View Full Version : Aluminium vs Fibreglass
wannabe
12-04-2004, 05:08 AM
Happy Easter all,
I'm a wannabe boatie who wants to buy a 4.5 to 5 metre runabout for fishing in the next few months. I'm a newbie who has no (or very little) idea about boats. Can anyone tell me what the pros and cons are for glass v tinnie? (is this a stupid question) Does anyone know any good web sites with articles on this subject?
Should I buy a tinnie or a glass boat, as the prices seem to be very similar?
wannabe boatman
:P :o 8)
bay_firey
12-04-2004, 06:47 AM
Wannabe
Have you given any thoughtto the polycraft boats.
Great ride, exceptional value, tough as nails
have a look at the Polycraft Website (http://www.polycraft.com.au)
There are a few pics of Mine #Here (http://www.mchap.com/boat.htm)
12-04-2004, 10:35 AM
The general idea of the alum vs. fibreglass arguement is that aluminium is lighter and tougher than glass, which is good for towing and taking rough treatment like on concrete boat ramps, from anchor chain, other boats etc etc. Fibreglass can be moulded into shapes which aluminium cannot so it can produce a better ride in choppy seas, particularly when combined with its heavier weight.
If you are looking at buying your first boat, I'd suggest you get an aluminium boat, There is a steep learning curve when you first get a boat and lots of things can go wrong. Try to get an experienced boatie to go out with you on your first trip or two. Same goes for fishing too - alot to learn and much quicker if you go with someone who knows what they are doing.
Where are you located anyway? Might be someone here who lives close by who might be able to help.
coasty
12-04-2004, 03:31 PM
deffinatly alloy. they are more forgiving.
saw one that dads mate drove up terrigal beach after a big scare out at sea. it was bent but still usable. dont know what scared him but he doesnt go out to sea any more. there were huge teeth marks on the skeg of the motor and the alloy was gouged like sharks teeth.
smerl
15-04-2004, 08:06 AM
Aluminium is the way to go for your first boat. Sure they are not as comfortable in big chop, but they are much easier to handle and can take heaps of abuse. I started with an Aluminium runabout and just graduated to a fibreglsss centre cab. If I had to go through the learning curve in a fibreglass boat then it would have had holes in it by now where the tinnie only has scratches. The other good thing about tinnies is that they generally require smaller motors and therefore less fuel than fibreglass boats which can important as you tend to cover heaps of km's when you are first trying to find the best spots etc.
basserman
15-04-2004, 08:54 AM
i like a nice big glass boat my self but that may be impactical for a first boat
the big pro with glass over the tin cans is the ride and strenght in the sea!
i have known people who have had a tin boat split after coping rought treatment in the seas
but in the end it will depend on where and what type of fishing you will be wanting to do!
propdinger
15-04-2004, 09:41 AM
to me it all comes down to how big the family is and if you want to go out over night or just for the day fishing i had a 4.5mtr tinnie as my first boat but i was 17 and it could handle the shi* i gave it the 25hp never stopped and was cheap to run.
but there was never more than 2 of us and i would take it everywhere creeks rivers dams and even places where i shouldnt have like outside
jeff
fishfinder
15-04-2004, 03:39 PM
Aluminium boats hold their value MUCH better. Being lighter, they dont need as big a motor and so you save on fuel. And they last longer- glass boats will need hull maintenance eventually.
But a good second hand glass boat is cheaper, and not a bad start to see if the family enjoys fishing. You can always upgrade!
banshee
15-04-2004, 05:25 PM
Hi Wannabe,basicly if you want to go outside Glass or very heavy Plate Alloy,Estuary/River go the tinny,either way,one thing you are about to learn is that boats are just holes in the ocean into wich you will pour lots of money into,BOAT stands for Bring Out Another Thousand.
Brissyguy
16-04-2004, 06:24 AM
Wannabe,
Lots of good points for both types of boats here.
I have owned both and a few times both types at the same time.
If you are new to boating it is doubtful you will be going far offshore.
With that in mind, something light for the kids to hold at the ramp, easy to manouvre, lower fuel costs due to smaller hp on the back all point to a tinny for your first boat.
It would pay for you to find your feet in a small tinny and then progress up to something bigger and more capable if and when you decide the offshore scene is for you.
I spent my youth fishing offshore in terrible conditions in a "too smaller" boat.
My two brothers were turned off fishing by the experiences, but I went the other way and still take Dad offshore whenever I am able today.
It is important to understand that whilst you climb the learning curve with boating, your friends and family will be doing the same thing.
OK rambled enough...
Hope you become a regular boatie in the future and both you and the family join the ranks of the boating Rec fishos.
Rich.
haha, i reckon i have a few mates who wont come fishing with me again after the bashing we got in rough weather :P oh well, sometimes fishings not for the faint hearted, and sometimes it is ;D