PDA

View Full Version : Myths and facts on Dual battery setups.

rwells9999
21-07-2003, 08:32 AM
Hi all,
I’m in the process of fitting my center console with a Dual battery system and have had a look at some of the questions and comments placed onto this web site. Just to give my comments some credibility, I have been an Electronics tech for the best of 22 years and have spent the last 12 years in IT so I hope that I can remember my Ohm’s law. Firstly the myths about how much current your electronics is drawing. If you are unable to measure the current drawn by a device or don’t have the manufacturers specs, then using the rating of a fuse is a poor indication of how much current the device draws. There is NO hard rule or formula on manufacturers as to how they rate fuses. If a piece of equipment has a 5 amp fuse (depends on type of fuse) then you can only assume that the current consumption of that device once it has settled down would be 40 - 50% of that i.e. 2 amp. So when I see people place comments on the web about a sounder using 5 amps I think that is a bad guess. I have had a look at the manuals of some of the popular Sounders, GPS’s and Radio’s and this is what I have found.

Furuno 600L color sounder # # # # # #1.3A with full backlighting on
Humminbird Paramount wide sounder # # #0.6A (No specifications figures available)
Lowrance LCX-15MT GPS/Sounder # # #2 to 3 A (No specifications figures available)
Navman 4500 sounder # # # # # # # # #0.8 A with full backlighting on.
Garmin 182 GPS # # # # # # # # #0.4 A
Navman 5100 GPS # # # # # # # # #0.6 A with full backlighting on
Icom M45 VHF radio # # # # # # # # #0.8 A in standby. 6 A in high power Tx.
GME GX294 27 Mhz # # # # # # # # #0.35 A in standby, 1.6A in Tx

OK you can see that the real power users if only for a short period of time are the transmitters in radios, GPS’s have no power circuits in them and as such use bugger all power. Sounders, well some use more than others.