PDA

View Full Version : Oil injected two strokes disconnect or not?

beatle
18-03-2004, 01:47 PM
Just returned from the club and a disscussion took place amongst a group of friends as to whether you should or should not disconecct the oil injection systems on two stroke outboard motors. Some say you should disconnect it and just mix your own oil and others say to leave it as the engine manufacturer has made it.- Any reccomendations?-Beatle. ??? ??? ???

blaze
18-03-2004, 02:00 PM
Hi Beatle
never had the need to worry before now, always had o/boards that had to premix, just purchased a late model myself and after some lenthy discussion with a really trusted outboard mechanic, i am going to run the motor as per specifacations. I am also a mechanic by trade of 25 years (try hard not to be)
cheers
blaze

basserman
18-03-2004, 02:36 PM
well in have a injected 2st and haven't had a prob yet and no one has sugested for it to be removed! :)

grinder
18-03-2004, 02:58 PM
The makers of outboards these days seem to have been at it for a while and in most cases seem to have got it right they would spend prob millions on r&d each year to get outboard motors to this point.
just think how much money they could have saved if they had of listened to some joker in the pub in my opinion if it is ment to have oil injection leave it alone and use it as it was first ment

Grinder

Kerry
18-03-2004, 03:16 PM
If it ain't broke ... then don't fix it. If you don't want an oil injected motor then shouldn't buy one in the first place, just buy a straight premix version to start with.

In any case it usually doesn't hurt (depending on the make/type of injection) to run a little oil in the fuel in oil injected motors anyway as it can help lub things as some inject before the carb and some after.

Too much oil (within moderation) is not as big a problem as too little oil.

Cheers, Kerry.

zoley
19-03-2004, 05:35 AM
Beatle.
Oil injection in modern 2 strokes have a lot less problems than