one you know :-/ ;)
Big_Kev
07-07-2003, 01:48 PM
Loco I will have a look around at work for an empty plastic drum and if there is one there I will drop it off for you. The drum will have to be cut vertical to fit the outboard on your boat. Otherwise they can be bought at a drum recycler for $5 for one that is past recycling but good for flushing.
The wing on the outboard is called a foil. Some people like em some don't.
Send me a PM with a phone number and I will call you if I can score a drum.
Cheers Kev.
fishfinder
10-07-2003, 05:35 PM
Gday,
Dont muck about with a drum. There is a far easier way to run your boat motor on land. Run down to your nearest boating store and grab a pair of outboard flushers for less than 10 bucks. These fit on the leg of the outboard over the water intake holes and you connect to your garden hose. Turn on hose and start motor. Watch to make sure that the water "tell tale" just below the engine cover of most motors shows a stream of water coming out within a few seconds, if not turn off motor and grab a bit of wire and gently push up telltale hole ( they do block up) and try again.
As for dirt take the bungs out of the back of the boat and use that hose to give her a darn good flush, the water will come out the bung holes no worries. Make sure the back of the boat is downhill to get out all the water.
Good luck.