View Full Version : Re: Barra style punt

afro
21-10-2003, 03:17 PM
George,
Might be one of the most expensive options, but look at a 4 m hornet, a trophy would be the best. Couldn't be happier with mine.

Cheers Justin.

big_george
21-10-2003, 03:39 PM
Hi Justin
what size motor do you run on yours.?/
cheers george.

aussiebasser
21-10-2003, 03:48 PM
Hi George,
You yammy should be OK for a 400 Hornet, but you may need a better prop if you're carrying much weight.( :-X) I ran a 10" pitch Solas on mine when I had the 420 Hornet and that gave me pretty good acceleration. You could also check out the Polycraft 4.1. That one Birdy had at Faust was an awesome little boat, and Randall's been raving about his now that he's had it on the water. With a plastic boat you could call it Recycle Bin Louden. ;D

big_george
21-10-2003, 03:57 PM
G'day Dale.
Would have love to have had a spin in birdy;s ,no i mean birdy's tub.Might have to venture over to tamworth one weekend. ;DWhat sort of speed did y get out of the 420 with the 30 hp.??/
cheers georgebinloudon. ;)

aussiebasser
21-10-2003, 05:37 PM
About 30mph one up, down hill.

Chris.Y
21-10-2003, 06:24 PM
Hi George
I got a 4.0m Hornet trophy & am happy as a pig in muck, had her for 19 months now & can't fault it. Stable at rest, goes like a cut snake ,lots of storage & she looks perty :P
I run a 40 merc light (read Tohatsu 3 cyl) with a std prop but am looking at getting a new s/s prop with bigger pitch soon (need more speed) :o
Cheers Chris

big_george
21-10-2003, 06:39 PM
Hi Chris
Do you have digital photo's of her.??
cheers george. ;)

paul-t
22-10-2003, 02:38 AM
george.
Do your self a favour,have a look at swano's qinny explorer.
regards paul.
PS.Get a bike not a boat. ;D

afro
22-10-2003, 03:05 AM
George,
I run a 40hp 3cyc. Tohatsu, i have talked to people with a 30 on the back and hear the performance is still quiet good. You might not get the same top speed out of the hornet when compared to a normal style hull, but the quailty of ride and stability will make a few k's at the top end seem like nothing.

Cheers Justin.

Chris.Y
22-10-2003, 02:25 PM
Hi George
Here's a pic of her when she was brand new
Cheers Chris

big_george
22-10-2003, 04:40 PM
G'day Chris.
Looks horn----et ;D
cheers george.

aussiebasser
23-10-2003, 04:43 PM
Now there's a boat that hasn't been to Faust!!!!!!

Chris.Y
23-10-2003, 04:52 PM
The lack of leky tape & scratches is a dead giveaway eh!,but this photo was 19 months ago 8)

big_george
23-10-2003, 05:41 PM
never did find out who did the sign work on binloudon.i get a lot of waves from people with tea towles on their heads now. ;D.

aussiebasser
24-10-2003, 05:45 PM
Mate I saw a Quokka with a roll of lekky tape in her pouch. I think she cut her hand doing it too ::)

big_george
25-10-2003, 02:02 AM
No dale
A quilby.

deb
27-10-2003, 02:16 PM
Hello
Try and test a 3.85 explorer trophy, thats what we use now, for exclusively for rivers and creeks, only mistake made was we put a 25hp johnson on it, with the extra weight of the casting decks, add twin fuel tanks, esky etc etc etc, plus the occasional passenger being aroung 130kg :-X ::) getting out the hole is slow! Having said that, the stability at rest needs to be seen, to be appreciated, 3 of us stood on one side(adults + BBJ), with no worries whatsoever and to tilt up the outboard to get the little creeks, squirt used to take us up chasing muddies, is no effort at all.
Deb

four_stroke
27-10-2003, 04:22 PM
hi there BIG_G I've owned both a 3.95 explorer & i now got a 4m hornet ;D . if you never see [smiley=drunk.gif] any waves over a foot (30cms) go the explorer & your 30 will be more that enough [smiley=thumbsup.gif]just remember explorers are wet and rough in a chop [smiley=thumbsdown.gif] but extremly stable at rest IE: can have three blokes cast lures from one side of the boat [smiley=laola.gif]no probs. the hornet is a different kettle of fish it is still pretty stable but u wouldn't stand three blokes on one edge tossing lures, run into a 1 to 2 foot chop and you will trade your first born [smiley=devil.gif] in for the hornet 3/4 stick (20kph) and dry as a bone and soft as what a ride. having owned both i'll probably buy another hornet when i trade up again even tho their nearly twice the price for the hull(i went the wide body due to the price dif) my hornet is pushed by a 25 yammie four stroke ;D two up it does 28kph and does about 25 nm on 1/2 a tote tank ;D ;D ;D ;D u gotta b happy with that. It comes down to where u fish if its protected like the creeks i use to fish in the north go the explorer if you venture out or the rivers u fish are wide and choppy do yourself and your back a favour go the hornet (trophy if u can afford it) hope i been some help. ::) tight lines

big_george
29-10-2003, 07:47 AM
Hi Four Stroke.
Thanks for the informative run down on both hulls.
cheers george. ;D [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

big_george
04-11-2003, 05:35 AM
Calling 4 stroke.
Have you got any pic's of the internal set up of your boat .
cheers george.