View Full Version : 5 metre centre console options

01-10-2003, 03:08 AM
I am after some advice and reccomendations on a 4.8 to 5.2 m centre console. I need a boat I can handle OK by myself and it has to be able to handle serious offshore fishing as well as flathead fishing down at Jumpinpin. I am heading toward fibreglass for the ride, but still looking at aluminium.

I have looked at a 2nd hand Spearfish 17, but wasn't impressed with the interior space and layout, so the Haines prowler 520CC, an older Haines CC, or the new Javelin 5 or 5.1 CCs are looking good.

Any one own one of these boats and can give some first habd experience, or reccomend an alloy boat they are really happy with?

shawn
01-10-2003, 05:14 PM
G'day Jeremy,
Have you had a look at Stinger boats?
Murray Hallam is building a new 5.8 metre long boat, which should be ready for water testing in a month or so.
Some of the features on the boat will be.....

-Full foam floatation under the floor, and around the gunnels.
-Front and rear casting decks, with storage inside,(if you want them).
-2 rod lockers (long enough for fly rods).
-Two 35 litre bait tanks.
-The centre console is designed to keep the GPS, sounder,VHF and stereo out of the weather.
-The 100 litre fiber glass fuel tank is inside the console.It also has a translucent window in it,so you can see exactly how much fuel is in it.
-Fully carpeted floor and casting decks.
-Plus a whole host of other goodies.

It will go on a drive on ,drive off trailer, so launching and retrieving will be no problem by your self.
Have a look at there web site at http://www.stingerboats.com.au #(all the boats on the site are older models,but will give you a general idea).
I am one sided though, because I have helped Murray design and build some of the moulds,I can't wait to get my boat on the water.
I hope this helps,and doesn't confuse the issue to much.
good luck...Shawn.

02-10-2003, 03:19 AM
Shawn,

I had a look at the web site. The boats look good and I like some of the features, but I think 5.8 m is too big and I don't want something with such a narrow beam as stability at rest is important.

Thanks anyway

SimonM
02-10-2003, 05:54 AM
Howdy Jeremy,

I have purchased one of the Wahoo boats from Roy Jervis Marine (also rebadged as a Mercury Seapro).

I got Roy to fit out my boat specifically for fly fishing. The boat has the following features:
- Large front casting platform with storage underneath.
- Pop-up cleats to keep clear of fly lines.
- Massive plumbed livewell (great for choosing dinner fish from the days catch).
- Centre Console with seating in front and behind of console. The centre console also has a fold down wind sheild allowing it to fit in the garage.
- Large esky drivers seat.
- Massive mackerel esky built into the floor (I have managed to fit mackerel up to 1.5m long into this esky)
- Twin rod lockers (fly rod length).
- Self draining deck.
- Built in 100 litre fuel tank.
- Built in tackle boxes.
- Flowcoat deck (I am not a fan of carpet interiors as they are a pain to clean blood, guts and muck out of).
- 60hp efi bigfoot Mercury

To be perfectly honest, it took a fair while to get exactly what I wanted. However, I have to say that I am extremely happy with the result. I fish all over Moreton Bay and the Sunshine Coast and I find the boat to be robust, extremely practical, very seaworthy for its size and very economical to run. It is by far the best and most pleasurable boat I have owned.

It seems that there are quite a few good boat builders in this style of boat at the moment (ie Fisher, Galeforce, Stinger, Hooker etc). I can only say that I am extremely happy with my choice and would recommend Roy as an option worth checking out.

Simon.

krazyfisher
02-10-2003, 10:25 AM
jeremy
dont let the narrow beam confuse you I have a 5mtr center console goodwin (longboat design) and it is very stable and a great ride
www.goodwinglass.com.au

02-10-2003, 10:46 AM
Jeremy, the ones that wont sink full of water are the best imo [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

02-10-2003, 12:15 PM
The Wahoos seem good. Peter Pakula raves about his and when I did my Coxswains course a few of the Coral Trout dory boys raved about them as well.

What about the Galeforces? See Wayne Kampes is for sale at the moment for $20,000 in QFM.

craigie
02-10-2003, 12:38 PM
Have you looked at the Cyclone 540 ?
Fibreglass, comes in Centre Console, Side Console and Tiller. I have spoken to several owners and not heard a bad word yet.

Might not be the cheapest option, but still worth the consideration.

My side-Console version is being built as we speak ;D ;D ;D

Craig.

Dean
02-10-2003, 01:34 PM
There is a new boat out by Stessl called a 4.8 or 5.2 trophy center console 4mm high tensile bottom with stringers and tracrail system This hull is powered with as little as 75hp its chine to chine is over 2 m so its very stable however it retains a very sharp bow.Its also quite cheap.Check it out at www.stesslboatgroup.com.au

03-10-2003, 03:50 AM
Thanks for all the replies fellas. I am still quite a way off buying yet and just want to start narrowing down some options. I will check out all the websites you mentioned. I have spoken to Galeforce boats who are sending me out a brochure, and I had a good look at the Cyclone 540 at the boatshow. Looks nice but probably a bit bigger than what I want and also the $$.

MICHAELG
03-10-2003, 06:05 AM

for alloy have a look at fihser boats-http://www.fisherboats.com.au/

Mines being built see my post MY NEW BOAT have a couple of photos

04-10-2003, 03:23 AM
thanks Michael, I have had a look at the Fisher boats. They do look impressive. Still not sure whether I will be going glass or aluminium though.

MICHAELG
04-10-2003, 05:41 AM

i had the same problem deciding. I had to take a hard look at what is my fav form of fishing.

1 creek bashing, prawning, crabbing. Due to some of areas I do go, plate alloy won hands down because it can take the knox(rocks, stuffed ramps). Dont think the Gel coat would last long

2 I want to get into offshore/bay a lot more too. Plate again. I have had a clinker style(Clarke sea hunter) alloy before, it was rough as guts, never again, I dont care what they say about them now.

I have been in a few plate boats now offshore and my opion is if you drive it right they are quite a soft ride

good luck
Michael

simonfish
04-10-2003, 08:25 AM
Jeremy, not sure if you have looked at the trailcraft range of centre consoles.

They are solid plate boats (4mm bottom 3mm sides, sealed decks, etc).
I have a 4.5 profish (side console) and am very happy.

Just another option to put into the hat.

Simon

damons33
05-10-2003, 07:54 PM
look man its like this u want sore neck and back u buy a platey! you want soft ride and a higher rough water speed you want fibreglass -you want super sonic(50teeth clenching knots) shot out to ure spot you want a cyclone and customise the storage. as for the gel coat get a deckey to hold the boat, we could talk about filling the deckey spot if u buy the cyclone-just dont pay the carpenter! then u can afford the cyclone- hell just seal the concrete and have no carpets in your house! tell the missus its the thing these days and all the trendies have it! :P

gif
07-10-2003, 12:38 PM

you were saying #"I am heading toward fibreglass for the ride, but still looking at aluminium."

The best compromise around (and very well priced) in the Polycraft. #Its some sort of marine grade Polyethylene. #I have been out in 2, with people in the tackle #industry # - and read a few reviews. # All of us were impressed.

The ride is soft and dry. # But you can belt it with a hammer and it doesn't crack. # #The plastic is 11 rated #(same as rainwater tanks and automotive parts) # so unless it is outdoors for 10 years don't worry about fading. #Seems a good compromise between Aluminium and f'glass. #It floats when sunk and lots of other good features # see www.polycraft.com.au

At this stage they have a 4.1 and a wide #4.5m #but the worst kept secret in town is #there is a larger one coming out soon - #closer to 6m I think.

Worth a look

Gary

Cloud_9
07-10-2003, 03:44 PM
this is my Galeforce 4.8 i fish alone 90% of the time , down the pin & outside.top boat. don't waste your time on a wahoo. 07 55461225 go to the sourcehope you find a boat that suites your needs.

Cloud 9

damons33
08-10-2003, 03:45 PM
galeforce-well thats very snazzy isn't it! wonder if it comes with a full transom and pod to take it to a 5.1 as jeremy has issues of water coming from behind him! :-*
#still the 540cyco has me rapt just wish they made it with more storage- the cyclone is nearly $30000 whats that galeforce worth? :o

Cloud_9
12-10-2003, 09:55 AM
prices depend on what you want in the boat

13-10-2003, 04:35 AM
just back from a weeks holliday (see reports). I'll check out the polycraft, although from what I can remember, the sides aren't real high. I have spoken to Galeforce and got that price list and will be keen to check them out and compare when the time comes.

Cloud_9
13-10-2003, 04:11 PM
gada jeremy give polycraft a mis buddy friend of a friend bought 1 it spilt down the middle, he had a lot of trouble getting it fixed so he could dump it.
Cloud 9

krazyfisher
13-10-2003, 05:16 PM
cloud_9
why did he dump it when it has a 5 yr hull warranty ::)
I had a polycraft 4.55 good boat for its price most likly not as good as a galeforce. they are wet and so on but good for the price. I have had one and sold it so I can tell anyone what I though of it with no bias I am not associated with any brand.
p.s. liked the look of the galeforce might have bought one if they would have returned my call or sent me a price list

Cloud_9
14-10-2003, 01:40 PM
Krazyfisher

that was the main problem the warranty!
the boat was 4 months old it was getting used in Morton Bay, they recken he must have been jumping it like in their bouchures. it took 6/7 months of muking about to get it fixed . the details are scetchy all the info was second hand. but the boat did split right down the keel.

BurdekinBob
09-11-2003, 11:46 PM
I can't believe it! All of those replies and not one favouring the Quintrex.
They have a good range in the size you are looking for.....475, 500, 530, 560.
I own a 475 centre console Quinnie, and wouldn't swap it for any of the other boats mentioned.
If you are looking for a soft, dry ride outside, then none of the others come close, unless you can afford a Haines Signature or similar, and then its only marginally softer, and certainly no drier!
The Quintrex is probably a lot cheaper than some of the other boats, but dearer than some. You get what you pay for.
The main reasons that I purchased my Quintrex, is that its about as big as the average 60 year old bloke can handle on his own at the ramp, and the afore-mentioned ride and dryness.
The bonus is that it has heaps of storage, both under the casting platform, and under the console.
Mine is a custom- built 2001 Millenium hull, and only has a 65 lt fuel tank under the floor, the new 475 has about 90 lt. However with the 60 four stroke yammy, I have an off-shore range of about 100 miles, so it has never been a problem. I always carry a full tote tank under the console as well.
I think that the new ones may be a little better than mine, I think that they can take a 75 Honda, or a 80 Yammy, because the transom weight and hp limits have both been lifted.
Anyway, look at the rest, but don't forget to check the Quintrex range out.
Burdekin Bob