View Full Version : *** Boating Safety Day ***

Mudcrab
01-08-2003, 04:51 AM
A reminder guys that the above day is THIS SUNDAY at Victoria Point.
Starts at 11.00 am and finishes around 3.00 pm
Live flare demo is at 1.00 pm
We have a limited number of flares for YOU to set off so if you have never done it before, now is the time to have a go!
Also have Water Police, Maritime Safety Qld, Ambos, Firies, heaps of the most modern safety gear (and how to use it!), displays on knots, ropes, anchors (remember Flat Rock!), first aid, games for the kids, talks on 4-strokes outboards, battery checks and accessories, free marine radio checks and SWR tests, free boating safety checks, fire pump displays and the kids can hold one for fun under supervision, games for the ankle biters, sausage sizzle, drinks, Naval Cadets doing their stuff, see how we set up our two new rescue boats, you can climb all over the new 8.0 metre Stingray and it's 2 x 225 hp Yammies and ooooooh and aaaaah at the full colour Furuno Navnet nav gear, drool at the fast response vessel, our 5.8 metre Gemini with a 130 hp Honda and top speed of 50 knots. Entry is free though a coin in the tin always helps.
Our biggest problem is always getting the word around so if you have any buddies, please let them know and bring them along.
Site is at end of Colburn Avenue Victoria Point. You can't miss it. Lots of car parking avcailable and should be a ripper day. Remember this is not specifically a SALES day though gear will be available to purchase.
Theme remains "BOATING SAFETY"
After the Flat Rock tragedy, IT CAN HAPPEN TO YOU no matter how well your vessel is set up.
Ian Fischer
Commodore
VMR Vicky Point

locomotion
02-08-2003, 08:58 AM
Hi VMR
gunna make the effort to be there sounds like a good day out for the novice ( or the ones who aren't sure about their boat ) might even pick up a bargain or two :D :D ::)

04-08-2003, 03:20 PM
Report from the Day.

Locomotion, Aquarius, Webby, Snappyone, Caveman and friends of those including wives, Kids attended the day.

Good chattin to VMR guys about the boats. Ausfish members did us proud by setting off flares " properly ".

To make a good day of it, my other half won the raffle. Weekend Accom at Straddie. doh !

Trouble is, the wind died right off as the arvo went by. Where should we have been ?

aquarius
04-08-2003, 04:03 PM
Yes Phill was a great way to spend a Sunday...good to have some hands on experience letting off flares.....I bet locomotion will bring a glove next time..lol
Some people are just born lucky ay mate...good onya mate...enjoy the Staddie weekend prize.
A big thank you to VMR VICTORIA POINT for a well organised event...Its good to know somebody is looking after us while on the water.
Cheers Brent

locomotion
05-08-2003, 10:55 AM
Hi phill and aquarius
was good to meet you guys and have fun on your weekend phill ( ha you gunna take the missus or the boat ? :-X)
as far as the flares go they should sell them with a heat resistant glove in the pakaging and a warning,
DO NOT HOLD HAND UNDER BASE ( scared the shit out of me :D )
when it blew out the base of the flare also.

great day good meeting people
andy