View Full Version : Poor workmanship

NQCairns
28-01-2004, 05:22 PM
Just a spit, I spent a few hours buying the aluminium $72.00 then the SS bolts $6.00, then set about fabricating a Heavey block and backing plate to raise the engine on the tinny. I worked to #better than industry standard, to within a millimeter tolerance because its my boat [smiley=2thumbsup.gif].
Then I engage an Aluminium fabricator business, $40.00 to do just the welding - simple job it all fits like a jigsaw. I am told to come back in an hour or so for the 10 to 15 min welding job - The end result is a backing plate that is 8 to 10 mm out of true [smiley=angryfire.gif] and all welded up [smiley=hammer.gif] [smiley=hammer.gif], whats a guy to do stand over the expert while they do it ???.

What the F [smiley=wut.gif], how come even the simplest jobs get screwed up, in the past because of this sort of crap none of my vehicles have seen a mechanic in over 10 years neither has my boats and I do everything I am allowed by law to do myself just to save the grief and to get a decent job every time. Now I have to budget for a mig or tig and teach myself that too, dont get me started on Doctors!!
Anyway i feel sory for those of you who by choice or otherwise get stuff done by the experts all the time, must be very disheartening.
Anyone got the good oil on a Cairns alum welder who has a total skill level exceeding a 10 year old, I would like to hear about them, the next job needs to be done soon.
Anyone want the name just PM. nq

Big_Kev
28-01-2004, 06:20 PM
Did you pay the man for that sheet???

NQCairns
28-01-2004, 06:44 PM
Mate i really only glanced at it, just paid and hitched her up, The possibility of such a stuff up I didn't consider, it was fool proof -almost.
The only consolation is that it is an old dunger of a hull, if it were fairly smick and not just a razabout I would be jumping up and down ready for business hours not just letting slip outloud every now and then with profanities and scaring the dog :).
The next job would have been worth many times this one to him so his loss. He didn't seen real busy? Cheers nq

shano
28-01-2004, 07:16 PM
if only you were in brissie my friend! not that it is much help to you!

NQCairns
30-01-2004, 11:36 AM
Thanks Shano, If I was I would be taking you up on that for sure [smiley=2thumbsup.gif].

Q. If you have got the time what size and type of welder would you recommend to someone who would like to build/modify an alum pod, make a bimany, some steel work, weld some SS, I guess something that is a good allround unit, with a leaning toward Alum and SS. Possibly a step or so above a handyman only unit if there is such a thing. cheers nq

BurdekinBob
30-01-2004, 09:21 PM
NQ, Visit the Cairns Rifle Range on Sunday morning and ask for "Kozza", I'm not sure if he works for someone or for himself, but I have been told that he's very good.
If he's not there,someone from the rifle club will be able to put you onto him.
Bob

drevil
31-01-2004, 03:53 AM
Is the guy at the rifle range supposed to fix the crappy welding job, or the crappy welder himself? Sounds a bit dodgy! [smiley=rifle.gif]

NQCairns
31-01-2004, 09:44 AM
Ha Ha drevil with a bit of luck a stray bullet might knock the backing plate plumb ::) I dont think Bob would steer me wrong ;D, might see if I can find him at the model train club :).

Disclamer: Guns dont kill people people kill people. cheers nq

Daintreeboy
31-01-2004, 09:58 AM
NQ have you tried Norweld? They seem pretty popular and I reckon they'd provide some sort of guarantee to cover the moron factor.

TimNQ
01-02-2004, 06:23 AM
Haha, yea unless you have seen there work on more than one occasion then dont take it to them. im like you scott, i dont take my car to a mechanic, even my last car i transplanted the engine and hooked up after market turbo's, intercooler, engine management, fuel system. the only thing the mechanic saw the car for was to tune it on the dyno, which he did a crap job of also. Welders dont need to be that great at doing there job either to get the title of welder. If your looking at purchasing a mig then next time im up that way ill teach you how to use it neatly and properly which alot of tradesman just dont know, and im not a tradesman no. But you must understand that a mig welder will not get nearly as good results as a tig, you will always have big lumpy starts as the alluminium conducts heat so well that it takes longer for the heat to get to the concentrated area. Im not that great with a tig if thats what your leaning towards but i can help out with some pointers and then all it takes is practice, something which i havnt had much of.

NQCairns
01-02-2004, 11:12 AM
I will keep Norweld in mind, thanks Daintree.

Tim I might call on you if i get one, way better being shown the nack than spending ages working it out for yourself. cheers