PDA

View Full Version : Tinny questions

rhysp3ct
13-05-2004, 05:59 AM
Hi all,
just wondering if anyone can give me a hand on maybe some websites or something that will give me some more info on what to look for when buying a second hand tinny.
Reason i ask is im new to boating, being a student the prices on boats usually put me off...but my uncle is sending me over a 15HP motor in september (same month i get my car license) and i was hoping to get a second hand boat that i could do up.
what would you reccomend for a youngen on a tight budget that has alot of spare time and elbow grease.
should i get a tinny, or fibreglass, or whatever other types there are...
and what do you reckon about buying second hand? any good tips i should know..
cheers
haynesy
(edit *subject*)

jimbamb
14-05-2004, 11:41 AM
Best advise I could offer would be to get someone with a bit of knowledge on boats to go with ya.
You need to watch out for cracks or splits in alum also corrosion.especially where its been sittin on a trailer.
Id reccomend aluminium because its lighter and much easier to handle escecially if you are by yourself.Depending on how u are goin to transport it,size from 3m to 3.8magain ask someone u know who has had some experience.
Be carefull some people will rip you off if they think u dont know much.Get all the info on a boat and post a message on here and get the advise of members.most on here will help if u are genuine.
Good luck!!!

rhysp3ct
14-05-2004, 11:54 AM
Gday jim, thanks a heap for you post, i was hoping it wouldnt go slipping through the many recent posts and go unanswered, as i would seriously have nowhere to go and no-one to ask after this forum.
Ive been having a fair dinkum big look on the internet for any info on tinnies and info about them, but i think im probably looking in the wrong direction or there isnt much info that is relevant to me on the net. Ill go down and have a geezer at my library and hopefully there will be something there.