View Full Version : need advise on boat!

lurch
03-09-2003, 07:23 PM
I'm new to your chat board , and looking for some thoughts on purchasing an old boat for a beginner in boating. I'm 30's with young family and mortgage so I dont have the funds for a new boat. but would like to make a start !
Im looking for something in the 5m range or just under that could be towed by a Commodore wagon , to be able to go outside fishing on not too rough days , or otherwise to go in river fishing .
My grandfather had an old pride around 19ft with a 115 Evinrude which was good and i was thinking about a Seafarer v-sea 474 , Haines V16R / V17R , Nautiglass Sportsman.
What does everyone think , I know this is not exactly a fantastic list but they seem to fall into the price bracket, theres also some basket cases out there which could do with some work , to had quite cheap ?

Secondly what about Outboards I am able to do most work on car or motorcycle mechanicals but I know nothing about outboards , What should i look out for # # #( Types , models or ages ) or would it be better to buy separately #.

Any advise would be much appreciated

drevil
04-09-2003, 04:07 AM
Hi Lurch

Welcome to Ausfish.

Having recently gone through buying a second hand boat on a bit of a budget, I know what you mean. I ended up buying an 1989 Mustang 18.5" half cabin in really good nick for $8,500. The hull, deck & transom is sound, the motor recently reconditioned and trailer well maintained. The Mustang has a great reputation for handling the rough stuff as well.

I tow it behind a Commodore no worries and launching it is easy.

My advice is be patient, talk to heaps of boat owners, keep a constant eye on all classifieds including the trading post (online), as most good buys get snapped up pretty quick. When you find something you like, get someone who knows boats to go with you on a water test and whenever possible, get a professional to do a written report on the condition of the rig. That includes hull, motor & trailer.

Another final tip is check where you'll be storing it...mine became a real problem as I couldn't get it past the side of my house. I had to modify the eaves on my house the give the boat enough clearance so I could store it! ::)

Good luck & happy boating.

kim
04-09-2003, 05:38 PM
Hi a few good chooses there,if you wont a boat just for fishing and to use by your self and a couple of mates and its a tight budget then you cant beat the vc, the ride,stability,space in a 474m boat is exellent. But for the wife and kids there is no seating or protection, there pritty much a no thrills fishing boat.

If its an allrounder your after why not have a look at the haines v17L exellent offshore ,low profile cab and have the performance of a runabout. so you can pull a skier and tubes etc.you should be able to pickup one between 8,500-10,000 with an early 80,s to late 80,s motor that needs a cleanup.
and the resale is good probably sell it in 5 years time for what you payed if not more.
hope this helps thanks dave.
and resale will be proba

red_spinner
05-09-2003, 09:05 AM
I recently bought a second-hand 5.2 metre - so I was told - Savage Osprey with a 50 Yamaha. Cost 8,000 with all the extras, although I have spent at least another grand since on bits and pieces. You know what they say BOAT stands for - "Better allow another thousand", or something like that. This is my second boat and, although I've been happy with both, each time the boat has come up shorter than quoted when I ran the tape over it. So take a tape measure when you're looking around. Other than that, I can recommend Savage aluminium boats. Also make sure you get the motor thoroughly checked out before you buy it - preferably by at least two mechanics. Motors and repairs are the biggest expense with boats. Don't just buy on impuse.

red

jaybee
05-09-2003, 10:21 AM
After reading reds response, some boats are measured centre line some gunnel. You have picked three good hulls but you have missed out on cruisecraft, sportsmancraft and easy rider not to mention nova. All the older hulls of these models are very heavy sea worthy boats. With the Nautiglass sportsfisher, the earlier version didnt have bunks, the later model does. Both have a tendency to dig in an lean but not quite broach in a following sea, i know my brother owned one. The earlier model without bunks traditionally come with a wet floor, and had a flaw, in that quite a few deaths were recorded in queensland with bar work. Something to do with not enough weight up the front. I looked at an earlier model last year with the latest 75 yamaha on it, $7000 the sellor was after the price of the motor. also looked at a seafarer half cab with the latest yamaha on it for the same price. Difference being the seafarer hull was 20 yrs older again. BEWARE new motors on old hulls. Most are only selling the new motor to get their money back on the motor. I eventually settled for a boat in the lenghth i was looking for (sportsmancraft) with a rebuilt 89 motor. The seller was only too pleased to photocopy the rebuild stats to take to wynnum marine to verify warranty could be transferred over. Wynnum marine were very compliant and put in writing for me and have been very helpfull ever since. I am enjoying a good run with this motor, however, one needs to remember, A BOAT IS A HOLE YOU PUT IN THE WATER AND FILL WITH MONEY btw, look at what safety gear and electronics come with it, that helps to work out the value of hull, trailer and motor. So in a sense you need to know the value of each item when you decide buy. Also doesnt matter what you decide to buy, in the long run like red said, be prepared to make some alterations.
hope this helps
joe.

skippa
05-09-2003, 02:23 PM
G'day Lurch,

Welcome aboard.

Some fine choices of boats within that range. At the moment I have a V17R and would thoroughly recomend them. She's pushed along by a 115 Yammie, which has proven to be a great combo.

The deepV hull is very forgiving and will handle conditions in Moreton Bay well, and on better days I'll slip 'outside' without any problems at all.

There is a lot to consider, age, condition of hull and motor, acessories, trailer, boat and motor history just to mention a few. If you are unsure take a trusted friend who DOES know something about boats with you, and as said before keep an eye out as the good ones still go early. Always take it for a water test, first.

I reckon half the fun in having a boat, is going out looking and buying it. :D :D

Happy (Haines) hunting ;D ;D

Tony 8)

lurch
05-09-2003, 07:52 PM
Thanks guys for the feedback .and some excelent thoughts. i must admit to having leanings towards the haines boats and especially the v17L .
I live on the Central Coast NSW so there isnt any bar to cross to get outside , but would plan to take the boat away with me when going on holiday Iluka / Yamba , and there is a nasty bar there ! so I would like the boat to be sound for open water work as well.
One of my likings would be to be able to take the whole family out for a cruise and a lunch at times so i would require to at least be able to have seating for 4/5 even if it was removeable.
Also the idea of the cuddy / Half cabin has some appeal both from the canopy / headroom point and also from the more upright seating / helm position, but then the runabout has more fishing room ?

Too many choices ????

is there other hulls that would be the same as the haines type hull that are maybe less well known ? is there anything that i need to look out for specifically in these boats ?

Most of all I am worried about the motors as they are probably the thing I am most unfamiliar with , I think i could handle most things about the hull and trailer but the motors are ????? . Again is there any real clues to what to look for ? how many hours is alot ? and how many hours will an outboard go before being rebuilt ?

Thanks again for the response .

06-09-2003, 01:21 AM
Hull problems are usually visibly obvious...Motors are a different story. Every used motor I have bought I have removed the gear case and had a good look up the leg..this is where the exhaust gases and water are expelled...lack of flushing and this is where corrosion will be very evident. Older Suzuki motors...especially the 140hp were notorious for cracking the gear case..check that out for any repairs..fortunately the seals are at the rear of the case and the cracks usually started at the front. There are other things that happen that no one can tell. I had a 115hp Yamaha V4..it would run like a charm and then...off would go the high water temp alarm...bring you back to 2000 rpm..pain in the butt if you were cornering hard. There was nothing wrong with the cooling of the motor. 5 minutes later and everything was fine. It would do this intemittently..could not identify the fault. Eventually it faltered and stayed that way. Damn electronics control box..$750 later and all was fixed..so..be prepared..these damn boats can keep you poor.

whiteman
06-09-2003, 10:25 AM
Lurch

With a young family comfort is everything. My boat (Quinnie 5.3) has a cabin which the kids love and keeps them away when there is big fishing action at the back ("which is not often" I can hear Barrymundi saying!). They can also sleep which is great when we're coming back in from a long haul to the islands. Keeping their stress levels low means you'll have many hours of pleasant family boating.

Find a good marine engine mechanic. My mate has 20 years on cars and he won't go near his boat motor!

Barrymundi
06-09-2003, 10:48 AM
Any big Grunter up your way yet Dave ?

ba229
08-09-2003, 04:20 PM
Hi Lurch,

I am in a similar position to you in the fact that I am looking for a first boat on a budget. :-/

I have been looking for about 4 months seriously now but I am in no real hurry as I am still learning some good fishing techniques on the land. :D

I write this post to inform you of a magazine I came across in the newsagents.

"Jeff Websters top 100 secondhand trailerboats 2nd edition".

I have seen this mag in plenty of newsagents and I think it is really a good read for us beginners.

It lists what to look for in a secondhand hull and motor.

It then lists boats in price ranges and a brief write up on them.

i.e. in the $5000-$10000 range it lists Haines hunter 445f, Nautiglass V-150 Sportsman, Quintex Fish Raider, Seafarer V-Sea 474, Savage Escort and Ensign, Stacer Seamaster 474, Caribbean Crestcutter, Savage Pacific and Atlantic etc etc etc.

This mag cost me $8.95 and I refer to it all the time.

Just thought I would mention it cause it might help.

Disclaimer: I don't know Jeff Webster or work for the publishers. I don't even work for a newsagent. I do however get my newspaper delivered daily ;D. I stumbled across this mag by chance and have enjoyed reading it. This is why I have recommended it.

lurch
11-09-2003, 07:42 PM
Hey ba229
Yes i already have this magazine in fact i have the third edition ?? And yes it is a very good read , full of great advise , Its a shame there isnt some kind of reference material on boats and types / models as there is so many different manufacturers that is is hard to know what you are responding to in any advertising !

I had a close up look at a Nautiglass V150 runabout yesterday and i was fairly impressed both with the build quality and room to fish . Also considering the ability to put the boat in the garage so may have to limit it to a runabout as i dont think a cuddy will fit under the garage door ( standard 2100 high ).

Keep the coments coming as im sure its not only me who can gain something from others experience.