View Full Version : aluminium & marine modifications
brumbs
15-07-2003, 07:04 AM
hi all
i have just started a new company on the gold coast
if i can help anyone out with there new or old boat please contact me.
specialising in aluminium and all marine aspects
including, welding,boat and motor fit ups,electrical,fabrication,customising,spray painting,decal
cutting and sign applications,custom made boat names any font with matching rego numbers.
i have been involved in the marine indusry since 1987
and worked for one of the largest boat manufactures
on the gold coast.
any trouble shooting i would be pleased to help
15-07-2003, 04:14 PM
We will keep you in mind when the time comes.
Obviously mates rates apply to all Ausfish members ;)
Had a aluminium welding job done up here recently. hairline split / crack about 2 inches ( see 50mm ) long in keel. Charged my $90, I said " you mean $19 " and he said no, " it took me half an hour to do the job ".
What would your quote have been ?
brumbs
16-07-2003, 04:02 AM
g'day phill,
splits along the keel are a very commom problem in alloy boats .but can be prevented if you keep an eye on a few things,the maine cause is the ribs
are not down hard against the bottom sheets causing the bottom sheets to flex and over time it will crack, never on the weld but beside it where the heat has affected the temper of the alloy.
to prevent this as harsh as it sounds hit the ribs down till they put pressure back on the bottom sheets and stop any movment''plastic mallet is best but if not use a block of wood and a lump hammer''.
to your question no problems for mate rates
and if the boat was delivered to my door and it was a clean split ''no sikiflex squirted in it''
straight forward quick clean and weld up it would cost around $30 but if had to pull the floor up and inspect or fix what caused the crack ,it does take
time and would cost extra. kind regards brum.b's
16-07-2003, 12:09 PM
Thanx for your reply and we'll keep ya in mind.
Big_Kev
16-07-2003, 12:47 PM
He sounds like a helpful sort of a fella hey Phil.
I will give him a shot for sure.
Cheers Kev
dazza
18-07-2003, 08:49 AM
Kev,
Not a plate bottom in the new boat yet hey :o :o :o
How's the young fella
dazza
Big_Kev
18-07-2003, 02:19 PM
The little guy is coming along well and the weight is coming on fast now Dazz.
I will wait until I have to and then I will go for the plate bottom. But I am thinking about a bait table over the transom like Burdiken Bob has on his C/C, it looks like a serious bit of equipment. I will have to talk with Brumbs about what I want.
Cheers Kev.